 |
 |
Historiography
Sources
|
Guides
Home » History Guides
The following
are shelved in the Reference Area of Lauinger Library. For additional
resources, do a keyword search in GEORGE,
the online catalog. For example france and historiography; catholic
church and historiography. For journal articles, search America:
History and Life (U.S. and Canada) or Historical
Abstracts.
1. The
Blackwell Dictionary of Historians. Ref. Biog. D 14 .B58
1988
Contains articles on terms, movements and historiography of specific countries.
Also has 450 biographical entries with the scholarly reputaion of the historians,
the circumstances in which they worked, and current opinions of their work.
2. Dictionary
of Concepts in History. Ref. D 13 .R49 1986
Explains historical terminology and principles. Each entry has four parts:
a brief definition of the concept, a summary of its history, a list of references
cited, and a bibliography of sources for further reading.
3. Encyclopedia
of Historians and Historical Writing. Ref. D 14 .E58 1999
Alphabetical and thematic lists of entries and a chronological list of historians.
Includes essays on individual historians, essays focusing on nations or geographical
regions, and topical essays about historical subdisciplines, methods, or important
historical debates.
4. A
Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing. Ref. D 13 .G47
1998
Covers historiography an historians from around the world. Contains brief biographical
articles on individual historians, surveys of national or regional historical
writing and topical entries on concepts or themes in historiography.
5. Great
Historians of the Modern Age: an International Dictionary. Ref.
Biog. D 14 .G75
Summarizes the contributions and insights of several hundred 19th- and 20th-
century historians from 38 countries and regions around the world. Also contains
an extensive subject index as well as an index to historians.
6. The
Study of History: a Bibliographical Guide. Ref. D 13 .R44 2000
A selected bibliography of books and articles on the nature, puposes, and methods
of the study of history, beginning with works dealing with the ancient world
and progressing chronologically to the recent past. Focuses on Western historiography
with an emphasis on historical writing in Britain.
7. Historiography. Ref.
Z 6208 .H5 H57 1987
A bibliography of recent historiographies. Volume 1 covers bibliographies,
books, conferences, and dissertations. Volume 2 has a geographic classification
Content updated 4/05 mb |