| I. Film Criticism and Reviews |
A. Full Text Sources
1.
Film
Review Annual. 1982-. Ref. PN
1995 .F465
Reprints complete reviews of films drawn from many different newspapers and
magazines. Also includes citations to other reviews not reprinted here.
Arranged by title of film. Includes indexes of critics, casts, producers, directors,
and screenwriters.
- 2.
Internet
Movie Database. <http://www.imdb.com>
- A database
of information on over 420,000 feature films, television shows and movies,
direct-to-video movies, and video games. Includes movie credits;
filmographies; biographies of directors, actors, writers, etc.; reviews;
plot summaries; quotations; and trivia. An Amazon.com company
3.
Academic
Search Premier.
Indexes over 4,000 periodicals in many subjects and includes many full-text
articles. To limit your search to film reviews, type in the name of
the film and then select "entertainment review" from the Document
Type list. Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
4.
Lexis/Nexis
Academic.
Provides access to the full
text of thousands of magazines, newspapers, wire services, and broadcast
transcripts, including film reviews. Includes local newspapers and
trade publications. Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
5.
New
York Times Historical 1851-1999
Includes New York Times film reviews printed
in this time span. Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
6.
New
York Times 1999 – present
Includes New York Times film reviews printed in this time span. Also available
from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
7.
Proquest
Research Library. 1986- .
Indexes 1,800 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general sciences,
business, and general-interest topics. To limit your search only to film
reviews, type in the name of the film and then select "movie review" from
the Article Type pop-down list (from "More Search Options). Includes
many full-text articles. Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
8.
Variety
Film Reviews. 1907-1992. Ref. PN 1993 .V36
Reprints film reviews from Variety, in the order in which they were published.
Title index for each year.
Lexis
Nexis Academic Universe searches full-text articles from Variety
from July 19, 1993 to the present,
Proquest Research Library searches full-text articles from Variety from
2000 to the present.
B. Indexes to Scholarly Journals

Note: To locate the full-text of articles, search by title
of the journal in Journal
Finder. A search of Journal Finder will show if a journal
is full-text in an online database or whether the Library has a print copy.
9.
FIAF
International Filmarchive Database.
Index to film and television periodicals and related collections from the International
Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
10.
Film
Index International.
Filmography providing international coverage
of about 115,000 films and 57,000 film personalities. Scholarly coverage of
all areas of film studies, including the first silent movies, art
house classics, and current popular
films. Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
11.
Film
Literature Index. 1981- . Ref. PN
1993 .F55
Index to the international film and television/video literature appearing
in film journals and specialized film publications. Articles are
indexed by author, subject, screenwriter, performer, director, cinematographer,
professional
society, and corporation.
12.
Art
Full Text and Art
Index Retrospective. 1929-
.
Indexes international periodicals on a wide range of art-related topics including
film.
Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
13.
Humanities
Index. 1984- . Also
in print for 1974-1995 Ref. AI 3 .R471
Indexes 300 scholarly journals from the humanities, some of them pertinent to
film studies.
Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
14.
International
Index to the Performing Arts.1998- .
Indexes topics related to theatre, dance, music, television, and film from over
100 popular and scholarly journals in the performing arts and from national newspapers
such as the New York Times and the Washington Post.
Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
15.
MLA
Bibliography. 1961- .
Indexes books and journal articles published on literature, modern languages,
linguistics, and folklore, some of them pertinent to film studies. Type
in the name of the film, or to limit your search to those articles focusing
on film, add "film in de." This will ensure that the descriptor (subject) field
includes the term "film." For example: Streetcar Named Desire
and film in de. Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
A. General
16.
The
Film Encyclopedia. Ref. PN
1993.45 .K34
2001
Alphabetically arranged listing on a broad range of entries about filmmakers
and important film-related organizations, events, inventions, techniques, processes,
equipment, and technical terms. Also includes biographies and filmographies.
17.
All-Movie
Guide. <http://www.allmovie.com>
A searchable database of over 131,000 films. Searchable by film, creator, location,
or keyword.
18.
Film
Studies Guide to WWW Resources in Film Studies <http://www.indiana.edu/index.php?pageID=2293>
Provides links to film-related indexes and research sites, electronic journals,
searchable film and video databases, film festivals, awards, and special
topics such as "Women and Film" and "African-Americans and Film."
19.
Halliwell's
Film and Video Guide. Ref.
PN 1998 .H433 1998
Gives brief film descriptions and, occasionally, short excerpts from reviews
of almost every English-language film ever made and most foreign-language films
distributed in the U.S. Alphabetically listed.
20.
International
Motion Picture Almanac. Ref.
PN 1993.3 .I55
Comprehensive annual review of the motion picture industry. Includes statistics,
awards, international film festivals and markets, obituaries, corporate histories
of major studios, major and independent film releases, casting agencies, and
market research and analysis.
21.
The
Ultimate Movie Thesaurus. Ref.
PN 1998 .C323 1996
Alphabetical list of over 5000 films. In addition to title, cast, and date,
entries include a rating, running time, box office reputation, Oscar
nominations and winners, major genre categories, subject matter categories,
sequels, similar
films, and author's comments.
B. Film Theory and Terminology
22.
The
Complete Film Dictionary. Ref. PN
1993.45 .K66 1997
A comprehensive dictionary of 4000 cinema terms focusing on the motion picture
as art object, technical process, and economic enterprise. Entries also
look at film from analytical, theoretical, and historical perspectives. Includes
black-and-white still photographs and line drawings illustrating filmmaking
equipment and production processes. Covers topics such as editing, cinematography,
composition, and lighting.
23.
Critical
Dictionary of Film and Television Theory. Ref. PN 1993.45
.C75 2001
Definitions of concepts and terms and brief biographies of key people,
ranging from a column to two pages in length. Entries provide introductions
to such topics as gender, memory, race, globalization, audience, fandom,
identity, feminist theory, queer theory, and structuralism. Includes references
and further readings.
24.
Film
Studies Dictionary. Ref. PN 1993.45 .B53 2001
Defines terms from cinematography, film production, film history,
and film theory. Includes a bibliography.
C.
Genre
- 25.
Films
by Genre: 775 Categories, Styles, Trends and Movements Defined,
with a Filmography for Each.
Ref. PN 1998
.L63 1993
From Action-Adventure to Zombie Movies. Includes references, a name
index, and a title index.
26.
The
Overlook Film Encyclopedia.
Science Fiction: Ref. PN 1995.9.S26 H3 1994 Horror: Ref. PN
1995.9.H6 M5 1994
Gangster Film: Ref. PN 1995.9.G3 O83 1998 Western: Ref. PN
1995.9.W4 H37 1994
For each film, entries include partial cast and production credits, a plot synopsis,
and critical commentary. Arranged alphabetically by year to trace themes
and trends. Includes appendices (e.g., Oscar winners),
photographs, and reproductions of film posters and action stills. Other encyclopedias
of film genres are shelved nearby in the Reference Area.
D.
Actors and Filmmakers
27.
Directors
and Their Films: A Comprehensive Reference,1895-1990. Ref.
PN 1998 .B85 1993
A comprehensive reference of directors and the films they directed as well as
an alphabetical listing of films showing the director.
28.
International
Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. Ref. Biography
PN 1997.5 .I58 2000
Volume 1—Films; Volume 2—Directors; Volume 3—Actors and Actresses;
Volume 4—Writers and Production Artists. Over 600 entries about
films and filmmakers including production information, a list of roles
or
films, crew and major cast members, brief biographical information,
a bibliography of resources about the film, and a specialist-written
critical essay. Illustrated with stills.
29.
The
Name Is Familiar: Who Played Who in the Movies? Ref.
PN 1995.9 .C36 N696 1993
Includes alphabetical listings of performers who have appeared in title roles,
the names of their characters, and the films they were in. Also lists by the
title characters with the movie in which the character appeared, the year of
production,
and the
performer who played the character. Films included were released between 1910
and 1992.
30.
St.
James Women Filmmakers Encyclopedia. Ref. Biography PN 1998.2 .S683
1999
Brief biographies of 200 women behind the camera: directors, producers, animators,
art directors, editors, writers, and costume designers. Each entry includes a
filmography.
E.
Film Industry by Country
The following are examples of overviews of the film industry
in countries or regions. Others are shelved nearby in the Reference Area,
or search GEORGE by subject for books in the circulating collection: Motion pictures — [name of country
or region] .
31.  |
BFI Companion to Eastern European and
Russian Cinema. Ref. PN
1993.5 .E2 B44 2000 |
| |
Comparative Encyclopedia of Middle East and
North African Film. Ref. PN 1993.5 .A65 C66 2001 |
| |
Encyclopedia of British Film. Ref. PN 1993.5 .G7
E53 2003 |
| |
Encyclopedia of Chinese Film. Ref. PN 1993.5 .C4
Z53 1998 |
| |
Encyclopedia of European Cinema. Ref. PN 1993.5
.E8 E53 1995 |
| |
Encyclopedia of Hindi Cinema. Ref. PN 1993.5 .I8
E539 2003 |
F. History
32.
American
Memory - Motion Pictures (Library of Congress) <http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/index.html>
(Click on the Motion Pictures link on the "Browse Collections Containing"
menu on the right side of the page.)
Films of early twentieth-century life, including films of New York
City, the San Francisco Fire, and President McKinley's inauguration
and funeral. Background
notes to the films are included. For more extensive research, visit the Library
of Congress Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Division <http://www.loc.gov/rr/mopic/>.
33.
Encyclopedia
of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood. Ref. PN 1995.9 .M56
M85 2003
Presents the history of five ethnic minorities in American motion pictures
and television during the twentieth century: African Americans, Asian
Americans, Hispanic Americans, Jewish Americans, and Native Americans. Arranged
by ethnic minority, the entries for films, individuals, and terms illustrate
each group's portrayal on
screen. Includes a bibliography and index.
34.
Movie
Time: A Chronology of Hollywood and the Movie Industry from Its Beginnings
to the Present.
Ref.
PN 1993.5 .U6 B687 1997
A chronological look at Hollywood and the movie industry from 1830 through
1994. Includes the following sections: Personalities; Movies; Business and
Society; and Births, Deaths, Marriages, and Divorces.
35.
The
Oxford History of World Cinema. Ref.
PN 1993.5 .A1 O96 1996
A condensed history of world cinema from 1895 to 1996. Includes biographies
of directors and performers and an overview of genres and the different eras
of film.
| III. Finding Books and Films |
A.
Finding Books
In GEORGE<http://catalog.library.georgetown.edu/>,
the online catalog, books on film are listed under many different subject headings.
To
find books on a particular film, actor, director, or screenwriter:
Type in the film's title or the person's name as a SUBJECT. Note:
Only a
few major films and personalities will have entire books about them.
For example:
James Bond films
Citizen
Kane
Coppola
Francis Ford
To
find books on film in general:
Type in Motion pictures as SUBJECT. Note: This broad heading has many
subheadings dealing with particular aspects of film (e.g., Motion pictures
-- Reviews). You might also try terms such as cinematography, film adaptations,
and film criticism.
To
find books on particular genres of films: Type in these, among other,
subject headings: feature films; documentary films; film noir; silent
films; horror films; western
films; musical films; animated
films; comedy films; and adventure films.To find reference sources about a
particular genre of film, do a KEYWORD search for that genre AND the type of
reference source (plural). For example:
animated
films and directories
gangster
films and dictionaries
films and encyclopedias
To
find books about the representation of specific groups or issues in film
or about films from a particular country:
For example:
African
Americans in motion pictures
Women
in motion pictures
Motion
pictures--India
B.
Finding Films 
NOTE: Films are kept
in the Gelardin
New Media Center, first floor Lauinger Library. Ask for materials
at the Gelardin help desk. The Gelardin Web pages outline borrowing policies
for audio, video, and multimedia and other information about the Center <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/dept/gelardin/>.
Search by TITLE of the film in GEORGE, for example:
Good Morning Vietnam
Search by AUTHOR to find films by a particular director, for example:
Coppola,
Francis Ford
Vidor,
King
Select LIMIT/SORT to
sort your results by Material type (e.g.,
Film & Video) or by Where the
item is located (e.g., Gelardin Media Center) if you are looking specifically
for
audio material. LIMIT/SORT is a GEORGE option that appears after you
retrieve results. Videotapes and DVDs are housed in the Gelardin
New Media Center.
To search directly for films using KEYWORD, type in search
terms (e.g., Fellini or e.g., Italy or Italian),
then select either from the Material
type pull down menu (e.g., Film & Video) or from the Location pull
down menu (e.g., Gelardin Media Center).
C.
Other Libraries
Library of Congress <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
WorldCat.
Lists the holdings of over 1,000 research libraries, primarily in the United
States. Note: Available only to Georgetown students and faculty. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.
36.
American
Film Scripts Online.
The full text of film scripts, indexed and organized for searches by
scene, director, producer, scriptwriter, actor, subject, historical event,
and character (by name, race, sexual orientation, gender, and occupation).
It currently contains 265 feature film scripts (e.g., Casablanca, A Star
is Born,
Rebel Without a Cause). When
complete, the collection will include more than 1000 scripts, many previously
unpublished.
Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/>.
37.
Drew's
Scripts-O-Rama. <http://www.script-o-rama.com/>
Heavy advertising, but includes many scripts.
38.
Film:
A Reference Guide. Ref. PN 1993.45 .A75
Each chapter is a bibliographic essay on some aspect of film, e.g., history
of film, film criticism, film and society. Indexed.
| VI. Awards, Honors & Prizes |
39.
Yahoo's
Listing of Movie & Film Awards <http://dir.yahoo.com/Entertainment/Movies_and_Film/Awards/>
40.
Movie
Awards. Ref. PN 1993.92 .O53 2003
Year-by-year listing of awards, including Oscars, Golden Globes,
etc. Each year features a short essay on the films in contention.
| VII. Institutes & Associations |
41.
The
Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences <http://www.oscars.org/
Information about the Academy, the Academy Awards, Academy press releases,
and other Academy or Academy Foundation programs and activities
42.
American
Film Institute <http://www.afi.com/>
Includes information about AFI; listings of screenings
and events, workshops, and awards; and a list of the AFI's 100 "greatest movies."
43.
The
British Film Insitute <www.bfi.org.uk/>
The BFI Film & TV Database provides information on over 800,000
British and international film and television titles as well as people
(over one million), music
groups, organizations and events dating back to the beginning of
film production. Some films and interviews available
to download.
44.
Yahoo's
Listing of Film and Movie Organizations <http://dir.yahoo.com/Entertainment/Movies_and_Film/Organizations/>
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 3/05
jf,sh
Links updated: 11/07nl,
mb