| I. General Review Indexes |
1.
Book
Review Digest Plus. 1983 - (Ref. Index Table: 1975 - ;
Ref. Z 1219 .C96: 1905 - 1974)
This database indexes book reviews in about 100 American, English, and Canadian
periodicals, most of them general-interest magazines. In addition to review
citations, it provides excerpts from some of the reviews. To qualify
for inclusion, a work of non-fiction must have received two or more reviews
in periodicals on the Book Review Digest list; a work of fiction, three or
more. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
2.
Book
Review Index. 1965 - , Ref. Index Table
Arranged alphabetically by author of the book, this source cites book reviews
appearing in more than 600 periodicals, both general-interest
and scholarly. Published annually.
3.
Academic
Search Premier. 1965 -
Indexes 4,000 periodicals in all subjects; many of the articles are availabe
in full text. Search for reviews by typing key words from the book's title,
e.g., creative destruction (for the book Creative Destruction: How Globalization
is Changing the World's Cultures) and in the "limit your results" section
of the page, selecting "book review" in the "document type" list. Off-campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
4.
Periodical
Index Online. 1770 -
An electronic index providing the tables of contents of thousands of international
periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, includes both scholarly
and popular periodicals. To search for reviews, type key words from the book's
title, e.g., catcher and rye (for the book Catcher in the Rye) and select "book
reviews only" in "scope" at the bottom of the search form. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
5.
ProQuest
Research Library. 1986 -
Indexes 1,800 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general sciences,
business and general interest. About half of the articles are available in
full text. Select the "More Search Options" tab below the search
form to limit your search to "Book Review" in "Article Type." Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
6.
Lexis/Nexis
Academic.
This service provides access to the full text of thousands of magazines, newspapers,
wire services, and broadcast transcripts, many
of which include book reviews. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| III. Reviews in Newspapers |
7.
National
Newspapers.
Indexes, and has full text for, seven newspapers: The New York Times,
The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor,
USA Today, The Boston Globe, and The Atlanta Journal/ Constitution. Select
the "More Search Options" tab below the search form to limit your
search to "Book Review" in "Article Type." For the
print equivalents of the individual indexes, ask at the Reference Desk. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
8.
New
York Times Historical. 1851 - 1999
Select the "More Search Options" tab below the search form to limit
your search to "Book Review" in "Article Type." The printed
New York Times Index (Ref AI 21 .N44) also lists book reviews. For the years
1851-1898, book reviews are listed under "Reviews of Books" and then alphabetically
by author of book; thereafter, they're listed under the "Book Reviews" heading
by title. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
9.
Lexis/Nexis
Academic.
See "Reviews in Magazines" above.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| IV. Scholarly Book Reviews |

In addition to the fairly broad subject indexes mentioned here, many specialized
periodical indexes include book reviews (e.g., Linguistics
and Language Behavior Abstracts, America:
History and Life, Sociological
Abstracts, ATLA
Religion Database, Contemporary
Women's Issues). For further information, ask
a Reference Librarian, consult the appropriate Guide
to Resources, or go to the Research
Advisor (http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/).
10.
Social
Sciences Index. 1983 - (Ref. AI3 .R471: 1974 - 1996)
Indexes approximately 300 English-language journals in anthropology, economics,
political science, women's studies, psychology, social work, sociology, and
related subjects.Search for reviews by typing key words from the book's title,
e.g., creative destruction (for the book Creative Destruction: How Globalization
is Changing the World's Cultures) and selecting "book review" in
the "document type" list. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
11.
Humanities
Index. 1984 - (Ref. AI3 .R472: 1974 - 1995)
Like the Social Sciences Index in format (see above). Differs only in
its subject coverage, with this index focusing on history, literature, philosophy,
and related subjects.Search for reviews by typing key words from the book's
title, e.g., dance and edge and world (for the book Dancing at the Edge of
the World) and selecting "book review" in the "document type" list.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
12.
An
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities. 1960 - 1990, Ref.
Z1219 .I5
An index to several hundred journals, most of them English-language. Covers
art, drama, language, literature, music, and philosophy. Arranged
alphabetically by author of the book.
13.
Directory
of Book Reviews on the Web <http://acqweb.org/bookrev.html>
Maintained by acquisitions and collection
development librarians, this site is a lightly annotated list
of the best resources for book reviews. Topic headings range
from General to Childrens and Law to Science Fiction.
| VI. Commercial Booksellers on the World
Wide Web |

For books published in the past few years, commercial booksellers' web sites
provide excerpts from book reviews appearing in newspapers, magazines, TV
and radio, and review media, such as The New York Review of Books, Time,
Kirkus Review, The National Review, and National Public Radio. Search
by title or author and then scroll down the resulting page for book reviews
or links to book reviews. The following are only a few of the addresses
available.
14.
Amazon.com <http://www.amazon.com>
15.
Barnes & Noble <http://www.barnesandnoble.com>
16.
Borders <http://www.borders.com >
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 1/04,sh
Links updated: 12/07
jc