
19th-century periodical articles provide a "unique record of
contemporary opinion across an enormous span of subject areas," including
literature, religion, politics, social science, political economy,
women's writing, science, and the arts. Individual periodicals
were the forum for debate in a much broader range of disciplines
than they are today. (Wellesley Index)
19th-century periodicals were also where major literary works such as Dickens's
Oliver Twist were first published. At their height, monthly magazines published
some of the best writing of the era, including fiction by Dickens, Thackeray,
Trollope, Eliot, Hardy, and Henry James; poetry by Tennyson and the Brownings;
and essays by Arnold, Ruskin, and Pater (Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia
591).
| II. Starting Points for the Study of 19th-Century Periodicals |

1.
British
Literary Magazines. Ref. PN5124.L6 B74 1983
Detailed descriptions of the content and history of British literary magazines
from 1698 to the mid-1980s. Volumes 2 and 3 cover 19th century magazines.
2.
Wellesley
Index to Victorian Periodicals. (see #22)
Includes extensive information on the publication history and politics of the
45 periodicals indexed.
3.
Victorian
Britain: An Encyclopaedia. Ref. Stacks DA550 .V53 1988
4.
A
Companion to Victorian Literature and Culture. Stacks PR461 .C597
1999
5.
The
Literary Journal in America to 1900: A Guide to Information Sources. Stacks Z6951 .C57
6.
Victorian
Periodicals Review. Periodical Stacks
Journal that surveys current scholarship and criticism of the Victorian period.
7.
The
Popular Magazine in Britain and the United States, 1880-1960. Stacks
PN5124.P4 R44 1997
8.
The
English Common Reader: A Social History of the Mass Reading Public,
1800-1900. Stacks Z1003 .A57, pp. 318–47.
9.
Victorian
Periodicals: A Guide to Research. Stacks PN5124.P4 V5 1978
10.
The
periodicals section of Patrick Leary's "Libraries and Bibliographies" page http://www.victorianresearch.org/libraries.html and
Rosemary
T. VanArsdel's Selected Bibliography http://victorianresearch.org/periodicals.html
Both pages are part of the Victoria Research Web http://victorianresearch.org/ and
provide a guide to archives, libraries, journals, bibliographies,
discussion lists, and syllabi related to the study of the Victorian
period.
| III. Sample Bibliographies of Subjects Reflected in 19th-Century
Periodicals |

11.
The
British Empire in the Victorian Press, 1832–1867: A Bibliography. Stacks Z2021.C7 P32 1987
12.
Crime
in Victorian Britain: An Annotated Bibliography from Nineteenth-Century
British Magazines. Stacks Z5703.5.G7 P35 1993
| IV. Full-Text Sources of 19th-Century
Periodicals |

13.
American
Periodical Series.
Digital images of historically significant American periodicals from 1740 to
1900, including literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s
magazines, and popular magazines. Off-Campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
14.
HarpWeek.
Provides full-text electronic access to all issues of Harper's Weekly (including
all illustrations and advertisements) published between 1857 (first issue)
and 1877, with the capacity to browse or search by date, by literary genre,
and by a person's occupation or role in society. Harper's Weekly is a key American
primary source for studying the 19th-century. The intent is to provide the
full text of the journal's entire run, but for now, coverage includes only
1857–1877.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
15.
Harpweek:
The 19th Century World http://www.harpweek.com/
A free Website archiving materials from Harper's Weekly on specific historical
topics of the nineteenth century, superbly organized for educational purposes
(for research and for teaching primary historical and cultural research to
secondary and post-secondary students). Current highlighted collections include
Black America; the impeachment of Andrew Johnson; Civil War literature; presidential
elections 1860-1884 (including the electoral college issue in the 1876 election);
immigrant and ethnic America; the editorial cartoons of Thomas Nast; the American
West; and 19th-century advertising. Each topic is introduced with contemporary
scholarship.
This free site does not replace HarpWeek. It packages primary documentation
only on particular topics (similar to Encyclopaedia Britannica Online's "Spotlights," or
homepage feature articles), and it lacks HarpWeek's capacity for
searching across all issues of Harper's Weekly. When you recommend
HarpWeek, recommend that students check for current topics on the
free site.
16.
Making
of America (MOA).
An extensive, searchable collection of page images from major periodicals and
books with 19th century imprints. Created as a collaborative project of Cornell
University and the University of Michigan and funded by the Mellon Foundation.
Pages appear as graphic images (.pdf files), but you can also view them as
text, which allows you to use the Edit/Find in page feature to locate your
search word.*
*Word of warning: The text files were created through Optical Character
Recognition (OCR) without correction. As a result, a smudge on the
page might have caused the OCR to read "slavery" as "slavory," for
example, so your search results for "slavery" will not be comprehensive.
•
University
of Michigan's Making of
America http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/
This collection currently contains approximately 1,600 books and 10 periodicals
(50,000 articles), such as Appleton's, The Southern Literary Messenger,
and Vanity Fair.
•
Cornell
University's Making
of America http://moa.cit.cornell.edu/moa/index.html
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the
antebellum period through reconstruction. This collection currently contains
24 major periodicals and 114 books (over 100,000 journal articles and 267
monograph volumes). Journals include Putnam's Monthly, Scribner's Magazine,
North American Review, and Century.
17.
Godey's
Lady's Book http://www.uvm.edu/~hag/godey/index.html and http://www.history.rochester.edu/godeys/
This important journal included fashion plates as well as poems,
fiction, editorials, literary notices, fashion and needlework patterns,
and advice articles. Both websites listed include illustrations.
Godey's Lady's Book, April, 1855: Page 2; Children's Dresses
18.
Internet
Library of Early Journals http://www.bodley.ox.ac.uk/ilej/
A joint project of the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester, and Oxford,
this site provides digitized, searchable collections of important 18th- and
19th-century British periodicals. The core collection includes at least 20
consecutive years of three 19th-century periodicals: Blackwood's Edinburgh
Magazine, Notes & Queries, and The Builder.
19.
New
York Times (Historical Version).
Complete, fulltext archive of the New York Times, from its first issue on September
18, 1851 through 1999. Off
Campus Access Instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
20.
Science
in the Nineteenth-Century Periodical (SciPer). http://www.sciper.leeds.ac.uk/
This project seeks to trace the representation of science, technology, and
medicine across a wide range of 19th-century periodicals. It is jointly
organized by the Centre for Nineteenth-Century Studies in the Department of
English Literature at the University of Sheffield and the Division of History
and Philosophy of Science in the School of Philosophy at the University of
Leeds. SciPer aims "to identify and analyze the representation of science,
technology and medicine, as well as the inter-penetration of science and literature,
in the general periodical press in Britain between 1800 and 1900." It
addresses not only the reception of scientific ideas in the general press,
but also examines the creation of non-specialist forms of scientific discourse
within the periodical format and the ways in which they interact with other
kinds of articles found in nineteenth-century periodicals.
21.
New
Moulton's: Pre-Twentieth Century Criticism of British and American
Literature to 1904. Ref. PR 85 .N39 1985
Reprints excerpts of criticism from newspapers, magazines, journals, and book-length
studies. Each volume covers a different period, beginning with Medieval–Early
Renaissance and ending with Late Victorian–Edwardian. Separate index volume.
| V. Citation Indexes to 19th-Century
Periodicals |

22. 
The
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824–1900. CD-ROM
Network
The online version of a 5-volume print index [Ref Stacks Z2005 .H6]. Widely
considered the most important general index to British nineteenth-century periodicals,
it indexes 45 of the most important monthly and quarterly periodicals of the
period, most of which are not indexed in any other bibliographic reference
work. Besides providing a table of contents for the periodicals, the Wellesley
index identifies the authorship of the articles indexed and includes proof
of their attribution. This is considered to be "one of the 20th century's great
feats of collaborative scholarship" (Patrick Leary, http://victorianresearch.org/libraries.html#periodicals),
as nearly 95 percent of the articles were written anonymously (unsigned). The
online version indexes periodicals that were not included in the print edition
and includes all corrections made to the print index. Because it can be searched
by article-keyword, the CD is quite a boon to researchers. It includes information
on the publication history and politics of each periodical and provides brief
biographical information on the contributors. This index is a more specialized
reference tool than Poole's. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
23.
Periodicals
Contents Index (PCI)
An electronic index providing the tables of contents of thousands of international
periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. Indexes
both scholarly and popular periodicals. Off
Campus Access Instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
24.
Historical
Newspapers Online
Electronic access to two key primary resources in 19th-century research:
- Palmer's Index to the Times [of London] (1790–1905, with some
full-text articles 1785-1870); and
- The Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923)
Lauinger owns microfilm copies of both newspapers. Off
Campus Access Instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
25.
19th
Century Masterfile. 1802-early 20th C.
Featuring an integrated and enhanced version of Poole's Index to Periodical
Literature (1802-1906) ( Ref. Stacks AI3 .P7) as its centerpiece, 19th Century
Masterfile is rounded out by a number of other general and publication-specific
indexes to the contents of nineteenth-century journals, newspapers, and books.
The focus is on Anglo-American sources. Off
Campus Access Instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
26.
Reader's
Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Subject index to articles in general interest periodicals. Includes the Nineteenth
Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899. Ref. AI3 .R496 Off-Campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
Specialized Indexes
(See the full-text periodicals sources and citation indexes before
consulting these.)
27.
Literary
Reviews in British Periodicals, 1798-1820 and Literary Reviews in
British Periodicals, 1821-1826. LAU Ref Stacks Z2013 .W36 1977
28.
American
Literary and Drama Reviews: An Index to Late Nineteenth Century Periodicals. Ref. PN 62256 .M37 1984
29.
A
Guide to Critical Reviews of United States Fiction, 1870-1910. LAU
Ref. Stacks Z1225 .E35
30.
Index
to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals. Ref. Z 5935 .S36
1999

31.
Victorian
Britain: An Encyclopaedia. Ref Stacks DA550 .V53 1988
32.
A
Companion to Victorian Literature and Culture. Stacks PR461 .C597
1999
33.
Makers
of Nineteenth Century Culture, 1800-1914. Ref. Biog. CT119 .M23
34.
Nineteenth
Century Studies. Stacks CB415 .N56
Interdisciplinary journal published by the Nineteenth Century Studies Association
35.
Victorian
Database Online http://www.victoriandatabase.com/victoria.html
Indexes books and book chapters, dissertation abstracts, and articles from
more than 500 journals published in 1945 and after. The database is part of
LITIR's Victorian Studies on the Web at http://www.victoriandatabase.com/index.html,
which provides links to recent and award-winning publications and to notable
Victorian Web sites.
36.
The
Victorian Web http://www.victorianweb.org/
Exceptional comprehensive site for the study of Victorian history, society,
and culture in Britain. Covers literature, society, culture, art, politics,
economy, religion, philosophy, science, technology, and gender relations. Each
area includes biographies, primary texts, analysis, feature articles, and special
projects.
37. 
Victorian
Studies. Periodical Stacks (1957- ) and Internet (1999- ).
The leading interdisciplinary scholarly journal in the field.
Resources on Patrick Leary's Victoria Research Web http://victorianresearch.org/ were
invaluable in creating this guide.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 7/01-jh
Links updated: 08/04,
sh