A. Dictionaries
and Encyclopedias
1.
Cutting
Edge: An Encyclopedia of Advanced Technologies. Ref. T 9 .C96 2000
2.
Encyclopedia
of International Media and Communications. P 87.5 .E535
2003
3.
Encyclopedia
of Multimedia Technology and Networking. Ref.
TK 5105.15 .E46 2005
4.
Encyclopedia
of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology. Ref.
QA 76.575 .E368 2003
5.
History
of the Mass Media in the United States. Ref. P 92 .U5 H55
1998
6.
Newton's
Telecom Dictionary. Ref. TK 5102 .N48 2006
7.
Webster's
New World Dictionary of Computer Terms. Ref. QA 76.15 .P395
2000
8.
Wiley
Encyclopedia of Telecommunications.
B. Telecommunications
Industry
9.
Communications
Outlook (OECD). Ref. HE 7645 .C658
Analyzes the development of the telecommunications services industry since
1980. Contains graphs and statistics along with a narrative review of such
topics as network dimensions, market structures, corporate strategies, telecommunications
investment, telecommunications and broadcasting, and many other facets of the
industry in OECD member countries. Full
text of the report is available within SourceOECD.
10.
Information
Technology Outlook (OECD). Stacks HD 9696 .C6 I543
Reviews trends in computer hardware, software and components, and computer
and related services in OECD member countries. Analyzes information technology
markets, the role of information technology in the economy, and government
policies and regulations. The OECD publishes the Information Technology Outlook
and the Communications Outlook(#10) in alternate years. Table of contents at
http://www.oecd.org/dataoecd/30/36/34040050.pdf Full
text of the report is available within SourceOECD.
11.
TeleGeography. Ref.
HE 7601 .T46
Provides useful essays which discuss current telecommunications issues. Charts
and graphs illustrate global telecommunications traffic statistics. Latest
year in Reference, earlier in stacks.
A.
GEORGE <http://catalog.library.georgetown.edu/>
Books about issues related to information technology policy
are listed by subject in GEORGE, the computer catalog. You can identify
the subject headings in two ways: use the Library of Congress Subject
Headings (LCSH), the red volumes located near the Reference Desk,
or find the subject headings assigned to a book you know by looking
at its record in GEORGE. Below are some examples:
Computer security
Data encryption
Electronic commerce
Freedom of information
Information technologySocial aspects
InternetSecurity measures
Privacy, Right ofUnited States
TelecommunicationLaw and legislation
Telecommunication policy
You will probably want to search under several headings. If you aren't finding
what you want, try searching by keywords. For example: (computer* or internet)
and security measures. Keyword searching will find words that appear in titles
as well as subject headings and is especially helpful for new terms or concepts.
If you need help with GEORGE or searching by topic, speak to a Reference
Librarian.
B. Other
Library Catalogs
-
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George
Washington, American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount
Universities, the University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown
University. Georgetown students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries
or request items via the WRLC Catalog.
A. News
12.
Academic
Search Premier.
Provides full text for 3,288 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities,
general sciences, business, and general interest. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
13.
LexisNexis
Academic.
This service provides access to full text of thousands of magazines, newspapers,
wire services, and broadcast transcripts, including foreign newspapers that
are not otherwise available. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B. Communications,
Policy, and Society
14.
CIAO.
Contains conference proceedings and working papers from 66 participating institutes
around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, hyperlinks
to more than 150 sites, journal abstracts, and a calendar of conferences
and seminars. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
15.
ComAbstracts
(Communication Abstracts).
Bibliographic database that provides abstracts to articles located in over
50 primary communication journals. Coverage includes communication studies,
rhetoric, mass communication (advertising, journalism, public relations) and
speech from approximately 1970 to the present. Updated continuously. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
16.
Communications & Mass
Media Complete.
Citations, abstracts, and full text articles from journals
in the fields of communications and mass media. Covers over 400 titles
(200 full text), some dating back as far as 1915 but most beginning
in the 1990's. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
17.
Pais
International. 1915-
.
One of the best sources of current information on materials relating to public
affairs and public policy. Indexes not only journals, but also books and government
documents. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
18.
PolicyFile.
Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy
think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers.
Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text
of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring
institution. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
19.
Social
Sciences Index. 1983-
.
Since 1983 indexes the major scholarly journals in all the social sciences.
For prior years, see its print equivalent (Ref. AI 3 .R471). Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
C. Business and
Economics
20.
ABI-INFORM
Complete.
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 800 business and management journals
covering information on finances, management, marketing, accounting, business
conditions, and other business topics. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
21.
Business
and Industry.
Indexes trade publications covering companies, products, markets, and technology
for all manufacturing and service industries. Many articles are full-text.
Covers 1980 to present. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
22.
EconLit.
Indexes and abstracts worldwide economic literature. Has article citations
from over 300 major economic journals since 1969; abstracts and book annotations
from the Journal of Economic Literature (Ref. HB1.J61) since 1987; and citations
to articles in collective works indexed in the Index of Economic Articles
(Ref. Z7164.E2A57a). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
23.
Gartner
Group Research.
Gartner provides access to published analysis of the information technology
environment. Dataquest contains news,surveys, and trends. Datapro provides
in-depth reviewing of specific products and allows dynamic building of comparison
tables to help evaluate competing products. The analysis that Gartner publishes
is divided into a number of research areas such as Application Development
and Management Strategies, Enterprise Network Strategies, Healthcare Technologies,
Integrated Document, and Output Management. Note: Requires a Georgetown University
NetID and password. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
D. Computer Science
24.
Web
of Science. 1980- .
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database that indexes and
abstracts journals in the sciences and social sciences. Distributed by the
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), Web of Science at Georgetown University
is a cumulation of two databases: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social
Sciences Citation Index. In addition to traditional author, title and keyword
searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references
- the footnotes from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant
paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it. Pre-1989 coverage is
available in print format in the Dahlgren Medical Library. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
25.
Proquest
Computing. 1986-
This database provides access to over 300 journals in the computing
field, over 240 of them full text. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| IV. Government Information |
Publications
of U.S. government departments and agencies, as well as Congress,
are kept in Government
Documents and Microforms on the first floor. These
materials are listed in GEORGE.
A. General
26.
LexisNexis
Congressional.
Full text of the complete range of legislative and public policy resources.
Includes Congressional hearings and reports, bills, public laws, the Congressional
Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, floor votes,
Congressional member financial information, the U.S. Code and legislative histories
for any law enacted since 1970. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
27.
Government
Information Policy <http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/dlinf.html>
From the University of Michigan Documents Center, an extensive list of links
to Web sites related to government information policy.
28.
MarciveWEB.
Index to publications issued by the U.S. government. Many of these documents
are available in the Government Documents and Microforms Collection in Lauinger
Library. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B. Government Agencies
29.
Export
IT (Office of Information Technologies, Dept. of Commerce) <http://www.export.gov/infotech>
Export information related to information technology.
30.
Federal
Communications Commission FCC <http://www.fcc.gov/>
Priority issues listed on its Web page include broadband, digital television,
homeland security, and media ownership.
31.
Information
Technology Laboratory (National Institute of Standards and Technology) <http://www.itl.nist.gov/>
The lab is concerned with security, information access, software testing, and
other issues.
32.
National
Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) (U.S. Dept. of Commerce) <http://www.ntia.doc.gov/>
Agency which promotes telecommunications access nationwide, U.S. business access
to foreign markets, and efficient use of the federal radio spectrum. This agency
has produced the report, Falling
Through the Net <http://www.ntia.doc.gov/ntiahome/digitaldivide/> (latest
is Oct. 2000).
33.
Office
of Educational Technology, U.S. Dept. of Education <http://www.ed.gov/Technology/index.html>
Information on such issues as the digital divide, distance learning, Internet
safety, and evaluation and assessment.
34.
Office
of Information Technology (U.S. General Services Administration) <http://www.itpolicy.gsa.gov>
This office assists U.S. federal agencies with information technology.
35.
Office
of Technology Policy (U.S. Dept. of Commerce) <http://www.ta.doc.gov/OTPolicy/default.htm>
The office's mission is "developing and advocating national policies and
initiatives that use technology to build America's economic strength."
| V. Think Tanks, Associations, and Organizations |
A. Directories
36.
Associations
Unlimited.
Contains 144,000 detailed listings for organizations all over the world. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
37.
The
Foundation Directory Ref. Desk AS 911 .A2 F65
Provides information on the finances, governance, and giving interests
of the nation's 10,000 largest grantmaking foundations. The book is arranged
alphabetically by state, and, within states, by foundation name and has
seven indexes to help use the book. The online resource has full text search
capability across all 250,000 entries with six additional search fields.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
38.
InfoUSA:
Think Tanks and Public Interest Organizations <http://usinfo.state.gov/usa/infousa/politics/thnktank.htm>
Links to several organizations and online directories.
39.
Political
Science Resources: Think Tanks (U. of Mich.) <http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/psthink.html>
A comprehensive list of links to think tanks.
40.
Think
Tank Directory. Ref. H 50 .T556 1996
Each entry lists the organization's address (plus e-mail or Web address if
available), director, founding date, purpose, policy
areas, research priorities, publications, budget, and staff size. Includes
a bibliography and geographic, policy areas, and
alternate name indexes.
41.
Washington
Information Directory. Ref. Desk F 192.3 .W33
An annual compilation
of federal agencies and non-profit organizations in the Washington metropolitan
area that
can provide
information on a wide variety of subjects. Includes a name and subject index.
42.
Washington...:
A Comprehensive Directory of Key Institutions and Leaders in the National Capital
Area. Ref. Desk F192.5 .W31
An annual directory of the significant public and private institutions of the
metropolitan area and the people who lead them.
Includes approximately 4000 organizations.
B. Foundations and Organizations
43.
Benton
Foundation <http://www.benton.org>
Links to Digital Divide Network and other resources.
44.
Center
for Democracy and Technology <http://www.cdt.org/>
"The Center for Democracy and Technology works to promote democratic values
and constitutional liberties in the digital age. With expertise in law, technology,
and policy, CDT seeks practical solutions to enhance free expression and privacy
in global communications technologies."
45.
Civil
Rights <http://www.civilrights.org/publications/digital_report>
"Civilrights.org's mission is to empower the civil rights community to lead
the fight for equality and social justice in the emerging digital society through
the establishment of an online social justice network." Includes
a report, "From Digital Disconnect to Digital Empowerment," among
other information.
46.
Communication
Studies Resources <http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/>
Links to resources on all aspects of communications, e.g., digital media, cultural
studies, political communication, advertising, gender and race.
47.
Computer
Science and Telecommunications Board <http://www7.nationalacademies.org/cstb/>
The Computer Science and Telecommunications Board, part of the National Research
Council of the National Academies, was "established in 1986 to provide
independent advice to the federal government on technical and public policy
issues relating to computing and communications."
48.
Digital
Partners <http://www.digitalpartners.org/>
"Digital Partners, a Seattle-based nonprofit institute*, taps the power
of the digital economy to develop market-based solutions that benefit the world's
poor."
49.
Electronic
Frontier Foundation <http://www.eff.org>
"The Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) was created to defend our rights
to think, speak, and share our ideas, thoughts, and needs using new technologies,
such as the Internet and the World Wide Web. EFF is the first to identify threats
to our basic rights online and to advocate on behalf of free expression in the
digital age. "
50.
Electronic
Privacy Information Center <http://www.epic.org/>
A public interest research center in Washington, D.C., EPIC follows legislation
related to privacy and human rights.
51.
Ethics
in Computing <http://www.eos.ncsu.edu/eos/info/computer_ethics/>
Maintained by a professor of computer science at North Carolina State University,
this Web site links to resources on privacy, social justice issues, intellectual
property, speech issues, computer abuse, and risks.
52.
European
Union--Information Society Website <http://europa.eu.int/information_society/index_en.htm>
European Union activities and programs related to information technology.
53.
International
Telecommunications Union <http://www.itu.int/home/index.html>
An international organization within the United Nations System comprised of
governments, companies, industry groups, and organizations whose aim is to
coordinate global telecommunications networks, services, and policies.
54.
Observatory
of the Information Society by UNESCO
< http://www.unesco.org/cgi-bin/webworld/portal_observatory/cgi/page.cgi?d=1l>
The Observatory monitors ethical, legal, and social issues related to new technologies.
The web site covers access and applications issues, plans and policies in numerous
countries, and content regulation.
55.
OECDInformation
and Communication Technologies <http://www.oecd.org/topic/0,2686,en_2649_37409_1_1_1_1_37409,00.html>
Web site for the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's activities
in information and communication technologies.
56.
Virtual
Institute of Information <http://www.vii.org/>
An independent research facility managed by the Columbia Institute for Tele-Information
at Columbia Business School, Columbia University which promotes research in
telecommunications and mass media and studies their impact on economic and
social development.
57.
World
Intellectual Property Organization <http://www.wipo.int>
The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), an agency of the United
Nations system, administers international treaties on intellectual property
protection.

58.
LexisNexis
Statistical.
Index to sources of statistics indexed in: the American Statistics Index (ASI)
(1973- ), Index to International Statistics (IIS) (1983- ), and Statistical
Reference Index (SRI) (1980- ). The focus is on coverage of basic economic,
demographic, industrial, and social statistics and includes those from the
International Telecommunications Union (ITU) (#54). Many
of the documents, including the ITU documents, are available on microfiche
in the Government Documents/Microforms Department. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
jc
Links updated: 12/07
jc