| I. Background and Current Awareness |

1.
ABI-Inform
Global.
This electronic source contains references with selected full-text to articles
from more than 1100 business and management journals. Areas of emphasis include:
business conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, finance,
accounting, and competitive and product information. Coverage is from 1971
to the present, and it is updated daily. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
2.
Business
and Industry.
Provides full-text and data-filled abstracts from over 600 leading international
trade magazines, newsletters, general business press, and business dailies.
It includes figures, trends, and key events dealing with public and private
companies, industries, markets, and products. It is updated monthly and contains
the most recent 18 months of data. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
3.
International
Business Information. Ref. HF 54.5 .P33 1998
This reference book describes business sources covering various regions and
countries, the basics of international trade and finance, and data from international
business organizations. Its appendices include glossaries, checklists for evaluating
sources, and sample disclosure documents.
4.
International
Business Information on the Web. Ref. Desk 54.56
.L364 2001
This book helps readers identify overseas buyers, find foreign suppliers,
investigate potential partners and competitors, and more. It contains
over 1,000 web addresses, almost all free to the public. Includes
world wide sites that have basic information such as country facts,
industrial production, infrastructure, embassies, and chambers of
commerce.
5.
International
Encyclopedia of Business and Management. Ref. HF 1001
.I53 1996
This six-volume set provides in-depth overviews of management, finance, and
other business concepts from around the world.
6.
LexisNexis
Academic.
An electronic database that provides access to the full-text of thousands of
magazines, newspapers, wire services, and broadcast transcripts, including
international publications, often not otherwise available in Lauinger. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
7.
OxResearch
(Oxford Analytica).
This electronic database offers articles analyzing international and country
events in the areas of economics, politics, public policy and business. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
8.
P.A.I.S.
International, 1915- .
A subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications
relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| II. Country Overviews of Investment Climate |

9. 
Country
Commercial Guides <http://www.buyusainfo.net/adsearch.cfm?search_type=int&loadnav=no>
Country Commercial Guides (CCG's) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with
the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a
comprehensive look at countries' economic, political, and market environment.
When searching select Report Type: Country Commercial Guides. The current
Guides are also available on the NTDB via Stat-USA (in
the library only) and older copies on the NTDB CD-ROM in the Government Documents
and Microforms Department. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/.
Market Research Library website also suggests Market Research
Reports on different countries.
10. 
Economist
Intelligence Unit. Country
Reports (EIU): [Name of Country] and Country
Profiles (EIU): [Name of Country].
An annual analysis (Country Profiles) and quarterly updates (Country Reports)
of major trends in the economies of over 165 countries compiled by the Economist
Intelligence Unit. Includes forecasts for the upcoming year and evaluations
of foreign trade data; supplements provide background data on economic and
political developments in each country. Check GEORGE for
call numbers of earlier years going back to 1982.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
11.
Corporate
Location. <http://www.corporatelocationdirectory.com/>
This site offers "objective information on over 200 countries."
12.
Craighead's
International Business, Travel, and Relocation Guide to ... Countries. Ref.
HF 5549.5 .E45 D56 2000/01
This book is for those relocating or conducting business in over 80 foreign
countries. Selected information includes business customs, gift-giving, businesswomen,
work ethic, employment conditions, power structure and hierarchy, attitude
toward foreigners, and establishing a business presence.
13.
Country
Finance (EIU).
Information on countries includes foreign exchange regulations, financial conditions,
sources of capital, and strategies compiled by the Economist Intelligence Unit.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
14.
Country
Commerce (EIU).
For each country, includes information on foreign investment, interpretation
of the laws, rules, and regulations governing establishment of new enterprises,
and limitations on foreign ownership and taxation. Compiled by the Economist
Intelligence Unit. Updated semi-annually. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
15.
Global
Market Information Database (GMID).
Provides business intelligence on countries, companies,
markets and consumers including demographic, economic and marketing
statistics for 205 countries since 1977. Also provides over 4,500
global, country, and company reports for consumer, industrial, and
service sectors.
Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
16.
IBN's
International Trade and Business Guide: How to Profit in the 16
Top African and Caribbean Basin Countries. Ref. HD 2917
.I26 2001
Provides in-depth country profiles with information on the type of
government, how the government influences business, the country's relationship
with the U.S., pattern of trade with the U.S., economic trends, major
growth sectors, and best trade prospects. Also included for each country
are sections on marketing, foreign investments, and finance.
17. 
Market
Research Reports <http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/sc_x/engdoc/researching_markets.html?guides=e_res>
International market reports contain current foreign market information
on selected products and industries. Reports cover information
on market outlook
and access, trade barriers, government regulations, and competitive analysis. The
current Reports are also available on the NTDB via Stat-USA (in
the library only) and older copies on the NTDB CD-ROM in the Government Documents
and Microforms Department. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
18.
OECD
Economic Surveys. Ref. HC
Separate annual reviews for each member country provide discussion of recent
economic trends and statistics for economic indicators. Search GEORGE by title
for a list of countries included. Available 1969 - present for many countries. Available
online within SourceOECD (#37).
19.
Price
Waterhouse Information Guide Series. Ref. HC 54 .U52
Guides to the investment climate, including opportunities and incentives, business
regulations, banking, and taxation of various countries.
20.
Russia, All 89 Regions: Trade and Investment Guide. Ref.
HC 340.12 .A1 R89 2004
In addition to background information, each region
has sections (with text and statistical tables) on economic potential,
trade opportunities, investment opportunities, and specific investment
projects.
21.
State
of the World. Ref. HC 59 .S734
An annual report on the environment, this Worldwatch Institute publication
provides an overview of issues related to sustainable development and environmental
aspects of development.
22.
World
Chamber of Commerce Directory. Ref. HF 294 .W75
This annual lists local, state, federal, and international chambers of commerce,
foreign tourist bureaus, and embassies. The information listing generally
includes street address, telephone number, and email addresses.
23. 
World
Competitiveness Yearbook. Ref. HF 1414 .W67
This source contains national competiveness profiles for over 40 countries,
focusing on the different facets of competitiveness such as assets and processes,
aggressiveness, and attractiveness. Competitiveness tables are divided into
two sections: measured facts dating back to 1989 and perceived facts dating
back to 1994. There is Web access to some information at: http://www01.imd.ch/wcy/
24.
World
Investment Directory. Ref. HG 4538
.W67 <http://www.unctad.org/Templates/Page.asp?intItemID=3198&lang=1>
A multivolume U.N. publication, this directory is arranged by region, then by
country. Country profiles include foreign direct investment statistics, activities
and basic financial data of transnational corporations by sector, and the legal
framework for investment. Also available online.
| III. Global Financial Markets |
A. General Overviews
25.
Financial
Market Trends. Ref. HG 3881 .F49
Provides an overview of international financial markets in OECD countries.
Covers current trends in bonds, loans, and medium-term euro-credits. Reviews
financial trends in OECD-member countries. Current issues in Reference; earlier
years in stacks. Portions of the journal can be found in SourceOECD (#37).
26.
Mergent
Bond Record. Ref. HG 4905 .M785
This monthly source covers fixed-income issues (bonds, notes, papers, etc.).
Listed in "International Corporate and Convertible Bonds" section are fixed-income
issues and their ratings for national governments, international agencies,
and global companies.
B. Security and Commodity
Exchanges
27.
Annual
Report on Exchange Arrangements and Exchange Restrictions. Ref.
HG 3834 .I61
For IMF-member countries, describes the exchange arrangements and controls
and other external economic policies.
28.
Emerging
Stock Markets Factbook. Ref. HG 4551 .E43
Examines market data on the leading stock markets in developing countries.
Includes stock market indexes, comparisons of developed and emerging markets,
and profiles of individual markets.
29.
International
Encyclopedia of the Stock Market. Ref. HG 45551 .I57 1999
This encylopedia defines more than 2,000 terms that relate to regional and
world stock market practice. It contains terms that are part of the vocabulary
of the international stock market, as well as terms specific to particular
countries. In addition, there are extended entries that survey individual countries
from Argentina to Great Britain, from Italy to Botswana, and from China to
the United States. These country surveys offer many details of the country's
stock market, conditions, practices and regulation. They also provide information
on the country's leading regulatory agencies, its brokerage firms and its most
prominent practitioners.
30.
World
Stock Exchange Fact Book. Ref. HG 4551 .W67
This book contains historical exchange data (index values, trading volume,
P/E ratios, etc.), commissions, investor protection, listing requirements,
shares ownership patterns, etc., from over 45 international stock exchanges.
Also available are economic data including GDP, CPI, interest and exchange
rates for each country.
| IV. International Statistics |
31.
The
Global Competitiveness Report. Ref. HF 1414 .G559
A publication of the World Economic Forum, this annual study provides
statistics on strengths and weaknesses of the economies of countries
worldwide and is described by the publisher as a valuable tool
for guiding
investment decisions.
32.
IMD
World Competitiveness Yearbook. Ref. HF 1414 .W67
Includes investment statistics by country and also
tables comparing investment statistics of the countries covered. Published
annually. Also available online.
33.
International
Financial Statistics Locator. Ref. Desk HG 151.7 .B37 1995
This guide identifies current and historical statistical sources for financial
and economic indicators. Included are references to exchange rates, government
finance, and securities markets for approximately 175 countries.
34. 
International
Financial Statistics. 1948- .
A monthly source which provides historical and current information on International
Monetary Fund member countries. Included is data on exchange rates, inflation
and deflation, government finance, balance of payments, money and banking,
and national income accounts. Also available in print. Data cumulated in annual
yearbook (Ref. Desk HG 3881 .I6262). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
35.
International
Trade Statistics Yearbook. Ref.
HF 91 .U473
Two volumes. Published by the United Nations, this resource provided
trade data in terms of dollar value and percentage of world trade for
182 countries or areas. It is organized by both country and commodity.
36.
LexisNexis
Statistical
An index to statistical publications including those of many countries
and major international intergovernmental organizations, covering
the years since 1990. Note: For earlier years use the printed version
Index to International Statistics (IIS). All IIS publications indexed
1993 - present are available in microfiche in Government Documents.
Check GEORGE to see if the library owns earlier titles. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
37.
SourceOECD
SourceOECD is an electronic database that contains statistical profiles
for member countries. It also contains much of the full text of
several OECD print serials with investment statistics, such as International
Direct Investment Statistics Yearbook (Ref HG 4538 .I544),
an annual resource that provides statistics on inflows and outflows
of direct investments
and investment position of the OECD countries, Monthly
Statistics of International Trade (Ref. HF 91 .O672a),
International Trade by Commodity Statistics (Ref.
HF 1016 .I65), and
Institutional Investors Statistical Yearbook (Ref.
HG 4507 .I478). Additionally,
the database contains the full text of recent e-books with international
investment statistics. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
38.
Specific
Country Statistical Handbooks. Ref. HA
Many countries publish their own statistical handbooks. They are available
in the reference stacks for a number of countries, primarily developed nations.
To determine if the library has one for a given country look in GEORGE by Subject:
[Name of Country] - Statistics or ask a Reference Librarian for help.
39.
STAT-USA.
This Internet-based source contains selected data for the business, economic
and trade communities from the Federal government. Along with U.S. economic
data, STAT-USA is an access point for the National Trade Data Bank. STAT-USA
is updated daily. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
40.
World
Economic Outlook. 1980- . Ref. Desk HC 59 .W645
An examination by the International Monetary Fund of the current economic situation,
policy issues, and short- and medium-term prospects in industrial and developing
countries. The statistical appendix provides financial and economic data.

41.
globalEDGE
(from Michigan State University). <http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/>
This web site is developed and maintained by the Center for International Education
and Research at Michigan State University. It provides many links to business
information on foreign countries, cross-border business transactions, and international
management issues and is frequently updated.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
- jc
Links updated: 12/07
- jc