A. Dictionaries and Handbooks
1.
A-Z
of Modern Europe since 1789. Ref. D 299 .P64 2000
A comprehensive but concise historical dictionary which defines modern Europe
through its important events and people.
2.
The
Columbia Dictionary of European Political History Since 1914. Ref.
D 424 .C65 1992
Contains articles averaging about half a page on major events, individual,
political groups, and issues in European history since the beginning of World
War I.
3. 
[Name
of Country]: A Country Study <http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html>Print
Version: Ref. & Main Stacks D; Gov. Docs.
This series has individual volumes on most eastern and some western European
countries, each with a different call number. The chapter on the country's
history provides a brief overview that emphasizes the twentieth century. Also
includes bibliographies. Known as the Area Handbook Series.
4.
A
Dictionary of European History and Politics, 1945-1995. Ref.
D 1051 .U79 1996
Historical dictionary of brief entries covering events, issues, states, and
individuals in the post World War II era in Europe.
5.
Encyclopedia
of Eastern Europe: From the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism. Ref.
DJK 6 .E53 2000
Includes entries for Albania, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland,
Romania, Slovakia, and the countries that once made up Yugoslavia. Some information
on European Russia is included. Gives brief but comprehensive introduction
into a country's history during the last two centuries. Includes article on
political organizations and movements and extensive maps.
6.
Encyclopedia
of European Social History: From 1350 to 2000. Ref. HN 373 .E63 2001
Six volumes. Broad essays in the first volume explain the methods of social
history, the sociohistorical periods into which modern Europe can be divided
and the formative social and cultural influences in various regions or countries.
The second through fifth volumes are divided into 19 topics such as work, religion,
nationalism, holidays, etc. The sixth voume includes biographies of important
figures in European social history.
7.
Encyclopedia
of the Holocaust. Ref. D 804.25 .E53 2000
One volume with more than 650 entries on significant aspects
of the Holocaust, including people, cities and countries, camps,
resistance movements, Holocaust denial, Nazi progapanda, youth
movements, Holocaust museums and memorials, and more. Also contains
eight substantial essays on the history of the Holocaust and
its antecedents, including the history of European Jewry, Jewish
contributions to European culture, and the rise of antisemitism
and Nazism.
8.
Encyclopedia
of the Renaissance. Ref. CB 361 .E52 1999
Articles cover all aspects of life during the period including the arts, culture,
economics, humanism, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, science, social
history, and women's roles. Includes a chronology from 1300 to 1724. Six volumes.
9.
Europe
1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World. Ref.
209 .E97 2004
Six volumes. Over 1,000 articles cover major topics in art, government, and
education. Also provides biographical entries on key figures of the period.
10.
European
Political Facts 1648-1789. Ref. JN 9 .B3 1984
European Political
Facts 1789-1848. Ref. JN 10 .C65
European Political Facts
1848-1918. Ref. JN 10 .C66 1978
European Political Facts 1918-1990. Ref. JN 12 .C643 1992
Provides brief information on various aspects of European political
history such as parliaments, elections, political parties, defense,
treaties, battles,
heads of state, population, and the church.
11.
Historical
Dictionary of European Imperialism. Ref. D 217 .H57 1999
Major focus is the Spanish, Portuguese, British, Dutch, French, German, Belgian,
and Italian empires during the past 500 years.
12.
International
Historical Statistics - Europe 1750-2000. Ref. HA 1107 .F5
2003
Chiefly tables that cover a wide range of economic and social issues, including
population, labor force, agricultural and industrial output, exports and imports,
transport, communications, and finance. The statistics are taken from primary
sources.
13.
Oxford
Encyclopedia of the Reformation. Ref. BR 302.8 .O93
1996
Covers all aspects of the Reformation, political, social and intellectual,
as well as religion. The scholarly articles vary in length from a few paragraphs
to several pages and include bibliographies.
B. Histories
14.
Cambridge
Economic History of Europe. Ref. HC 240 .C3
Covers all of Europe from the Middle Ages into the twentieth century.
Individual chapters are written by experts. Extensive bibliographies
are found at the
end of each volume.
15.
The
New Cambridge Modern History. Ref. D 208 .N4
An authoritative fourteen-volume history of Europe with individual
chapters written by specialists. There is a separate bibliography
volume (Ref. D 208
.N41).
16.
Oxford
Illustrated History of Modern Europe. Ref. D 359 .O93
1996
A basic history of Europe from the mid-eighteenth century to the present. Useful
for a brief overview of a time period or subject.
C.
Atlases
17.
European
Maps: The Yale Map Collection <http://www.library.yale.edu/MapColl/oldsite/map/eur.html>
Historical maps of the British Isles, France and the Low Countries, Central and
Eastern Europe, and the Mediterranean, from the 1500's through th 1800's.
18.
The
New Penguin Atlas of Recent History: Europe Since 1815. Ref
G 1797.21 .S1 M3 2002
Over fifty color maps and text describing major events and developments in
Europe from 1815 through 2000. Emphasis is given to military campaigns and
political boundaries.
19.
Perry-Castaneda
Library Map Collection <http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/>
The University of Texas online collection of maps. Most of the maps are in
the public domain and can be downloaded. Includes current and historical maps
of specific countries as well as Europe as a whole.
20.
Shepherds
Historical Atlas. Ref. G 1030 .S4
One of the standard historical atlases. Has maps of various areas of the world
at historically significant times.
21.
Times
Atlas of European History. Ref. G 1797.21 .S1 T5 1994
Covers over 3000 years of European history. Text and color maps chart the shifting
borders throughout the development of the European countries.
D. Chronologies
22.
A
Political Chronology of Europe. Ref D 11
.P73 2001
Provides a factual record of the most significant political events that shaped
the history of each country in Europe. These include wars, border disputes, invasions,
assassinations, treaties, formation of political parties, elections, and constitutional
changes.
23.
Timetables
of History. Ref. D 11 .G78
A year-by-year listing of significant events in history, politics, religion,
philosophy, the arts, science, and daily life. Covers all time periods and regions.
E.
Historiography
Link to a
representative selection of reference
works on historians and the study of historical
writing <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/guides/historiography.htm>

To locate books in Lauinger Library, use GEORGE,
the online catalog.
A. Subject Searching: Search for citations to books on European
history by using Library of Congress Subject Headings. [Used in most
American library catalogs, Library of Congress Subject Headings are
terms that have been established to represent subjects.] Some of
the relevant Library of Congress Subject Headings include:
-
To find general information
e.g. Denmark
- History
-
To find a particular time period
e.g. Great
Britain - History - 1066-1687
Great
Britain - History - Wars of the Roses - 1455-1485
Great
Britain - History - Edward IV - 1461-1483
Note: Time periods can be indicated by a named period or by the
name of a ruler or by dates. Time periods indicated by name plus
date, e.g. Great Britain - History - Wars of the Roses - 1455-1485
will not appear in GEORGE in chronological order with time periods
indicated by a date only, e.g. Great Britain - History - 1066-1687.
e.g. Congress
of Vienna
also
search for chronological period or a topical subdivision
e.g. France
- History - Restoration - 1814-1830
France
- Foreign Relations - Germany
e.g. Churchill,
Winston, 1874-1965
Great
Britain - Politics and Government - 1936-1945
Great
Britain - History - George VI - 1936-1952
e.g. Spain
- History - Sources
Spain
- History - Civil War - 1936-1939 - Sources
B. Keyword Searching: When you can't determine a relevant Library
of Congress Subject Heading (or when you want to combine headings),
search by "keyword." This technique locates words in a book's title,
subject headings, and in other fields within the record. For example:
revolution* and 1848 and (germany or italy).
The subheading - Bibliography can be used with any subject heading in GEORGE.
For example, World War, 1939-1945 - Bibliography; Poland - History - Bibliography;
Germany - History -1939-1945 - Bibliography.
A. General
24.
American
Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature. Ref.
Z 6201 .G95 1995
This extensive, annotated bibliography covers all fields of history, including
European, and is a good starting point for identifying basic works on a topic.
25.
Historiography. Ref.
Z 6208 .H5 H57 1987
A bibliography of recent historiographies. Volume 1 covers bibliographies,
books, conferences, and dissertations. Volume 2 has a geographic classification.
26.
International
Bibliography of Historical Sciences. Ref. Z 6205 .I61
Lists books and periodical articles covering all fields of history and time
periods. Arranged by field of history. Includes indexes by author, geographic
location, and historical figure.
B.
Specific Regions or Countries
Most bibliographies on the history of a country are located in the
stacks and can be identified using the catalog. For a few countries
there are annual bibliographies on the histories of the countries.
Many of the area studies bibliographies have useful history sections.
27.
American
Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES). 1990
- .
Annual compilation of interdisciplinary citations from U.S. and Canadian books,
journals, and newspapers. Print version:
Ref.
Z 2483 .A65 (1967-1994 with some years lacking);
refer
to
table of contents to use. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
28.
Bibliographie
Annuelle de l'Histoire de France. Ref. Z 2179 .B5
All aspects of French history are covered in this listing of books and periodical
articles. Arranged chronologically, with a detailed author and subject index.
Primarily French language materials.
29.
Indice
Historico Espanol. Ref. Z 2697 .C3
Covers all periods in the history of Spain. Draws on a world literature of books
and articles. Has an emphasis on cultural developments.
30.
Jahresberichte
fur Deutsche Geschichte. Ref. Z 2236 .J26
Lists books and articles on German history. Has author/title and subject indexes.
31.
Writings
on British History. Ref. Z 2016 .R88
Covers British history through 1939 in books and articles. Although there is
a subject index, it is probably best to go to the appropriate time period and
type of history. Includes author index.

32.
Historical
Abstracts.
Indexes and abstracts articles dealing with European history from 1450 to the
present. The printed version of this index is also available. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
33.
Humanities
Index.
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the humanities including history. Although
the other indexes in this section are better for extensive research, Humanities
Index may be useful for quickly locating a few English language articles. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
34.
JSTOR.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of scholarly journals
in history, economics, political science, demography, and other fields of the
humanities and social sciences. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
35.
Library
of Congress Catalog <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
36.
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.
37.
WorldCat
WorldCat, accessible via FirstSearch, contains records for books and other
materials in thousands of libraries. (Available only to Georgetown University
students and faculty.)
38.
Europe
(Voice of the Shuttle: History). <http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2713#id877>
A mammoth meta-index of Internet resources for European history. Links
are divided into the following categories: General European History Resources, France,
Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Spain, U.K. ,Courses. This
is a section of the History page of the "Voice of the Shuttle: Web Page for
Humanities Research" maintained by Alan Liu at the University of California
Santa Barbara.
39.
EuroDocs:
Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe. <http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page>
Primary sources and other historical documents concerning political, economic,
social and cultural history of European nations. Organized by country,
the archive includes treaties, maps, literature, laws, letters, and other historically
significant documents. Maintained by Richard Hacken at Brigham Young
University.
40.
The
European Enlightenment. <http://www.wsu.edu:8000/~dee/ENLIGHT/ENLIGHT.HTM>
A hypertext collection of essays concerning major figures, events, and writings
of the European Enlightenment, part of the World Cultures site at Washington
State University.
41.
Historical
Archives of the European Communities. <http://www.iue.it/ECArchives/EN/>
The Eurhistar database, a repository for official documents of EEU agencies,
maintained at the European University Institute, Florence. Includes the
original European Community files, papers of European politicians and officials,
archives of European parties and organizations, and a collection of official
Community publications.
42.
Historical
Directories. <http://www.historicaldirectories.org/hd/historynotes.asp>
The "Historical Notes" tab includes links to web sites dealing with
genealogy, British local and urban history, and British military history.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 4/05
mb
Links updated: 12/07
jc