A. General
1.
Companion
Encyclopedia of Anthropology. Ref. GN25 .C65 1994
Divided into three parts: humanity, culture, and social life. Extensive articles
describe general concepts, aspects of human life, and contributions of current
anthropologists. Include bibliographies and sources of further reading.
2.
Dictionary
of Anthropology. Ref. GN 11 .D48 1986
Definitions of key terms.
3.
Encyclopedia
of Anthropology. Ref. GN 11 .E63 2006
Articles explain key concepts and theories, describe research findings, and
provide short biographies. Illustrated with charts, graphs, and photographs.
4.
Anthropology
Glossaries <http://anthropology.tamu.edu/glossaries.htm>
Texas A&M University provides links to a number of anthropology glossaries
on the web.
B. Cultural Anthropology
5.
Atlas
of Mankind. Ref. GN 378 .A884
Arranged by themes and regions, essays profile ethnic groups and cultures and
are illustrated by maps, photographs, charts, and chronologies.
6.
Atlas
of World Cultures: A Geographical Guide to Ethnographic Literature. Ref. G 1046 .E1 P7 1989
Black and white outline maps show the placement of various ethnic groups or
cultures of a region. Begin by using the culture index in the back of the volume
to find the correct maps and the entry numbers for citations to books or articles
listed in the bibliography.
7.
Dictionary
of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology. Ref. GN 307 .W56 1991
Explains the key ideas in cultural anthropology. Each one to two page entry
provides a succinct definition followed by a more detailed analysis giving
the concept's significance and history in anthropology and a list of useful
references. Name and subject index.
8.
Encyclopedia
of Cultural Anthropology. Ref. GN 307 .E52 1996
In-depth articles of this four-volume set provide overviews of major sub-fields
of cultural anthropology. Essays are wide-ranging and explore such topics as
theories of human culture, cultural evolution, methods of data collection,
dance, marriage, games, and cultural regions. Includes bibliographies.
9.
Encyclopedia
of the Peoples of the World. Ref. GN 495.4 .E53 1993
Short entries describe contemporary ethnic groups, nationalities, and peoples,
with estimated population figures for most groups. Includes maps, photographs,
bibliography, and index.
10.
Encyclopedia
of World Cultures. Ref. GN 307 .E53 1991
Entries describe major ethnic groups in detail, providing population, location,
language(s), history, settlements, economic activities, kinship, marriage and
family characterisitics, social organization, and religion and beliefs, followed
by a short bibliography. Prepared under the auspices of the Human Relations
Area Files, the ten-volume set is organized by world region. Each volume contains
a glossary and filmography. Volume 10 contains indexes by country, ethnic group
name (ethnonym), and subject.
11.
Social
and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts. Ref. GN 316 .R37 2000
Defines important ideas from cultural theory used by anthropologists. Bibliography
and an index.
C. Physical Anthropology
12.
Encyclopedia
of Human Evolution and Prehistory. Ref. GN 281 .E53 2000
Begins with an introductory essay, classification chart of the primates, time
chart, and a list of the entries grouped by major subject areas: evolutionary
biology, primates, geographic regions, archaeology, archaeological sites, morphology,
and geology. Indexed.
13.
Cambridge
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution. Ref. GN 281 .C345 1992
Arranged topically, essays discuss patterns of primate evolution, brain and
language, primate social organization, primate fossil records, genetics, and
early human behavior and ecology. Illustrated with maps, photographs, and tables.
Also includes a glossary, list of further readings, and an index.
14.
History
of Physical Anthropology. Ref. GN 50.3 .H57 1997
Entries outline the development of theories and research areas, the work in
various countries, and the lives of important anthropologists and include brief
bibliographies. Subject and name indexes. Two volumes.
15.
Dictionary
of Concepts in Physical Anthropology. Ref. GN 50.3 .S74 1991
A list of the concepts is at the beginning of the volume. Each concept is defined,
followed by a more detailed, two-page explication, including its significance
and development, and a two-page bibliography and related readings. Indexes
by subject and name.
D. Linguistics
16.
Encyclopedia
of Language and Linguistics. Ref. P 29 .E48 1994
A comprehensive ten-volume source on languages and linguistics, particularly
strong in articles dealing with recently formed nation-states and the impact
that politics has had on language. Includes bibliographies.
17.
International
Encyclopedia of Linguistics. Ref. P. 29 .I 58 1992
Covering all branches of linguistics and interdisciplinary topics, this four-volume
set includes bibliographies at the ends of articles and a glossary in the last
volume. Provides detailed information on the world's language families
E. Archaeology
18.
Encyclopedic
Dictionary of Archaeology. Ref. CC 70 .K56 2000
Definitions of over 7,000 terms relating to cultures, artifacts, sites, techniques,
methods, and brief biographies of archaeologists. Includes a chronology of
writing from prehistoric times to the present.
19.
Dictionary
of Archaeology. Ref. CC 70 .D53 1999
Defines terms, archaeological methods, and important archaeological sites.
Entries include references; some have diagrams or maps.
20.
Oxford
Companion to Archaeology. Ref. CC 70 .O96 1996
Intended as an overview, the articles, some lengthy, cover the history of archaeology,
archaeological methods and theories, world prehistory, origins of civilization,
historical archaeology, and current issues in archaeology. Articles include
short bibliographies. Maps, timelines, and an index conclude the volume.
21.
Companion
Encyclopedia of Archaeology. Ref. CC 70 .C59 1999
The scholarly essays in this two-volume encyclopedia discuss the origins, aims,
and methods of archaeology; archaeological themes and approaches; and writing
archaeological history. Articles were written to be "authoritative but
readable" and have illustrations and extensive bibliographies. Indexed.
22.
Past
Worlds: The Times Atlas of Archaeology. Ref. G 1046 .E15 P3 1988b
Organized by themes as well as by region and time period, the atlas begins
with a visual explanation of archaeological methods and a chronology. Maps
are accompanied by diagrams and photographs. Includes a glossary, bibliography,
and index. A shorter, more recent atlas is Atlas of World Archaeology Ref.
CC 165 .A85 2000.
| II. Bibliographies and Guides to Research |
Additional bibliographies are listed in GEORGE. Search by [subject]
- Bibliography, e.g., Prehistoric peoples -- Africa -- Bibliography.
23.
Annual
Review of Anthropology. 1972-1985, 1987- . Z
5112 .A5
Each volume is organized by broad subject areas within anthropology. Within
these are essays that summarize past and current literature on certain topics,
with extensive bibliographies. Essay topics vary from year to year. Full text
online is available via JSTOR for
1972-1997. Full text for 1996-present is available at <http://anthro.AnnualReviews.org/>;
tables of contents at this site are accessible for 1984-1995.
24.
Bibliographic
Index. Ref. Z 1002 .B594
Besides separately published bibliographies, this index identifies significant
bibliographies published in recent books and journal articles. It also
lists recurring literature surveys published as regular features of journals.
Helpful for browsing topics.
25.
Current
Anthropology. 1960- . Lauinger
Library 2nd floor
This journal showcases current scholarly dialogue in anthropology and publishes
research on human cultures and humankind. Each article is followed by commentaries
from other scholars as well as a reply by the article author. Issues also include
research reports, book reviews, interviews, and news items. Published five
times a year, occasional special issues. Full text online available via JSTOR for
1959-1999.
26.
Cultural
Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. Ref.
Z 5111 .K53 1991
Useful for identifying additional bibliographies, indexes, dictionaries, and
other reference sources for research in cultural anthropology.
27.
Fieldwork
in the Library: A Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area Studies. Ref. Z 5111 .W47 1994
A guide to resources for research in anthropology. Introduction to Library
Research in Anthropology (Ref. Z 5111 .W44 1998) is similar.
A.
GEORGE
Check for books on your topic in GEORGE ,
the library's catalog. Search by Library of Congress Subject
Headings, keywords, or try looking up a title you know and look at
the subject headings listed in the book's catalog record. Examples
of subject headings:
Ethnology - India - Bengal
Rites and ceremonies - France
Khoikhoi (African people) - Social life and customs
Anthropology - Field work
Culture conflict |
Birth customs - Cross-cultural studies
Inheritance and succession (Islamic law)
Middle class - Peru
Indigenous peoples
National characteristics, Australian
Popular culture - Mexico |
B. Other Libraries
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.
Library
of Congress <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
Smithsonian
Libraries Catalog <http://www.sil.si.edu/>
Information about the Smithsonian Libraries, including the Anthropology
Library in the National Museum of Natural History, is available at http://www.sil.si.edu/libraries/index.htm.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a catalog consisting of millions of records, representing the holdings
of thousands of libraries. Note: Available only to Georgetown University
students and faculty. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
A. Anthropology
28.
Abstracts
in Anthropology. Ref. GN 1 .A15
Summarizes books and periodical articles in the fields of cultural anthropology,
linguistics, physical anthropology, and archaeology, mostly in English.
29.
Anthropological
Index Online. <http://lucy.ukc.ac.uk/AIO.html>
Indexes 650 periodicals from the Museum of Mankind Library and
the Royal Anthropological Institute, 1965-present. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
30.
Anthropology
Review Database. <http://wings.buffalo.edu/ARD/>
Index to reviews of books, films, exhibits, and other media published in anthropological
publications. Began in 1997; reviews from American Antiquity 1990- .
B. Related Fields
31.
Alternative
Press Index.
Indexes and abstracts over 250 alternative, radical and left leaning journals,
newspapers and magazines from the U.S. and abroad. Topics covered include ecology,
feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, and national liberation.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
32.
America:
History and Life and Historical
Abstracts.
Indexes to U.S. and Canadian history journals (prehistoric times to the present)
and world history journals (1450 to present), respectively. Indexes journal
articles, books, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
33.
Art
Full Text and Art
Index Retrospective.
Indexes the major scholarly journals in art and related fields including archaeology,
decorative arts, folk art, crafts, non-Western art, and textiles. Includes
some full text,1997- . Use Art Index Retrospective for journal articles 1929-1984.
Print version is at Ref. Z5937 .A78. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
34.
ATLA
Religion Index.
Indexes religion periodicals as well as essay collections.Articles cover world
religions, beliefs, practices, and movements. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
35.
Contemporary
Womens Issues.
Indexes more than 100 periodicals in addition to non-periodical publications.
Sources provide information dealing with women's issues in over 130 nations.
. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
36.
ERIC. <http://www.eric.ed.gov>
Important database for education topics, ERIC (Educational Resources Information
Center) covers citations and abstracts of journal articles, project reports,
unpublished manuscripts, and other materials. Lauinger Library has ERIC documents
from the Foreign Language (FL) Clearinghouse since 1970 and documents sponsored
by the U.S. Department of Education since 1982 (on microfiche in the Government
Documents and Microforms Department, first floor). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
37.
Linguistics
and Language Behavior Abstracts.
Indexes the major periodicals, series, and recently published books covering
various topics in languages and linguistics. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
38.
Social
Sciences Index.
Since 1983, indexes the major English language scholarly journals in all the
social sciences, including anthropology. For prior years, see its print equivalent
(Ref.AI 3 .R471). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
39.
Sociological
Abstracts.
The primary index in the discipline, it summarizes articles on all aspects
of sociology. Arranged by broad subject categories with author and subject
indexes. For prior years, see its print equivalent (Ref. Index Table). Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
40.
Web
of Science.
A cumulation of two databases, Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences
Citation Index, that index and abstract journals in the sciences and social
sciences. In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the
citation databases allow you to also search articles' cited references - the
footnotes from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant paper
and find other, more recent papers that cite it. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
C.
Current News Sources
41.
Academic
Search Premier.
Provides full text for 3,467 publications covering academic areas of study
including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering,
language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic
studies. Over half of the titles abstracted and indexed are peer-reviewed.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
42.
LexisNexis
Academic.
This service provides access to full text of thousands of magazines, newspapers,
wire services, and broadcast transcripts, including foreign newspapers that
are not otherwise available. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
The
following are some of the important anthropology journals to which
Lauinger Library subscribes. These are kept on the second
floor of Lauinger, except where noted. Note: To
locate the full text of articles in journals not listed here, search Journal
Finder by the title of the journal or magazine. Journal
Finder will tell you if the full text of a periodical is available
in an online database and/or if the Library has a print copy. To
find articles on a particular subject in these and many other periodicals,
search
the indexes listed in Part IV.
American Anthropologist 1888 -
current tables
of contents
|
Current Anthropology 1960 - see #25 above |
Ethnology 1962 -
*online 1990 - |
American Ethnologist
*online 1974
- 1997
|
Human Organization 1949 -
*online 1998 - |
Cultural Anthropology 1986 -
*online 1986
- 1997 |
Anthropological Quarterly 1953 -
*online 2000
- |
Journal of Anthropological Research 1973 -
|
Ethnography 2001 -
*online 2000
- |
Anthropology Today 1985 -
current
tables of contents
*online 1985
- 1996 |
Journal of the Royal
Anthropological Inst.1995- (Man 1901 - 1994)
*online 1901
- 1996 |
Journal of Linguistic Anthropology
1996 - |
*Offcampus
access instructions
43.
American
Anthropological Association. <http://www.aaanet.org/>
The association provides a wealth of useful information and links to other
sites.
44.
Anthropology
Tutorials <http://anthro.palomar.edu/tutorials/>
Tutorials cover concepts in physical and cultural anthropology.
45.
ArchAtlas. <http://www.archatlas.dept.shef.ac.uk>
From the University of Sheffield, offers satellite and mapping
imagery focused on archaeological study of the spread of agriculture,
trade, and urbanism. The Fertile Crescent of the Middle East and the
Andes are represented in depth.
46.
ArchNet:
WWW Virtual Library - Archaeology <http://archnet.asu.edu/>
Archaelogical resources on the Web: browse by region or subject,
includes links to museums, schools, and journals.
47.
Australian Institute
of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS). <http://www.aiatsis.gov.au/>
Website of world's premier institution for information and research
about the cultures and lifestyles of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
peoples. Contains information sheets and bibliographies,full
text of discussion papers, and links to other related web resources.
48.
National
Park Service Archeology Program. <http://www.cr.nps.gov/archeology >
Provides information on current National Park Service
activities in archeology including excavations and preservation
efforts. Also gives access to federal legislation related to archaeology
and historic preservation.
49.
Theban
Mapping Project. <http://www.thebanmappingproject.com/>
American University in Cairo documentation of the Valley of the Kings and the
Theban necropolis. Contains photographs, plans with explanations of the individual
tombs, aerial maps, short audio files explaining the tombs,. summaries of the
history of exploration and search engine for types of decoration, architectural
forms and composition, data organized by ruler, bibliography, glossary of terms,
and links to other web sites.
50.
WWW
Virtual Library: Anthropology <http://vlib.anthrotech.com/>
A wide variety of resources represented.
51.
WWW
Virtual Library: Regional Studies <http://www.vlib.org/Regional.html>
Links to resources on indigenous peoples and various regions.
52.
VisualAnthropology.net <http://www.visualanthropology.net/>
Brings together and makes accessible information on visual anthropolgy,
including links to ethnography web sites, film reviews, and upcoming
worldwide conferences. Also links to the three principal journals
in the field.
53.
American
Folk Life Center <http://lcweb.loc.gov/folklife/>
54.
Anthropological
Papers of the American Museum of Natural History <http://digitallibrary.amnh.org/dspace/handle/2246/6>
55.
AnthropologyInstitutes
and Museums <http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/guides/anth/museums.html>
56.
Anthropology
Museums on the Web (Council for Museum Anthropology) <http://www.nmnh.si.edu/cma/antmus.html>
57.
Natural
History Museums and Collections < http://www.lib.washington.edu/sla/natmus.html>
58.
Peabody
Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology <http://www.peabody.harvard.edu/>
59.
Smithsonian:
National Museum of Natural History Anthropology Dept. <http://anthropology.si.edu/>
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
- wco
Links updated: 12/07
- mb