A. Countries
1.
[Name
of Country]: A Country Study. <http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html>. Print
versions available in Ref. and Main Stacks DT; Gov. Docs.
This series has individual volumes on many countries, each with a different
call number. The social, political, and economic conditions of the country
are described. Also includes bibliographies. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
2.
Economist
Intelligence Unit. Country
Report: [Name of Country] and Country
Profile: [Name of Country].
An annual analysis (Country Profiles) and quarterly updates (Country Reports)
of major trends in the economies of over 165 countries. Includes forecasts
for the upcoming year and evaluations of foreign trade data; supplements provide
background data on economic and political developments in each country. Check GEORGE for
call numbers of earlier years going back to 1982. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
3.
Africa
South of the Sahara. 1971- . Ref. DT 30 .A375
Provides descriptions of the political, economic, and commercial situations
of each country in the region. Also includes statistics for the countries,
survey articles on current issues, and information on regional organizations.
Published annually: current year in Reference, earlier years in stacks.
4.
The
Middle East and North Africa. 1957- . Ref. DS 49 .M5
Describes the political, economic, and commercial conditions of each country
in the region. Also includes statistics for the countries, survey articles
on current issues, and descriptions of regional organizations. Annual publication:
current year in Reference, earlier years in stacks.
5.
Political
Risk Yearbook. CD-ROM Network Instructions.
This CD-ROM resource contains country reports assessing political, economic
and commercial factors that affect international business in individual countries.
Includes 18 month and five year forecasts of each country's political and economic
development. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B.
Current Awareness
.
6.
AfricaNews
Online. <http://www.africanews.org/>
Organized by the Africa News Service, it provides continent-wide reporting
from the African press.
7.
Africa
Research Bulletin. Economic, Financial and Technical Series. Ref.
HC 800 .A37
A monthly digest of current economic and financial developments in Africa.
8.
Africa
Research Bulletin. Political, Social and Cultural Series. Ref.
DT 30.2 .A473
This monthly report gives brief overviews of current political, social and
cultural events in African countries.
9.
Lexis-Nexis
Academic.
This service provides access to full text of thousands of magazines, newspapers,
wire services, and broadcast transcripts, including foreign newspapers that
are not otherwise available. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
C.
Politics and History
10.
Africa
Contemporary Record. 1968/69- . Ref. DT 1 .A15
An annual survey of major economic, social, and political events of the continent.
Includes texts of some documents relating to these issues. Runs three to five
years behind. Current year in Reference; earlier years in stacks.
11.
African
States and Rulers. Ref. DT 31 .S7859 1999
Arranged alphabetically by name of state or territory. Each entry includes
a listing of past and present rulers. Country name changes are detailed within
individual entries. Includes a rulers index and chronology.
12.
Encyclopedia
of Africa South of the Sahara. Ref. DT 351 .E53 1997
Comprehensive, general encyclopedia which includes three introductory essays
and articles on such subjects as the countries of modern Africa, ethnic groups,
literature and languages, education, and important people. Short bibliographies
follow each article.
13.
Encyclopedia
of African History. Ref. DT 20 .E53 2005
Three volume A-Z reference that covers the entire continent of Africa
from the earliest evolution of human beings to the beginnings of the
twenty-first century. Includes political, economic,
social, linguistic and anthropological material relating to the history
of the continent. Contains nearly 1,100 entries that are from 1,000
to 5,000 words long.
14.
Encyclopedia
of African Nations and Civilizations. Ref. DT 14
.E43 2002
Five volume set covering African history from ancient times to the
present. Each volume
is devoted to a major period in the continent's development. Covers
African history, geography, art, cultures, people, personalities, and even
wildlife. Also includes oral traditions, myths, legends and folklore.
15.
Encylopedia
of the Modern Middle East and North Africa. DS
43 .E53 2004
Over 3,000 articles in four volumes. Also in eBook format in Gale
Virtual Reference Library.
Covers modern history of the Middle East and North Africa with major sections
on colonialism, imperialism, the World Wars, and the
involvement of the United Nations in the region. Each country in the
region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government.
16.
Historical
Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa. Ref. DT 21.5 .G89
1999
The main entries are twenty African civil wars that took place during
the period 1945-1999. Other entries cover specific events, mercenaries,
and movements involved in the wars, external countries
or organizations that have tried peacekeeping or mediation roles, and
leading political or military figures.
17.
Historical
Dictionary of Pre-Colonial Africa. Ref. DT 17 .C65 2001
The introduction provides a broad background of African history
while entries in the rest of the book describe the cultures, events,
places, migration, wars, and rulers of Africa from 500 to 1900.
Includes a chronology of the main events in African history as
well as the rise and fall of the dynasties that ruled Egypt and
Nubia. Also has extensive bibliographies.
18.
Key
Events in African History: a Reference Guide. Ref. DT
20 .F35 2002
Contains comprehensive essays on 36 key events in African history
from prehistory to the present, including
their historical, social and geographic context and long-term significance. Manages
to cover all regions of the contenent as well as critical issues,
institututions, and personalities.
19.
Political
Chronology of Africa. Ref. DT 17 .P65 2001
Contains brief descriptions of key political, cultural and economic
events in the histories of 53 African nations. Date coverage varies
with each
nation and ranges from pre-history through mid-2001.
D.
Geography, Peoples, and Culture 
20.
African
Folklore: an Encyclopedia. Ref. GR
350 .A33 2004
Contains over 300 entries
ranging from 500-5,000 words and arranged in alphabetical order by topic. They
focus on individual countries, ethnic groups, religious practices,
artistic
genres, and other related subjects. Topics medicine,
food customs, beadwork, oral narratives, and architecture. Numerous
entries treat the African Diaspora. Includes a survey of African
folklore collections and African Studies Libraries in the U.S. and
Africa.
21.
Africana
: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience. Ref.
DT 14 .A37435 2005
With more than 4,000 articles by more than 400 scholars, this five
volume set covers an immense variety of topics. In addition to
country profiles, histories, and biographies, the work includes
entries for African ethnic groups, fauna, flora, geographical features,
popular culture, the arts, literature, music, and ideological movements.
Approximately one third of the work concentrates on the African
diaspora. Also includes over 1,000 photographs, maps, and illustrations.
22.
Atlas
of African Affairs. Ref. G 2445 .G7 1994
Divided into five sections: environment, history, politics, economics, and
southern Africa. Clear outline maps with explanatory text, it also includes
references for further reading.
23.
Cultural
Atlas of Africa. Ref. G 2446 .E1 C8 1998
Heavily illustrated, the maps and essays cover such topics as religion, kingdoms
and empires, colonialism, art, and the African diaspora. Includes maps plus
descriptions for each country, arranged by region.
24.
Encyclopedia
of African and African-American Religions. Ref. BL 2462.5
.E52 2001
Each article in this one volume encyclopedia is at least a page in length and
includes a bibliography. The articles are arranged alphabetically by topic.
The resource includes black and white photographs and a few maps.
25.
Encyclopedia
of African Peoples. Ref. DT 15
.E53 2000
This book has four major sections: "Peoples of Africa," "Culture
and History," "Nations," and "Biographies." "Peoples of Africa" covers
more than 1000 peoples while describing in depth 200 major ethnic
goups. "Culture and history" features ethnic distributions and chronologies.
"Nations" provides information on the population, geography,
and economy of each individual country. More than 300 noted Africans
from antiquity to the present are included in the "Biographies" section.
26.
Encyclopedia
of World Cultures. Africa (vol. 9). Ref. GN
307 .E53 1991
This ten-volume set was prepared under the auspices of the Human
Relations Area Files. Entries describe major ethnic groups. Each
volume contains a glossary and filmography.
E.
Statistical Information 
27.
African
Development Report. Ref. HC 800 .A1 A354
Annual.Current year in Reference; older issues in stacks. Provides an update
on key macroeconomic and sectoral developments. Includes economic and social
statistics of African countries, regional economic profiles, and an in-depth
essay on a different economic topic each year.
28.
World
Bank Africa Database.
This source contains statistics on economic and social conditions in 53 countries
and a number of regions in Africa. Most of the data goes back to 1970. Each chapter
begins with an introduction on the nature and limitations of the data followed
by statistical charts and tables and technical notes. Some statistics from this
database are available in print in African Development Indicators. Most
recent issue found at Ref. HC 800 .A1 A353. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
29.
International
Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania. 1750-2000. Ref. HA
4675 .M552 2003
Provides historical statistics related to economics, population and education.
Earliest information for African nations begins in the middle of the nineteenth
century.
30.
LexisNexis
Statistical.
An index to the statistical publications of the major international intergovernmental
organizations, including the United Nations and various development banks covering
the years since 1990. Note: For earlier years use the printed version Index to
International Statistics (IIS). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
Books on Africa are listed by subject (as well as title and author) in GEORGE,
the computer catalog. To search by subject in GEORGE,
use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), the red volumes shelved
in the dictionary stand near the Reference Desk of Lauinger Library, to find
correct terms. Or look up a title you know and click on one of the subject
headings listed in the entry. Examples of subject headings:
-
To find books on aspects of a particular country
e.g. Somalia
- Economic Conditions
Somalia
- Foreign Relations
-
To find other topics related to a country or people
e.g. Art
- Nigeria
Education
- Nigeria
Tswana
(African people) - Religion
-
To find books on several countries, an area, or a region
e.g. Africa,
North
Sahara
Africa
- Religion
-
To find the names of organizations
e.g. African
National Congress
Organization
of African Unity
You will probably want to search under several subject headings.
If you aren't finding what you want, try searching by keywords. Keywords
allow you to search words that appear in titles or subject headings
and are especially helpful for finding new terms or concepts.
If you need help with GEORGE or searching by topic, speak to a Reference
Librarian.
Find additional bibliographies in GEORGE by searching by subject using the
subheading - Bibliography under headings for countries, organizations, or
topics, e.g. Sudan - Bibliography; Terrorism - Bibliography.
31.
Africa
Bibliography. 1984- . Ref. Z 3501 .A37
An annual publication including books, periodical articles, and essays in the
social sciences, humanities, and environmental sciences. Runs two years behind.
Earlier years in stacks.
32. 
African
Studies Companion: A Resource Guide & Directory. Ref. DT 19.8
.Z45 2003
This overview of the African studies field provides an annotated list of the
discipline's basic resources. Resources described include encyclopedias, directories,
journals, websites, and professional associations.
33.
International
African Bibliography: Current Books, Articles, and Papers in African
Studies. 1971- . Ref. Z 3501 .I54
Generally covers the social sciences and humanities, with some overlap into
the sciences. Main area of interest is tropical Africa.Quarterly.
34.
Northern
Africa: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. Ref.
Z 3515 .S57 2000
This annotated bibliography lists print and electronic reference
works published mostly in the 1980's and 1990's, although earlier
works are selectively included. The annotations include limitations
in a particular work as well as utilty for a given purpose. The
work is divided into three sections: general reference, subjects,
and country. Includes over fifty pages of indexes.
35.
Reference
Guide to Africa: A Bibliography of Sources. Ref. Z 3501
.K15 2005
The first part of this annotated bibliography is organized by resource type
and describes encyclopedias, biographies, indexes, and other resources. The
second section describes resources related to subfields within African studies
such as agriculture, history, and culture.

36.
PAIS
International.
A subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications
relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations since
1915. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
37.
Social
Sciences Index.
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including several
African studies journals, since 1983. For earlier years, use the printed version
of this index (Ref. AI3 .R471). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
38.
Abstracts
in Anthropology. Ref. GN 1 .A15
Summarizes books and periodical articles in the fields of cultural anthropology,
linguistics, physical anthropology, and archaeology.
39.
Anthropological
Index Online. <http://lucy.ukc.ac.uk/AIO.html>
Indexes 650 periodicals from the Museum of Mankind Library and the Royal Anthropological
Institute, 1957-present.
40.
Historical
Abstracts.
Indexes and abstracts articles that appear
in the major historical journals. Covers the world from 1450 to
the present. For earlier years, use the printed
version of this index (Ref. D299 .H5). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

41.
National
Newspapers.
Indexes and provides fulltext of national newspapers: The New York Times, The
Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, The
Los Angeles Times, USA Today, The Boston Globe, and The Atlanta Constitution/Atlanta
Journal. Indexing, but not fulltext, is also provided for The Chicago Tribune.http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
For print equivalents, ask at the Reference desk. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
42. 
The
Times Index (London). 1791- . Ref. AI 21 .T46
Monthly index to The Times. Arranged by broad subject or personal name. Brief
abstracts included. Online as the Times
Digital Archive (full text 1785-1985 excluding the Sunday Times)
or Historical
Newspapers Online (indexing for 1790-1980, full text 1800-1870). Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
43.
AccessUN.
Index to the publications of various bodies of the United Nations since 1944.
Most U.N. documents are kept on microform in the Government
Documents and Microforms Department on the first floor. Ask at the
Government Documents Desk for assistance. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| VI. U.S. Government Documents |

Publications of U.S. government departments and agencies, as well as Congress,
are located in the Government
Documents and Microforms area on the first floor. These materials
are listed in GEORGE. Indexes, such as MarciveWeb (see
below), will help you identify relevant documents.
44.
MarciveWeb
- U.S. Government Documents.
Indexes publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office since 1976.
Can be searched by author, title, subject, and keyword. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
45.
World
News Connection. July 1994- .
Provided by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Contains
translations of worldwide news and commentary from foreign television and radio
broadcasts, newspapers, and periodicals from July 1994 to the present. World
News Connection replaces Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Use
the FBIS
Index for 1975-1996. Documents from 1978-mid 1990s are on microfiche in
the Government Documents
and Microforms Deptartment. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| VII. Documentary and Feature Films |
For more resources on the study of film, see the Library's guide on Film <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/guides/film/>. GEORGE,
the online catalog, includes films; however, the following outline the Library's
collection of films on Africa. Request films in the Gelardin
New Media Center, first
floor of Lauinger Library.
46.
Documentary
Films on Africa in Georgetown University Library.
<http://www.library.georgetown.edu/dept/collect/lists/documentary_africa.htm>
47.
African
Feature Films at Georgetown University Library.
<http://www.library.georgetown.edu/dept/collect/lists/feature_africa.htm>

48.
An
A-Z of African Studies on the Internet. <http://www.lib.msu.edu/limb/a-z/az.html>
Includes a comprehensive list of links to web sites, listservs and other electronic
resources related to Africa and African studies. Organized alphabetically by
topic. Maintained by Dr. Peter Limb, a bibliographer at Michigan State University's
Africana Reference Library.
49.
The
Africa Guide. <http://www.africaguide.com>
Specializes in African travel information but includes links
to cultural essays, news sources, jobs, charities, and other
African-related sites.
50.
Africa
Research Central. <http://www.africa-research.org>
Searchable database to find primary source repositories in Africa.
Contact information is provided. May also include
access and holdings information, full-text articles, brochures or photographs.
Also has links to institutions holding Arican primary sources
in Europe and North America.
51.
Africa
South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources. <http://wwwsul.stanford.edu/depts/ssrg/africa/guide.html>
Prepared by Karen Fung, Deputy Curator of Africana at the Hoover Library at Stanford
University, for the Electronic Technology Group of the African Studies Association,
this site provides access to a wide variety of African studies resources. Searchable.
52.
African
Studies Internet Resources. <http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/africa/cuvl/index.html>
This
collection of links to Internet resources on Africa was created
by and is kept up to date by the African Studies Department
of Columia University Libraries. It provides links to electronic
journals and newspapers on Africa as well as links to other Internet
resources
on Africa, by region or country and by topic.
53.
Africa
Web Links: an Annotated Resource List. <http://www.africa.upenn.edu/Home_Page/WWW_Links.html>
Maintained by Dr. Ali B. Ali-Dinar from the University of Pennsylvania.
Links are by topic; the web page of each topic has annotations about
each link.
54.
Index
On Africa. <http://www.afrika.no/index>
The Norwegian Council for Africa provides access to news resources on Africa
and African country pages.

53.
Scholars'
Guide to Washington, D.C. for African Studies. Ref. Z 3501 .B48
A guide to research facilities in the Washington D.C. area. A descriptive and
evaluative survey accompanies each entry for libraries, Washington-based organizations,
and other information sources which deal with Africa.
54.
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.
55.
Library
of Congress Catalog
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
56.
WorldCat -
WorldCat is a catalog consisting of almost 30 million records representing
the holdings of thousands of libraries. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 07/05
mb
Links updated: 12/07
jc