Reiss Science Building
Ask a Librarian
• Phone(202) 687-5651
• Send an e-mail
• Live Help FAQ
Online Help
Live Help Hours
24 hours a day
7 days a week

Blommer Science Library

SciFinder Scholar Guide

Searching | Improving your results | Displaying references | Saving & printing | Full-text | Help

Getting Started

SciFinder Scholar is a powerful bibliographic database for chemistry and related subjects which allows searching by chemical structure or reaction, author, company or organization, patent number or research topic. Browsing the tables of contents of journals is also possible. Like its print equivalent, Chemical Abstracts, it covers journals, conference proceedings, patents, dissertations and books from 1907 to the present day.

The database requires client software loaded onto your own PC. You will need to sign the CAS SciFinder user agreement to borrow a disk and the necessary instructions from the Science Library.

SciFinder Scholar is available on PCs in the Blommer Science Library: from the 'Library CD-ROM Network' select 'Science Databases,' choose 'SciFinder Scholar'.

The license agreement for SciFinder Scholar restricts the number of concurrent users, so if you cannot access it, try again at another time. If there are continuing problems, contact the Science Library Reference Desk at 7-5651.

Searching

It is possible to search SciFinder Scholar using chemical substance, reaction, research topic, author, document identifier, or company name by clicking on the relevant button on the initial 'Explore' screen.
You can return to these options at any time by clicking on newtask. The database offers instructions for each type of search so these are quite straightforward to use.
Use the 'Chemical substance or reaction' option if you have a chemical name, formula or structure for which you wish to search. The database searches for the substances in its 'Registry' database. Once one or more substances matching your search are found, a record for each is displayed. You can select which specific substances you want and specify what role you wish them to have in the literature.

To search for a 'Research topic' enter a phrase which describes your search topic (e.g. inhibition of replication of HIV in humans) rather than a search string or keywords with Boolean operators. The database will interpret your phrase and offer you a variety of searches. Plurals and alternative spellings are automatically retrieved.

Improving your results

The search results can be further refined or analyzed to improve the results or to combine the initial search with further conditions. When literature references are displayed, clicking on the 'Analyze or Refine' button offers the option to refine by research topic, author, company name, year, document type, and language. The analyze option allows the results to be grouped by these divisions and also by journal title in either alphabetical order or in order of frequency. Once the references have been analyzed, you can bring up the results in selected divisions.

The analyze or refine options change in relation to the type of results displayed.

The 'Get Related' button will search for the records of all references contained in the bibliographies of the results or all references published more recently which cite the results (cited ref search) or all substances mentioned in the results.

Displaying references

Once a search has been performed, references are displayed in brief format. Click on the microscope button by each reference to see the full record.

For literature references, the full record contains the abstract and further indexing and classification details. This includes links to the Registry records for substances mentioned in the reference and, for more recent records, to the Scholar records for references in the bibliography (citations).

For substance Registry records, the full record includes the formula, all names, some properties and links to commercial sources for the substance and its entry in the regulated chemicals listings.

Saving and printing references

Records can be marked by clicking in the small box. Either marked records or all records can be saved to file by clicking on the 'Save To' button. Use the options button to specify which records and parts of records to save.

For downloading references to Endnote use Tagged Format.

For saving references into a database such as Excel, use Quoted Format.

For retention of structure drawings use Rich Text Format.

For simple preservation of text use Plain ASCII Format.

In the same way, records can be printed out by clicking on the 'Print' button.

Full text

At the moment, to find the full text of books and journal articles, either in print or on the Web, it is still necessary to look up each item in the Library catalog.

Journal titles, needed to search the Library catalog, are abbreviated in SciFinder Scholar. To find out the full title of a journal from an abbreviation, either see the list of core titles at http://www.cas.org/sent.html or, for a more comprehensive list, use the copy of Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index, CASSI, in the Blommer Science Library Reference section.

Getting Help

There are various resources available for getting help with using SciFinder Scholar. You can obtain help from within SciFinder Scholar at any time by clicking the Help button to open the Scholar online guide. In addition to tutorials from CAS, many university libraries publish excellent materials on SciFinder Scholar.

SciFinder Scholar Interactive Tutorial from CAS:
http://www.cas.org/SCIFINDER/SCHOLAR/interact/index.html

SciFinder Scholar Training Material- Leeds
http://www.leeds.ac.uk/library/documents/workbook/scifinder/scholar.pdf

 

Search the Library Site

37th and N Streets, N.W., Washington, D.C., 20057 | (202) 687-7452
Copyright 2003 Georgetown University Libraries
Georgetown University Contact Us Staff Directory Library A-Z For Library Staff: MARTHA InfoX Contact Us Staff Directory Library A-Z Home Catalogs Databases Research Help Services About Us