1.
Dictionary
of Development: Third World Economy, Environment, Society. Ref.
HC 59.7 D513 1990
Explains major organizations, concepts
and issues concerning development in the Third World.
2.
Encyclopedia
of the Developing World. Ref. HC 59 .7 .E52 2006
Four volumes in A to Z format cover the
history and politics of economic development from 1945 to the present.
Offers an overview of the issues, events, and theories of the developing
world and the economic aid to it.
3.
Historical
Dictionary of Aid and Development Organizations. Ref. HC 60 .A738 1996
Explores the phases foreign aid has passed through since 1950, especiallly
the role ofthe World Bank and IMF, OPEC, the United Nations and individual
governments. Entries examine all aspects of aid and include extensive
bibliographies, a dateline tracing events in the development
of aid is also included.
4.
International
Development Dictionary. Ref. HF 1359
.F79 1991
Defines terms and concepts of development
including those related to development assistance and technology transfer.
Lists major development movements, projects, and organizations and includes
a bibliography.
5.
Least
Developed Countries Report. Ref. HC 59.7 .L328
The report describes a group of 50 countries
which have been identified as “least developed” in terms
of their low GDP per capita, their weak human assets and their high
degree of
economic vulnerability. The report focuses on progress
made toward development goals. Annual.

6. 
Balance
of Payments Statistics
International Monetary
Fund data on IMF countries include current account balances,
assets, and liabilities such as loans, debt and equity securities,
and direct
investment.
Earlier print editions (1981 to present) are in stacks at HF 1014
.I5c and the Yearbook
is at the Ref. Desk HF 1014 .I5c
7. 
Geographical
Distribution of Financial Flows to Aid Recipients. Ref.
HC 60 .O73d
Organization for Economic Cooperation
and Development, this
provides statistics on the sources of
external
financial
resources for each of 180 developing countries. Also
available online in Source
OECD. From the main page of Source OECD search for Books
by Theme; choose Development; scroll to title.
See GEORGE for earlier print volumes (1960-present).
8. 
GDF
Online also Global Development
Finance at Ref.
Desk HJ 8899. W67
This key World Bank compilation
has statistical tables on the external public debt and resource
flow for
136 developing
countries and summary tables for regional and income
groups. Earlier yearsare titled World
Debt Tables (1979-1996). Also Gov.
Docs. Ref. HJ 8899 .W67
9. 
International
Financial Statististics Online, also Ref.
Desk HJ 3881 .I6262
The International Monetary Fund's primary statistical resource,
this offers time-series data on 32,000 economic concepts such as exchange
rates, prices, balance of payments, national accounts, and in particular,
loan disbursements, repayments; and fund credit and losses. Annual,
Quarterly, Monthly
10.
Little
Book of External Debt. Ref HG 3891.5 .L58 2006
This is a pocket edition of World Bank's Global Development
Finance's
vol. 2, Summary and Country Tables on 135 countries reporting
public and publicly guarenteed debt, key debt ratios, currency composition
of long-term debt and other debt and resource flow statistics.
11.
United
Nations Common Database
Data
from a wide assortment of UN agencies and
other international organizations on over 300 sets
of economic, social, and financial statistics, including
debt forgiveness, debt relief, debt services, and debt stocks.
12.
United
States Agency for International Development (USAID)
Details U.S. contributions to aid programs around
the world. Select a country and select Budget Justification
or other relevant categories.
13.
U.S.
Overseas Loans and Grants:Greenbook <http://qesdb.cdie.org/gbk/about.html>
For each country which has received loans
or grants from the U.S. since July 1945, provides statistics on dollar
amounts of various types of assistance. An appendix in the back lists
dollar amounts of assistance from international organizations.
14.
WDI
Online
World Development Indicators is the key development
data set from the World Bank. It provides over 550
development indicators for over 200 countries (some with coverage
back to the 1960's), including many on aid and debt. User-friendly
format.
Books on economic aid are listed by subject in GEORGE,
the online catalog. To search by subject in GEORGE, use the Library of Congress
Subject Headings (LCSH), the red volumes shelved at the Reference
Desk of Lauinger Library, to find the correct terms. Or begin with a Keyword search
to find some relevant titles and note
the
subject
headings listed in
the entry. Examples of subject headings:
- To find works on aid to a specific
country or region
e.g. Economic
assistance - Africa
- To find works on aid from a specific
country to a specific country or region
e.g. Economic
assistance, American - Egypt
- To find works on specific aspects
of aid or development
e.g. Rural
development
International
relief
Technical
assistance
You will probably want to search under
several headings. If you aren't finding what you want, try searching
by keyword. This retrieves words that
appear in titles or subject headings and are
especially helpful for finding new
terms or concepts. If you need help with GEORGE or searching by
topic, speak to a Reference Librarian.
| IV. Organizations Providing
Aid |
These sources give basic information about organizations
which provide development aid. To identify loans or other aid given
by a specific organization, see the
organization's annual report. Check GEORGE
by searching by the organization name as an author and limiting by "annual" as
a word in the title.
15.
Associations
Unlimited
Information about thousands of local,
national, and international organizations. Search by association
name or location or keyword, i.e, aid and Gambia.
16.
Development
Directory. Ref. HC 60 .D476 1991
Information on consultants and foundations
as well as international organizations which provide adi, indexed by
subject and geographic area. Update via current websites.
17.
Development
Aid: A Guide to National and International Agencies. Ref.
HG 3881. D43 1988
Guide provides overview and history of
muli-lateral agencies, regional area and bi-lateral donors.Although
this information is dated, this offers a concise, yet helpful description
of countries' and aid agencies and their activities. For updates,
visit current web sites
18.
Interaction Member
Profiles. Ref. HC 59 .8 .I57
American Council for Voluntary International Action is
the largest alliance of United States based development, humanitarian,
and nongovernmental agencies. This directory describes and mission
and activities, membership and finance of 160 organizations.
19.
Europa
International Foundation Directory. Ref. Desk
HV 7 .I57 2006
Arranged by country, this directory lists charitable organizations
which are international by design or by influence. Includes grant and
non-grant making NGOs. Lists activities, restrictions, funding, principal
staff, contact information.
20.
Directory
of Development Organizations. <http://www.devdir.org/index.html>
Provides contact information, including
name, street address, telephone number, e-mail address and web page, for tens
of thousands of organizations dedicated to economic development and poverty
reduction. Includes nonprofits, intergovernmental organizations, government
agencies, and other groups.

21.
Google
Directory: Aid and Development <http://www.google.com/Top/Society/Issues/Global/Aid_and_Development/>
Extensive directory from Google listing links to organizations, topics
and other information related to international economic aid.
22.
Yahoo-Global
Economy-Development .
<http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Economics/Global_Economy/Development/>
List of links to organizations,
conferences, and other sites which offer information related to international
development.
23.
WWW
Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources - International Development. <http://www.etown.edu/vl/intldev.html>
Collection of annotated links
to online development resources.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
- jc
Links updated: 12/07
- jc