![]() |
![]() |
|||||||||||||||||
Guides Home » Science & Technology GuidesGuide
to Research: Astronomy
|
||||||||||||||||||
| Reference Stacks | World Wide Web | Electronic Library Resource (GU only) |
|
Table of Contents |
| I. Background Sources |
1.
Astronomy
Encyclopedia. SciRef. QB14 .A875 2002
Illustrated encyclopedic dictionary with more than 3,000 entries written
by international contributors. Articles range from a brief paragraph
to several columns, and are unsigned. The appendix offers basic charts.
2.
The
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Space. SciRef/Atl TL788 .E7713 1990
Covers the entire field of space science and technology. The major
divisions of the books describe the history of space research, the
use of satellites and space stations, exploring the universe, and
living in space. The world's space programs are discussed in detail
with descriptions of individual missions and their results. Includes
many color photographs and diagrams, and a glossary and an index.
3.
Encyclopedia
of Astronomy and Astrophysics. SciRef QB14 .E525 2001
Extensive coverage is given some newer subjects such as dark matter
and extrasolar planets. Has 2,000 illustrations including a section
of color plates in each volume. The 700 signed major articles and
1,800 smaller articles are extensively indexed. Main articles have
bibliographies and internal cross-references as well as references
to pertinent Web sites. In 4 volumes.
4.
Encyclopedia of the Solar System. QB501 .E53 1999
Provides a series of comprehensive and authoritative articles written
by more than 50 eminent planetary and space scientists. Describes
the system from the galaxy inward to the sun and then outward through
the planets. Discuses also comets, asteroids, missions of exploration
to the planets, and the search for planets outside the solar system.
Each chapter is self-contained. Extensive cross-references.
5.
Illustrated
Encyclopedia of Space Technology: A Comprehensive History of Space
Exploration. Lau/Ref TL788 .I44 1989
A comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia covering the history of space
exploration. Includes drawings, maps, over 400 photographs, a glossary,
an index, and a chronology from 360 B.C, through 1988. Subject coverage
includes manned space flight, moon probes, military satellites, and
space cities.
6.
Mark
Wade's Encyclopedia Astronautica. <http://www.astronautix.com/>
Encyclopedia Astronautica currently boasts 6,000 individual entries
located via the indexes, and also provides a main index link to longer,
overview articles. This is a colorful and easily navigated site, rich
with information.
7.
Cambridge
Astronomy Dictionary. SciRef QB14 .C34 1996
Provides over 1000 entries, extensively cross-referenced, 50 diagrams,
and 30 tables. Also included are brief biographies of over 100 famous
astronomers.
8.
Companion
to the Cosmos. SciRef QB14 .G73 1996
A comprehensive guide to the cosmos. Contains lengthy feature
articles on major subjects (for example, black holes, gravity, our
Galaxy, life in the Universe), shorter entries, and biographies of
the scientists. In the final section, "Timelines," cosmological discoveries
are set out alongside key dates in general history and the history
of science, from the time of the ancient astronomers of Greece up
to the present day.
9.
Dictionary
of Astronomy, Space and Atmospheric Phenomena. SciRef QB14 .T83
Provides definitions for about 2300 terms in astronomy, meteorology,
and space exploration. Entries are concise, alphabetically arranged
and many are accompanied by line drawings and tables of data. The
appendix includes tables of information on the planets, constellations,
stars, and other objects of the solar system.
10.
Eric
Weisstein's World of Astronomy. <http://scienceworld.wolfram.com/astronomy/>
Assembled by Eric Weisstein, an extensively cross-referenced resource
for finding clear definitions to technical information related to
Astronomy.
11.
Gazetteer
of Planetary Nomenclature. <http://planetarynames.wr.usgs.gov/>
Contains detailed information about all names of topographic and albedo
features on planets and satellites (and some planetary ring and ring-gap
systems) that the International
Astronomical Union (IAU) has named and approved from its founding
in 1919 through its triennial meeting in 1997.
12.
Astronomical
Almanac. SciRef QB8 .U6 A77
Provides astronomical data on sunrise, sunset, twilight, moonrise,
and moonset; eclipses of the sun and moon; coordinates of the sun;
phases of the moon; the ephemerides of the planets; and right ascension
and declination of bright stars and galaxies. Includes a list of observatories,
a glossary, and an index. Yearly updates.
13.
Astronomy
Picture of the Day. <http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/astropix.html>
Each day a different image or photograph is featured at this NASA
site, along with a brief explanation written by a professional astronomer.
14.
A
Field Guide to the Stars and Planets. SciRef QB64 .M4 2000
A general guide for the novice astronomer with chapters covering the
sun, the moon, planets, stars, constellations, meteors, and comets.
Unique features include monthly sky maps and a photographic atlas
of the sky. Includes extensive tables, a glossary, a bibliography,
and an index.
15.
Handbook
of Space Astronomy and Astrophysics. SciRef QB136 .Z65 1990
A compilation of tables, graphs, charts, and formulas drawn from sources
across a broad range of the physical sciences including astronomy,
physics, mathematics, astrophysics, and geophysics. Chapters include
short bibliographies, and a general subject index provides access
to the data.
16.
NASA -Mars. <http://mars.jpl.nasa.gov/>
NASA's Mars exploration website. Information about the Mars Rovers,
Spirit and Opportunity.
17.
The
Nine Planets. <http://seds.lpl.arizona.edu/nineplanets/nineplanets/nineplanets.html>
An overview of the history, mythology, and current knowledge of each
of the planets and moons in our solar system. Includes text and images.
18.
The
Cambridge Atlas of Astronomy. SciRef/Atl QB65 .G6813 1994
An encyclopedic treatment of astronomy with many photographs and diagrams.
Divided into four sections, the first part discusses the sun; the
second part explores our solar system with separate sections on each
of the planets; the third part is devoted to our own galaxy; extra-galactic
space is discussed in the fourth part; and the last section treats
astronomy in general, including its history and observation techniques
presently in use. A glossary and a subject index conclude the work.
19.
The
NASA Atlas of the Solar System. SciRef/Atl G1000 .G7 1997
Compilation of images of 30 solar system objects with maps of 26.
It combines colorful and detailed pictures and maps with text to explain
the processes that shaped the objects' surfaces. Appendixes include
a glossary, a summary of all planetary spacecraft missions, recommendations
for further reading, and a table of planetary data.
20.
Norton's
Star Atlas and Reference Handbook (Epoch 2000.0). SciRef QB65 .N7
1998
Star charts are found on the first forty pages of the work. In all,
the star maps show approximately 8700 stars. The Reference Handbook
section follows the maps and emphasizes reference information and
practical observing advice. This section includes chapters on astronomical
positions and time, practical astronomy and astronomical instruments,
and the solar system. A glossary and a subject index are located in
the appendix.
21.
The
New Atlas of the Universe. SciRef/Atl QB44.2 .M66 1984
Filled with color photographs, star maps and diagrams, the three major
parts of this work treat the development of astronomy, the solar system,
and the outer universe. Within the section on the solar system, several
pages are devoted to each of the planets. Includes a glossary, a catalogue
of stellar objects, and an extensive subject index.
22.
Solar
System Simulator--JPL NASA. <http://space.jpl.nasa.gov/>
This site allows users to input a number of variables to create color
views of the solar system and any of its bodies. Additional
features include information on the current status of the Cassini
and Galileo spacecraft.
23.
The
Star Pages-Astronomy Yellow Pages on the WWW. <http://cdsweb.u-strasbg.fr/~heck/spages.htm>
Includes three different major groups of web pages: StarWorld (for
associations, organizations), StarHeads (for individuals), and StarBits
(for acronyms, abbreviations). The information is authenticated, regularly
updated, homogenized, systematically
presented, and includes links to about 10,000 distinct web sites.
| II. Finding Articles |
24.
Astronomy
and Astrophysics Abstracts, 1969-1993. Shelved with periodicals
at Lauinger
The major index to literature in astronomy and related fields. Although
the emphasis is English, coverage is international. Article citations
with abstracts are arranged according to a subject classification
system. Published semiannually, each volume includes author and subject
indexes.
25.
Inspec.
1967- . Reiss Science Building
The database for physics, electrical engineering and electronics,
control theory and technology, and computers and computing. Corresponds
to the three publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical and Electronics
Abstracts, and Computer and Control Abstracts. Also available from
http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
26.
Proquest
General Reference. 1980- .
Indexes over 2,900 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities,
general sciences, business and general interest. About half of the
articles are available in full text. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
27. Science Citation Index Expanded.
See Web
of Science.
28.
Web
of Science. 1985- .
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database that
indexes and abstracts journals in the sciences and social sciences.
Distributed by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), Web
of Science at Georgetown university is a cumulation of two databases:
Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index.
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the
citation databases offer access to articles' cited references - the
footnotes from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant
paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it. Pre- 1989 coverage
is available in print format in the Dahlgren Medical Library. Also available from
http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| III. Finding Books |
A.
Subject Search
GEORGE,
the online catalog, uses Library of Congress Subject Headings.
These headings are terms that have been established by the Library
of Congress to represent subjects. Some examples of the types of subject
headings (SUBJECT
searches):
B.
Keyword Search
When you cannot determine a relevant Library of Congress Subject Heading
or when you want to combine headings, search by KEYWORD.
This technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings,
and in other fields within the record. If more than one keyword is
used, the search results contain items that include all the keywords.
C.
Combined Search
Perform a KEYWORD
search on GEORGE for one or more of the terms which best describe
your search. For example, astrophysics and space. GEORGE will create
a set of records containing both words. If the set is too large, select
LIMIT, then select one of the ways of limiting. From this set, view
the items which seem most relevant. The Library of Congress Subject
Headings assigned to the book will appear in the part of the record
labeled "subject." If the subjects are not visible on the first screen,
scroll down further in the record. If a subject heading looks promising,
use it for further searches. By trying a variety of subject headings
for your topic, you will find the best books for your research.
If you need help with the computer catalog,
ask for assistance at the Science
Library Reference Desk.
| IV. Selected Periodicals |
![]()
29.
Astronomy. Blommer Periodicals
(Table of contents from <http://www.astronomy.com/asy/default.aspx?c=bi&id=32>)
A well illustrated monthly publication of astronomy with many color
photographs. Articles cover topics such as specific asteroids, comets,
and galaxies. Each issue includes a sky almanac section displaying
sky maps and providing a calendar of events for that month. News sections
focus on current information and events. Other departments review
books and products.
30.
Sky
and Telescope. Blommer Periodicals
(Table of contents from <http://skytonight.com/skytel>)
A monthly publication containing review articles, articles on current
events, monthly star maps and calendars, reviews of conferences and
meetings, and book and product reviews. Feature articles cover popular
topics. Includes many color photographs.
31.
Astrophysical
Journal. 1975-1993. Lauinger Periodicals
Monthly publication devoted to recent developments,
discoveries, and theories in astronomy and astrophysics. Table of
contents and free access to back issues available from <http://www.journals.uchicago.edu/toc/apj/current>.
| V. Guides to the Literature |
![]()
32.
Finding
Answers in Science and Technology. SciRef Z7401 .P86 1984
A general introduction to an overview of how to find information and
how to formulate a search strategy. Includes subject-arranged chapters
on specific information sources, including both printed and online
sources.
33.
Information
for Authors: Astronomy Journals. <http://www.library.umaine.edu/sec/curtis/info4au/default.htm>
Information for publishing in major astronomy journals. Maintained
by Nancy R. Curtis, University of Maine.
34.
Information
Sources in Science and Technology. SciRef Z7401 .H85 1998
Guide to major sources of information in science and technology. Organized
by broad subject categories such as chemistry, physics, and astronomy.
Within each subject area, sources are grouped by type of literature, for
example, handbooks, dictionaries, and so forth. A narrative description
of each title is provided.
| VI. Associations and Organizations |
![]()
35.
American
Astronomical Society. <http://www.aas.org/>
Access the full text of current and recent articles of the Astrophysical
Journal Electronic Edition <http://www.journals.uchicago.edu/ApJ/>.
36.
CEPS/NASM
Smithsonian Institution. <http://www.nasm.si.edu/>
An excellent introduction to the Smithsonian Institution's Air and
Space Museum in Washington, DC. Features information and photographs
on the Center for Earth and Planetary Studies.
37.
The
International Astronomical Union. <http://www.iau.org/>
Founded in 1919 the Union promotes and safeguards the science of astronomy
in all its aspects through international cooperation. With over 8,500
individual members and 61 adhering countries worldwide, the IAU plays
a key role in promoting and coordinating worldwide cooperation in
astronomy. The IAU is also the sole internationally recognized authority
for assigning designations to celestial bodies and surface features
on such bodies. The Gazetter of Planetary Nomenclature <http://planetarynames.wr.usgs.gov/>
is searchable.
38.
NASA.
<http://www.nasa.gov>
The home page of NASA includes the latest news
on space exploration, human space flight, aeronautics, and space sciences.
Includes links to all separate NASA centers and programs, affiliated
institutes and organizations, as well as other space agencies and
sources of information.
| VII. Web Sites |
![]()
39.
The
Astrobiology Web. <http://www.astrobiology.com/>
Pages are organized thematically allowing easy navigation to ahttp://www.journals.uchicago.edu/toc/apj/currentreas
of interest.
40.
Astronomy
Resources. <http://www.stsci.edu/resources/>
Massive list of astronomy resources available on the Internet. Organized
by categories such as software, bibliographies, abstracts, publications
by the Space Telescope Science Institute.
41.
AstroWeb:
Astronomy on the Internet. <http://cdsweb.u-strasbg.fr/astroweb.html>
AstroWeb is a collection of pointers to astronomically relevant Internet
resources, maintained by the AstroWeb Consortium <http://www.cv.nrao.edu/fits/www/astroweb.html>.
Please send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated 8/2006 - nz
Links updated -12/07 jc