
1.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
In addition to author biographies, LRC includes excerpts of criticism
from such sets as Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (Ref.
PN 610 .C53), Contemporary Literary Criticism ( Ref. PN 771 .C59),
Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (Ref. PN 86 .L53), and Nineteenth-Century
Literature Criticism (Ref. PN 761 .N56).
2.
Le
Robert des Grands Ecrivains de Langue Francaise. Ref.
PQ 41 .R57 2000
A collection of criticism of 150 French-language writers. Each
entry includes an anlysis of the writer's work, selected quotations,
a brief biography, and a biblography. Covers writers from the Middle
Ages through the twentieth century.

3.
ARTFL
French-language literary, religious, philosophical, political, and scientific
works from the 13th through the 20th centuries. Originally created in 1957
as the database behind Trésor de laLangue Française, French-language
dictionary, this database drew from a broad range of written French, from novels
and poetry to biology and mathematics. The database consists of nearly
2000 texts written between the 13th and 20th centuries, ranging from
classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and
technical writing. ARTFL also includes a Provençal database. Genres
include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises.
4.
Dictionnaire
des Ecrivains de Langue Francaise. Ref. PQ 41 .B412 2001
Many of the biographical articles include chronologies of works written
as well as the writer's life. Articles also contain criticism of
specific
works. Contains entries for literary movements and terminology.
5.
Dictionnaire
des Littératures de Langue Francaise. Ref. PQ 41
.B4 1984
Contains concise articles on French literary authors, themes, genres, and periods.
Includes bibliographies.
6.
Dictionnaire
des Oeuvres du XXe Siecle: Litterature Francaise et Francophone. Ref
PQ 305 .D53 1995
Analyses 1547 French literary works and 73 movements and genres of the 20th
century.
7.
Dictionnaire
des Termes Litteraires. Ref. PN 44.5 .D48 2005
Has a very broad scope, describing literary movements and including
terminology from fields related to literature. Also contains many in-depth
entries
with
bibliographical
references.
8.
Dictionnaire
du Cinéma Populaire Français: Des Origines a Nos
Jours. Ref.
PN 1998.2 .D53 2004
Alphabetical listings of French films, directors, actors, themes,
and techniques. Includes many photos and reproductions
of posters. some articles have bibliographical references.
9.
Encyclopedia
of Contemporary French Culture. Ref DC 33.7 .E53 1998
Contains more than 700 alphabetical entries. Covers post-1945
French and francophone culture. As well as entries such as economy,
fashion, food, politics, sports, and the arts, includes entries
under "francophone" for cinema, performing arts, music,
radio, television, and writing in locations such as North Africa,
Switzerland,
Belgium, Indian Ocean, Martinique and Guadeloupe. Electronic version
in ebrary.
Search for book by title in ebrary.
10.
Feminist
Encyclopedia of French Literature. Ref. PQ 149 .F47 1999
Biographies of women authors who lived and worked mainly in France, of all
time periods, writing in various genres. Also includes influential women who
were not writers. Topical essays cover a wide range: e.g., birth control, education,
melancholia, travel literature, translation. Each entry includes a bibliography
of primary or secondary texts, with a general bibliography and a chronology
at the end of the volume.
11.
La
Francophonie dans le Monde, 2002-2003. Ref. DC 33.9 .F735
2003
Includes chapters on literature, film, music, media, French
language education, development initiatives, and cultural differences
in the francophone world.
12.
Guide
to French Literature: beginnings to 1789. Ref. Biog PQ
41 .L47 1994
Guide to French Literature: 1789 to the Present. Ref
Biog PQ 41 .L48 1992
Contains substantial entries for individuals and literary movements. Includes
comprehensive bibliographies of works and selective lists of largely book-length
studies.
13.
Medieval
France: An Encyclopedia. Ref. DC33.2 .M44 1995
Covers the political, economic, social, religious, intellectual,
literary and artistic history of France from the early fifth century
to the late 15th. Includes both short entris and longer, in-depth
essays, alphabetically arragned. Also has maps, genealogies, index
and bibliographies.
14.
The
New Oxford Companion to Literature in French. Ref. PQ
41 .N48 1995
Discusses authors and works of French-language literature. Also has essays on
literary movements and genres, historical subjects, linguistic topics, and the
arts and media, including opera, cinema, and the press.
15.
The
Regions of France: A Reference Guide to History and Culture.
Ref. DC 33.7 .N63 1996
Contains a chapter for each of the 22 recognized regions of France.
Each chapter has a section on geography, history, recent politics,
population, economy, architecture, and culture (art, literature,
customs, food). The culture section includes a local recipe.

To locate books in Lauinger Library, use GEORGE,
the online catalog.
To find books of literary criticism in GEORGE, look up the
author's name (last name, first name) as a subject. Many different
subheadings can appear under this subject heading, but note particularly "Criticism
and interpretation" (e.g., Duras, Marguerite, --Criticism and interpretation)
and "Bibliography" (e.g., Voltaire, 1694-1778--Bibliography). If
a specific work has been widely studied, you may find a subheading
devoted just to it (e.g., Camus, Albert, 1913-1960--Etranger).
NOTE: For a given book to appear under an author's name, the book
must be solely or primarily on the author. Therefore, you might want
also to expand the scope of your search using subject headings such
as "French fiction", "French literature", "French drama", etc.
Keyword Searching: When you can't determine a relevant subject heading,
try searching by keyword. This technique
locates words in a book's title, subject headings, and contents notes.
For example: romanticism and (french or france) and literature
.
16.
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the
Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities,
the University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University.
Georgetown students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or
request items via the WRLC Catalog.
17.
WorldCat
A catalog comprising
millions of records representing the holdings of thousands of libraries.
NOTE: Available only to Georgetown students and faculty.
18.
MLA
Bibliography. 1963- . (1921-1994 Ref.
Z7006 .M64)
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America and covers scholarship
in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal
articles (75% of the entries), books, and book chapters from multi-author
works. Does not include book reviews.
19.
JSTOR
Contains the full text of articles from a range of core journals
in various fields of literary criticism, humanities and social sciences
including art, music, and performing arts. Search can be limited by
language, and French is one of the selections.
20.
Le
Monde
Full color images of each page of the French daily newspaper, Le Monde,
from 5/25/05 through the current issue. Searchable.
21.
LexisNexis Academic
Select Non English Language News, then French Language News. Over
70 sources in French, mostly newspapers and news wires from France
and other countries.
22.
Literature
Resource Center (LRC).
Full-text biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis of more than 100,000
world authors and works throughout history and across all literary genres (fiction,
nonfiction, poetry, drama, and journalism). Enables you to search by literary
movement (e.g., Harlem Renaissance), gender, or author ethnicity (e.g., Asian
American). LRC is an electronic version of such print reference sources as Dictionary
of Literary Biography (Ref. Biog. PS 121 .D48) and Contemporary Authors (Ref.
Biog. CT 220 .C62).
23.
Project
Muse
Access to full text of scholarly journalsfrom the mid
1990's in fields of literature and criticism, Fench Studies, cultural
studies,
visual
and performing
arts, and francophone Africa, among others.

24.
Critical
Bibliography of French Literature. Ref. Z 2171 .C3
Each volume covers a particular period of French literature and was compiled
and critically annotated by specialists in the field. Arranged by topic, each
volume has an author, title, and subject index.
25.
French
17. Ref. Z 2172 .M6
An annual, annotated bibliography of scholarly work in 17th century French
studies, including literature and linguistics. Literary authors are listed
in Part V with references to criticism in earlier sections. Also lists research in
progress. Formerly Bibliography of French Seventeenth Century Studies or "French
III".
26.
French
Language and Literature: An Annotated Bibliography. Ref.
Z 2175 .A2 B39 1989
A comprehensive, classified listing of sources with detailed annotations.
27.
International
Medieval Bibliography.
Contains over 300,000 records from journal articles, essays in
collections, and conference preceedings
concerning the Middles Ages (400-1500). Includes research on medieval history
in archaeology, architecture, arts, canon law, the Crusades, daily
life, religion, folk studies, language, literature, music, social
history, theater and performing arts, and other topics. Covers
Europe, North Africa, Armenia and the Muslim WOrld.
28.
Research
and Reference Guide to French Studies. Ref. Z 2175
.A2 O8 1981
An extensive bibliography of reference sources related to French
literature, including bibliographies on individual authors. Includes
author and subject indexes.

These sites provide links to a wide variety of literary and French-language
resources, including literary criticism; full-text access to historical,
non-copyrighted literary works; bibliographies; and topics lists. Other
literary sites may be found by searching Internet Subject
Guides and Directories or Search
Engines.
29.
CIEF <http://cief.info/liens.html>
Council of International Francophone Studies (Conseil International
d"Etudes Francophones) is a nonprofit with aims to encourage
interdisciplinary studies within French speaking communities and
all those interested in the Francophone world. This page contains
a list of recommended links.
30.
French
Connection. <http://www.howard.edu/library/Assist/Guides/FrenchConnection.htm>
Links to a wide variety of French and Francophone websites: current events
and media, literature, education, language, art and culture, primary texts,
gateways, and search engines.
31.
HAPAX:
French Resources on the Web. <http://hapax.french.sbc.edu/>
List of key French metasites.
32.
Literature
and Culture of Francophone Africa & the
Diaspora: A Guide to Resources on the Web <http://dl.lib.brown.edu/francophone/>
Links by topic such as literature, music, visual arts, theater, and
sociocultural context.
33.
Literary
Resources on the Web <http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/>
See "Other National Literatures", then "French (and Francophone)."
34.
French
Studies Web <http://lotus.libs.uga.edu/erms//wess/>
Produced by the Western European Specialists Section of the Association of
College & Research Libraries.
35.
Voice
of the Shuttle: French Literature. <http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2719#id961>
French literature websites; includes all time periods, many author websites.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 3/07,
mb
Links updated: 12/07
jc