A.
General
1.
Asian
Historical Dictionaries.
Various Call Numbers.
This series includes individual
volumes for many Asian countries, all with different call numbers. Includes
chronologies, bibliographies, and short dictionary entries useful for
quick definitions and identification. In GEORGE,
do a keyword search for: Asian Historical Dictionaries and
choose your country from the list.
2.
Berkshire
Encyclopedia of World History. Ref.
D23 .B45 2005
Volume one
contains a section on Asia with an extensive list of cross references
to other essays about specific aspects of the history of Asia and Asian
countries. Also found online in Gale
Virtual Reference Library.
3.
Cambridge
History of China. Ref.
DS 735 .C3145
An authoritative multivolume
history with useful bibliographies. The set is not yet complete, so
there are not volumes for all periods.
4.
Cambridge
History of India. Ref.
DS 436 .C23
A multivolume history of
India from the earliest times up through the early twentieth century.
This set is updated by self-contained, thematic volumes of the New
Cambridge History of India, each of which has a distinct call number.
In GEORGE, do a title
search for: New Cambridge History of India and browse
the list.
5.
Cambridge
History of Japan. Ref.
DS 835 .C36 1988
Including articles by experts,
each volume of this set covers a specific time period. Good, detailed
index for each volume. The set is not yet complete, so there are not
volumes for all periods.
6.
Cambridge
History of Southeast Asia. Ref.
DS 525 .C36 1992
Covers Southeast Asia from
early times into the twentieth century. Includes a bibliographic essay
at the end of each chapter.
7.
Columbia
Chronologies of Asian History and Culture. Ref.
DS 33 .C63 2000
Brief essays introduce historical periods and give background to entries on
important events in the history of East, South, Southeast, and Central Asian
countries, from earliest times to the present (1998). Arts, culture, thought,
religion, science-technology, economics, and everyday life have entries as
well as political events. Political Chronology of Central, South, and East
Asia (Ref. DS 327.5 .P65 2001) and Political Chronology of South-East
Asia and Oceania (Ref. DS 525.7 .P65 2001) are devoted to political events.
8. 
Country
Studies (Area Handbooks) <http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html>
This series, prepared
by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress
under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored
by the Department of the Army, includes individual volumes
for many countries, all with different call numbers. The
social, political, and economic conditions of the country
are described. Includes bibliographies. Also
available in print. In GEORGE,
choose to do a title search for: [Name of Country]: A
Country Study. Located in Ref., Gov. Docs.,
and Main stacks.
9.
Encyclopedia
of Ancient Asian Civilizations. Ref.
DS 12 .H5 2004
Covers ancient Asia from the Indus Valley Civilization in 3000
BCE through the Cambodian empires of Funan, Chenla, and Angkor
that lasted until the 15th Century. Includes 900 detailed A-Z
entries that treat archaeological sites, religions, agricultural
and economic development, personalities, warfare, trade, and
political institutions.
10.
Encyclopedia
of Asian History. Ref.
DS 31 .E53 1988
Short articles by scholars
covering all areas of Asian history, includes brief bibliographies.
A detailed subject index and a useful syntopic outline appear at the
end of volume four.
11.
Korea:
A Historical and Cultural Dictionary. Ref. DS 902 .P737 1999
Contains around 1,500 entries in A-Z format ranging from
one or two paragraphs to several pages. Most entries have suggestions
for
further reading. Includes maps, a chronological chart of East
Asia's dynastic periods, a name index, and an extensive cross-reference
system.
B.
Special Topics
12.
The
Islamic World: Past and Present. Ref.
DS 35.53 .I86 2004
Three volume set containing essays arranged in alphabetical order by topic.
Asian countries with an Islamic presence are listed by country name. Each essay
gives a brief history of Islam in that country.
13.
Encyclopedia
of the Korean War. Ref. DS 918 .E53 2000
Entries cover political and
social aspects along with military history and include bibliographies
and cross references. Maps, Order of Battle, Medal of Honor Winners,
a timeline of Korean history, glossary, and bibliography of the war
round out the three-volume set.
14.
Encyclopedia
of the Vietnam War. Ref. DS 557.7 .E53
1998
A comprehensive three-volume encyclopedia of the war.
Articles include bibliographies and references to related entries.
Set includes bibliographies of nonfiction, fiction, and films, as
well as maps, statistics, primary documents, chronology, glossary,
and index.
15.
Historical
Dictionary of European Imperialism. Ref.
D 217 .H57 1991
Brief entries on events, individuals, places, legislation, treaties, and related
topics concerning European empires of the past 500 years.
16.
International
Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000. Ref.
HA 4675 .M552 2003
Statistics are grouped in tables by country and according to
ten standard headings: Population and Vital Statistics, Labor Force, Agriculture,
Industry, External Trade, Transport and Communication, Prices,
Education, and National Accounts.
17.
Modern
Japan: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism. Ref.
DS 805 .M63 1998
Contains over 425 entries. Concentrates on the
period since 1850. Examines historical events, leaders, and societal
pressures that caused Japan's
entry into the modern age. Includes a chronology of historical
events.
C. Atlases
18 .
Atlas
and Survey of South Asian History. Ref.
G 2261 .S1 S3 1995
Historical Atlas of Islam. Ref. G 1786 .A1
F7 2002
Cultural Atlas of Japan. Ref. DS 821 .C62 1988b
Historical Atlas of China. Ref. G 2306 .S1 H4
1966
Historical Atlas of South-East Asia. Ref. G
2361 .H5 1995
19.
Perry-Castañeda
Library Map Collection. <http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/index.html>
Includes historical maps.
Books on topics in Asian history are listed by subject (as well as title and
author) in GEORGE, the online catalog. Chinese, Japanese, and Korean language
books are included in GEORGE but are shelved on the Lower
Level of Lauinger Library.
A.
Subject Searching
Use
Library of Congress Subject Headings to search for books on Asian
history. These
subject terms have been established by the Library of Congress and are
listed in Library
of Congress Subject Headings, a set of red books located near the
Reference Desk; these are used in most American library catalogs. Some
typical headings include:
- To find general information:
Burma - History
- To find a particular time period:
China - History - Reform Movement,
1898
China
- History - 1861 - 1912
Note: Time
periods can be indicated by a named period or by dates. Time periods indicated
by name plus date, e.g. China - History - Reform movement, 1898 will
not appear in GEORGE in chronological order with time periods indicated by
a date only, e.g. China - History - 1861 - 1912.
- To find an event:
Korean War - 1950-1953
- You may also
search by chronological period or a topical subdivision:
Korea
- History - 1945-
Korea
- Foreign Relations - United States
- To find primary sources (see
also Section VI):
Japan - History - Sources
Japan
- History - Kamakura Period - 1135-1333 - Sources
Vietnamese
Conflict, 1961-1975 - Personal narratives, American
B. Keyword
Searching
When you can't
determine a relevant Library of Congress Subject Heading, or when you want
to combine headings,
search
by "keyword." This technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings,
and in other fields within the record. For example, to find books on the role
of women in Confucianism, you might try:
women and confucian*
Note: Such a search will locate
records that include any words beginning with "confucian" (confucian,
confucianism, confucianization) that also include the word "women."
If you need help with GEORGE or
searching by topic, speak to a Reference
Librarian.
The subheading - Bibliography can
be used with any subject heading in GEORGE. For example, e.g., World War,
1939-1945 - Bibliography; Thailand - History - 1782-1945 - Bibliography.
A.
General
20.
American
Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature. Ref.
Z 6201 .G95
A major, standard bibliography
for all time periods and fields of history, including Asian. Includes
brief annotations.
21.
Bibliography
of Asian Studies.
References western-language
monographs, articles and book chapters, on all
parts of Asia since 1971. Covers subjects in the social sciences
and humanities, including history. Runs 2-3 years behind. Use the printed
Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies (Ref. Z 3001. C9) for years
1941-1970. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
22.
International
Bibliography of Historical Sciences. Ref.
Z 6205 .I61
Lists
books and periodical articles covering all fields of history and time
periods. Arranged by field of history. Includes indexes by author,
geographic location, and historical figure.
B. Specific
Regions of Asia
23.
G.
K. Hall Bibliographic Guide to East Asian Studies. Ref. Z3001
.B484 2003
Comprehensive subject coverage in all formats for materials published
in any East Asian country and for materials about any East Asian country
from any place of publication.
24.
The
Harvard Korean Studies Bibliography. Gelardin
Media Center MMCD 226
CD-ROM. Contains references to over
83,000 items - articles, books, book sections, theses, and reviews. The majority
of the works cited are written in the English language. The other works are in
western languages.
25.
Japanese
History and Culture from Anceint to Modern Times: Seven Basic Bibliographies. Ref.
Z 3306 .D69 1995
Covers materials
from ancient Japan through the early 1990's. Bibliographies are arranged
by period, then subject.
26.
South
East Asia: A Guide to Reference Material. Ref.
Z3221 .D35 1993
In addition to sections by country and by topic, this work has a special section
on historical materials. Most of the works listed are in English but some are
in western languages and some are in the languages of the South East Asian
countries.
27.
South
Asian Civilizations. Ref.
Z 3185 .P37 1981
Extensive bibliography of
South Asia, prehistory through the twentieth century. Includes books,
theses, and long review articles, primarily in English. Covers political,
social, economic, labor, cultural, and local history of India, Pakistan,
Sri Lanka, and the Himalayan Rim.
28.
South
Asian History 1750-1950. Ref. Z 3185 .C3
Annotated bibliography for
the India-Pakistani subcontinent. Lists articles and dissertations
on political, cultural, social, and economic history.
29.
World
Bibliographical Series. Various
Call Numbers
Annotated bibliographies
on individual countries, covering a wide range of topics, including
history. Search GEORGE by
title: World Bibliographical Series, then browse the list or
limit by name of country in title.
30.
Bibliography
of Asian Studies.
See #21 above.
31.
Historical
Abstracts.
Indexes
and abstracts articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations dealing
with world history (excluding U.S.) from 1450 to the present. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
32. 
Index
Islamicus.
Index to books and articles
on all aspects of the Islamic world, including history. Useful for
history of Islamic countries in Asia as well as studies of Muslim contact
with other Asian countries. This
resource is also available in print (Ref. Z 3013 .L6). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| V. Other Library Catalogs |
33.
Library
of Congress <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
34.
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the
Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount
Universities, the University of the District of Columbia, and
Georgetown University. Georgetown students may borrow directly
from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC Catalog.
35.
WorldCat
A catalog comprising millions
of records representing the holdings of thousands of libraries. NOTE:
Available only to Georgetown students and faculty. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| VI. Primary Sources/Contemporary
News |
Many
types of sources qualify as primary sources: memoirs, travel accounts,
treaties, speeches, and letters. Consult the library's guide to Finding
Primary Sources for more resources and strategies.
36.
New
York Times Historical Version. (1851-1999)
Complete, fulltext archive of the New York Times. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
37.
Times
Digital Archive. (1785-1985)
Mostly full text archive of the Times of London. Available
on campus only. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
38.
H-Asia <http://www.h-net.msu.edu/~asia/>
Includes academic announcements and
employment listings for Asia scholars; teaching resources; online archive of
H-ASIA, H-JAPAN and H-ANZAU listservs; scholarly reviews of books, monographs,
educational multimedia and software; Asian studies related electronic journals;
and links to other Web sites.
39.
Asian
Studies WWW Virtual Library <http://coombs.anu.edu.au/WWWVL-AsianStudies.html>
Numerous links to Asia-Pacific
global resources, regional Asian resources, and individual countries/territories
resources.
40.
Library
of Congress Portals to the World < http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html>
Alphabetical list
of countries of the world. Each country has links for various categories,
including history.
41.
U
T - A S N I C <http://asnic.utexas.edu/asnic/index.html>
University of Texas at Austin
Asian Studies Network Information Center. Offers many links to regional and
country resources as well as online journals and newsletters.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
jc
Links updated: 12/07
jc