A.
Encyclopedias
1.
Concise
Encyclopedia Biology. SCI Ref. QH302.5 .A2313 1996
Contains more than 7,000 entries and 12,000 figures, formulas and tables and
is intended for working biologists, teachers, and students, and for everyone
with an interest in living organisms.
2.
Encyclopedia
of Biostatistics. SCI Ref. RA409. E53 2005
Entries include basic statistical concepts, practical issues arising in research
or medical administration as well as advanced methods and theoretical developments.
In 8 volumes.
3.
Encyclopedia
of Life Sciences. SCI Ref. QH302.5 .E54 2002
Developed by the Nature Publishing Group, this encyclopedia covers all aspects
of the life sciences, with an emphasis on cell and molecular biology and their
relevance to medicine. In 20 volumes.
4.
Encyclopedia
of Microbiology. SCI Ref. QR9 .E53 2000
This comprehensive survey provides broad coverage of microbiology with articles
in applied microbiology, ecology, systematics, techniques, genetics, and medical
microbiology. In 4 volumes
5.
Encyclopedia
of the Human Brain. SCI Ref. QP376 .E586 2002
Covers anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology,
evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science. In 4 volumes.
6.
Encyclopedia
of the Neurological Sciences. SCI Ref. RC346 .E53 2003
Provides coverage of 32 different subject areas, including basic anatomy and
physiology, genetics, endocrinology, immunology, and epidemiology, as well
as consciousness, sleep, pain, stroke, clinical issues, surgery, etc. In 4
volumes.
7.
Nature
Encyclopedia of the Human Genome. SCI Ref. QH447 .E53 2003
Fields covered include: behavioral and psychiatric genetics, bioinformatics,
chromosome structure and function, ethical, legal and social issues, evolutional
and comparative genomics, functional genomics, gene mapping, genome mapping
and sequencing, population and mathematical genetics, etc. In 5 volumes.
B. Dictionaries
8.
Animal
Behavior Desk Reference. A Dictionary of Animal Behavior. SCI Ref.
QL750.3 .B37 2001
Provides definitions for terms in animal behavior, evolution, ecology, genetics,
biogeography, systematics, psychology, and statistics. Formatted much like
a standard English dictionary, it references term definitions, organism examples
related to terms, synonyms, and controversies regarding particular terms with
author-date citations. For many terms, the dictionary indicates variations
in meaning by giving more than one definition in chronological order.
9.
Cassell
Dictionary of Biology. SCI Ref. QH 302.5 .W35 1998
The Cassell Dictionary includes words and concepts in human biology, zoology,
botany, ecology, and organic chemistry.
10. 
A
Dictionary of Biology. SCI Ref. QH 302.5 .D54 2004
Provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as
well as biographical entries on key scientists. Also available
online from
Oxford Reference Online.
11.
A
Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology. SCI Ref. QH 575 .L24 1999
Provides quick access to easily understood and cross-referenced definitions
of terms frequently encountered in reading the modern biology literature.
12.
A
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology. SCI Ref. QR 9 .S56
2001
Encyclopedic reference work covering the whole field of pure and applied microbiology
and microbial molecular biology.
13.
Elsevier's
Dictionary of Biology. SCI Ref. QH 302.5 .E47 1998
Provides concise explanations of words and expressions central to the language
of biology. Appendices include Symbols, Units and Nomenclature, Chemical Elements,
Systematics of Organisms, and a Geological Timetable.
14.
Facts
on File Dictionary of Biology. SCI Ref. QH302.5 .F38 2005
Contains over 3300 terms covering the most frequently used terms in modern
biology. Drawings illustrate complex biological concepts.
15.
Glossary
of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. <http://db.portlandpress.com/glick/search.htm>
Search by keyword or browse the alphabetical index. Author: David Glick.
16.
Oxford
Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. SCI Ref. QH 512
.O94 2000
Over 17,000 entries describe essential features of approximately 2000 enzymes
and proteins, and 950 chemical structures are covered as well.
C. Handbooks
17.
Biology
Data Book. SCI Ref. QH 310 .A39 1972
A compendium of basic data for the biomedical sciences serving research needs
in the areas of genetics, cytology, morphology, animal processes, tissues,
regulators, toxins, biochemistry, and biophysics. Tables list properties of
biological substances and information on both materials and methods.
18.
Current
Protocols.
Manuals in Cell Biology, Field Analytical Chemistry, Human Genetics, Molecular
Biology, Neuroscience, and Protein Science. These manuals are used in laboratories
around the world as the authoritative sources for effective, reliable
methods in biological research and experimentation.
|
Current Protocols in Cell Biology |
SCI Ref. QH583.2 .C87 |
Current Protocols in Field Analytical Chemistry |
SCI Ref. QD79 .C4 C87 |
Current Protocols in Human Genetics |
SCI Ref. QH440.5 .C87 |
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology |
SCI Ref. QH506 .C87 |
Current Protocols in Neuroscience |
SCI Ref. QP357 .C87 |
Current Protocols in Protein Science |
SCI Ref. QP551 .C86 |
19.
Geigy
Scientific Tables. SCI Ref. QP33.5 .G4513 1981
A five volume compendium of biological data with literature references to the
data sources. Some of the topics covered include body fluids, body composition,
somatometrics, metabolism, cardiac and pulmonary functions, and hormones.
20.
NIH
Center for Molecular Modeling. <http://cmm.info.nih.gov/modeling/>
Maintained by the National Institutes of Health, this site is a source of information
on molecular modeling methods and their biological applications. It provides
access to NIH research activities, databases, and educational resources such
as guides and tutorials.
21.
Phylogeny
of Life. <http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/exhibit/phylogeny.html>
Learn about the history of life on Earth by tracing life's phylogeny from three
different starting points.
22.
Synopsis
and Classification of Living Organisms. SCI Ref. QH 83 .S89
A two-volume comprehensive reference covering the classification and description
of all living organisms. Consists of 8,200 signed synoptic articles with literature
references. Includes an index of some 35,000 entries with scientific and common
names.
D. Directories
23.
Biodiversity.
A Reference Handbook. SCI Ref. QH541.15 .B56 B435 1998
Sections include an overview of biodiversity, a chronology, biographical sketches,
statistics, documents, a directory of organizations along with their web sites,
a glossary without pronunciation guides, and a listing of print and electronic
sources of information.
24.
The
Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. SCI Ref. Q141 .B528
2000
Includes over 1,280 in-depth biographies of scientists throughout the ages
and across the major scientific disciplines, ranging from around 500 words
to mini-essays of over 1,200 words.
25. 
Women
in the Biological Sciences. A Bibliographic Sourcebook. SCI Ref.
QH26 .W66 1997
Includes sixty-five representative women from different countries and eras.
Summarizes their work and their lives. Also available
online from Ebrary collection.
E. Literature
Reviews
26.
Advances
in Marine Biology. QH 91 .A1 A22
Reviews significant new developments in marine biology. Articles include extensive
bibliographies. One of several titles in the "Advances in" series providing
coverage of the life sciences.
27. 
Annual
Reviews of Genetics. <http://arjournals.annualreviews.org/loi/genet>
Provides a critical survey of advances in
the entire field of genetics. Articles include extensive lists of references.
One of several serials published by Annual Reviews, Inc. covering the biological
sciences <http://arjournals.annualreviews.org/biomedicalhome.dtl>.
Also on paper: Science QH 431 .A1 A54
A. Subject
Search
GEORGE, the online
catalog, uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. These headings
are terms that have been established by the Library of Congress to
represent subjects. Some examples of the types of subject headings
(SUBJECT searches):
To find specific concepts or theories: e.g. Origin
of Species; Mitochondria; Electron Microscopy
To find books on particular plants or animals: e.g. Algae; Protozoa;
Ants
To find broad concepts: e.g. Evolution; Molecular Biology; Neurobiology.
B. Keyword
Search
When you cannot determine a relevant Library of Congress Subject
Heading or when you want to combine headings, search by KEYWORD.
This technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings,
and in other
fields within the record.
C. Combined
Search
Perform a KEYWORD search
on GEORGE for one or
more of the terms which best describe your search. For example, Evolution
and Mammals. GEORGE will create a set of records containing both
words. If the set is too large, select LIMIT, then select one of
the ways of limiting. From this set, view the items which seem most
relevant. The Library of Congress Subject Headings assigned to the
book will appear in the part of the record labeled "subject." If
the subjects are not visible on the first screen, scroll down further
in the record. If a subject heading looks promising, use it for further
searches. By trying a variety of subject headings for your topic,
you will find the best books for your research.
If you need help with the computer catalog,
ask for assistance at the Science
Library Reference Desk.

28.
Agricola. 1970- <http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/>
Indexes materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library and cooperating
institutions. Covers agriculture, food science, human nutrition, life sciences,
and natural resources. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/.
29.
Animal
Behavior Abstracts. 1992-
Covers subjects such as migration, evolution, innate behavior, learning and
memory, and behavioral ecology. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
30.
BIOETHICSLINE 1973
-
Covers ethical and public policy issues in health care and biomedical research.
Now part of the PubMed and LocatorPlus.
31.
Biological Abstracts. 1970- Reiss Science
Building only
The most comprehensive abstracting service available in biology. The database
covers the basic biological disciplines of cytology, zoology, genetics, botany
and microbiology; and related interdisciplinary fields including biochemistry,
bioengineering, agriculture, ecology, food science and research medicine, biotechnology,
environmental studies and pharmacology. Updated weekly. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
32.
Index
to Illustrations of Animals and Plants. Ref. QH 46.5 .C54 1991 ???
Includes approximately 6,200 entries guiding readers to pictures in a total
of 142 books. Primarily covers books published in the 1980s. Includes animals
and plants from around the world.
33.
Proquest
General Reference. 1986- .
Indexes over 1,800 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general
sciences, business and general interest. About half of the articles are available
in full text. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
34.
PubMed. <http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/>
Indexes and abstracts the biomedical literature covering more than 3200 journals.
Coverage includes anatomy, biology, chemicals and drugs, diseases, health
care, nutrition, environmental health, pharmacology, psychiatry, and psychology.
The print equivalents, Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the
International Nursing Index are located in the Dahlgren Medical Library.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
35. Science Citation Index Expanded.
see Web of Science.
36.
Web
of Science. 1980 -
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database that indexes and
abstracts journals in the sciences and social sciences. Distributed by the
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), Web of Science at Georgetown University
is a cumulation of two databases: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social
Sciences Citation Index. In addition to traditional author, title and keyword
searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references
- the footnotes from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant
paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it. Pre-1989 coverage is
available in print format in the Dahlgren Medical Library. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

38.
American
Museum of Natural History. <http://www.amnh.org/>
The highlight of this site is its in-depth treatment of special exhibits, including
excellent photos and extensive descriptions of fossils.
39.
The
Field Museum of Natural History. <http://www.fmnh.org/>
Chicago's Field Museum has mounted an excellent online exhibit of its collections.
40.
The
Natural History Museum (UK). <http://www.nhm.ac.uk/>
One of the world's leading science institutions has created a site filled with
photos of exhibits and in-depth information on the museum's scientific research.
41.
National
Museum of Natural History - Smithsonian Institution. <http://www.mnh.si.edu/>
Explore the exhibits of the Smithsonian's Natural History Museum and learn
more about its research and collections.
42.
University
of California Museum of Paleontology. <http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/>
This site offers online access to the museum's
enormous collection of paleo artifacts. Indexes to scholarly publications
and museum collections aid the viewer.
| V. Research Guides in Biology |

43.
Information
Sources in the Life Sciences. SCI Ref. QH303.6 .I54 1997
Specialists in the fields present useful information on print and electronic
sources in the life sciences, including genetics, biochemical and molecular
sciences, botany, plant ecology and the environment, etc.
44.
Scientific
Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers.
SCI Ref. T11 .S386 1994
The 6th edition of the CBE manual covers all scientific disciplines except
technologic fields not closely related to experimental and observational science.
Intended primarily as a recommendation on how scientific papers, journals,
and books should be styled and formatted for publication. Published by the
Council of Biology Editors, it includes an annotated list of other similar
works.
45. 
Using
the Biological Literature: a Practical Guide. SCI Ref QH303.6
.D38 2002
Comprehensive list of important printed and
computerized reference sources useful for biologists and biology students
conducting library research, with emphasis on current materials in
the English language. All main fields of the biological sciences are
covered. Also available
online from the Ebrary collection.
| VI. Societies and Organizations |

46.
American
Medical Association. <http://www.ama-assn.org/>
The AMA home page includes limited access to AMA publications and links to
other medical sites.
47.
Biochemical
Society. <http://www.biochemsoc.org.uk/default.htm>
The aim of the Society is to promote the advancement of the science of Biochemistry,
in the context of cellular and molecular life sciences as a seamless continuum.
48.
Biosci. <http://www.bio.net/>
Biosci is a set of electronic communication forums - the bionet usenet newsgroups
and parallel e-mail lists - used by biological scientists worldwide.
No fees are charged for the service. The U.S. Biosci site is supported by
advertising raised through this Web site. The U.K. Biosci node is supported
by the Daresbury Laboratory.
49.
Cancer.gov. <http://cancer.gov/cancerinformation>
The National Institute of Cancer's Cancer.gov is a source of accurate, credible,
current information on cancer.
50.
FASEB:
Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology. <http://www.faseb.org/>
Members include: The American Physiological Society, American Society
for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, American Society for Pharmacology
and Experimental Therapeutics, American Society for Investigative
Pathology, American Society for Nutritional Sciences, The American
Association of Immunologists, Biophysical Society, American Association
of Anatomists, The Protein Society, American Society for Bone & Mineral
Research, American Society for Clinical Investigation, The Endocrine
Society, The American Society of Human Genetics, Society for Developmental
Biology,
51.
National
Institutes of Health. <http://www.nih.gov/>
NIH offers a wealth of health resources including information on AIDS. The
Health Information Index helps identify the Institute(s) responsible for the
area of interest and provides a link directly to the home page of that Institute.
52.
US
Environmental Protection Agency. <http://www.epa.gov/>
The EPA web page offers information about the
environment to concerned citizens, and provides a collection of resources
to users who want to know more about EPA regulations, publications,
and contracts.

53.
BiologyBrowser. <http://www.biologybrowser.org/>
BiologyBrowser, produced by BIOSIS, features free resources and useful links,
and provides a forum for connecting hundreds of researchers and information
scientists worldwide.
54.
Cell
and Molecular Biology Online. <http://www.cellbio.com/>
Serves as a general resource for the biology community with an emphasis on
information for cell and molecular biologists. Selected list of sites are particularly
useful and well-organized.
55.
Harvard
Biopages. <http://mcb.harvard.edu/BioLinks.html>
An extensive index of biology Internet sites with a searchable
index. Resources within this site include the following:
Biochemistry
and Molecular Biology
Evolution
Immunology
56.
Human
Genome Project Information. <http://www.ornl.gov/TechResources/Human_Genome/home.html>
This award-winning governmental site offers a wealth of general research information
on genetics and bioethics.
57.
Neurosciences
on the Internet. <http://www.neuroguide.com/>
A searchable and browsable index of neuroscience resources available on the
Internet: neurobiology, neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry, psychology, cognitive
science sites and information on human neurological diseases.
58.
The
Virtual Library: Biosciences. <http://www.vlib.org/Biosciences.html>
Virtual Library (VL) sites are collections of links to other sources, rather
than primary data. VL selectors choose sites that are high quality reference
sources. VL Biosciences includes links to sites in botany, zoology, genetics,
cell and developmental biology, biotechnology, biodiversity, ecology, environment,
mycology, microbiology and virology.
For additional sites, consult the Internet
Directories page.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 8/06,
NZ
Links updated: 12/07
jc