A. Detailed 
1.
Annual
Reports. Ref. Pamphlet File
Current hard copy annual reports from selected international companies are
kept in a filing cabinet in the Reference Area.
2.
LIVEDGAR.
Electronic Data Gathering And Retrieval (EDGAR) is the full-text database of
filings from publicly-traded companies to the Securities and Exchange Commission
(SEC). For foreign owned companies publicy-traded on the US markets, can
file a 20-F within the EDGAR database. 20-F filings have financial, strategic,
and executive information concerning a company.
The database
also
has SEC filings
from foreign
companies, international prospectuses, and SEDAR (Canada's EDGAR system).
In addition, LIVEDGAR has support materials about the operations and function
of the SEC, tax & accounting, and other educational materials. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
3.
Investext.
Provides the full text of thousands of reports and forecasts prepared by international
brokerage firms. The reports and forecasts cover over 11,000
U.S. and foreign companies in 53 industry groups.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B. Brief

4.
ADR.COM (J.P.
Morgan) <http://adr.com/>
Internet site from J.P. Morgan that gives financial data and news information about American Depositary Receipts (ADR). ADR are shares of stock for a foreign corporation held by an investment bank that are bought and sold in the American securities markets
5.
Depositary
Receipts (Bank of New York) <http://www.adrbny.com/>
Lists issue, CUSIP, exchange, symbol, ratio, country of origin,
industry, and Depositary bank of ADR by geographic, alphabetical,
and industry listings. It also includes a year-end review.
6.
Hoover's
Handbook of World Business. Ref. HG 4009 .H66
Includes a compendium of lists (mostly rankings, e.g., "Ten Best Airlines"),
country profiles, and company profiles. Covers 300 international company profiles
and include an overview of the company, its history, key executives, and major
competitors. Index by industry, and index of brands, companies, people, and
places. Older issues, back to 1992, are the circulating collection under
same the call number.
7. 
Mergent
International Manual. Ref. HG 4009 .M6
Provides financial information on more than 13,000 corporations and institutions
in 100 countries. Arranged by country. In addition to the "as is" financial
statements, entries include company history, properties, subsidiaries (a
full listing that includes country of incorporation), Officers, and Directors
(all
names and, in many cases, other corporate affiliations). Information also available in Mergent Online. Updated
by weekly news reports (international
reports towards the bottom).
C. Rankings

8.
Forbes
International 500 <http://www.forbes.com/finance/lists/setters/listHomeSetter.jhtml?passListId=17>
This site can be searched within a list of top international companies (either
company name, country, industry or by rank within the top 500) and links to
various ranked listings of top international companies are given. You can choose
to work with the list from the current year or the past year.
9.
Fortune
Global 500. <http://www.pathfinder.com/fortune/global500/>
Ranks the world's largest 500 industrial and service corporations by sales,
by performance, and by industry. Also lists them by country.
10.
Global Market Information Database: GMID.
Global in scope, GMID provides market share, performance indicators, and market
forecasts in formats for downloading or printing. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
A. General
11.
Company Dossier.
This extensive directory of public and private companies from across the globe contains data from many sources, such as Directory of Corporate Affiliations,
Executive Directories, Nelson's Company Research, and U.S., European, and Japanese patent and trademark information. News stories can be sorted by publication, topic, or region.
Allows comparison of five companies at once. Results can be customized, downloaded, and emailed.
12.
Nelson's
Directory of Investment Research. Ref. HG 4907 .N43
Volume three of this annual directory profiles companies traded primarily
on a non-US exchange. The company's profile contains name and contact
information, shares outstanding, and equity analyst coverage. The analyst
coverage gives analyst's name, telephone number, and his/her brokerage firm. It
also has an index by industry.
13.
D
& B Principal International Businesses. Ref. HF 54 .U5 P74
Names, addresses, chief officers, and SIC numbers for approximately 50,000
companies around the world. Arranged by country, SIC number, and company name.
14.
WorldPages <http://global.wpz.com/>
Links to more than 240 business directories and phone books from 100 countries,
with an emphasis on yellow pages and fax directories.
B. Affiliates and Subsidiaries 
15.
America's
Corporate Families and International Affiliates. Ref. HG 4907
.A6
A directory of American firms with foreign subsidiaries and foreign firms with
American subsidiaries. Organized alphabetically, geographically, and by SIC
code. Includes a list of subsidiaries and their parent companies.
16.
Directory
of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries. Ref. HG 4538
.A1 D5
Names, addresses, and product types for 3200 American parent firms and their
21,000 subsidiaries. In two sections, by U.S. company name and by country of
subsidiaries.
17.
Directory
of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Ref. HG 4057
.A21943
Names, addresses, and products or services of foreign businesses and their
American subsidiaries and affiliates.
18.
Who
Owns Whom, North & South America. Ref. HG 4009
.W464
Provides name, country, and industry group of the foreign subsidiaries and
associates of U.S. and Canadian companies, as well as North American affiliates
of foreign companies. Includes a parent company list and an index of subsidiaries
and associates.
19.
International
Directory of Company Histories. Ref. HD 2721 .I63
Provides detailed information on the development of the world's largest and most
influential companies. Each entry includes a narrative of the company's history
and a short bibliography. Currently over 60 volumes with several published
each year, the
last
volume
of
the
set refers to the main entry (in bold) and any sequential updates.
20. 
Mergent
International Manual. Ref. HG 4009 .M6
See entry 7
| IV. Regional and Industry Specific |
A. Asia
21.
Asia's
7500 Largest Companies. Ref. HG 5770.5 .A3 A7
Lists the 7500 largest companies in Pacific Asia and ranks them according to
various criteria, including sales, profits, country, and I.S.I.C code.
22.
Industrial
Groupings in Japan: The Changing Face of "Keiretsu" . Ref.
HD 2907.A1 I53
Detailed analysis of 43 major industrial groups & major companies, includes affiliation analysis. Covers altogether 3,000 companies in 28 industries with financial and business strengths of groups.
23.
Proquest
Asian Business.
A collection of 95 English-based business journals and magazines covering industry
and company operations in Asia. Some titles are unique to this database. Best
searched using free text; only a small portion of the database is indexed by
field. Search in ABI-Inform Complete as
well. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B. Americas

24. 
Annuario
Financiero (Annual Financial Information). Ref. HC 131 .A78
1997
Contains financial data regarding companies traded on the Bolsa
Mexicana De Valores <http://www.bmv.com.mx/> (in
Spanish).
25.
Economatica. Ref.
Designated Workstation
Historical database tracking pricing, financial statements, company reports,
and local news on over 1,000 securities from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia,
Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela.
26.
Latin
American Network Information Center <http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/business/>
Maintained by the University of Texas, the Latin American Network Information
Center web site has information concerning companies in Latin America.
27.
Strategies <http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/engdoc/main.html>
Canada's Business Information Site including company information. It
is created by Industry Canada, a department of the federal government promoting
business in Canada.
28.
SEDAR. <http://www.sedar.com/search/search_en.htm>
System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval (SEDAR), is an electronic
filing system for the disclosure of documents of public companies and mutual
funds across Canada, similar to the U.S. EDGAR system. Included are the
documents which are legally required to be filed with the Canadian Securities
Administrators and many documents which may be filed with the Canadian
exchanges (market centers).
C. Europe
and Africa
29.
CAROL
- European Company Annual Reports On-Line <http://www.carol.co.uk/>
On-line access to European Annual Reports (currently available only for firms
in the United Kingdom), which may be located either by product search or by
corporate name.
30.
The
European Business Directory <http://www.europages.com/>
A database of 150,000 companies selected from 25 European countries. Search
able by open-text entry, by activity sector, or by name of the company. Instructions
and text are available in English, German, Spanish, French and Italian. Company
catalog and practical information links are provided.
31.
Index
to the Financial Times. 1981- Ref. HG 11 .F5
Indexes the Financial Times, the British equivalent of the Wall Street Journal.
Can look up an individual company name.
32.
ProQuest
European Business.
A collection of 154 English-based business journals and magazines covering industry and company operations in Western Europe. Some French publications are also included. Best searched using free text; only a small portion of the database is indexed by field. Search in ABI-Inform Complete as well.
33.
Kelly's
Industrial Directory. Ref. HF 54 .G7 K4
Directory of firms doing business in Great Britain. Includes a classified section
that groups companies by product or service, and a company information section
that provides addresses and trade descriptions.
D. Industry
Specific
Many industry-specific directories that include international companies are
owned by Lauinger. Search GEORGE using
Keyword: [industry name] and directories. Additional industry information
can be found in http://www.library.georgetown.edu/guides/industries
34.
International
Foundation Directory. Ref. Desk HV 7 .I57
This not-for-profit company directory gives descriptions of benevolent foundations
throughout the world. Arranged by country, the entries include brief
history, publications, officers, and contact information.
35.
International
Literary Market Place. Ref. Desk Z 291.5 .I5
Covering 180 countries, this directory has contact information for companies
in the international book publishing industry.
36.
Thomson
Bank Directory. Ref. HG 2441 .R35
Volume 3 of this three-volume set lists banks by country and city. Includes
officers, directors, assets, liabilities, branches, and correspondent banks.
37.
ABI-INFORM
Complete. 1970- .
Provides abstracts and many full-text articles from over 1,000 international
business journals, covering information on companies, finance, management, marketing,
accounting, business conditions, and other business topics.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
38.
Factiva.
Factiva, formerly Dow Jones Interactive, provides worldwide full text coverage
of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press
release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment
analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company
profiles, and historical market data. Factiva also includes
links to 9,000 key Web sites, company reports, and stock quotes. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
39.
LexisNexis
Academic.
This service provides access to the full-text of thousands of magazines, newspapers,
wire services, and broadcast transcripts for U.S. and foreign media. Search
for the companies name under "Company News." Within "Company News" a
search can be limited to foreign language materials. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
40.
Business
and Industry. 1996-
Contains trade journals covering companies, products, markets, and industries.
Over half of the entries are full text. Older
information can be found using F&S Indexes. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| VI. Web Sites and Handbooks |
41.
Company "Extensions" <http://www.corporateinformation.com/defext.asp>
While U.S. companies are usually followed by "Inc.", many foreign companies have
different designations. This web site tells what these terms mean, and where
they are used.
42.
GlobalEdge <http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp>
This portal maintained by the Michigan State University - Center
for International Business Education and Research (CIBER) provides country information,
links to global resources such as stock exchanges and company directories, market
potential indicators for emerging markets, and more.
43.
International
Business Information: How to Find It, How to Use It. Ref. HF 54.5
.P33
1998
Describes key international business publications and databases; provides the
subject background needed to understand them.
44.
Virtual
International Business and Economic Sources (VIBES) <http://libweb.uncc.edu/ref-bus/vibehome.htm>
Virtual International Business and Economic Sources (VIBES) provides over 1,300
links to Internet sources of international business and economic information
that are in English and available free of charge.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
jc
Links updated: 12/07
jc