| I.Statistics -
By Country |
| Key: |
* * * Most
Current |
* * Recent |
* Lags
by 2+ years |
(H)
Historical |
(F)
Forecasts |
A. All Countries
1.
*
* * Country Statistical
Agencies. <http://www.census.gov/main/www/stat_int.html>
This U.S.
Census Bureau site
offers links to the the government statistical agencies for
individual countries. Such sites may include the latest statistics
on economic indicators and categories relevant to a particular country. Not
every country has a government website. Europa
World Yearbook
(#37) and Statesman's Yearbook (REF
DESK JA 51.S7) also list official country URLs.
2.
*
* * Economist
Intelligence Unit. Country
Reports.
Quarterly and annual economic data and political analysis for
over 200 countries; many updated monthly. Narratives and data
appear in a standardized, easy-to-locate format. Covers the political
scene, economic policy, the domestic economy, sectoral trends, and
foreign trade and payments. Download in HTML,
PDF, or Excel. Also
available from http://www/library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ Category
is Business & Economics.
3.
*
* (F) CountryWatch.
Geographic, political, and economic information in narrative and statistical
form on 192 individual countries. Provides GDP, growth, money, prices,
unemployment, government, debt, trade, and balance of payments. Productivity
data on five key sectors. Gives country rankings for trade, population,
productivity, development and technology. Also
available from http://www/library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ Category
is Business and Economics.
4.
*
* * Country
Background Notes. <http://www.stat-usa.gov/>
Available through the database STAT USA (#71). Offers
a summary of economic activity and the key products produced as a percentage
of the economy. Click on Globus/NTDB, then Other,
and Country Background Notes. Also
available from http://www/library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ Category
is Business and Economics. Library
workstations only.
5.
OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web. http://www.offstats.auckland.ac.nz/
Links to free, official statistics resources. Arranged alphabetically by country, region, or subject.
6
.
Specific
country statistical handbooks. Ref. HA 1171 to HA 4631
Many countries publish their own statistical handbooks. They are available
in the reference stacks for a number of countries, primarily developed nations. To
determine if the library has one for a given country do a subject search in GEORGE under
[name of country] - statistics or ask a Reference Librarian. In addition, Foreign
Governments (http://www.library.northwestern.edu/govpub/resource/internat/foreign.html)
links to some countries' government statistical offices.
7.
* (H) Statistical
Yearbook. 1948- . Ref.
HA 12.5 .U63
The United
Nations compilation of international statistics
for all countries and areas of the world. Provides economic,
agricultural, and industrial statistics for all 191 member
countries. Lags 3 years behind; includes statistics for
the previous decade. For current data, see the Monthly
Bulletin of Statistics (below).
8.
*
* * Monthly
Bulletin of Statistics. Ref.
HC 57 .U66
The United
Nations compiles
statistics on industrial production, prices, employment, energy production,
manufacturing, construction, trade, and finance for all 191 member
countries.
9.
(H) International
Historical Statistics.
Provides comparative data for the countries in each region. Covers
population, vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry,
external trade, transport and communications, finance, prices, education,
and national accounts.
. . . The
Americas, 1750-2000 Ref.
HA175 .M55 2003
. . . Europe, 1750-2000 Ref.
HA1107 .M5 2003
. . . Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000. Ref.
HA4675 .M552 2003
B. Highly
Developed Economies
10.
*
* * Business
Cycle Indicators. <http://www.tcb-indicators.org/#>
The Conference Board provides
the latest press releases on economic conditions and indicators in
the U.S., Japan, Australia, Germany, Spain, Mexico, France, Korea. Lauinger
does not subscribe to the other features of this database.
11.
*
* * Economist.Com:
Country Briefings. <http://www.economist.com/countries>
Key economic and
financial indicators for 60 major economies and the Euro area. Brief
economic data, including forecasts, for 10 key indicators over four
years. Click on a country and see Country Profile. Print
version: Economist (weekly magazine; see final pages) at
the Reserve Desk
12.
*
* (H) European
Marketing Data and Statistics. Ref. Desk
HA 1107 .E87 2003
Annual statistics include economic indicators, banking and finance,
external trade, labor force, industrial and energy resources and
output, agriculture, consumer behavior and business statistics
by sector. Tables provide pan-European comparative data
going back to 1977.
13.
*
* * (H) Eurostat. <http://www.europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat/>
Data from the Statistical Office of the European Union which
allows comparisons to be made among EU members and regions. Covers
national accounts, employment, industry, energy, services, agriculture,
external trade, prices, financial statistics and balance of payments. Monthly
print version: Eurostatistics:
Data for Short Term Economic Analysis at Ref.
HA 1107.5 .E895. At website; click Data, then Short
Term Indicators.
14.
*
* * (H) International
Economic Trends. <http://research.stlouisfed.org/publications/iet/>>
An annual presentation of key economic
data since 1986, covering seven major industrial countries and the "Euro
area". Data on output, inflation, monetary aggregates, interest
rates, government budget, current account, exchange rates and foreign
exchange reserves. Includes a brief essay on a topic relevant
to the international economy. Click
on "Entire Publication," for a linked table of contents.
15.
*
* International Marketing Data and Statistics. Ref.
Desk HA 42. I 56 2003
Economic profiles of most
countries grouped by region, except Europe (see # 11). Arrangement
is by theme, with broad categories covering economic indicators, banking
and finance, consumer expenditure, agriculture, industry, transport,
income and earnings, labor and trade.
16.
* * * Source
OECD.
The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development's online
publications portal includes comprehensive data on member
countries and some data (such as aid from
OECD countries to non-OECD members) on other countries. Full-text access
to all OECD monographs, periodicals and statistics since 1998. The Statistics interface
is designed for browsing designated categories rather than keyword searching;
see the User Guide at top of screen. Check GEORGE for print
versions of OECD periodicals available in the Reference Department. Also
available from http://www/library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ Category
is Business & Economics.
17.
(H)
Historical Statistics/OECD. HC 10
.H59
Retrospective OECD statistics back to 1960.
C. Developing
and Regional Economies
18.
* * WDI
Online.
Comparable data collected by the World
Bank to measure development outcomes. Includes over 500
indicators and covers 152 countries. Print
version: World Development Indicators at Ref.
HC 59 .W62. Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/>
19.
*
* (H)
Global
Development Finance (GDF Online). 1997- Gov.
Docs. Ref HJ 8899 .W67
World
Bank statistical tables on the external public debt and publicly
guaranteed debt of 96 developing countries. Earlier years have
the title World Debt Tables (1979-1996).
20.
* * Human
Development Indicators. <http://hdr.undp.org/reports/global/2003/indicator/index.html>
United Nations statistics on human development arranged
by country or indicator; part of the Human Development Report (#50).
21. 
*
* African
Development Indicators. <http://www4.worldbank.org/afr/stats/adi2004/default.cfm>
Macroeconmic
data provided by the World Bank Country desks, which
offer detailed country coverage. Most series go back to 1980.
Website
has selected chapters only. Print
version: Ref.
HC 800 .A1 A353
22.
*
* (H)
World
Bank Africa Database. CD-ROM
Network instructions
A comprehensive database
with annual time-series back to 1970. Has over 1,200 macroeconomic,
sectoral and social data for 53 African countries and 20 regional country
groups.
23.
*
* * (H) ASEAN,
Association of Southeast Asian Nations. <http://www.aseansec.org/13100.htm >
Extensive economic statistics on Sourtheast Asian nations include statistics
on production, inflation, trade, foreign direct investment, infrastructure,
tourism, and links to member countries. Includes monthly
and quarterly data, into the current year. Statistics
go back several years.
24.
*
* (H)
Key Indicators of Developing Asian & Pacific Countries. Ref.
HC 411 .A754a
The Asian Development
Bank's statistical compilation on economic,
financial, environmental, and social data for ADB's 40 member
countries. The first section is arranged by economic
indicators and the second by country. Data go back almost fifteen
years.
25.
* (H)
Statistical Abstract of Latin America. Ref.
HA 931. C3
Comparable statistical series on the societies, economies, and
politics of Latin America's 20 countries. Tables include statistics
on regional and world totals. Annual.
26.
*
* (H) Statistical
Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean. <http://www.eclac.cl/estadisticas/default.asp?idioma=IN>
The Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean offers
the main statistical series available on economic and social trends
in the countries of the region in comparable format. See
the link for Statistics. Annual. Print
version: Ref.
HA 755 .A68.
D. Special
Topics
Agriculture
27.
*
* FAO
Country Profiles. <http://www.fao.org/countryprofiles/default.asp?lang=en/>
The Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations provides
this country specific site. Select a country from the drop-down menu
on the right for food and agricultural indicators, sustainable development,
and related economic information.
28.
*
* Economic Research
Service, USDA. <http://www.ers.usda.gov/Briefing/>
The United States Department of Agriculture offers
information on countries which are major agricultural trading partners
with the U.S. Click on (or enter) the name of a country
for agricultural information, issues, outlook, production, and trade
data.
Competitiveness
29.
*
* Global Competitiveness Report. Ref.
HF 1414. G559
World Economic Forum's analysis of competitiveness
among 80 countries estimates underlying prospects for growth. Offers
a Microeconomic Competitiveness Index which measures institutions,
market structures, and economic policies which support growth. Includes
narratives, ranking tables, and individual country pages. Annual.
30.
*
* IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook. Ref.
HF 1414 .W 67
Ranks 59 industrialized and emerging economies on these criteria:
domestic economy, international trade, international investment, employment,
prices, public finance, productivity, labor, finance and infrastructure. Annual. CD-ROM available
in Gelardin Media Center (MMCD 510).
31.
*
Arab World Competitiveness Report. Ref. HC
498 .A7195
Country profiles have key indicators, data on exchange rates
and capital restrictions, reflecting financial openness, export performance,
and trade charts. This source also offers analysis on issues
affecting economic development in the Arab world. Annual.
Energy
32.
*
(H) Energy Statistics Yearbook. Ref. HA13
.U5 ser.J
United Nations report offering worldwide country data
on energy production, trade, and consumption, organized by type of
fuel. Annual.
Financial
33.
*
* * (H)International
Financial Statistics Online. 1948-
.
This International Monetary Fund source
provides historical and current financial information on member countries. Includes
exchange rates, inflation and deflation, government finance, balance
of payments, money and banking, and national income accounts. Monthly
Print Version: Ref.
HG 3881 .I626. The annual International
Financial Statistics Yearbook s
at Ref Desk HG 3881 .I6262. Historical: yearbooks
(1979 - (data goes back to 1949) are in LAU Stacks at
HG 3881 .I6262. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ ;
category is Business & Economics.
34.
*
* * Annual
Report of the Bank for International Settlements. <http://www.bis.org/publ/annualreport.htm>
Quarterly data on the financial
liabilities of banks in the reporting countries. The annual report
contains data on industrial and emerging markets. Offers links
to web sites of individual banks.
35.
*
* Government Finance Statistics Yearbook. Ref.
HA 40 .F5 I58
This International
Monetary Fund publication
provides governmental budgetary statistics, including revenues
and expenditures for individual countries.
36.
* (H) National
Accounts Statistics Database. <http://unstats.un.org/unsd/snaama/Introduction.asp>
This United Nations database
contains a complete and consistent set of time series from 1970 onwards
of main national accounts aggregates for the countries and areas of
the world. Includes GDP by expenditures; domestic production
by industries; government and individual consumption expenditures,
and integrated economic accounts. Print version: National
Accounts Statistics at Ref. HC 79.I5 U53 An
earlier version was Yearbook of National Accounts Statistics at HC
79 .I5 U53 goes back to 1957 (In storage; 48 hr. recall).
Labor
37. 
*
*(H) LABORSTA. <http://laborsta.ilo.org/>
Compiled by the International Labour
Organization, this site offers labor statistics by country. Includes
data on the economically active population, employment, unemployment,
hours of work, wages, labour cost, consumer prices, wages and hours
by occupation, occupational injuries and strikes and lockouts. Print
version, Yearbook
of Labour Statistics, 1935
to the present; current in Ref.
HD 4826 .I63 , earlier in stacks.
A. All
Countries
38.
*
* Europa World Year Book. 1959- . Ref.
Desk JN 1 .E85
Narrative and brief statistical information
on the political, economic, and commercial conditions of the countries
of the world. Updated annually. Includes web addresses
for country statistical offices when available. Europa guides to regions
of the world offer more detail on countries in a region; ask at the
Reference Desk.
39.
*
* (F) Political
Risk Yearbook. CD-ROM
Network Instructions.
Each country analysis provides forecast summaries
for the country, economic performance, social indicators, general business
climate, and eighteen-month and five-year political and economic forecasts. Annual.
40.
*
* (F) (H) World
Economic and Social Survey. <http://www.un.org/esa/policy/wess/index.html>
This annual United Nations publication
discusses the current situation, trends, and prospects for various
aspects of the world economy. Statistical appendices cover key macroeconomic
indicators, international trade, and finance, organized by country
or region. Print version at Ref.
HC 59 .A184. Earlier years: 1955 - to previous
year, in Lauinger stacks at HC
59 .A184.
41.
*
* (F) (H) World
Economic Outlook. <http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/weo/weorepts.htm>
International Monetary
Fund analysis of the current economic situation, policy issues,
and short- and medium-term prospects in industrial and developing countries.
The statistical appendix emphasizes financial
data; lag time is two years with projections to the current year. Print
version: Ref.
Desk HC 59 .W645 Earlier
years: 1980-
previous year, in Lauinger stacks at HC
59 .W645 .
42.
*
* (F) World
Economic Situation and Prospects. <http://www.un.org/esa/policy/wess/index.html>
This United Nations publication offers a overview
of the world economic situation, a review of international trade, and
a survey of the regional developments and outlook for developed, transitional,
and developing economies. Print
version: Ref.
HC 59 .15 W67.
43.
*
* (F) (H) Asian
Development Outlook. <http://www.adb.org/documents/books/ado/>
Forecasts and analyses of the economies of the developing member
countries of the Asian Development Bank; includes 41
Asian and Pacific economies. Statistical projections for the
current and coming year. Annual. Print
version: 1989 - Ref.
HC 411 .A1 A84
B. Highly
Developed Economies
44.
*
Economic Survey of Europe. Ref.
HC 240 .A1 U5
United
Nations analysis of the economic situation of Europe. The
statistical appendix provides time series data on main economic indicators
in Europe and its trading partners, North America, Japan, Eastern Europe,
the Baltic States, and the Commonwealth of Independent States.
45.
*
* (F)
(H) OECD Economic Outlook. 1967- . Current
Issues on Reserve
Each semi-annual issue provides
an assessment of the current economic situation in OECD countries
and certain others, as well as trends and projections. Includes an
overview of developments in each OECD-member country. Issues from 1967 on 2nd
floor. Also
available in Source
OECD: OECD
Economic Outlook.
C. Developing
and Regional Economies
46.
*
African Development Report. Ref.
HC 800 .A1 A354
African Development Bank's annual survey of economic
and social progress in Africa. Statistical appendix includes
mcacroeconomic indicators; labor force and social indicators for the
Bank's 53 member countries.
47.
*
* * ASEAN Annual
Reports. <http://www.aseansec.org/4913.htm>
ASEAN is an association of 10 South-East Asian countries to accelerate economic
progress and increase stability.
48.
* * Economic
and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific. <http://www.unescap.org/pdd/publications/index.asp>
A United Nations analysis
of regional economic developments and prospects; includes macroeconomic
performance, issues, and policies. Scroll
to this title on Publications page. Print
version: Ref. HC 411 .U48.
49.
* Economic
and Social Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean. Ref.
HA 755 .A68
This United Nations publication analyzes various
aspects of the regional economy and the economic performance of the
20 countries of Latin America and the English-speaking Caribbean. The
country reports include tables and figures on the main economic indicators. Annual.
50.
*
* (F) Global
Economic Prospects. <http://www.worldbank.org/prospects/>
The World Bank 's assessement
of both the short- and long-term outlooks for the world economy and
the developing countries. Find
link to Publications and select title. . Annual. Print
version: Ref. HC 59.69 G58
51.
* (H) Human
Development Report. <http://hdr.undp.org/> 1990
-
The United Nations Development
Program report offers a narrative overview of current issues in development
and statistical indicators (see # 19) of development
such as health, education, employment, and assistance worldwide. Annual. Print
version: Ref. HD 72 .H85
52.
*
Least Developed Countries Report. Ref. HC
59.7 L328
A United Nations examination of economic trends,
development targets, causes of poverty and development strategies,
and a statistical appendix. Published every
two years.
53.
*
* (H) World
Development Report. <http://econ.worldbank.org/wdr/>
This key World Bank publication
gives an overview of poverty and the developing world. Statistical
tables provide selected development indicators for individual countries. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ ;
category is Business & Economics. Print
version: Ref.
Desk HC 59 .W6; 1978
- in stacks.
A. Dictionaries
and Encyclopedias
54.
Dictionary
of Development. Ref.
HC 59.7 .D513 1990
Provides descriptions of major concepts,
events, issues, and organizations related to the social and economic
conditions of developing countries.
55.
Dictionary
of Economics. Ref.
HB 61 .B554 2002
Widely used economic terms
and phrases for students.
56.
Routledge
Dictionary of Economics. Ref. HB 61 R 92
2002
Comprehensive, user-friendly
definitions of major concepts in economics.
57.
Encyclopedia
of Macroeconomics. Ref. HB
172.5 .E55 2002
Definitions
of important terms and concepts in the field of macroeconomics. Dictionary
arrangement; article length varies.
58.
(H)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History. Ref.
HC 15 .O94 2003
A general encyclopedia on all aspects of economic history. Includes
histories of individual countries (including some statistics), industries,
institutions, key individuals, and other topics relating to the material
aspects of human existence. Attempts a global, non-partisan outlook. Five
volumes.
59.
Worldmark
Encyclopedia of National Economies. Ref.
HC 15 .W675 2002
Overviews of the economic
structure and current climate of 198 countries and territories. Entries
include comparable statistical information on the economy, including
economic sectors, international trade, finance, working conditions,
economic history, and a bibliography. Four
volumes.
B. Guides
60.
Economist
Guide to Global Economic Indicators. Ref.
HB 3711 .E43
Describes
over 100 of the most important economic indicators in terms of coverage,
significance, reliability, time, and source of publication, revisions,
and interpretation.
61.
International
Financial Statistics Locator. Ref.
Desk HG 151.7 .B37 1995
This guide identifies current and
historical statistical sources for financial and economic indicators.
62.
Resources
for Economists on the Internet <http://www.rfe.org>
This web guide lists more than 900 resources
on the Internet for those interested in economics. NetEc is an
international academic effort to improve the communication of economics
via electronic media. Click
on "Data," for a variety of data relating to country economic
conditions and links to international organizations.
|
IV. Indexes
and Abstracts |
A. Economics/Policy:
Journal Articles/Reports (database
name is the direct link)
63.
EconLit.
The key index to worldwide economic
literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Has
article citations from over 400 major economic journals since 1969;
includes abstracts and book annotations from Journal
of Economic Literature (Lauinger, second floor periodicals)
since 1987. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ category
is Business & Economics.
64.
P.A.I.S. International
A key database which Indexes and abstracts
journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating
to economics, social conditions, and international relations since
1972. Print
edition: 1915 to 1990 at Ref. Z 7163. P9.
Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ category
is Business & Economics.
65.
International
Political Science Abstracts.
An important source of citations
and abstracts to scholarly articles on politics and economics.
Print
edition: 1951
to 1997 at Ref. JA 36. I5. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ category
is Government, Law & Politics.
66.
Academic
Search Premier.
Indexes approximately 4,500 academic journals in the social
sciences and humanities; 3,500 are available here full-text. Combining
a country name or region (Germany, Europe) with an economic term (economic
conditions or economic indicators, development) helps focus results. Note
the database's subject terms in relevant records for further searches. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
category is General/Multi-Subject.
67.
CIAO
(Columbia International Affairs Online).
Conference proceedings and working papers
from 41 participating institutes around the world. Includes the full-text of
books and book summaries, hyperlinks to more than 150 sites, journal
abstracts and a calendar of conferences and seminars. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ category
is International & Area Studies.
68.
World
Bank/International Monetary Fund Joint Library. <http://jolis.worldbankimflib.org/e-nljolis.htm>
JOLIS (Joint Libraries Information System)
is the network web catalog. It includes references to books,
journal titles, journal articles, working papers, conference proceedings,
technical reports, videos, software, electronic resources, and commercial
sources, as well as references to items published by the IMF and World
Bank.
B. News
69.
Lexis/Nexis
Academic.
Thousands of magazines, newspapers, wire
services, and broadcast transcipts, including international publications. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ category
is General/Multi-Subject.
70.
World
News Connection.
Full-text translations of worldwide news
and commentary from foreign television/radio broadcasts, newspapers,
and periodicals and covers all years since July 1994. Replaces Foreign
Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), which is in Government Documents. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ category
is International & Area Studies.
C. Statistics
71.
Lexis/Nexis
Statistical.
Includes
the American Statistics Index (ASI) (1973- ), Index
to International Statistics (IIS) (1983- ), and Statistical
Reference Index (SRI) (1980- ). Focus is on
basic economic, demographic, industrial, and social statistics. Topic
searches produce lists of articles/items which contain statistics
and sometimes a direct link to the table. Microfiche for items
in ASI and IIS are kept in the Government Documents and Microforms
Dept. (first floor of Lauinger). Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ category
is Government, Law & Politics.
72.
STAT-USA. Computer
Workstations in Library only
The focus of this U. S. Dept. of
Commerce database is export and opportunities for U.S. businesses. Offers
reports and statistical information on markets in individual countries
and demand for products. Other trade related data included exchange
rates, international transactions and agricultural information. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ category
is Business & Economics.

Books on topics related to the economy
of a country are listed by subject in GEORGE,
the online catalog. To search by subject in GEORGE,
find the correct terms in the Library of Congress Subject Headings (the
red volumes shelved in the dictionary stand near the Reference Desk
of Lauinger Library). Or look up a title you know in GEORGE and
look at the subject headings listed in the record. Examples
of subject headings:
To find works on the economy of
a specific country or region
e.g. Mexico
- Economic conditions
Developing
countries - Economic policy
India
- Industries
To find general works on theory
and policy of economic development
e.g. Economic
development
Economic
policy
* Enter
an organization as a subject or an author
e.g. Organization
for Economic Co-Operation and Development
World
Bank
You will probably want to search under
several headings. If you aren't finding what you want, try
searching by keywords. Keywords allow you to search words
that appear in the title or subject heading fields and aid in identifying
new terms or concepts. If you need help with GEORGE or
searching by topic, speak to a Reference Librarian.
Books in the Reference and circulating
collections use the Library
of Congress Classification system.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 1/07
- jm
Links updated: 11/07
- jc, mb