A. Dictionaries
1.
Facts
on File Dictionary of Chemistry. Sci. Ref. QD5.F33 2005
Contains approximately 3,000 entries that explain the techniques, materials,
applications, and specialized uses of everyday chemical terms. Tables list
fundamental physical constants and the characteristics of elementary particles.
2.
Hawley's
Condensed Chemical Dictionary. SCI Ref. QD5 .C5 2001
Includes names of chemicals, chemistry terms and abbreviations, giving brief
definitions. For each chemical a list of manufacturers is given, along with
technical descriptions.
B. Encyclopedias
3.
Encyclopedia
of Analytical Science. SCI Ref. QD71.5 .E53 1995
Consists of more than 750 articles written by international experts covering
three broad categories: specific analytical techniques such as mass spectroscopy
and chemometrics; field or material of application, for example asbestos or
drugs; and analytes such as aluminum and cholesterol. All of the articles are
well edited for readability and clarity. 10 volume set.
4.
Encyclopedia
of Computational Chemistry. SCI Ref. QD39.3 .E46 1998
Covers wide ranging aspects of computational chemistry including empirical
molecular orbital theory, density functional methods, classical mechanical
(force field) techniques, molecular modeling, molecular dynamics and Monte
Carlo simulations, databases, expert systems, synthesis planning, reaction
planning, artificial intelligence methods, neural networks and quantitative
structure-activity relationships. Three types of entries: regular articles,
definition entries that explain the common terminology of the field, and descriptions
of software. 5 volume set.
5.
Encyclopedia
of Inorganic Chemistry. SCI Ref. QD148 .E53 2005
Mixture of short "definition" articles as well as longer review articles that
include good bibliographies by noted authors. Covers inorganic, bioinorganic,
organo-metallic and coordination chemistry. 10 volume set.
6.
Encyclopedia
of Polymer Science and Engineering. SCI Ref. TP1087.E46 1984
A multi-volume comprehensive encyclopedia devoted to chemical substances; polymer
properties, methods, processes; and uses of polymers. Each article has an extensive
bibliography and is written by a specialist in the field.
7.
Encyclopedia
of Reagents for Organic Synthesis. QD77 .E53 1995
An eight-volume set that contains descriptions of the use of "all" reagents
in organic chemistry.
8.
Kirk-Othmer
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. SCI Ref. TP9 .E685 1991
A multi-volume encyclopedia with emphasis
on the application of chemistry and chemical engineering to industrially
important concepts, products, processes, and uses. Most articles
provide good coverage of significant aspects of the topics.
C.
Handbooks and Treatises
9.
Beilstein's
Handbuch der Organischen Chemie. SCI Ref. QD251 .B4 1918
(Beilstein's Handbook of Organic Chemistry)
The world's largest compilation of physical data on organic chemistry. Arrangement
is based on classes of compounds. Data provided for each chemical compound
include structure of the molecule, occurrence and isolation, preparation and
manufacture, physical and chemical properties, analysis, and salt and addition
compounds. Original literature references are given for each piece of data.
Also available online from CrossFire at the Blommer Science Library workstations.
10.
CRC
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics on CD-ROM. Blommer Science
Library
An authoritative handbook of tables giving a wealth of information on the physical
properties of organic and inorganic compounds on CD-ROM. Includes sections
on the elements, atomic weights, organic compounds, and physical constants.
Search by topic or keyword. Also, numerical search on properties of compounds.
The Library also has the print edition (SCI Ref. QD65 .H3)
11.
Comprehensive
Inorganic Chemistry. SCI Ref. QD151.2 .C64
Comprehensive survey of elements and groups of elements from the time of their
discovery to the present. Physical, chemical, and biological properties are
examined.
12.
Comprehensive
Organic Chemistry. SCI Ref. QD245 .C65
Covers all aspects of organic chemistry focusing on the reactions and properties
of the major classes of organic compounds. Original literature references are
provided.
13.
Dictionary
of Inorganic Compounds. QD148 .D53 1992
Includes molecular, coordination and non-molecular compounds, as well as special
materials such as bio-inorganics, superconductors, ceramics, and minerals.
Entries are ordered by empirical formula according to the Hill Convention throughout
the dictionary.
14. 
Dictionary
of Organic Compounds on CD-ROM. Blommer Science Library
Structured database of information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive
and numerical data on chemical, physical, and biological properties of compounds;
systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; and structure
diagrams and their associated connection tables. The Library also has the 5th edition
(Ref. QD246 .D5 1982).
15.
Gmelin's
Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. SCI Ref. QD151.G52
(Gmelin's Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry)
The world's most comprehensive work in inorganic chemistry. Arrangement is
according to the Gmelin Institute's classification scheme of non-metals to
metals. Each entry covers history, occurrence, properties, scientific methods
of preparation and commercial process of manufacture. Also available online
from Crossfire at the Blommer Science Library workstations.
16.
Merck
Index on CD-ROM. Blommer Science Library
Contains the monograph section of the 12th edition of the Merck
Index and selected tables. The database includes more than 10,000 entries,
each describing a single substance or small group of related compounds. It
covers human and veterinary drugs, biologicals, natural products, agricultural
compounds, commercial and laboratory chemicals
and environmentally significant compounds. The Library also has the 12th edition,
Ref. RS51 .M4 1996.
17. 
Science
of Synthesis: Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations. QD262
.S35 2000
Provides the most up-to-date information on organic and organometallic synthetic
methods. Contains approximately 2 000 generally applicable synthetic methods
in organometallic and heterocyclic chemistry covering 18,000 reactions with
roughly 80,000 structures.
D. Directories
18.
Academic
Chemistry Departments in the United States. <http://www.library.ucsb.edu/docs/chemuniv.html>
Academic
Chemistry Departments Outside the United States.
<http://www.library.ucsb.edu/docs/chemuni2.html>
Comprehensive collection of links to the web sites of academic chemistry departments
(and some national laboratories and national academies) from the United States
and the rest of the world, respectively. The U.S. list is grouped both alphabetically
and by state, while the world list is grouped by country.
19.
ACS
Directory of Graduate Research. <http://pubs.acs.org/dgrweb/index.html>
Directory of the faculties, publications, and research theses in departments
or divisions of chemistry at universities in the United States and Canada.
An important tool for information on graduate schools, location of teaching
personnel, and information on graduate research. Access is password restricted.
20.
ChemConnect:
Chemical suppliers directory and Exchange. <http://www.chemconnect.com>
A directory of chemical suppliers, use ChemConnect to find sources of needed
chemicals.
21.
ChemIndustry.com. <http://ChemIndustry.com/>
Comprehensive directory and search engine for chemical and related industry
professionals, engaged in every discipline, from discovery through development,
manufacturing and marketing.
22.
Chem
Sources - U.S.A. SCI Ref. TP12 .C44
Current sourcebook for chemicals and suppliers.
Provides a comprehensive listing of chemical products in the United
States listing them alphabetically by chemical name and indexed
by product. Includes a tradename section.
E. Reviews
of the Literature
23.
Advances
in Chemical Physics. SCI QD453 .A27
Contains comprehensive analyses on a wide variety of topics in chemical physics.
Provides the reader with general information and overviews on subjects of interest.
For available volumes check GEORGE,
the online catalog.
24.
Advances
in Inorganic Chemistry. SCI QD151 .A45
Provides authoritative up-to-date surveys of recent progress in inorganic chemistry
with extensive references. For available volumes check GEORGE,
the online catalog.
25.
Advances
in Physical Organic Chemistry. SCI QD476 .A4
Provides authoritative reviews of areas of chemistry in which quantitative
methods are used in the study or organic compound structures as they relate
to physical and chemical properties. For available volumes check GEORGE,
the online catalog.
26.
Annual
Review of Biochemistry. <http://biochem.AnnualReviews.org/>
Provides a condensed account or survey of the work in biochemistry and notes
any special advances that have been made within the year. Also on paper at
the Blommer Science Library, QP501 .A7
27.
Annual
Review of Physical Chemistry. <http://physchem.AnnualReviews.org/>
Contains critical and selective reviews in physical chemistry providing extensive
bibliographies. Also available on paper at the Blommer Science Library, QD1
.A78
28.
Chemical
Reviews. 1925- . Shelved with journals at Blommer Science
Library
Provides comprehensive review coverage of
the field of chemistry. Reviews usually have extensive bibliographies.
A. Subject
Search
GEORGE, the online catalog, uses
Library of Congress Subject Headings. These headings are terms that
have been established by the Library of Congress to represent subjects.
Some examples of the types of subject headings (SUBJECT searches):
- To find specific concepts or theories: e.g. Crystals; Oxidation;
Molecular Structure
- To find books on particular compounds or elements: e.g. Hydrocarbons;
Aluminum; Heterocyclic Compounds
- To find broad concepts: e.g. Chemistry, Organic; Chemistry,
Inorganic; Electrochemistry.
B. Keyword
Search
When you cannot determine a relevant Library of Congress Subject
Heading or when you want to combine headings, search by KEYWORD.
This technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings,
and in other fields within the record.
C. Combined
Search
Perform a KEYWORD search
on GEORGE for one or more of the terms which best describe your search.
For example, Electrochemistry and Synthesis. GEORGE will create a
set of records containing both words. If the set is too large, select
LIMIT, then select one of the ways of limiting. From this set, view
the items which seem most relevant. The Library of Congress Subject
Headings assigned to the book will appear in the part of the record
labeled "subject." If the subjects are not visible on the first screen,
scroll down further in the record.
If a subject heading looks promising, use it for further searches.
By trying a variety of subject headings for your topic, you will
find the best books for your research.

29.
CASSI:
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index. Science Reference
Desk
A cumulative index containing information on journals, conference proceedings,
and books that are or have been in the past indexed by Chemical Abstracts.
Provides complete identification of over 60,000 publications in chemistry.
30.
Chemical
Abstracts. 1907-1997 (paper). Blommer Science Library
periodicals
The most comprehensive index of international literature in chemistry and chemical
engineering. Access to information is provided through the following indexes:
author, subject, chemical substance, patent number, and formula or ring system.
See also SciFinder Scholar.
31. Science Citation Index Expanded.
see Web of Science.
32.
SciFinder
Scholar. Blommer Science Library
A database for chemistry and related subjects which allows searching by chemical
structure or reaction. Like its print equivalent, Chemical Abstracts, it covers
journals, conference proceedings, patents, dissertations and books from 1907
to the present day.
33.
Web
of Science, 1980 - .
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database that indexes and
abstracts journals in the sciences and social sciences. Distributed by the
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), Web of Science at Georgetown University
is a cumulation of two databases: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences
Citation Index. In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches,
the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references - the footnotes
from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant paper and find
other, more recent papers that cite it. Pre-1989 coverage is available in print
format in the Dahlgren Medical Library. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| IV. Guide to Research in Chemistry |

34.
How
to Find Chemical Information: A Guide for Practicing Chemists, Teachers, and
Students. SCI Ref QD8.5 .M34 1998
A comprehensive and systematic guide to the literature of chemistry. Covers
a broad range of topics including the organization of chemical information
and strategies for searching out and obtaining information. Includes chapters
in the use of Chemical Abstracts, computer searching, reference books, etc.
35.
Information
Sources in Chemistry. SCI Ref. QD8.5 .I47 1993
Topics covered include online computer retrieval, health and safety, primary
and secondary sources, and the chemical industry.
A. General
36.
BRENDA,
the Comprehensive Enzyme Information System. <http://www.brenda-enzymes.info/>
BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific
community. It is available free of charge for academic, non-profit users via
the internet. Covers a wide range of enzyme characteristics. More than 50 fields
containing close to half a million entries can be queried in various combinations.
37.
Cambridge
Structural Database CSD. Blommer Science Library Designated
Workstations
CSD contains crystal structure information for over 180,000 organic and metal
organic compounds. All of these crystal structures have been analyzed using
X-ray or neutron diffraction techniques. For each crystallographic entry in
the CSD there are three distinct types of information stored. These are conveniently
categorized in terms of their "dimensionality." Desktop access to CSD is facilitated
by ConQuest.
38.
ChemFinder.<http://chemfinder.camsoft.com/>
Search for information, including physical property data, on chemical compounds.
Search by chemical name, CAS registry number, molecular weight, etc. Includes
links to more information about chemical compounds.
39.
ChemSpy. <http://www.chemspy.com/>
You can do specific chemistry related searches using the ChemIndustry.com or
the Chemedia.com search engine. All databases included in this service are
free of charge and available without login.
40.
Enzyme. <http://www.expasy.ch/enzyme/>
Repository of information relative to the nomenclature of enzymes. It is primarily
based on the recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International
Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) and it describes each
type of characterized enzyme for which an EC (Enzyme Commission) number has
been provided.
41.
"Landolt-Bornstein". SCI
Ref. QC61 .L3
Actual title Numerical Data and Functional Relationships in Science and Technology.
The world's most complete collection of tables and other tabulated forms of
information concerning the fundamental properties of physics, chemistry, astronomy,
geophysics, and technology. The series went through six editions which superseded
one another. The "New Series" doesn't replace the 6th edition. Both
are listed in the indexes. The new edition is in English, and the 6th edition
is in German.
42.
NIST
Chemistry WebBook. <http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/>
Provides thermodynamic and ion energetics data compiled by NIST. Search by
chemical name, molecular formula, or CAS registry number.
B. Periodic
Tables of Elements and Nuclides
43.
Table
of the Nuclides. <http://atom.kaeri.re.kr/ton/>
Presents a map of all known nuclides. Each horizontal row represents one element;
colored dots indicate the known isotopes of that element. A vertical column
represents the nuclides with same neutron numbers. By clicking on a region
of the chart, you may see a more detailed chart section. From the colors on
the chart, you can get an idea of the life time of a nuclide. By clicking on
a cell, you can get properties of the nuclide or atom.
44.
WebElements. <http://www.webelements.com/>
A clickable element table from Mark Winter (University of Sheffield, England).
C. Spectral
Data
46.
Have-It-All NMR on CD-ROM. Blommer
Science Library Designated Workstations
This stand-alone CD-ROM product is produced by Bio-Rad Laboratories. Contains
over 140,000 C & 12,000 H NMR spectra. In addition to searching for
spectra, you can make predictions, access reference spectra, build databases
with assignments, cross-reference your NMR data from other analytical
techniques, such as IR, UV/Vis, GC, MS, Raman, and Near IR, and generate
reports.
47.
Print Spectral Resources in Blommer Science Library
Print collections
of nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR), mass spectroscopy (MS), and infrared spectroscopy (IR) spectra.
48.
SDBS
- Spectral Database System for Organic Compounds
Includes six different types
of spectra under a directory database of the compounds: MS, NMR (two types), ESR,
IR, and Raman. Spectra are constructed by direct transfer of the digital
data from the spectrometers.
49.
NMRShift DB
It is a NMR database for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties.
D. Material Safety Data Sheets
50.
MSDS
from Oxford University. <http://physchem.ox.ac.uk/MSDS/>
Contains an alphabetically grouped collection
of MSDS from a variety of sources. The collection is maintained by the
Physical and Theoretical Chemistry Laboratory at the University of Oxford.
E. Societies
51.
American
Chemical Society (ACS) Web. <http://www.acs.org/>
Features of the ACS web page include meeting
and conference information, government and policy news, available software,
educational outreach, and career services. Additional information is provided
about chemistry journals and related online resources.
52.
Cambridge
Crystallographic Data Centre. <http://www.ccdc.cam.ac.uk/>
The home page of the Cambridge Crystallographic
Data Centre (CCDC) which develops and maintains the Cambridge Structural
Database.
53.
IUPAC.<http://iupac.chemsoc.org/>
The home page of the International Union
of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
54.
Protein
Science Society. <http://www.faseb.org/protein/>
This site allows the use of the MAGE 3d molecular
modeling program to view computer images of proteins from the society's
publication, Protein Science http://www.proteinscience.org/.
55.
The
Royal Society of Chemistry <http://www.rsc.org/>
View table of contents
information for The Royal society of Chemistry's electronic journals http://www.rsc.org/is/journals/j1.htm.

56.
ChemDex. <http://www.chemdex.org/>
An index of chemistry resources on the Internet
maintained by the University of Sheffield, England. Includes separate
sections for specialized areas of chemistry such as analytical, organic,
inorganic, etc.
57.
Chemistry
Resources on the Internet. By
Charles F. Huber (Issues in Science and Technology Librarianship,
Winter 1998) <http://www.library.ucsb.edu/istl/98-winter/interne1.html>
Lists some of the most useful resources available
to chemist free of charge on the Internet. Includes professional societies,
conferences, meetings and symposia, chemical suppliers, publishers, etc.
58.
ChemSoc. <http://www.chemsoc.org/>
The site provides interesting
features and useful services for the chemistry community. The information
has been made available by various national chemistry societies for dissemination
on a single site. Currently around 30 such societies are providing varying
levels of information on chemsoc.
59.
ChemWeb.
<http://chemweb.com>
The World Wide Club for the chemical community.
Free registration required. Contains a Library (<http://chemweb.com/library>)
of leading chemical journals, Databases (<http://chemweb.com/databases>),
including free searching of Beilstein Abstracts, Conference
Diary (<http://chemweb.com/conference/conference.exe>),
and more.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 8/06,
nz
Links updated: 12/07
jc