A. Encyclopedias 
1.
Computer
Desktop Encyclopedia. Sci. Ref. QA76.15 .F732 1999
Provides a meaningful definition of every important computer concept, term
and buzzword used in the world of computers from micro to mainframe. Major
hardware and software products are included as well as backgrounds on the companies
that make them. Many historical photos of the first computers and electronic
devices are included.
2.
Encyclopedia
of Artificial Intelligence. Sci. Ref. Q 335 .E53 1987
Articles, varying in length from a paragraph to several pages, are written
by authorities in the field. Most articles have extensive bibliographies and
are cross-referenced to other articles.
3.
Encyclopedia
of Computer Science. Sci. Ref. QA 76.15 .E48 2000
Written for the non-specialist, this encyclopedia includes 600 articles from
370 contributors ranging in length from short paragraphs to a dozen pages.
Most articles include brief bibliographies.
4.
Encyclopedia
of Computer Science and Technology. Sci. Ref. QA 76.15 .E5
A compendium of basic knowledge about computers. Includes about 2,000 signed
articles arranged alphabetically by topic within fourteen basic volumes and
several supplementary volumes. The supplements cover a variety of timely topics.
References are included with each article.
5.
Prentice-Hall
Encyclopedia of Information Technology. Sci. Ref. QA 76.15 .E184
1987
Includes about 150 articles, one to ten pages in
length, covering the basics of information technology and computer
science. Written in non-technical language for the beginning student.
B. Dictionaries
6.
BABEL
- A Glossary of Computer Related Abbreviations and Acronyms. <http://www.geocities.com/ikind_babel/babel/babel.html>
A glossary of acronyms and abbreviations covering personal computers, multimedia,
communications, programming, networking, and related areas.
7.
The
Computer Glossary: The Complete Illustrated Dictionary. Sci. Ref.
QA 76.15 .F733 1998
Provides definitions for important computer terms, whether it be a concept
or a hardware or software product. Includes information on Internet and Web
terminology, but also covers jargon, companies, products, and industry history.
8. 
Dictionary
of Computing. Sci. Ref. QA 76.15 .D526 2004
Contains nearly 6,000 terms in computing and in the related fields of electronics,
mathematics, and logic. Recent advances in personal computing, multimedia,
and graphics, networking and the Internet, artificial intelligence, and computer
security are also included. Terms defined range from basic ideas and equipment
to advanced concepts of computer science at the graduate level. Diagrams and
tables supplement some entries. Also available
online from Oxford Reference
Online
9.
McGraw-Hill
Multimedia Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. CD-ROM
Network Instructions.
Over 122,000 complete definitions, many with multiple color images. Filtering
allows browsing the articles by 21 major subject areas and nearly 100 subtopics.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
10.
On-Line
Dictionary of Computing. <http://wombat.doc.ic.ac.uk/foldoc/index.html>
A dictionary of computer terms, jargon, and acronyms. Search by keyword.
11.
Prentice-Hall's
Illustrated Dictionary of Computing. Sci. Ref. QA 76.15 .N33 1998
Covers every aspect of computing hardware, software, networks and communications,
with hundreds of full-color tables, photos, and diagrams. It contains a style
manual so that readers will also know how to write documents that contain computer
terms.
12.
Computer
and Internet Dictionary. Sci.
Ref. QA 76.15 .M37 1999
Find definitions for
more than 3,500 computer and Internet terms. Jargon and acronyms are included
and extensively cross-referenced against main entries. Over 100 illustrations
and line drawings reinforce concepts, and tables detail special reference information.
13.
Whatis. <www.whatis.com>
Cross-referenced Internet glossary with links to related sites. A word oriented
view of the Web.
C. Handbooks and Directories
14.
The
BASIC Handbook. Sci. Ref. QA 76.73 .B3 L53 1986
A standard encyclopedic reference work for coding with BASIC. Contains over
500 entries related to BASIC commands.
15.
Computer
Science and Engineering Handbook. Sci. Ref. QA76 .C57315 1997
Covers information in algorithms and data structures, architecture, artificial
intelligence and robotics, computational science, database and information
retrieval, graphics, human-computer interaction, operating systems and networks,
programming languages, and software engineering.
16.
Nerd's
Heaven: The Software Directory Directory. <http://boole.stanford.edu/nerdsheaven.html>
Gouped in several categories: General Software,
Internet Software, Operating Systems,Scientific Software, Windows
Software, Macintosh Software, Other Platforms, User Groups, Commercial
Vendors, Nerdly Interest. Software is available for all types of
computer systems.
D. Review of the Literature 
17.
Computing
Reviews. 1962- . Blommer periodicals 1986-present; Lauinger
periodicals 1962-1985
Provides critical reviews and abstracts of computer science books, journal
articles, and conference proceedings. Arrangement is in subject groups with
cumulated author and subject indexes. Emphasizes machine aspects such as hardware
and software.
18.
Lecture
Notes in Computer Science. Check the online catalog for call number
Each volume of this series of monographs treats a specific subject related
to computer science, and includes approximately 50 articles with references.
Coverage includes expert systems, combinatorics, mathematical foundations of
computer science, natural language and logic, and programming languages. Each
volume has been cataloged separately and is identified by its own unique call
number.
A. Subject
Search 
GEORGE, the online
catalog, uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. These headings
are terms that have been established by the Library of Congress to
represent subjects. Some examples of the types of subject headings
(SUBJECT searches):
- To find specific concepts or theories:
e.g.
Microprogramming; Computer Interfaces; Computer Simulation
- To find books on a particular computer program language or computer
program
e.g.
Prolog Computer Program Language; Basic Computer Program Language;
LOTUS 1-2-3 Computer File
e.g.
Artificial Intelligence; Microcomputers; Programming Languages Electronic
Computers; Computer Programs;
B. Keyword
Search
When you cannot determine a relevant Library of Congress Subject
Heading or when you want to combine headings, search by KEYWORD.
This technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings,
and in other fields within the record. If more than one keyword is
used, the search results contain items that include all the keywords.
C. Combined
Search
Perform a KEYWORD search
on GEORGE for one or more of the terms which best describe your search.
For example, internet and guide. GEORGE will create a set of records
containing both words. If the set is too large, select LIMIT, then
select one of the ways of limiting. From this set, view the items
which seem most relevant. The Library of Congress Subject Headings
assigned to the book will appear in the part of the record labeled "subject." If
the subjects are not visible on the first screen, scroll down further
in the record. If a subject heading looks promising, use it for further
searches. By trying a variety of subject headings for your topic,
you will find the best books for your research.

19.
ACM
Portal. ACM Digital Library and ACM Guide.
The ACM (Association for Computing Literature) Portal consists of The ACM Guide
and The ACM Digital Library. Through The ACM Guide users can Search and Browse
a substantive bibliographic database from the key publishers in computing including
books, journals, proceedings and theses. Through The ACM Digital Library users
can Search, Browse and Read the complete text of articles published by ACM
since its inception. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
20.
Compendex.
1976- Reiss Science Building only
Joint Computerized Engineering Index and EI Engineering Meetings database.
Provides abstracted information from the world's significant engineering and
technological literature. Subjects covered include: civil, energy, environmental,
geological, and biological engineering; electrical, electronics, and control
engineering; chemical, mining, metals, and fuel engineering; mechanical, automotive,
nuclear, and aerospace engineering; and computers, robotics, and industrial
robots. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
21.
INSPEC.
1967- Reiss Science Building only
The database for physics, electrical engineering and electronics, control theory
and technology, and computers and computing. Corresponds to the three publications:
Physics Abstracts, Electrical and Electronics Abstracts, and Computer and Control
Abstracts. 1969- . Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
22 .Science Citation Index Expanded.
see Web of Science.
23.
Web
of Science, 1985- .
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database that indexes
and abstracts journals in the sciences and social sciences. Distributed by the
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), Web of Science at Georgetown University
is a cumulation of two databases: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social
Sciences Citation Index. In addition to traditional author, title and keyword
searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references -
the footnotes from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant paper
and find other, more recent papers that cite it. Pre-1989 coverage is available
in print format in the Dahlgren Medical Library. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| IV. Associations and Organizations |

24.
Association
for Computing Machinery. <http://www.acm.org/>
ACM information on the web includes conferences and events, career opportunities,
and online access to citations of ACM publications.
25.
IEEE
Computer Society. <http://www.computer.org/>
Search the CS web site for information on standards, publications, conferences,
and the technical activities of the IEEE Computer Society.
26.
Xerox
Palo Alto Research Center (PARC). <http://www.parc.xerox.com/parc-go.html>
Highlights of this site include descriptions of PARC projects and a listing
of newspaper and magazine article citations about PARC.

27.
CNET:
The Computer Network. <http://www.cnet.com/>
Provides help getting started with your PC. Gives also developers tips, downloadable
software, sources for memory chips, software, peripherals, and more.
28.
Computer
Vision. <http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~cil/vision.html>
The emphasis of this site is on computer vision research rather than on commercial
products. Test images, FTP & Gopher archives, source code, newsgroups,
conferences and publications can be found on this site.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 8/06,
NZ
Links updated: 12/07
jc