A. Books can provide useful information on a topic. Use GEORGE
<http://catalog.library.georgetown.edu/>,
the online catalog of Lauinger Library to find books by subject,
title, or author.
To search by SUBJECT:
GEORGE uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. These
are the topics assigned the book by the Library of Congress. Some
are obvious and can be guessed, i.e., Aeschylus, or Dead
Sea Scrolls. Many are not obvious and may be composed
of several words, i.e., Civilization, Ancient or Rome
- Social life and customs.
Two ways of finding the Library of Congress Subject Headings for
a topic are:
Consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings, the large
red volumes shelved in the dictionary stand, near the Reference
Desk.
Perform a KEYWORD search on GEORGE for one or more of the terms
which best describe your search. For example, Gaul and Caesar.
GEORGE will create a set of records containing both words. If the
set is too large, select Modify Search; then select one of the
ways of limiting.
From this set, view the items which seem most relevant. The Library
of Congress Subject Headings assigned to the book will appear in
the part of the record labeled "subject." If the subjects are not
visible on the first screen, scroll down further in the record.
If a subject heading looks promising, use it for further searches.
By trying a variety of subject headings for your topics, you will
find the best books for your research.
B. Other Library Catalogs
Library
of Congress <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
Worldcat
A catalog comprising almost 40 million records, representing the
holdings of thousands of libraries. Includes periodical indexes
in many subject areas. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC)
includes records from the libraries of the following universities:
George Washington, American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet,
Georgetown,
Marymount, and the University of the District of Columbia
| II. Civilization and Culture |
A. Overview
Sources
1.
Aspects
of Greek and Roman Life. Various call
numbers
An excellent series covering various
facets of ancient civilization and culture. Topics covered include
the family, ancient law and diplomacy, burial customs, festivals,
the interaction of religion and society, and the origins and influences
of Greece and Rome. Search in GEORGE by title of the series to
find the individual volumes.
2.
Atlas
of Classical History. Ref. G 1033 .G65
1994
Illustrates historical events of the
classical world in clear, black and white maps. Some maps address
such topics as agriculture, religion, and commerce. Town plans
are also included.
3.
Barrington
Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. Ref.
Atlas Case G 1033 .B3 2000
The latest
and most comprehensive atlas of the Greek and Roman world, from 1000
B.C. to A.D. 640. Maps are based on modern aerial or satellite maps
and cover what are now 75 modern countries from the British Isles
to North Africa and the Indian subcontinent. Ancient, usually Latin
names are used for map headings, place names, and features. Contours
and elevations are shown along with aqueducts, temples, and roads.
The table of contents and locator diagrams aid map selection.
4.
Cambridge
Ancient History. Ref. D 57 .C25
A multi-volume set with individual
chapters written by specialists. Extensive bibliographies at the
end of each volume.
5.
Encyclopedia
of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition. Ref.
DF 757 .E53 2000
Articles
on people and places as well as thematic essays covering the Greece
and the Greek world, ancient times to the present. Augmented by
illustrations, maps, lists of further reading, and an index.
6.
Encyclopedia
of the Roman Empire. Ref DG 270.B86 2002
Contains articles on the people, places, politics, religions, and
customs of the Roman Empire. In addition to the alphabetically arranged
entries,
the book includes maps, illustrations, a list of the emperors, and
imperial genealogies.
7.
Great
Lives from History - Ancient and Medieval Series. Ref.
Biog. CT 113 .G74 1988
Biographical sketches of major figures
of the classical world. Includes a bibliography.
8.
New
Century Cyclopedia of Names. Ref. Biog.
PE 1625 .C43 1954
Brief biographical information for
persons, both historical and mythological.
B.
Handbooks and Dictionaries
9.
Dictionary
of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of
Classical Studies and Related Disciplines. Ref.
PA 99 .W44 2003
10.
Lexikon
der Alten Welt. Ref. DE 5 .L4
Articles cover various aspects of
ancient civilization.
11.
Oracles
of the Ancient World. Ref
BF 1761 .C87 2004
Collection of brief entries on the history, purpose, location and layout of sites
throughout the ancient Mideast and Europe where oracles sought to communicate
with the supernatural. Includes maps and photos.
12.
Oxford
Classical Dictionary. Ref. DE 5 .O9
2003
Scholarly dictionary with both brief
entries and longer survey articles covering all aspects of the
classical tradition. Bibliographies accompany most articles. A
compact edition, The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization,
has the same articles, minus the bibliographies, with larger print
and attractive illustrations.
13.
Oxford
Dictionary of Byzantium. Ref. DF 521
.O93 1991
Covers all facets of Byzantine history
and civilization from the fourth to fifteenth centuries including
the late Roman period. Bibliographies at the ends of the articles
emphasize major works.
14.
Brill's
New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. Ref.
DE 5 .N4813 2002
This is an updated, English version of the standard
scholarly work covering the whole field of the classics. Currently,
six
volumes
of the new English version are available
of
the projected
20 volume
set. The original work, written in German, is Paulys Real-Encyclopädie
der Classischen Altertumswissenschaft. It is shelved on the
fourth floor
at DE 5 .P33. An updated German version, Der Neue Pauly: Enzyklopadie
der Antike, is also shelved on the fourth floor, at DE 5 .N48
1996.
C.
Bibliographies
15. 
L'Année
Philologique. 1969
- .
The key bibliographic survey covering
the whole field of literature, history, and culture in the classical
world. Lists articles and books in English, as well as other languages.
The print version covers 1928 - present, Ref.
Z 7016 .M35a. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
16.
Bibliographical
Guide to Classical Studies. Ref. Z 7016
.W47 1997
Volume 1 covers general works, history of literature, and literature Accius
- Aristophanes. Set is currently up to volume 4, Plato - Semonides of Amorgos,
of a projected nine volume set.
17.
Bryn
Mawr Classical Review. <http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/bmcr/>
Publishes reviews of books on classical studies. Searchable; 1990- .
18. 
Classical
Review.
Reviews of books on classical studies. Online version from JSTOR 1887-1999.
Online version from Oxford (1999
- present) on campus only. Print version available, 2d fl. Lauinger.
19.
Classical
Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Ref.
Z 7016.J4 1996
Lists and describes the best specialized
reference sources for the classics. Covers Greek and Roman civilizations
from the Bronze Age through the 6th century A.D. and includes works
on art, archaeology, history, languages, literature, and philosophy.
20.
Gnomon
Online Bibliographische Datenbank. <http://www.gnomon.ku-eichstaett.de/Gnomon/en/Gnomon.html>
Selected data from a larger Gnomon database on CD-ROM., 1990- . Includes
all data from the CD-ROM from 1997 onwards.
Indexes books and articles. Related to Gnomon: kritische Zeitschrift
fur de gesamte
klassische
Altertumswissenschaft (Periodicals, 2d fl.), a journal which publishes reviews (in German).
21.
TOCS-IN. <http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/amphoras/tocs.html>
Tables
of contents of Classics journals, 1992- . Includes links to full text or
abstract where available.
D.
Indexes
22.
Essay
and General Literature Index. Ref.
AI 3 .E75
The unique aspect of this index is
that it cites essays and chapters from books and anthologies. The
list of books cited is located at the end of each volume. Subjects
included are philosophy, religion, the arts, economics, political
science, and history.
23.
Humanities
Index.
Indexes the major scholarly journals
in the humanities, including classics, since 1984. For earlier
years, see Humanities
and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
A. Collections
24.
The
Loeb Classical Library (Greek Authors). PA
3611 and PA 3612 - 5th floor
Collections of the writings of Greek
and Latin writers. Find books in these series by doing a title
search in
GEORGE for "Loeb Classical Library" and LIMIT by author. Books
in each series are shelved together in the stacks by the indicated
call
numbers.
Provides the original text paired page by page with an English
translation.
25.
The
Loeb Classical Library (Latin Authors). PA
6156 - 5th floor
See #24.
B.
Handbooks and Dictionaries
26.
Ancient
Writers: Greece and Rome. Ref. PA 3002
.A5 1982
Lengthy biographical and critical
essays on major classical authors. Each essay includes a bibliography.
The two-volume set also includes articles on "Greek Lyric Poets" and "Hellenistic
Poetry at Alexandria."
27.
Crowell's
Handbook of Classical Drama. Ref. PA
3024 .H35
Concentrates on Greek classical drama.
Includes entries for dramatists, dramatic forms, and individual
plays with brief background notes and summaries.
28.
Crowell's
Handbook of Classical Literature. Ref.
PA 31 .F4
Factual information on authors, characters,
themes, and stylistic conventions. Contains detailed summaries
of individual works.
29.
Greek
and Latin Authors 800 B.C. - A.D. 1000. Ref.
Biog. PA 31 .G7
Biographical sketches of writers of
the classical period and its aftermath. Bibliographies list editions,
translations, and biographical and critical works.
30. 
Oxford
Companion to Classical Literature. Ref.
DE 5 .H3 1989
Concise information on Greek and Roman
writers, subjects, literary forms, and individual works.
C.
Concordances
A concordance is an alphabetical index
showing places in the text of a work where each principal word
may be found. To find concordances,
look in GEORGE by subject under [Name of Author] - Concordances,
e.g. Sophocles - Concordances.
D.
Criticism
31.
Classical
and Medieval Literature Criticism. Ref.
PN 610 .C53
Each volume in the series covers four
or five authors (and in some cases, anonymous works) providing
a biographical and critical introduction and long excerpts of criticism
since the time the work was written through the present.
32.
Greek
and Roman Authors: A Checklist of Criticism. Ref.
Z 7016 .G9 1982
A comprehensive list of literary criticism
of authors in ancient Greece and Rome.
33.
Classical
Greek and Roman Drama. Ref. Z 7018
.D7 F67 1989
Annotated lists of the basic translations,
commentaries and criticism of major classical dramatists and their plays.
For more detailed information on art, please see the Art guide. 34.
Enciclopedia
Dell'Arte Antica: Classicae Orientale. Ref.
N 31 .E48 1958
Heavily illustrated, eight-volume
encyclopedia of ancient art. Although the articles are written
in Italian, the photographs and architectural drawings make this
set useful.
35.
New
Century Handbook of Classical Geography. Ref.
DE 25 .N48
Concise discussions of major geographical
locations incorporating information from both archaeology and mythology.
36.
Princeton
Encyclopedia of Classical Sites. Ref.
DE 59 .P7
Information on sites that have archaeological
remains from the classical period. Bibliographies and maps are
included.
37.
Art
Full Text. 1984-
.
Indexes the major and scholarly journals
in art history, fine arts, graphic arts, industrial design, photography
and film.Use Art
Index Retrospective for journal articles 1929-1984. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

38.
Dictionary
of Classical Mythology. Ref. BL 715 .G713 1996
Substantive entries, some with photos,
on the figures of classical mythology. Includes scholarly references
and genealogical tables.
39.
Who's
Who in Classical Mythology. Ref. BL
715 .G68 1993
Brief entries describe characters
from Greek and Roman myths.
40.
Women
of Classical Mythology. Ref. BL 715
.B445 1991
Citations to
ancient authors follow the short biographical sketches.

41.
Perseus
Project <http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/>
"Includes an overview of fifth-century
B.C. Greek history, works in Greek and in translation by ten authors
from the archaic and classical periods, an online ...Greek-English
dictionary, and a collection of short articles and glossary entries
on topics in Perseus including geographic regions, architectural
terms, vase shapes, and biographies of ancient authors." Excellent
illustrations.
42.
Diotima:
Women and Gender in the Ancient World. <http://www.stoa.org/diotima/>
An interdisciplinary resource on women and gender in
the ancient Mediterranean. This site includes course materials,
the bibiliographies on topics related to women and gender, translated
texts, essays, and images. Searchable.
43.
Resources
for Classical and Medieval History. <http://www.loc.gov/rr/main/alcove9/classics.html>
Library of
Congress list of links to a wide range of Web sites.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 6/05
ms
Links updated: 12/07
jc