A.
Current Awareness 
1.
Far
East and Australasia. Ref. DS 5 .F3
This annual survey describes the political,
economic, and commercial situation of each country in the region. Includes
statistics for each country and information on regional organizations.
Older editions are in LAU
Stacks.
2. 
Economist
Intelligence Unit. Country
Report: [Name of Country] and Country
Profile: [Name of Country].
An annual analysis (Country Profiles)
and quarterly updates (Country Reports) of major trends in the economies
of over 165 countries. Includes forecasts for the upcoming
year and evaluations of foreign trade data; supplements provide background
data on economic and political developments in each country. Check GEORGE for
call numbers of earlier years going back to 1982. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B.
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries/Handbooks 
3.
The
Australian Encyclopaedia. Ref.
DU 90 .A82 1996
Authoritative eight-volume general encyclopedia
published by the Australian Geographic Society.
4.
Australians:
A Historical Dictionary. Ref. DU 110
.A895 1987
Covers political, diplomatic, economic,
social, and cultural history. Most entries are brief; longer articles
contain brief bibliographies.
5.
Bateman
New Zealand Encyclopedia. Ref. DU 405
.B38 1995
Single-volume encyclopedia with brief
entries on many aspects of New Zealand's history, culture, flora and
fauna, people, places, and institutions. Also includes a brief chronology
of New Zealand history.
6.
Collins
Milestones in Australian History. Ref. DU 110
.B76 1986
A chronology of all the major events,
achievements, and personalities in Australia's history since European
settlement. The over 20,000 entries are arranged by year, subdivided
by broad subject category.
7.
Historical
Dictionary of New Zealand. Ref. DU
420 .J24 1996
Concise dictionary covering a wide range
of people and historical events in New Zealand, with an emphasis on
its recent political history. Includes maps, a Maori word
glossary, a chronology of recent New Zealand history, a bibliography,
historical statistics, lists of political leaders, and demographic
and economic data tables.
8.
Historical
Dictionary of the Discovery and Exploration of Australia.
Ref. DU 97 .D39 2003
Contains chronology, general introduction, alphabetical entries for persons,
places and events, and an extensive 80 page bibliography arranged first by subject
and then by geographical area.
9.
Historical
Dictionary of the Discovery and Exploration of the Pacific Islands. Ref.
DU 19 .Q36 2005
Includes postulated estimates of the times of the migrations
of the peoples of the Pacific, a chronological listing of European
voyages, and an extensive bibliography of over 100 pages. New Zealand
information is found throughout the book.
10.
Illustrated
Encyclopedia of New Zealand. Durkin
Collection DU 405 .I55 1992
Large one-volume encyclopedia containing
short articles and many illustrations depicting numerous aspects of
life in New Zealand. Topics covered include people, places, animals,
historical figures and events, geographic features, organizations,
popular culture, and sports.
11.
Oxford
Companion to Australian History. Ref DU 110 .O93
2001
This encyclopedic guide to Australian history is arranged alphabetically
by topic. Entries vary in length from 100 to 2,000 words
12.
What
Happened When: A Chronology of Australia from 1788. Ref
DU 110 .B28 2000
Chronology of major events
in Australian history. In addition to political, social and economic
events, each year's section includes information on architecture, science,
art, books, sports, the environment, births, and deaths.
C.
Biographical Dictionaries 
13. 
Australian
Dictionary of Biography. http://www.adb.online.anu.edu.au/adbonline.htm Ref. Biog.
DU 82 .A9
Biographical articles on Australians from
all fields, 1788-1980. Check the volumes for the appropriate time period.
14. 
Dictionary
of New Zealand Biography. Ref.
Biog. CT 2882 .D53
Biographical articles
on New Zealanders from all fields, 1769-1960. A brief list of suggested
readings follows each article. Online version provides browsing by
occupation, tribal affiliation, and other criteria. Also
available from http://www.dnzb.govt.nz/dnzb/
D. Economic
Overviews 
15.
OECD
Economic Surveys Australia. Ref. HC 605 .O7
This annual publication provides a discussion
of the country's economy, focusing on recent trends and prospects and
on economic policies. Includes a statistical appendix with basic economic
indicators as well as many tables and charts that supplement the text.
Also available online within SourceOECD. Older editions are in LAU
Stacks.
16.
OECD
Economic Surveys New Zealand. Ref.
HC 665 .O7
Also available online within SourceOECD. (See
#15 above.)
17.
Doing
Business and Investing in Australia. Ref. HC
54 .U52 A8
A guide to the country's business regulations,
banking and accounting practices, tax structure and regulations, labor
conditions, and investment climate.
18.
Doing
Business and Investing in New Zealand. Ref. HC 54
.U52 N49
(See #17 above.)
E.
Atlases 
19.
Australians:
A Historical Atlas. Ref. G 2721 .S1
A97 1987
Maps and extensive commentary on many
aspects of Australian history, including demographic developments, economic
conditions, and geographic and environmental factors. Includes many
charts, graphs, and illustrations.
20.
Bateman
New Zealand Historical Atlas. Ref. G 2796 .S1 B3
1997
Contains maps, graphs
and charts illustrating the social, economic, geological, and political
development of New Zealand. Organized chronologically from the prehistoric
formation of the islands through 1991.
F.
Statistical Sources

21.
Australian
Bureau of Statistics. <www.abs.gov.au>
The official web site for the Australian government agency that collects and
publishes statistical information. Topics include the economy, environment, energy,
industry, people, and regions.
Year Book Australia, an annual publication which covers statistics in
a
wide range of categories, including public health, education, industry,
government,
population, labor, and climate, is linked from the Bureau's web site
under "Key Products" (left column); click on "Australian Year Books." Print volumes
of Year Book Australia (1970-1999) are shelved on the fourth floor of
Lauinger Library (HA
3001
.B5).
22.
Australians:
Historical Statistics. Ref. HA 3005
.A98 1987
Many detailed statistics on diverse aspects
of Australian history. Includes demographic, agricultural, climatic,
economic (e.g., labor, transportation, and trade), and social (e.g.,
education, health, and religion) statistics.
23.
New
Zealand: A Handbook of Historical Statistics. Ref.
HA 3184 .B55 1984
Provides historical statistics on various
topics including population, social conditions, production, transportation,
and trade. The time period covered varies, with some series going back
to the 1850s; most continue through 1976. Includes useful lists of
sources with each table.
24.
New
Zealand Official Yearbook. Ref. DU 400 .A3
Issued by the government agency, Statistics
New Zealand, this yearbook contains statistics and short articles on New
Zealand's social, economic, and cultural life, and institutions.
25.
Statistics
New Zealand. <www.stats.govt.nz/default.htm>
New Zealand's official government statistics agency website. Includes current statistics on various topics including population,
economy, environment, and statistics by area.
26. 
LexisNexis
Statistical.
Abstracts and index to over 100,000 statistical
publications from federal and state governments, privately published
sources, and international and intergovernmental organizations (e.g.,
the UN and OECD). Combines the following indexes: American
Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI),
and Index to International Statistics (IIS). Please ask
at the Government Documents Desk or Reference Desk for help in locating
titles not in GEORGE. Some accompanying documents are available
on microfiche in the Government Documents/Microforms Department.
A. GEORGE
Books on New Zealand and Australia
are listed by subject in GEORGE,
the online catalog. To search by subject in GEORGE, use Library
of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), listed in the red volumes
shelved in the dictionary stand near the Reference Desk of Lauinger
Library. Some of the relevant Library of Congress subject
headings include:
To find books on aspects of a particular
country
e.g., New
Zealand -- Politics and Government
Australia
-- Economic Conditions
To find books on individuals or specific
groups or organizations
e.g., Menzies,
Robert Gordon
Maori
Australian
Labor Party
When you can't determine
a relevant Library of Congress subject heading (or when you want
to combine headings),
search by "keyword." This technique will retrieve words not only from
the subject headings section (where subject searches operate), but
also from the books' titles and subtitles, their series titles, and,
in some cases, a listing of their contents. Remember to enter
no more than two or three words, since keyword searches will
retrieve only those records in which all these words appear.
(Australia or New Zealand) and nuclear
free
B.
Other Library Catalogs 
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George
Washington, American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount
Universities, the University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown
University. Georgetown students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries
or request items via the WRLC Catalog.
Library
of Congress <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
WorldCat
A
catalog containing over 30 million records, representing the holdings
of thousands of libraries. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
C. Australian Collections
National Archives of Australia http://www.naa.gov.au/
The National Archives maintains records created by the Australian government
since Federation in 1901, the papers of governors-general, prime
ministers, and others, and
some
19th century records that were transferred from the colonies after
Federation. Selected
records are available online via the RecordSearch database. Includes
the PhotoSearch database which contains digitized
images.
National Library of Australia http://www.nla.gov.au/
The National Library of Australia, in addition to having a comprehensive
collection of Australian materials, provides several online resources
including: Australian legislation and case law, Australian periodicals
1840-1845, Australian newspapers, images, guides to the Library's
research collections, and links to a wide variety of websites with
Australian
materials.

27.
EconLit.
1969- .
Indexes and abstracts
worldwide economic literature. Provides article citations from
over 300 major economic journals since 1969; abstracts and book
annotations from the Journal of Economic
Literature (Ref. HB1 .J61) since 1987; and citations to articles in collective
works indexed in the Index of Economic Articles (Ref. Z 7164 .E2A57a).
Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
28.
Australian
Public Affairs - Full Text (APAFT).
1978-.
Index of Australian
articles, conference papers,and books covering business, health, current
affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature,
politics, and social sciences. Includes some full text after 1994.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
29. 
Historical
Abstracts. 1960- .
Indexes and abstracts articles dealing
with world history from 1450 to the present. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
30.
Lexis/Nexis
Academic .
This service provides access to the full
text of thousands of magazines, newspapers, wire services, and broadcast
transcripts, some not otherwise available in Lauinger. Very few Australian
or New Zealand publications are included, but the database contains
much information on New Zealand and Australia. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
31. 
PAIS
International. 1915-
. Print Version: Ref. Z 7163 .P9
One of the best sources for current information
on politics and international affairs. Indexes not only journal articles
but also books and U.S. government publications. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
32. 
Social
Sciences Index. 1983- . Print
Version: Ref. AI 3 .R471
Indexes the major scholarly journals in
the social sciences. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
33.
World
News Connection.
Provided by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Contains
translations of worldwide news and commentary from foreign television
and radio broadcasts, newspapers, and periodicals from July 1994
to the present. World News Connection replaces Foreign Broadcast
Information Service (FBIS). Use the FBIS
Index for 1975-1996. Documents from 1978-mid 1990s are on microfiche
in the Government
Documents and Microforms Deptartment. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| IV. United Nations Documents |

34
AccessUN.
1946- . Index to current and retrospective
United Nations documents and publications, including bilateral and multilateral
treaties in the UN Treaty Series. Provides the full text of resolutions
from the General Assembly, Security Council, and the Economic and Social
Council. Most UN documents are kept on microfiche in the Government
Documents and Microforms Department on the first floor. Ask at the Government
Documents Desk or Reference Desk for assistance. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

35
Australasia
and South Pacific Islands Bibliography. Ref.
Z 4001 .T48 1997
Guide to books about culture,
history, politics, economics, and science in Australia, New Zealand, and
other nations and territories of the South Pacific.
36.
Australians:
A Guide to Sources. Ref. Z 4026 .A94 1987
A guide to the literature of Australian
studies, this volume contains sections on history, the environment,
politics, the economy, the Aborigines, society, and culture. Each section
includes an extensive survey of the literature and an annotated bibliography.
37.
New
Zealand. Ref. Z 4101 .G76 1980
An annotated bibliography of books and
some journal articles on New Zealand. Topics covered include society,
culture, sports, languages and literature, science and technology,
agriculture, the economy, the Maori, history, and religion.

38.
Australian
Studies Network <http://arts.monash.edu.au/ncas/aus-studies-network.html>
A "non-profit academic project to further
the cause of Australian Studies throughout the world."
39.
Aboriginal
Studies WWW Virtual Library <http://www.ciolek.com/WWWVL-Aboriginal.html>
Maintained by the Australian National University
in conjunction with the Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS) Indigenous
Studies WWW Virtual Library, this metasite provides links to over 100
specialist information sites.
40.
Guide
to Australia. <www.csu.edu.au/australia>
Collection of links to web sites covering Australian topics including
weather, culture, geography,state emblems and flags, trade and commerce,
towns and cities, government, education, tourism, travel, and science.
Maintained by Charles Stuart University.
41.
Library
of Congress Portals to the World. <www.loc.gov/international/portals.html>
Selections
of links to authoritative electronic resources by country name and sorted
into broad categories such as culture, history, society, health, government,
politics, laws, geography, business, literature, travel, and tourism.
42.
Picture Australia. http://www.pictureaustralia.org/
Search for images from Australian museums and libraries such as the
Australian War Memorial, Australian National University, National
Gallery of Australia, National Library of Australia, and the National
Library of New Zealand.
43.
Te
Puna Web Directory <http://webdirectory.natlib.govt.nz/index.htm>
Directory of New Zealand
and Pacific Island web resources maintained by the National Library
of New Zealand. Includes separate directories for Maori and Pacific
Island sites.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
jc
Links updated: 12/07
jc