A.
Current Awareness
1.
Asian
Survey: A Monthly Review of Contemporary Asian Affairs. Second
Floor
A monthly publication devoted to current political, economic, and social developments
in Asia. The January and February issues survey the previous year's major trends
in 18 Asian countries. Indexed
in Bibliography
of Asian Studies, Social
Sciences Index, P.A.I.S., Historical
Abstracts; Social Sciences Citation Index (Web
of Science); and International
Political Science Abstracts.
2.
Beijing
Review. Second Floor
An official weekly publication (in English) from the People's Republic of China,
presenting the official views of the Chinese Communist Party. Includes articles
on international and domestic political, economic, and social issues, as well
as those on business, culture, science, and sports. Excerpts articles from
the Chinese press and reprints important speeches and official documents. Discusses
international questions. Indexed in Bibliography
of Asian Studies and Social
Sciences Index.
3.
CountryWatch.
1998- .
Provides current, detailed reviews for each of the countries currently recognized
by the US State Department as independent nations. Includes Country Reviews,
75-150 page reports covering the socio-demographics, history, politics, economics,
business climate, and environmental issues of the country. Also includes Country
Wire, which provides detailed real-time news for each of the countries
and a one-year searchable news story archive.
4. 
Economist
Intelligence Unit's Country
Profile and Country
Report. On campus only.
Annual analyses (Country Profile) and quarterly updates (Country
Report) of major trends in the economies of over 165 countries, by the
organization that publishes The Economist. Provides forecasts
for the upcoming year, evaluations of foreign trade data, and background data
on economic and political developments in each country. Check GEORGE for
call numbers of print editions (back to 1982 and no later than 1999) by typing
either Country Profile: [Name of Country] or Country Report: [Name
of Country]. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
5.
Far
Eastern Economic Review. Current
Year at Reserves Desk.
A news magazine covering the past week's events as well as reports on regional
affairs. Indexed in Bibliography
of Asian Studies, Social Sciences
Index, P.A.I.S., and ABI/Inform
Global. NOTE: Earlier issues located in the Periodical Stacks, second
floor, or on microfilm, first floor.
6.
LexisNexis
Academic. Dates vary by publication.
Provides access to the full-text of thousands of magazines, newspapers, wire
services, and broadcast transcripts, including international publications (mostly
English-language sources) not otherwise available in Lauinger.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
7. 
World
News Connection. 1995
- .
Provided by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Contains translations
of worldwide news and commentary from foreign television and radio broadcasts,
newspapers, and periodicals from July 1994 to the present. World News Connection
replaces Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Use the FBIS
Index for
1975-1996. Documents from 1978-mid 1990s are on microfiche in the Government
Documents and Microforms Deptartment. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
8.
Worldwide
News Resources. <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/elecref/index.htm#news>
Free current issues of foreign
newspapers online. Most charge for articles from archived issues.
B. Handbooks
9.
Asia
Yearbook. Ref. HC 411 .F195
Includes a section on the economics of the region, plus a section, arranged
alphabetically by country, surveying the country's politics, foreign relations,
economics, trade, industry, and agriculture.
10.
Asian
Political Almanac. Ref.
DS 35.2 .C69 1994
Includes a chronology of the region (since 1945), a historical listing of
the heads of state, a glossary of terms and events, as well as information
on international treaties/agreements, political parties, elections, and population.
Each section is arranged alphabetically by country.
11.
CIA
World Factbook <http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html>
Government information, demographics, statistics, and maps for all the countries
of the world. Created by the CIA.
12. 
Country
Studies (Area Handbooks) <http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html>
This series, prepared by the Federal Research Division
of the Library of Congress, includes individual volumes
about many countries, describing the
social, political, and economic conditions of each country. Includes
bibliographies. Print volumes all have different call numbers and are
available in Ref., Gov. Docs., and LAU Stacks. To locate a specific
country's study in print, do a title search in GEORGE for: [Name
of Country]: A Country Study.
13.
Eastern
Europe, Russia and Central Asia. Ref. DJK
51 .E256
Part of the series, "Regional Surveys of the World." Like the "Europa World
Year Book" (see #16 below) but focuses specifically
on these regions. Attends to recent affairs more closely than the Year Book
does. Charts the countries' progress; elections; wars, disputes, and invasions;
deaths and assassination; coronations; diplomatic activities; and economic
crises.
14.
Far
East and Australasia. Ref. DS 5 .F3
Same as above.
15. 
Europa
World Year Book. Ref. Desk JN 1 .E85
An annual publication providing an introductory survey plus a main section,
arranged alphabetically by country, that gives information and statistics
on the politics, economics, and social issues of the country.
C.
Encyclopedias
16.
Cambridge
History of Southeast Asia. Ref. DS
525 .C36 1992
Comprises two volumes, the first covering "Early Times to 1800" and the second
focusing on the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Includes broad thematic
chapters/essays, each featuring a bibliographic essay. Each volume indexed
separately.
17.
Dictionary
of the Modern Politics of South-East Asia. Ref.
JA 84 .S68 L44 1995
Includes short entries, arranged alphabetically, on people and events relevant
to this area's political history. Includes an index by country.
18 .
Encyclopedia
of Ancient Asian Civilizations. Ref. DS 12
.H5 2004
Covers ancient Asia from the Indus Valley Civilization in 3000 BCE
through the Cambodian empires of Funan, Chenla, and Angkor that lasted
until
the 15th Century. Includes 900 detailed A-Z entries that treat arachaeological
sites, religions, agricultural and economic development, personalities,
warfare, trade, and political institutions.
19 .
Encyclopedia
of Asian Culture. Ref. DS 12 .E53 1999
Contains 206 articles about all aspects of Asian cuture, including
political organization, social life, economic conditions, education,
literature, art, architecture, and religions and spiritual life.
Also highlights some close cultural similarities among people of
Asia.
20.
Encyclopedia
of Asian History. Ref. DS 31 .E53
Short articles by scholars covering all areas of Asian history, with brief
bibliographies. A detailed subject index and a useful syntoptic outline appear
at the end of volume 4.
21.
Encyclopedia
of Asian Philosophy. Ref. B 121 .E53 2001
Scholarly, signed entries
about significant individuals, schools of thought, texts, and concepts
in Asian philosophy from ancient times through the present. The book
begins with a lengthy general bibliography, and each entry ends with
a brief bibliography. For lengthier scholarly essays on Persian, Indian,
Buddhist, Chinese, Japanese, and Islamic philosophies, in
a resource also published by Routledge, see Companion Encyclopedia
of Asian Philosophy (Ref. B 121 .C66 1997).
22 .
The
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide:
V. 1, Asia and Oceania.
Ref HQ 1115 .G74 2003
Each chapter focuses on a single country and covers topics such as eduation,
employment, family, health, law, politics ,religion, sexuality, and violence
as
they relate
to women. Each chapter also includes web sites, organizations, suggested readings,
and a selected bibliography.
23.
South
Asian Folklore: An Encyclopedia. Ref GR 302 .S68 2003
Contains over 500 alphabetically arranged articles which cover all
aspects of folklore including folk art, dance, street theater, puppetry,
foods,
architecture,
traditional
carpet weaving, the caste system, Hindu and Muslim religious practices,
holidays, festivals, and rituals and rites
of passage for the countries of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal,
Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
D.
Atlases and Chronologies
24 .
Columbia
Chronologies of Asian History and Culture. Ref.
DS 33 .C63 2000
Organized first by region,
then by country, and further by time period (e.g., colonial, independence),
provides chronological overviews for each country with detailed entries
covering political history; the arts; culture; thought and religion;
science and technology; economics; and everyday life--from the Paleolithic
era through 1998. Appendixes list Asian national independence days,
scientific and technological achievements, and an overview of Asian
history alongside a chronology of world history and culture.
25.
Historical
Atlas of South-East Asia. Ref. G 2361
.S1 H5 1995
Provides maps of the region and of individual countries, arranged in chronological
order, as well as an introduction giving a brief background to the maps. Includes
an extensive bibliography and an index of personal names.
26 .
A
Political Chronology of Central, South and East Asia. Ref.
DS 327.5 .P65 2001
Details the principal economic, cultural and social landmarks
in the history of each nation, with additional coverage of
current events particularly for countries with a recent history
of political upheaval.
27.
A
Political Chronology of South-East Asia and Oceania. Ref.
DS 525.7 .P65 2001
Same as above.
E.
Economic Overviews

28.
Asian
Development Outlook. Ref. HC
411 .A1 A84
Annual economic report analyzing macroeconomic and development
issues of the developing member countries (DMCs) of the Asian
Development Bank (ADB). Narrative
analyses with statistical tables.
29.
Economic
and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific. Ref.
HC 411 .U48
Narrative analysis of recent economic and social developments, socioeconomic
implications of demographic dynamics, and development issues in the region. Beyond
reviewing the socioeconomic climate and related policy matters, each annual
issue focuses on a specific issue (e.g., international trade in primary commodities;
education and employment; export policies; financing
for development).
A. Lauinger
Library - Search GEORGE,
the online catalog, by:
Subject: Use the Library ofo Congress
Subject Headings (LCSH), the red volumes shelved in the dictionary
stand near the Reference Desk to find the correct terms. Examples
of subject headings:
Japan - Economic conditions
India - Foreign relations
Upanishads
Asia, Central
Asia, Southeast
Asian Development Bank
Mao Tse Tung
Keyword: When you can't determine
a relevant Library of Congress Subject Heading or when you want to combine
terms, search
by "keyword." This technique locates words in a book's title,
subject headings, and other fields within the record. For example to
find books
on the influence of Japanese art on Impressionism, you might try:
impressionis* and (japan or japanese)
Such a search will locate records that include the words "impressionism"
or "impressionists" (i.e., any word beginning with "impressionis")
as well as either "Japan" or "Japanese" (or
both).
B. Other
Libraries
30.
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.
31.
Library
of Congress. <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
32.
Washington
Area Library Directory. Ref.
Desk Z 732 .D62 W38 2003
Listing of libraries in the Washington, D.C. area. The subject index
identifies libraries with Asian Studies subject specialties.
33.
WorldCat.
WorldCat is a catalog consisting of almost 30 million records, representing
the holdings of thousands of libraries. Note: Available only to Georgetown
University students and faculty. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
34.
Academic
Search Premier. 1965 - (varies).
Indexes over 3200 scholarly
publications in the social sciences, humanities, education, computer
sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts, literature,
medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Significant percentage available
in full text. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
35. 
Bibliography
of Asian Studies. 1971 - .
References western-language monographs, articles, book chapters, and conference
proceedings on all parts of Asia. (Since 1992, newly published individual monographs
are no longer being added to the database.) Covers the social sciences as well
as the humanities. NOTE: A print version for 1971-1991 is also available at
Ref. Z 3001 .B53. For 1941-1965, use Cumulative Bibliography of Asian
Studies (Ref. Z 3001 .C93 and Ref. Z 3001 .C94). Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
36.
CIAO (Columbia
International Affairs Online). 1991 - .
Offers full text and abstracts
of books, journals, conference proceedings, working papers, and research
reports in international affairs from 41 participating institutes around
the world. Subject coverage
includes global issues, world politics and political science, religions,
nationalism, terrorism, diplomacy, security, and the world economy. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
37.
G.
K. Hall bibliographic Guide to East Asia Studies. Ref
Z 3001 .B484 2003
Lists recent publications cataloged by the Research Libraries of the
New
York Public Library and the Library of Congress.
38. 
Historical
Abstracts. 1955 - .
Indexes and abstracts articles dealing with world history from 1450 to the
present. NOTE: A print version is also available on the 2nd floor, 1955-1994. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
39. 
International
Political Science Abstracts. 1989 - .
Provides abstracts of periodical articles on political science, government,
international relations, and area studies. Indexes more than 1,000 international
journals. The printed version (1951-1997) is at Ref. JA 36 .I5. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
40.
LexisNexis
Academic.
See #7 above.
41.
Proquest
Research Library. 1986 - .
Indexes over 1,800 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general
sciences, business and general interest. About half of the articles are available
in full text. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
42. 
PAIS
International. 1915
- .
One of the best sources of current information on politics and international
affairs. Indexes not only journals, but also books and government documents
since 1915. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
43. 
Social
Sciences Index. 1983 - .
Indexes the core scholarly journals in the social sciences, including several
relevant to Asian studies. NOTE: A print equivalent is available, both for
this same time period (Ref. Index Table 1) and for earlier years (Ref. AI 3
.R471). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
44.
World
Bibliographical Series. Various call numbers.
Annotated bibliographies on individual countries covering a wide range
of topics, including population, history, religion, economy, and foreign
relations. Search
by title for the name of the country; then limit your search to "Clio" as publisher.
Or search by title for World Bibliographical Series.
NOTE: There are many other bibliographies related to Asia in the Ref. Z 3000's.
| IV. Statistical
Information |
45.
Asia
and the Pacific in Figures. <http://www.unescap.org/stat/statdata/apinfig.htm>
Provides official government
figures for population, land use, employment, production, national accounts,
external trade, government expenditure, transportation, tourism. (Data
sometimes drawn from the United Nations and other international sources
when official government figures are not available.) Published by the Economic
and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP), the main economic
and social development forum within the United Nations.
46.
Foreign
Trade Statistics of Asia and the Pacific. Ref. HF 3751
.F64
Contains statistics on import/export trade, including tables with data for over
all trade, trade between countries,intr-regional trade, and major products.
47.
International
Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania, 1750-2000. Ref.
HA 4675 .M552 2003
Provides historical statistics arranged by broad subject (e.g., population,
agriculture, industry, labor).
48.
Key
Indicators of Developing Asian and Pacific Countries. Ref.
HC 411 .A754a
Includes country and regional tables with social, economic, and financial data
as well as a special chapter on current development issues.
49.
LexisNexis
Statistical. An index to the statistical publications
of the major international intergovernmental organizations, including the
UN,
OAS, and various development banks since 1990. Focuses on basic economic,
demographic, industrial, and social statistics. Note: For earlier
years, use the printed version of Index to International Statistics (IIS),
available
in Government
Documents. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
50.
Specific
country statistical handbooks. Ref. HA
Many countries publish their own statistical handbooks. For a number of countries,
primarily developed nations, they are available in the reference stacks. To
determine if the library has one for a given country, look in GEORGE under
[Name of country] - Statistics or ask a Reference Librarian for help.
51.
World
Investment Directory. Asia and the Pacific. Ref.
HG 4538 .W67 2000 (v. 7, parts 1 & 2)
A two-volume UN compilation of foreign direct investment statistics for countries
in the Asia and Pacific Rim areas, arranged by country. Profiles also describe
the activities and basic financial data of transnational corporations by sector
(e.g., sales, assets, research & development expenditures, royalty receipts
and payments) and the legal framework for investment.
| V. US Government and
UN Documents |
Publications
of the US government departments and agencies, as well as Congress,
are listed in GEORGE and housed in the Government
Documents and Microforms area on the first floor.
52.
AccessUN. 1944-
.
Indexes UN documents including
Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records,
UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Provides
the full text of several thousand UN documents. Most UN documents
are on microform and housed in the Government
Documents and Microforms area. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
53.
MarciveWeb
(U.S. Government Documents).
Indexes government documents issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office
since 1976. Can be searched by author, title, subject, and keyword. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

54.
Asia
Society <http://www.asiasociety.org/>
A national nonprofit, nonpartisan educational organization aiming to foster
understanding of Asia and communication between Americans and people of the
Asia-Pacific region. Includes Asia Source,
a pan-Asian resource providing links to information on Asian arts & culture
(e.g., food), business & economics (e.g., business protocol), policy & government,
and social issues.
55.
Asian
Studies WWW Virtual Library. <http://coombs.anu.edu.au/WWWVL-AsianStudies.html>
Authoritative guide to scholarly online information resources about the Asian
continent and individual Asian regions, countries, and territories. Aims to "maintain
accurate, comprehensive, current, and annotated catalogs of online resources
selected on the strength of their reliability, authority and usefulness to
inquiry and analysis regarding Asian societies, politics, economies, histories,
and cultures." Provides links to archives, library catalogs, documents,
mailing lists, bibliographies, e-journals, and study abroad programs. Audience:
academics, librarians, journalists, and graduate students.
56.
Portal
to Asian Internet Resources. <http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/PAIR/>
Lists high-quality Web resources originating in Asia from academic, government,
commercial, trade and industry, and non-governmental organizations. Resources
include bibliographies and databases, data sets, newspapers and journals, government
reports, and organization sites. Over six thousand professionally selected,
cataloged, and annotated online resources. A project of the library at the
University of Wisconsin-Madison.
57.
Digital
South Asia Library. <http://dsal.uchicago.edu/>
A project of the Center for Research Libraries, this site includes
links to online digital dictionaries, image & photograph collections,
bibliographies, journals, books, statistical sources, and other web sites
all dealing with South Asia.
58.
East
and Southeast Asia: An Annotated Directory of Internet Resources.
<http://newton.uor.edu/Departments&Programs/AsianStudiesDept/>
This site is maintained by a professor at Redlands University,
and organizes links by country, region, and "hot topics." Annotations
accompany each link.
59.
National
Bureau of Asian Research. <http://www.nbr.org/>
Nonprofit, nonpartisan institution that conducts advanced research on policy-relevant
issues in Asia. NBR's AccessAsia is
a global clearinghouse for information on contemporary Asian affairs and policy-related
issues.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
jc
Links updated: 12/07
jc