1.
Foreign
Trade Statistics <http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/index.html>
This U.S. Census Bureau site is the primary source of U.S. merchandise import/export
data. Includes the monthly U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services
report series FT-900. Also offers press releases, trade highlights, product
trade data, country data, state export data, and historical series.
2.
USA
Trade Online <http://dataweb.usitc.gov>
U.S. International Trade Commission offer this user-friendly interface
with data organized by commodity according to the Harmonized Tariff
Schedule. Provides U.S. export and import information on over
18,000 commodities world-wide. Registration is free.
3.
Office
of Trade and Economic Analysis <http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea>
The Office of Trade and Economic Analysis (OTEA), a division of the U. S. Dept.
of Commerce, collects and disseminates data, research, and analysis on
trade matters. This site links to the Agency's Trade
Stats Express <http://tse.export.gov/> which
retrieves customized, visualized statistics on U.S. merchandise exports, imports
and trade balances, and state exports. The Trade
Data link <http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea/usftd/> offers
spreadsheet format U.S. trade by sector, trade by country, end-use commodity,
and balance of payment data.
4. 
Statistical
Abstract of the United States. 1995- . <http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/> Print
version: Ref. Desk HA 202
Use this source for quick reference to a variety of basic import and export
statistics for the U.S. Note: Additional current copy at Gov. Docs. Desk
C3.134; earlier years (1878- ) in Ref. HA202 and Gov. Docs. C3.134.
5.
Business
Statistics of the United States. Ref. HC 101 .A1312
Provides U.S. imports and exports by trading partner and by broad commodity
groups. Includes U.S. exports and imports of services. Monthly
and annual data. Values in U.S. dollars. Most figures are updated
in Survey of Current Business (<http://www.bea.gov/scb/index.htm>;
current print issues in Gov. Docs.). Note: Additional current copy at
Gov. Docs. Desk HC101.A1312; check GEORGE for
earlier editions (1953 to current year).
6.
Source OECD: International Trade by Commodity Database
Key source for trade between OECD countries and between OECD countries and
264 different partner countries. Provides detailed data for commodity
imports and exports by quantity and value (U.S. dollars) for nearly 7,000 different
products. For help in using the online version, see the University of
Michigan Library's instructions at <http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/oecd.html>. Print
version: International Trade by Commodities Statistics Ref. HF 1016 .I65.
7.
UN Comtrade
The official source for United Nations international trade statistics. Annual
data from 140 countries arranged in a standard format by commodity and partner
countries. The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database provides
existing data on all commodity categories (Harmonized or SITC) back to 1962. Values
are in U.S. dollars, quantities in net weight. Useful help on locating
data in UN Comtrade is available at <http://business.library.emory.edu/eresources/title/guides/uncomtrade-gpguide.pdf> (Emory
University Library).
8.
International
Trade Statistics <http://www.wto.org/english/res_e/statis_e/statis_e.htm>
World Trade Organization statistics database offers the most up-to-date trade
statistics; includes profiles for 80 countries and time series data on merchandise
and commercial services. Not as comprehensive as UN Comtrade; provides
total value of individual commodities in U.S. dollars, but does not track flows
between individual countries.
9.
United
Nations. International Trade Statistics Yearbook. 1983- Ref. HF
91 .U473
A primary source of international trade statistics; covers 182 countries. Vol.
1, Trade by Country, provides values of imports/exports by principle trading
partners; and by the 30 leading commodities traded. Vol 2, Trade by Commodity,
shows the imports and exports of commodities, by commodity; among the top 30
countries trading that product. Special Tables appendix. Values
in U.S. dollars. Annual data.
10.
United
Nations. Monthly Bulletin of Statistics. 1949- . Ref. HC 57 .U66
For individual countries, provides total imports and exports in U.S. dollars
and quantity indexes. Includes conversion tables for national currencies. Monthly,
quarterly, annual data.
11.
Direction
of Trade Statistics. Ref. HF 1014 .I5 D515
International Monetary Fund quarterly and annual publication offers data for
about 156 countries on the value of imports and exports from their most important
trading partners. Includes summary tables. Values in U.S. dollars. Monthly,
quarterly, annual data.
12. 
International
Financial Statistics. 1948- .
For 147 countries, reports values of imports and exports of main commodities
in U.S. dollars and national currencies. Also provides volume and price
indexes. Monthly, quarterly, annual data. Print: Ref.
HG 3881 .I626.
13. 
FAOSTAT <http://www.fao.org/>
Compiled by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, the
FAOSTAT database reports values of imports and exports by country for agricultural
commodities. For countries, it reports values of imports and exports
by commodity. Values in U.S. dollars with conversion tables for national
currencies. Annual data. Print version: FAO Trade Yearbook. 1958/59,
1961/65-. Ref. HD 9000.4 .F58
14.
Minerals
Yearbook, Volume I: Metals and Minerals. 1962- . Gov. Docs.
I19.165
For metals and minerals, gives quantities of U.S. imports and exports by trading
partner. Annual data.
15.
Minerals
Yearbook, Volume III: Area Reports: International. 1962-
. Gov.
Docs. I19.165: (1995- ) or I28.37: (1981-1994)
Provides volume of imports and exports of specific metals and minerals for
individual countries. Notes on trading partners for each commodity. Annual
data.
ASIA
16.
Key
Indicators. Ref. HC 411 .A754a
Asian Development Bank's statistical compendium focuses on social and economic
development in the Asia and Pacific region. Trade tables include growth
rates and direction of trade for merchandise exports and imports, also foreign
trade as a percent of GDP.
17.
Statistical
Indicators for Asia and the Pacific <http://www.unescap.org/STAT/data/statind/pdf/index.asp>
The United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific
(UNESCAP) quarterly data on 26 countries. Tables on internal and external
trade; total monetary value of imports and exports, and values for principle
products. Data may vary by country.
AFRICA
18.
African
Development Indicators. Ref. HC 800 .A1 A353
World Bank tables on merchandise imports and exports, important commodities,
and direction of trade matrices for imports, exports, and in U.S. dollars. Included
electronically in #20 below.
19.
World
Bank Africa Database CD-ROM
Network Instructions.
Over 1,100 data series on 53 African countries; about 10% relate to international
trade. User-friendly interface arranges data by country, series, and years. Annual
data.
| IV. Classification Schedules |
For a good explantion of trade classification schedules, see Duke
University Library's guide at <http://library.duke.edu/research/subject/guides/trade/>
20. 
Harmonized
Tariff Schedule of the United States <http://www.usitc.gov/tata/index.htm>
The official tariff schedule for imports. The schedule is used worldwide for
the classification of imports for rate of duty and for statistical purposes.
Items are identified with a 10-digit code. The first 6 digits are based on
the Harmonized system and the last 4 digits are statistical annotations. Print
version: Gov. Docs. Desk ITC1.10:
21.
Standard
International Trade Classification, Revision 3 <http://unstats.un.org/unsd/cr/registry/regcst.asp?Cl=14>
This is the most current revision of the SITC (1986). The system classifies
all merchandise entering international trade for purposes of comparability. Profile: <http://unstats.un.org/unsd/cr/family2.asp?Cl=14>
22.
Standard
International Trade Classification, Revision 2. Ref. HA 13 .U5
This edition is still in use in some sources used in this guide.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
jc
Links updated: 12/07
jc