
1.
Concise
Companion to the Jewish Religion.
Information on all aspects of ancient and modern Jewish
belief and practice.
2.
Continuum
Political Encyclopedia of the Middle East. Ref. DS 62.8
.C66 2002
Gives historical perspective with emphasis on events in the 1980s and 1990s.
Signed articles, many with recommended readings for further research.
2.
Culture
and Customs of Israel. GN 635 .I78 T67 2004
Discusses contemporary culture and social life. Includes a bibliography
and chronology.
- 4.
Encyclopaedia
Judaica. Library
CD-ROM Network Ref. 102.8 .E5
A comprehensive, multi-volume encyclopedia of all aspects of Jewish life, history,
culture and scholarship. Each entry is signed and includes a brief bibliography.
5.
Encyclopedia
of Modern Jewish Culture. Ref. DS 102.8 .E56 2005
Defining "modern" as beginning with the eighteenth century Englightenment movements,
this two-volume work covers a wide range of topics and individuals related to
the development of Jewish culture. Entries include bibliographies.
5.
Encyclopedia
of the Modern Middle East and North Africa. Ref.
DS 43 .E53 2004
Comprehensive encyclopedia of the history, events, people and politics of the
modern Middle East. Includes bibliographies at the end of each article.
6.
Historical
Dictionary of Israel. Ref. DS 126.5 .R38 1992
Key events, individuals, organizations, and places
defined. Includes a chronology and a bibliography.
7.
Historical
Dictionary of Prophets in Islam and Judaism. Ref. BM
645 .P67 N64 2002
Describes concepts, sacred texts, movements, and prophets. Includes
an extensive bibliography for further study.
9.
Jewish
Yearbook. 2000- . Ref. DS 135 .E5 A3
Essays, directory of organizations, biographical information, calendars.
Published in Britain, so emphasis is British.
11.
Medieval
Jewish Civilization. Ref. DS 124 .M386 2003
Lengthy articles cover Christian-Jewish relations, commerce and economy, countries,
culture, daily life, events, Muslim-Jewish relations, and individuals. Short
bibliographies follow each entry.
10.
New
A to Z of the Middle East. Ref. DS 43 .G7413 2004
Topical entries provide a brief overview of contemporary issues,
persons and places. Augmented by a chronology of events from
1947-2003, basic documents,
maps, and statistical tables. Also includes a highly selective bibliography and
an index of names.
14.
New
Encyclopedia of Judaism. Ref. BM 50 .E63 2002
Articles focus on Jewish religious life and thought. Includes an
annotated bibliography.
12.
New
Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel. Ref. DS 149 .N56 1994
Entries in this two-volume set illustrate the history of Zionism
and the development of the state of Israel.
13.
Reader's
Guide to Judaism. Ref. BM 50 .R43 2000
Covering a wide range of topics, each entry begins with a short
bibliography followed by a discussion of the works and their relation
to each other and their approaches to the topic in question.
| II. Finding Books/Monographs |

While journal articles can be very up-to-date and focused, books
are especially useful for background and context as well
as in-depth information.
Use GEORGE,
the online catalog, to find books by keyword, subject, title, or
author.
A Keyword search
finds words in titles, subject headings, and, if present, contents
notes, e.g., kibbutz and
women.
Check the results of your keyword search to see if there are useful
Subject Headings you could also try, e.g., Kibbutzim; Women--Israel.
Examples of Subject Headings:
Arab-Israeli conflict
Jewish diaspora
Jews--Politics and government
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
Israel--History
Israel--Politics and government
Israel--Social life and customs
Palestine--History
Examples of Subject Headings for literature:
Hebrew literature
Hebrew poetry
Jewish authors
Jewish fiction
Israeli drama
Israeli literature
Note: Israeli literature is used for literature
originating in Israel in Hebrew or in several languages
collectively.
However,
collections
in Arabic are entered under Arabic literature--Israel; in Yiddish
under Yiddish literature--Israel.
Finding Films
If you know the title of the film, search by title in GEORGE. If
you know the director, search by the director's name as "author."
To find a list of films on Israel or on Jewish themes or which
are in Hebrew,
do
a keyword search,
e.g.,
israel*
or
jew*
or
hebrew
and select LAU
Gelardin Media Center as "location." This will retrieve records
with these terms in titles, notes, or subject headings which
are located in Gelardin. The
Gelardin Media Center has films
(DVD, VHS) and audio recordings (CD) and equipment for viewing
and listening to them.
Other Library Catalogs:
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The shared library catalog for the Washington Research Library Consortium:
George Washington, American, Catholic, George Mason, Marymount, Gallaudet
Universities, and the University of the District of Columbia. WRLC-FAQ Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the
WRLC Catalog.
WorldCat
A large union catalog with approximately 50 million records from more than
19,000 libraries around the world. Off-campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/resource/libcats.htm
Library
of Congress Online Catalog <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
| III. Israeli Sites and Resources |

14.
Bar
Ilan's Judaic Library (Bar Ilan Responsa Project). Gelardin
Center MMCD 424
Searchable database of the Old Testament and rabbinical literature.
Request in the Gelardin
Center, first floor of Lauinger.
15.
Jewish
Virtual Library. <http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/>
An online Jewish encyclopedia with over 10,000
articles and 5,000 images arranged by broad topic, it includes bibliographies
and primary texts.
16.
Teaching
Israel Resources: Window on Israel. <http://www.jafi.org.il/education/diaspora/links/window.asp#77>
Extensive list of Israel web sites arranged by category.
17.
kolisrael.com. <http://www.kol-israel.com/>
News sources and links to a wide range of web sites including
sources of Arab news in English.
| IV. Israeli-Palestinian Conflict |
18.
Dictionary
of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict. Ref.
JQ 1830 .A58 F3813 2005
Comprised of short articles on terms, places,
events, individuals, and agreements along with timelines, a glossary,
and a bibliography.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
19.
An
Historical Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict. Ref.
DS 119.7 .H544 1996
Provides detailed and comprehensive information about the political, military,
and diplomatic events of the Arab-Israeli Conflict, as well as personalities,
places, treaties, and documents.

20.
Bibliography
on Holocaust Literature. Ref. Z 6374 .H6 B48
1986 and Supplement
Comprehensive listing of English language works 1930 -
mid 1980s covering Jewish life in pre-war Europe, anti-Semitism
in Europe, Fascism, Nazism, World War II, concentration camps,
Jewish and European resistance, bystanders, free world reaction,
aftermath, Europe after the war, Holocaust literature, distortion,
and historiography.
Less comprehensive, but very useful starting points are the Oryx
Holocaust Sourcebook (Ref. Z6374 .H6 F47 2002), which
features lists of audiovisual materials and museums and
organizations; and Bearing
Witness: A Resource Guide to Literature, Poetry, Art, Music, and
Videos
by Holocaust Victims and Survivors (Ref. Z 6374 .H6 R67
2002).
21.
Encyclopedia
of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust. Ref.
DS 135 .E8 E45 2001
This three-volume set is an abridgement of the Encyclopedia
of Jewish Communities, which was published in Hebrew by Yad
Vashem. Entries recount the history of 6,500 communities with
a special emphasis
on the years between the world wars and during Nazi occupation.
22.
Encyclopedia
of the Holocaust. Ref. D 804.3 .E53 1990
An authoritative resource, the lengthy, scholarly articles
discuss all aspects of the Holocaust, in four volumes. Events and
people as well as broader issues
are explored. Articles include bibliographies.
23.
Holocaust
Encyclopedia. Ref. D 804.25 .H66 2001
A one-volume reference on the Holocaust. Includes a bibliographic
essay.
24.
Holocaust
Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work. Ref.
PN 56 .H55 H66 2003
Listing a broad range of authors from several nationalities and
genres, each entry provides biographical information with critical
analysis. Appendices note literary themes, ghettos and camps, events,
and historic figures treated in the literature.
25.
Reference
Guide to Holocaust Literature. Ref. PN 56 .H55 R43 2002
Similar to #24 above, it also has entries which describe and analyze
individual works, e.g., Night. A chronology relates authors
and works to events.

26.
Holocaust
Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work. Ref.
PN 56 .H55 H66 2003
See #24.
27.
Institute
for the Translation of Hebrew Literature. <http://www.ithl.org.il/mainpage.html>
The Institute's directory of Hebrew authors provides a brief
biography and a list of the author's works in Hebrew and in translation.
28.
Jewish
Writers of the Twentieth Century. Ref. Biog. PN 842 .J48
2003
Introductory essays discuss Hebrew literature, among other topics.
Articles on each author include suggestions for further reading.
29.
Literature
Resource Center.
Full-text biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis of
more than 100,000 world authors and works throughout history and
across all literary genres (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, and
journalism). Enables you to search by literary movement (e.g.,
Harlem Renaissance), gender, or author ethnicity (e.g., Asian American).
LRC is an electronic version of such print reference sources as Dictionary
of Literary Biography (Ref. Biog. PS 121 .D48) and Contemporary Authors
(Ref. Biog. CT 220 .C62). Off-campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
30.
MLA
Bibliography.
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, MLA covers
scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes
journal articles (75% of the entries), books, and book chapters
from multi-author works. Does not include book reviews. Off-campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
31.
Reference
Guide to Holocaust Literature. Ref. PN 56 .H55 R43
2002
See #25.

32.
Contemporary
Women's Issues.
Indexes more than 2200 publications (books, journals, newsletters,
research reports from non-profit groups, government and international
agencies, and fact sheets). Full-text sources provide information
dealing with women's issues in over 190 nations. Includes book
reviews. Off-campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
33.
GenderWatch.
Publications focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum
of subject areas and include academic and scholarly journals, magazines,
newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets
and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental
organization and special reports.The database provides in-depth
coverage of subjects that are central to women's lives as well
as topics on the impact of gender and gender roles. Off-campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

General
34
RAMBI.
Selective bibliography of research articles relevant to the field
of Judaica. Material is compiled from several thousand English,
Hebrew, Yiddish and European language sources. Much of the material
reflects the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library. Off-campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
35.
Academic
Search Premier and Proquest
Research Library.
These two databases cover a wide range of scholarly journals and
popular magazines in all subjects. Many articles are full text. Particularly
good for current and interdisciplinary topics. Off
campus access instructions . Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
History
36.
Historical
Abstracts.
Indexes and abstracts articles dealing with world history from
1450 to the present (excludes Canada and the U.S.). Off-campus
access instructions Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
37.
International
Medieval Bibliography.
Indexes articles from journals and books on all subjects
relating to the Middle Ages (400-1500 AD). Geographical areas covered
are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Off
campus access instructions . Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
38.
Iter:
Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
A bibliography of articles and reviews on the Middle Ages and
the Renaissance (400-1700 AD). Indexes
publications from the mid-1800's to the present. Off
campus access instructions . Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
Politics
39.
CIAO.
Contains conference proceedings and working papers from over 90
participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text
of books and book summaries, links to websites, journal abstracts
and a calendar of conferences and seminars. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
40.
PAIS.
An index to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications
relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.
Covers 1972 to the present. PAIS
Archive covers 1937-1976. Off
campus access instructions . Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
Religion
41.
ATLA
Religion Index.
Indexes articles on
religious and theological topics, Biblical studies, world religions,
Church History, and
religious perspectives on social issues. Off-campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
News
42.
Ethnic
News Watch.
Provides full-text access to newspapers, magazines and journals
of the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. and Canada.
Includes articles, editorials, columns, and reviews which provide
diverse
perspectives
and viewpoints.
Limit your search to Jewish publications by selecting Jewish as Ethnic Group.
Off-campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
43.
LexisNexis
Academic.
Provides full text of magazine, newspapers, wire services,
and broadcast transcripts, including international publications,
e.g., Jerusalem Post. Off-campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
44.
PressDisplay.
Press Display provides online access to today's
newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format.
Currently, two newspapers are available for Israel: Israel
News Faxx and
the Jerusalem
Post.
Titles include a 45-day backfile, and contain articles as well
as other key
content,
such as advertisements, classifieds, and notices. Users can take
advantage of the keyword searching capability within each issue
or simply browse through the pages of their favorite title. NOTE:
Our contract for this database limits us to 5 simultaneous users. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
45.
World
News Connection.
Provided by the National Technical Information Service
(NTIS). Contains
translations of worldwide news and commentary from foreign television
and radio broadcasts, newspapers, and periodicals from July 1994
to the present. World News Connection replaces Foreign Broadcast
Information Service (FBIS). Use the FBIS
Index for 1975-1996. Documents from 1978-mid 1990s are on microfiche
in the Government
Documents and Microforms Deptartment. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 9/05
-BB,SH
Links updated: 9/05
-BB,SH