1.
Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts.
Search for journal articles on political science,
international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Over 1400 journals are reviewed.
2.
PAIS.
One of the best indexes to topics in politics and
international affairs. Indexes journal articles, books, pamphlets,
and government publications on U.S. and international affairs policy
issues.
3.
International
Political Sciences Abstracts.
Indexes and abstracts articles from major political science journals.
Covers theory, government, political process, international relations,
and national and area studies.
4.
Academic
Search Premier.
Indexes scholarly journals
in the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences,
engineering, language and linguistics, arts, literature, medical
sciences, and ethnic studies, as well as popular magazines. Many
available in full text.
5.
Access
World News.
Fulltext collection of selected articles from over 800 international
newspapers, wire serivces and news agencies.
6.
National
Newspapers.
Indexes news articles from nine major U.S. newspapers: Atlanta Constitution,
Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles
Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington
Post. Full text available for recent years of all papers except the
Chicago Tribune.
7.
World
News Connection.
Full text summaries and translations of international newspaper articles,
conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals,
and non-classified technical reports. Focus is socioeconomic, political,
scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Replaces
the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). On campus only.
A.
Georgetown University Library
Books dealing with Government are found by subject,
title, and author in GEORGE,
the Georgetown University Library catalog. Select “keyword” searching
when you wish to use your own key search terms. Searching titles by
subject involves using the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH),
the red volumes found in the dictionary stand near the Reference Desk
of Lauinger Library.
Examples of such terms include:
Middle East – Politics and government
Nationalism
Power (Social sciences)
Africa – Foreign relations
International law
AIDS (Disease) – Government policy – United States
B.
Other Libraries
Library
of Congress Catalog <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
For assistance with using the Library of Congress collections, read more about
the GU - Library
of Congress Connection.
WorldCat
A catalog containing over 30 million records, representing the holdings of
thousands of libraries.
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.

8.
CQ
Weekly.
Provides political and legislative news and
congressional voting records.
9.
The …CQ Guide to Current American Government. Ref JK
1 .C14
Twice a year the guide reports on current issues facing government,
such as homeland security, defense, redistricting, privacy, and more.
(Latest issue in Reference; older years back to 1961 in the stacks.)
10.
Europa
World.
Provides basic economic, political, geographic and background data for
every country in the world, along with a mechanism for comparing statistics
across countries. Includes directories of government agencies and officials,
political parties, media organizations, business associations and other
similar groups for each country.
11.
Country
Reports (EIU Economist Intelligence Unit).
Quarterly analysis of major trends in economies of over 180 countries.
Includes forecasts for the upcoming year and evaluations of foreign trade
data and background data on political developments in each country.
12.
CIAO
(Columbia International Affairs Online).
Contains conference proceedings
and working papers from over 90 participating institutions
around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries,
hyperlinks to websites, journal abstracts and a calendar of conferences
and seminars.
13.
Carnegie
Endowment for International Peace. <http://www.carnegieendowment.org/>
Contains articles on major international issues (in the Commentary
and More Analysis sections) with links to the full text of related
publications as well as events and audio and video presentations. The
Resources section has links to related sites such as international
organizations, political
and policy sites, and area studies resources.
14. 
Almanac
of American Politics. Ref. Desk JK 271 .B343
Data
on all members of Congress and their districts and states.
15.
Congressional
Quarterly’s Politics in America. Ref. Desk JK
1010 .P64
Data on all members of Congress and their districts and states.
16.
CQ…Almanac
Plus. Ref. JK 1 .C66
Reviews the major legislative action of each session of Congress. In
addition, it provides an analysis of voting patterns in congress, shows
key votes on congressional actions, gives texts of important speeches,
lists bills enacted into law during the year, and provides roll call
vote charts
for both chambers. (1945-1959 in stacks; 1960- present in Reference.)
| V. Encyclopedias, Compendia, and Directories |

A.
General
17.
Blackwell
Encyclopaedia of Political Institutions. Ref. JA 61 .B56 1987
This guide reviews significant political agencies, such as the United
Nations, in a global setting.
18.
Blackwell
Encyclopaedia of Political Thought. Ref. JA 61 .B57 1987
This
guide reviews significant ideas and political doctrines in a global setting,
including leading world political thinkers. Western, Hindu, Chinese,
and Muslim politics are highlighted.
19.
Concise
Oxford Dictionary of Politics.
Over 1,500 entries
offer international coverage of political institutions, theorists,
and terms and concepts. Western political thought is emphasized; but
Muslim
and Chinese are also covered.
20.
Dictionary
of Political Biography.
Over 1,000 entries review major thinkers in world politics of the twentieth
century and of the former theorists – and their accomplishments --
have helped to shape the contemporary world.
21.
Encyclopedia
of Democracy. Ref. JC 423 .E53 1995
Provides an alphabetical
and concise topical review of democracy – and threats to democracy
-- in a global setting.
22.
Encyclopedia
of Government and Politics. Ref. JA 61 .C66 2004
Articles summarize political institutions, processes, factions,
and world regions.
23.
Oxford
Guide to the United States Government. Ref. JK 9 .P384 2001
Provides biographies of all presidents, vice presidents, Supreme Court
justices, and notable members of Congress. The Guide also commentary
on major Presidential decisions, international and domestic programs
and agencies, in-depth review of congressional committees and their functions,
as well as some legislative history. It gives a review of 100 landmark
Supreme Court decisions. Legal terms and phrases are defined.
B.
Legislative
24.
Congress
A to Z. Ref. JK 1021 .C554 1999
Offers concise articles about
U.S. Congress and its history.
C.
Judicial/Legal
25.
Supreme
Court A to Z: A Ready Reference Encyclopedia. Ref. KF 8742 .A35
S8 1998
Offers articles about the Court.
26.
Black’s
Law Dictionary. Ref. Desk KF 156 .B53 1999
Legal terms for the legal
practitioner.
27.
Oxford
Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions.
Includes entries regarding major Supreme Court decisions and cases, including
cases heard during the 1990s. Nominations and selections of justices
are analyzed.
28.
Legal
Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia. Ref.
K 48 .L44 2002
A comprehensive and comparative review of world legal
systems. Articles are arranged alphabetically by subject.
D.
Executive
29.
Presidency
A to Z: A Ready Reference Encyclopedia. Ref. JK 511 .P775
1992
Provides pertinent articles about the U.S. presidency.
E.
International
30.
Constitutions
of the Countries of the World. Ref. JF 95 .B538
English translation of constitutions; some are accompanied by text in the original
language.
31.
Encyclopedia
of Human Rights. Ref. JC 571 .E67 1996
Short entries and longer essays focusing on human rights issues, people and comparative
world regions and countries.
32.
Encyclopedia
of Nationalism. Ref. JC 311 .E499 2001
Provides articles on historical and world trends and shorter entries on people,
places, movements, and ideas related to nations and nationalism.
33.
Encyclopedia
of World Political Systems. Ref. JF 51 .D465 2000
Comprehensive encyclopedia articles describing the political order of 192 sovereign
states in all areas of the world. It is organized geographically.
34.
International
Dictionary of Politics. Ref. JA 61 .R39 1980
Features world and American political and legal terms.
35.
International
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics. Ref. JA 61 .I58
1996
Provides an extensive review of governmental and political topics
around the world in 342 articles.
36.
Oxford
Companion to Politics of the World. Ref. JA 61 .O95 2001
Provides
brief summaries and longer interpretive essays on global politics, featuring
people, political trends, and institutions.
37.
Political
Handbook of the World. Ref. JF 37 .P6 2007
Provides comprehensive
background information for more than 200 countries. Arranged alphabetically.
38.
World
Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures. Ref. JF 511
.W67 1998
Gives a comprehensive review of legislative branches of government
in a global perspective.
39.
Information
Sources of Political Science. Ref. Z 7161 .I543 2005
This source contains annotated bibliographies on a wide range of topics in
political science and related fields, alphabetically arranged.
| VII. Government Information |

A.
United States
40.
GPO
Access. <http://www.gpoaccess.gov/>
A comprehensive electronic index of U.S. executive,
legislative, and judicial materials made available by the Government
Printing Office.
41.
Thomas. <http://thomas.loc.gov>
Fulltext legislative records back to the 101st Congress (1989) including public
laws, bills and the Congressional Record. Information on public laws and bill
summary /status available back to the 93rd Congress (1973). Word or phrase
search is possible across multiple Congresses for bills (available in pdf through
a link to the GPO). Also provides access to Congressional Record and committee
reports.
42.
USA.gov <http://www.usa.gov/>
Centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal
government agency websites. Includes A-Z Agency Index for federal
agencies.
43.
Lexis-Nexis
Congressional.
Full text of the complete range of legislative and public policy resources.
Includes Congressional hearings and reports, bills, public laws, the
Congressional Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations,
floor votes, Congressional member financial information, the U.S. Code,
the Serial Set and American State Papers (1789-1969), and legislative
histories for any law enacted since 1970. Also contains reports and studies
of the Congressional Resarch Service (CRS) and committee prints (background
information on a subject matter before a particular committee). Use Advanced
Search to search within these last two sources.
44.
Lexis-Nexis
Government Periodicals Index.
Indexes
periodicals on a variety of topics published by agencies and departments
of the U.S. government. Citations. 1995-present. Some retrospective
coverage from 1988-1994.
45.
Lexis-Nexis
State Capital.
U.S. State government
publications and related materials, 1990-
46.
CIA
FOIA: Electronic Reading Room <http://www.foia.cia.gov/default.asp>
Provides directions on how to request access to CIA information through
the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) and provides electronic access
to previously released declassified documents,
which can be searched, viewed online, and printed. Also provides links
to other governmental FOIA sites.
47.
Declassified
Documents Reference System.
Provides access to post- World War II papers from the CIA, the FBI and
many other agencies, which have been gathered from presidential libraries.
Major domestic and international events of the post-World War II world
are covered, including the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts,
and the civil rights movement. Documents display in a digital facsimile
format or ASCII text.
48.
Digital
National Security Archive.
Contains
more than 35,000 declassified documents that led to policy decisions
by the United States. Collections
include: Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis 1958-1962, Cuban Missile Crisis,
El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Intelligence Community,
Iran Revolution, Kissinger transcripts, Terrorism 1968-2002, Presidential
Directives on National Security, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation,
Philippines, and South Africa. New collections
added yearly.
49.
National
Archives and Records Administration. <http://www.archives.gov/>
Contains digital images of important historical U.S. documents as well as records from every branch of the federal government. Includes records relating to military service, war, census, immigration, naturalization, land, businesses, foundations, labor unions, bankruptcy, government spending, and more.
50.
The
American Presidency Project. <http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/index.php>
Contains links to the public papers of the presidents, State of the Union
addresses, and presidential election maps and data back to 1824.
Includes video clips of some important presidential addresses.
51.
State
Agency Databases < http://wikis.ala.org/godort/index.php?title=State_Agency_Databases>
n every US State and the District of Columbia, agencies are creating databases
of useful information - information on businesses, licensed professionals, plots
of land, even dates of fish stocking. Alphabetical listing of states with links
to databases and subject focused lists with links.
52.
First Amendment Center <http://www.firstamendmentcenter.org/>
53.
Metavid <http://metavid.ucsc.edu/>
Archived collection of the televised proceedings of the U.S. Senate and
House of Representatives. Video footage is provided by C-SPAN. Site
is a project of the University of California at Santa Cruz.
54.
American
Bar Association. <http://www.abanet.org/public.html>
Contains brief essays that are introductions to a variety of areas of U.S. law
such as immigration, disability law, how courts work, family law, consumer legal
issues,
and others. A-Z list of topics helps find more information.
B.
International
55.
Access
UN.
Index of U.N. documents and official
records, meeting minutes, and U.N. treaty citations.
56.
Constitution
Finder. <http://confinder.richmond.edu/index.php>
Listing of (and links to) constitutions, charters, amendments, and related
documents for 211 governmental entities worldwide.
In alphabetical order by country name.
57.
Erik
Herron's Guide to Politics in East Central Europe and Eurasia. <http://web.ku.edu/~herron/>
Links by country and region to web sites organized by categories such
as government, political and politicians, non-governmental organizations
and institutes, and news and media.
58.
Political
Resources on the Net. <http://www.politicalresources.net/>
Provides access to politically related web sites by country. Within each country
listing, a Governments
section
has links to legislative bodies, agencies, embassies, national constitutions,
and election information and a Media section lists newspapers, magazines, and
news sites for each country.
59.
United
Nations Treaty Collection.
Contains full-text of the United Nations Treaty Series, the current
status of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General,
and texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties. Languages are
English and French, and the original language of the treaty.

60.
Elections
A to Z. Ref JK 1976 .M57 2003.
Entries regarding U.S. national elections
are arranged alphabetically.
61.
Guide
to U.S. Elections. Ref. JK 1976 .G85 2005
Quantitative and qualitative
data on U.S. presidential and congressional elections,
parties,
candidates, primaries, conventions, and political issues. (2 volumes)
62.
U.S.
Presidential Candidates and the Elections. Ref. JK 528 .H38
1996
A review of U.S. presidential elections, and brief biographical
summaries of presidential and vice-presidential candidates. (2 volumes)

The following are some of the important political science journals. To
obtain the full text of articles in these journals or others search Journal
Finder by the title of the journal or magazine. Journal
Finder will tell you if the full text of a periodical is available
in an online database and/or if the Library has a print copy.
Note: To search for
articles on a topic in these and other periodicals, search the indexes
listed in Finding
Articles.
American
Journal of International Law
American
Journal of Political Science
American
Political Science Review
British
Journal of Political Science
Commonwealth
and Comparative Politics
Comparative European Politics
Comparative
Political Studies
Comparative
Politics
Contemporary Political Theory
World
Politics

63.
Countrywatch.
Provides in-depth and up-to-date detailed reviews for each of the 191
countries which are currently recognized by the U.S. State Department
as independent nations. Includes Country Reviews, containing geographic,
political, economic (economic conditions, macroeconomic activity, key
sectors), business and environmental information for each country.
Also includes Country Wire, which provides the latest political, economic,
corporate, and environmental news for each country.
64.
Energy
Information Administration: Country Analysis Briefs. <http://www.eia.doe.gov/emeu/cabs/index.html>
Contains energy statistics by region and country. Reports include background
information, types of energy, lists of data sources (some with links),
and links to relevant sites.
65.
Government
Finance Statistics Yearbook. CD-ROM
Network Instructions
Government
and public finance records and statistics. Latest print yearbook
in Reference, Ref. HA40.F5 I58; earlier years in stacks.
66.
Lexis/Nexis
Statistical.
Provides abstracts
and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government
publications
since 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and around 2000
documents from international organizations from 1983.
67.
OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web. http://www.offstats.auckland.ac.nz/
Links to free, official statistics resources. Arranged alphabetically by country, region, or subject.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 3/07-
wco
Links updated: 12/07-mb