A.
Encyclopedias
1.
Cambridge
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences. Sci. Ref. QH 307.2 .C36 1985
Prepared by biologists, this encyclopedia features lengthy articles presenting
a broad-based survey of biology. Species and subject indexes are included.
Further readings are listed at the ends of chapters. A section on Behaviour
and Sociobiology.
2.
Encyclopedia
of Life Sciences. Sci.Ref. QH302.5 E54 2002
The ELS, in 20 volumes, has 4,000 articles covering all aspects of the life
sciences, with an emphasis on cell and molecular biology and their relevance
to medicine.
3.
Grzimek's
Animal Life Encyclopedia. SCI Ref. QL7 .G7813 2003
13 volume set. Each volume is made up of chapters by an international group
of scholar treating the various classes, orders, families, etc., according
to modern zoological classification and names. Profusely illustrated. Each
volume includes an outline of systematic classification; an "Animal dictionary" giving
corresponding names in English, German, French, and Russian; a list of supplementary
readings; and an index to the volume in question.
4.
Grzimek's
Encyclopedia of Ethology. SCI Ref. QL751 .G8945
While slightly dated, this encyclopedia is still valuable for its historical
coverage and numerous colored illustrations and descriptive captions.
5.
Grzimek's
Encyclopedia of Mammals. SCI Ref. QL701 .G7913 1990
5 volume set. Arranged by subclasses and orders; each category includes an
introduction, information on phylogeny and evolution of the group, detailed
information about many species, and bibliographies. Good for summary accounts
of the basic biology of each group and of selected individual species. Excellent
photographs. Index in each volume, but no general index.
6. 
Magill's
Survey of Science. Library
CD-ROM Network Instructions.
The compact disk includes articles published in four series, Earth Sciences,
Life Sciences (370 articles), Physical Sciences, and Applied Sciences. Entries
are written by subject specialists and include principal terms and definitions,
a basic annotated bibliography and a current bibliography. Life science topics
include ecology, animal behavior, molecular genetics, animal anatomy and physiology,
photosynthesis, and plant anatomy and physiology. The Library has also the
Magill's Survey of Science: Life Science Series in print (SCI Ref. QH307.2
.M34 1991). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B. Dictionaries
7.
Animal
Behavior Desk Reference. SCI Ref. QL750.3 .B37 1996
Provides definitions for terms in animal behavior, evolution, ecology, genetics,
biogeography, systematics, psychology, and statistics. Formatted much like
a standard English dictionary, it references term definitions, organism examples
related to terms, synonyms, and controversies regarding particular terms with
author-date citations. For many terms, the dictionary indicates variations
in meaning by giving more than one definition in chronological order.
8.
Cambridge
Illustrated Dictionary of Natural History. SCI Ref. QH 13 .L56 1987
Coverage includes the study of plants, animals, and microorganisms. Excludes
the areas of meteorology, geology, and biochemistry. Definitions are clear
and concise. Includes over 700 line drawings.
9.
Chambers
Biology Dictionary. SCI Ref. QH 302.5 .C47 1989
Contains some 10,000 definitions. Coverage includes zoology, botany, biochemistry,
molecular biology, genetics, animal and human behavior, immunology, ecology,
chemistry, medicine, radiology, and statistics. A major feature is the series
of special articles which are illustrated and provide fuller treatments than
the usual brief entry.
10.
A
Dictionary of Ethology. SCI Ref. QL750.3 .I4513 1989
This is a translation of Worterbuch der Verhaltensforschung. Has mostly paragraph
long definitions of terms used in ethology and animal behavior.
11.
Henderson's
Dictionary of Biology. SCI Ref. QH 302.5 .H45 2005
Provides broad coverage in the field of biology. A standard work containing
about 22,500 terms. Taxonomic terms are included down to the order level.
C. Handbooks
12.
Handbook
of Ethological Methods. SCI Ref. QL751 .L398 1996
Step by step introduction to ethological methods from topic choice
and behavioral description to data collection and statistical analysis.
13.
Oxford
Companion to Animal Behaviour. Lau QL 751 .O9 1982
This handbook has short essays covering a variety of topics in animal behavior,
and is intended as a reference work for non-specialists. The authors also provide
indexes of scientific names and common names of the species mentioned in the
handbook, with cross-references to the essay in which the species is mentioned.
This book remains a very useful overall introduction and reference guide.
14.
Synopsis
and Classification of Living Organisms. SCI Ref. QH 83 .S89
A two-volume comprehensive reference covering the classification and description
of all living organisms. Consists of 8,200 signed synoptic articles with literature
references. Includes an index of some 35,000 entries with scientific and common
names.
D. Biographical
Sources
15.
The
Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. SCI Ref. Q141
.B528 2000
Includes significant biologists from ancient times through the present day.
Emphasizes the nature and significance of the biologist's work.
16. 
Women
in the Biological Sciences. A Bibliographic Sourcebook. SCI Ref.
QH26 .W66 1997
Includes sixty-five representative women from different countries and eras.
Summarizes their work and their lives. Also available
online from the ebrary
collection.
E. Literature
Reviews
17.
Evolutionary
Biology. SCI (1986- , v.19- ); Lau (1967-1985, v.1-18) QH 366 .A1
E9
Focuses on "critical reviews, commentaries, original papers, and controversies
in evolutionary biology. The topics of the reviews range from anthropology
to molecular evolution and from population biology to paleobiology."
18.
Perspectives
in Ethology. Lau QL 751 .B188 (v. 1-12)
Irregular. Each volume contains articles organized
around a general topic relating to animal behavior, such as animal
awareness or the future of ethology.
A. Subject
Search
GEORGE, the online
catalog, uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. These headings
are terms that have been established by the Library of Congress to
represent subjects. Some examples of the types of subject headings
(SUBJECT searches):
- To find specific concepts or theories: e.g. Social Behavior
in Animals; Territoriality (Zoology); Animal defenses; Predation
(Biology)
- To find books on particular animals: e.g. Monkeys; Baboons;
Whales
- To find broad concepts: e.g. Sociobiology; Psychology, Comparative.
B.
Keyword Search
When you cannot determine a relevant Library of Congress Subject
Heading or when you want to combine headings, search by KEYWORD.
This technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings,
and in other fields within the record.
C. Combined
Search
Perform a KEYWORD search
on GEORGE for one or
more of the terms which best describe your search. For example, Instinct*
and Animal*. (The "*" is a truncation symbol. All words that start
with instinct or animal will be retrieved). GEORGE will create a
set of records containing both words. If theset is too large, select
LIMIT, then select one of the ways of limiting. From this set, view
the items which seem most relevant. The Library of Congress Subject
Headings assigned to the book will appear in the part of the record
labeled "subject." If the subjects are not visible on the first screen,
scroll down further in the record. If a subject heading looks promising,
use it for further searches. By trying a variety of subject headings
for your topic, you will find the best books for your research.
If you need help with the computer catalog,
ask for assistance at the Science
Library Reference Desk.

19.
Animal
Behavior Abstracts. 1992-
Covers subjects such as migration, evolution, innate behavior, learning and
memory, and behavioral ecology.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
20.
Biological
Abstracts. 1985-
The most comprehensive abstracting service available in biology. The database
covers the basic biological disciplines of cytology, zoology, genetics, botany
and microbiology; and related interdisciplinary fields including biochemistry,
bioengineering, agriculture, ecology, food science and research medicine, biotechnology,
environmental studies and pharmacology. Updated weekly.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
21.
Proquest
Research Library. 1986- .
Indexes over 1,800 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general
sciences, business and general interest. About half of the articles are available
in full text. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
22.
PsycINFO. 1887-
Has citations and abstracts for 1,200+ journals in psychology, as well as citations
for doctoral dissertations and anthologies in psychology. Since 1887 covers
journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International
in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such
as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology,
linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Off-campus
access is limited to Georgetown faculty, students and staff who are currently
registered borrowers of the Lauinger Library or the Blommer Science Library.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
23. Science Citation Index Expanded.
see Web
of Science.
24.
Web
of Science. 1985 -
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database that indexes and
abstracts journals in the sciences and social sciences. Distributed by the
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), Web of Science at Georgetown University
is a cumulation of two databases: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social
Sciences Citation Index. In addition to traditional author, title and keyword
searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references
- the footnotes from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant
paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it. Pre-1989 coverage is
available in print format in the Dahlgren Medical Library. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

25.
Behavior
of Marine Animals: Current Perspectives in Research. SCI QL121 .W5
Volumes to date include: v. 1: Invertebrates. v. 2: Vertebrates. v. 3: Cetaceans.
v. 4: Marine birds. v. 5: Shorebirds, breeding behavior and populations, and
v. 6: Shorebirds, migration, and foraging behavior.
26.
Interpretation
and Explanation in the Study of Animal Behavior. SCI QL 751 .I57
1990
This two volume set contains 37 essays covering a wide range of topics dealing
with animal behavior. The emphasis is on issues, rather than on specific behaviors,
and topics include moral issues, the minds of animals, communication, analysis
of behaviors, and the relationship between animal behavior and artificial intelligence.
27.
Ethics
in Research on Animal Behavior: Readings from Animal Behaviour. KIEE
QL 55 .E84 1992
This book can be used as guidance on the treatment of animals and the design
of experiments to minimize the number of subjects.
28.
Measuring
Behaviour: an Introductory Guide. Lau QL 751 .M255 1993
Excellent introduction to studying behaviour in practice.
29.
Study
of Animal Behaviour. SCI QL 751 .H757 1984
Discusses the issues from a more theoretical
base.

30.
Information
Sources in the Life Sciences. SCI Ref. QH303.6 .I54 1997
Specialists in the fields present useful information on print and electronic
sources in the life sciences, including genetics, biochemical and molecular
sciences, botany, plant ecology and the environment, etc.
31.
Scientific
Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. SCI Ref. T11 .S386 1994
The 6th edition of the CBE manual covers all scientific disciplines except
technologic fields not closely related to experimental and observational science.
Intended primarily as a recommendation on how scientific papers, journals,
and books should be styled and formatted for publication. Published by the
Council of Biology Editors, it includes an annotated list of other similar
works.
32. 
Using
the Biological Literature: a Practical Guide. SCI Ref QH303.6
.D38 2002
Comprehensive list of important printed
and computerized reference sources useful for biologists and
biology students conducting library research, with emphasis
on current materials in the English language. All main fields
of the biological sciences are covered. Also available
online from the ebrary collection.
| VI. Societies and Organizations |

33.
Animal
Behavior Society. <http://www.animalbehavior.org/ABS/>
The purpose of this society is to promote and encourage the biological study
of animal behavior in the broadest sense, including studies at all levels of
organization using both descriptive and experimental methods under natural
and controlled conditions.
34.
Association
for the Study of Animal Behaviour (ASAB) <http://asab.nottingham.ac.uk/>
Founded in 1936 to promote the study of animal behaviour, and membership is
open to all who share this interest. There are now approximately 2000 members,
mostly drawn from Britain and Europe. Many members are professional biologists
who work in universities, research institutes or schools.
35.
Federation
of Behavioral, Psychological and Cognitive Sciences. <http://www.thefederationonline.org/>
The Federation is a coalition of 21
member organizations, university departments of psychology, schools of
education, research centers, regional psychological associations and science
divisions of the APA. Efforts are focused on legislative and regulatory advocacy,
education and getting information to scientists.
36.
FASEB:
Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology. <http://www.faseb.org/>
Members include: The American Physiological Society, American Society for Biochemistry
and Molecular Biology, American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics,
American Society for Investigative Pathology, American Society for Nutritional
Sciences, The American Association of Immunologists,
Biophysical Society, American Association of Anatomists, The Protein Society,
American Society for Bone & Mineral Research, American Society for Clinical
Investigation, The Endocrine Society, The American Society of Human Genetics,
Society for Developmental Biology,

37.
Animal
Behavior Societies. <http://asab.nottingham.ac.uk/web/societies.php>
Maintained by ASAB - Association for
the Study of Animal Behaviour.
38.
Neurosciences
on the Internet. <http://www.neuroguide.com/>
A searchable and browsable index
of neuroscience resources available on the Internet: neurobiology,
neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry, psychology, cognitive
science sites and information on human neurological diseases.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 8/06,NZ
Links updated: 12/07
jc