| I. Financial News and Advice |
A. Financial News
1.
Banking Information Source.
Includes information on the international and domestic operations of retail and
commercial banks and credit unions. Covers over 400 publications, with 160 current
full-text trade magazines, newspapers, and some scholarly publications. Formerly
Banking Literature Index from the American Bankers Association.
2.
CNNFN <http://cnnfn.com>
Produced by CNNFN, this web site provides stories concerning business news,
personal finance, and global financial markets. In addition, this site
also covers mortgage cost worksheets, industry-specific news, and stock quotes.
3.
Investor's
Business Daily. Second Floor Newspapers
A direct competitor to Wall Street Journal, this source provides articles,
statistics, and prices on the financial markets. We retain the most current
year only.
4. 
Wall
Street Journal.
Publishes daily prices from the New York, American, and OTC exchanges. Covers
selected regional and foreign stock exchanges. Lists data on mutual funds,
options, and futures. Daily print copies in Pierce Reading Room and Current
Newspaper Reading Room. Back issues available since 1889 on microfilm or online. A
print index for Wall Street Journal (1957- ) and Barrons (1981- ) is
available in the Reference Collection (Ref. HG1 .W2).
5.
Wall
Street Transcripts.
Contains interviews with Wall Street professionals and corporate leaders. Transcripts
include “Sector Roundtable” -- a panel of analysts gives an in-depth review
of a sector, naming specific stocks they are recommending to investors; “Off
The Record” – analysts who review management performance of companies
in a sector; “Money Manager Interviews” -- investment strategies and
the way they evaluate investments; “Research Analysts” -- top analysts from
Wall Street discuss their sectors of expertise; “CEO Interviews” -- CEOs reveal
their companies' markets and competitors, its management, and the major issues
for investors.
B. Advisory
Services 
6.
Investor
Information <http://www.sec.gov/investor.shtml>
Created by the Securities and Exchange Commission Office of Investor Education and Assistance, this page has links to SEC tips and publications that will help users to "invest wisely and avoid costly mistakes and fraud." It also has suggestions on doing research, interactive tools
to look at mutual funds and publicly traded companies, information on filing complaints, and links to other investor education sites.
7.
Investext. 1995-
.
Full text of approximately 40,000 analysts' reports, covering more than 11,000
global companies and over 50 industries. Investext reports contain in-depth
information on companies and industries, including industry trends, market
share, and emerging technologies.
8.
Hulbert
Financial Digest. Second Floor Periodicals
Covering the financial advisory newsletter industry, this monthly digest reviews
and rates the top-performing newsletters for stocks and mutual funds. Special
issues called Long-Term Performance Ratings are released with the July and
January issues, include a comprehensive guide to 160 financial newsletters. Current
year only retained.
9.
Path
to Investing <http://www.pathtoinvesting.org>
The Foundation for Investor Education’s Path to Investing site is a collection of material covering all aspects of investing for individuals and families. Clear, in-depth explanations of all things related to investing are provided as is a stock market simulation game called the Investor Challenge.
10.
Sharkrepellent.
Great database, bad name for a takeover-defense and corporate governance database.
This database compiles source information from a company's articles of incorporation,
bylaws, shareholder rights plan (poison pill) and state takeover statutes.
11.
Socrates: The Corporate Social Ratings Monitor.
SOCRATES has in-depth profiles on the social and environmental records of over
650 US and international corporations, including every company on the Standard & Poor's
500, and KLD's Domini 400 Social Index. Portfolio managers can rank companies
on issues related to community, diversity, employee relations, environment,
non-US operations, products, alcohol, tobacco, gambling, nuclear power, and
military contracting.
12.
Standard
and Poor's NetAdvantage: Companies/ Outlook.
Standard and Poor's Outlook analyzes companies and forecasts market trends.
Makes purchase recommendations for selected stocks. Current S&P stock price
indexes are included at the end of each issue. Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
also provides additional company and industry information.
13.
Value
Line Research Center.
Investment information and performance ratings for over 3,000 public companies
with 250 data fields. Evaluations and comparisons of 92 industries are also
included. Additional information on mutual funds, options, convertibles, exchange
traded funds (ETF), and special situations.
A. Company 
To find more financial, strategic, operations, and mergers and acquisitions
concerning American companies use "American
Corporations Research Guide"
14.
Directory
of Obsolete Securities. Ref HG4961 .D56
Brief profiles of banks and companies whose original identities have
been lost through merger, acquisition, dissolution, bankruptcy, or
name change since 1927. Each company listing indicates how the company
became obsolete,
the new name of the company (if any), and the date the action occurred.
When possible, an indication is made if the stock still has some
value. Less comprehensive source is the CCH's Capital
Change Reporter.
15.
EDGAR. 1994- . <http://www.sec.gov/edgarhp.htm>
Provides 10-K, 20-F, proxy statements, some annual reports, and other financial
statements of public companies filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.
Best viewed with Courier 8 font.
16.
LIVEDGAR.
Electronic Data Gathering And Retrieval (EDGAR) is the full-text database of
filings from publicly-traded companies to the Securities and Exchange Commission
(SEC). These filings start in 1996 and include financial, strategic, and
executive information concerning a company. LIVEDGAR provides EDGAR filings
and includes full-text documents on mergers & acquisitions, new stock
issues, annual reports, insider trading, and No-Action Letters (a letter
from the SEC agreeing that the commission will take no civil or criminal
action against a party, regarding a specific activity). The database also
has SEC filings from foreign companies, international prospectuses, and the
SEDAR (Canada's EDGAR system). In addition, LIVEDGAR has support materials
about the operations and function of the SEC, tax & accounting, and other
educational materials.
17.
Mergent
Manuals. Current year in Ref. and older years in Government
Documents and Microforms Department.
The report on each company gives stock price earnings, dividends, and bond
ratings. There is also a Monthly News volume which includes
top stories and earnings announcements. Check the Mergent's Complete Corporate
Index (Ref. HG 4961 .M7 C6) to determine in which manual a particular company
is listed. Formerly called Moody’s Manuals.
18.
Security
Owner's Stock Guide. Ref. HG 4905 .S6
Monthly information for 5100 common and preferred stocks and provides S&P
rating, stock price range, capitalization, earnings, and dividends. Available
1980-1985 in the Government Documents and Microforms Department on the first
floor (Microfiche 187). Published by Standard and Poor’s.
19.
Standard
and Poor's NetAdvantage: Companies/ Standard & Poor's
Stock Reports.
The Stock Reports provide a two-page overview on each of 3700 companies includes
stock price range, quarterly earnings, dividend, and P/E ratio. One quarter
each
year since
1979
kept in
the stacks, listed under specific stock exchanges.
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
also provides additional company and industry information.
20.
Value
Line Research Center.
Investment information and performance ratings for over 3,000 public companies
with 250 data fields. Evaluations and comparisons of 92 industries are also
included. Report for each company includes quarterly price, earnings, dividend,
P/E ratio, beta, and projections. Available in the Government Documents and
Microforms Department (first floor) since 1980 (Microfiche 119).
21.
Yahoo!
Finance <http://finance.yahoo.com>
Organized by Yahoo!, this meta site links to
information on U.S. markets, world markets, data sources, finance references,
investment editorials, financial news, and other helpful Web sites.
Daily Prices go back to 1960's.
B. International
22.
Economatica: Latin American Financial Information.
This historical database which tracks pricing, financial statements, company
reports, and local news on over 1,000 securities from Argentina, Brazil, Chile,
Colombia, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela. (Provided by the generous support of Stephen
Jonathan and Cathleen Callahan)
23.
International
Guide to Securities Market Indices. Ref HG 4636.S544
Unlike other directories that focus on stock exchanges, this one concentrates
on indices. Provides a country by country listing of stock market indices. Gives
background information, computational methodology, underlying instruments, basic
data. Includes indexes for bonds, money market instruments, commodities, convertible
securities, mutual funds, closed end funds, and real estate.
24.
Mergent
International Manual. Ref. HG 4009 .M6
Provides financial information on more than 5000 corporations and institutions
in 100 countries. Arranged by country.
25.
Financial Times
This newspaper covers English language business news from Europe.
Full-text of the Financial Times is available daily in print in
the Pierce Reading Room and Newspaper Reading Room. Official Index to the Financial Times (Ref. HG 11 .F5 1982- )
is arranged by subject, personal name, company, and country headings.
26.
Stock
and Commodity Exchanges <http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/busi/stocks.shtml>
This Webguide lists stock and commodity exchanges worldwide, including those dealing in futures, options, and derivatives, as well as sources for market and stock prices and reports.
27.
Worldscope. CD-ROM
Worldscope provides historical financial and business information on over 15,000
international companies (1995-2001). Covers publicly traded enterprises representing
more than 50 established and emerging markets. Includes financial, product
and geographic segment data, growth rates and more. The older CD-ROMs are in the Gelarding New Media Center under MMCD 350.
C.
Prices
28.
Big
Charts <http://www.bigcharts.com>
This commercial source provides access to interactive charts, quotes, reports
and indicators on over 50,000 stocks, mutual funds and market indexes. BigCharts
is a service supported entirely by site sponsors.
29.
Daily
Stock Price Record. Gov. Docs./Microforms
Reports published by Standard and Poor’s that contain daily high, low,
and close prices of equities and preferred stocks, monthly and quarterly
dividends, shares outstanding, and earnings. In the front of each report
there are daily data on odd-lots, Dow Jones Indexes, S&P Indexes,
market volume, new highs and lows, short interest, and Barron's
confidence index. Daily price for mutual funds are found in
the NASDAQ fiche. Best source for unlisted stock prices.
American Stock Exchange (Mfiche 188 )
NASDAQ Stock Exchange, formerly Over-the-Counter (Mfiche 189)
New York Stock Exchange (Mfiche 186)
30.
Dow
Jones Averages, 1885-1995. Ref. HG 4915 .D6433 1996
Gives a brief history of the Dow Jones Averages. Daily figures available for
stock sales and bond averages. High, low, and close quotes given for industrial,
transportation, and utility indexes.
D. Dividends
31.
Mergent
Dividend Record. Ref. HG 4908 .M78
Reports dividends declared by companies traded on U.S. and
international exchanges. Updates are issued semi-weekly. Annual cumulative
issues in the stacks, 1965, 1968- . Formerly called Moody’s Dividend
Record.
32.
Dividend
Record. Ref. HG 4908 .S77
Includes dividends declared by companies sold on U.S. and international exchanges
for the previous quarter. Annual issues in the stacks, 1978- . Published by
Standard and Poor’s, additional dividend information in Standard
and Poor's NetAdvantage
C. Historical Statistical Sources
33.
Analyst's
Handbook. Ref. Desk HG 4519 .S772
Tables include earnings, dividends, price, and yields of S&P industry sectors.
It also includes the
list of S&P 500 Index companies and when they entered or exited the Index.
Earlier years in the stacks since 1984. Published by Standard and Poor’s.
34.
Global Financial Database: Historical financial data
Global Financial Database is a source for historical stock market, financial,
and economic data, some of which is unavailable from any other online source.
The GFD Database includes over 8500 current and historical data series covering
over 200 countries that have been collected from original sources. Many of the
series extend back two centuries.
35.
Investment
Statistics Locator. Ref. Desk Z 7164 .C18 C47 1995
Fifty-six different investment sources including government and electronic
information sources are analyzed by type of investment. Each entry gives the
frequency of the data for each source indexed.
36.
MEMDB:
Medieval and Early Modern Data Bank
<http://www.scc.rutgers.edu/mend>
Contains databases providing select commodity prices from the Middle Ages.
37.
Standard
and Poor's Statistical Service. Ref. Desk HG 4921
.S76
Arranged by broad topics, e.g., "Banking and Finance," "Price Indexes," "Agricultural
Products." Gives monthly prices and production output with yearly averages
for various commodities. Monthly and annual figures available for various financial
instruments, e.g., bankers acceptance notes, commercial paper, stock indexes,
and bonds. Use "Security Price Index Record" (Ref. Desk HG 4921 .S76) for historical
returns.
38.
Stocks,
Bonds, Bills, and Inflation Yearbook (SBBI). Ref.
Desk HG 4915 .S6
Presents monthly and historical returns from
1926 to present with highlights of the market from previous year. Analyzes
stocks, bonds, and bills by yield, total returns, inflation, and adjusted
returns. 1984- . Older issues in stacks, most current at the
Reference Desk.
A. Bonds
39.
Bond
Buyer/Thomson Financial ... Yearbook. 1996- . HG
4951 .B66
This statistical book provides tables on such items as new issues, underwriters,
credit enhancements, investors, market sectors, and interest rates.
40.
Bond
Guide. Ref. HG 4905 .S436
Monthly data for over 6500 domestic and foreign issues, lists S&P quality
rating, price, yield, and redemption provisions. Available from 1980-1985 in
the Government Documents and Microforms Department on the first floor (Microfiche
185).
41.
Bonds
Online. <http://www.bondsonline.com>
Topics include: US corporate bonds, US Municipal bonds, US Treasury and Federal Agency securities, bond funds, convertible bonds. It also gives information about portfolio strategy, hedging, swap mechanics, and analytic software.
42.
Mergent
Bond Record. Ref. HG 4905 .M78
Covers all bond issues on the New York and American stock exchanges. Gives
Moody's rating, price, yield, and federal tax status on a monthly basis. This
source also includes sovereign debt data. Year-end issues in the stacks, 1972-
.
43.
Credit
Survey. Ref. HG 4905 .M785
Lists the week's current and prospective offerings for corporate, government,
municipal, and international bonds. Gives rating, price, yield, and other brief
information.
B. Government Securities 
44. 
Federal
Reserve Bulletin <http://www.federalreserve.gov/pubs/bulletin/> and Second
Floor
Appendix in each monthly issue contains financial and business statistics.
Includes Federal Reserve Bank notes, commercial paper, mortgage markets, new
security issues, and prime rates. Tables are available for domestic non-financial
statistics and international statistics. The web site does not have the
statistical data.
45.
FRED® (Federal
Reserve Economic Data). < http://research.stlouisfed.org/fred2/>
A database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. With FRED® you can download
data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series. Including
interest rates. More historic data is found on FRASER.
46.
Merget's
Municipal and Government Manual. Ref. HG 4961 .M7 M9
Covers debt instruments of the federal government, state governments, state
agencies, and municipalities. Detailed information for each issue includes
rating, debt schedule, interest, and redemption date. 1955-1998 in Government
Documents and Microforms.
47.
Monthly
Statement of the Public Debt of the United States. <http://www.fms.treas.gov/mts/index.html>
Monthly data for treasury bills, notes, and other federal securities. Tables
include a description of the security, issue date, amount, and date of final
maturity. For more data related to federal bills, notes, and bonds visit the
Bureau of the Public Debt

48.
ICI
Mutual Fund Connection <http://www.ici.org>
Published by the Investment Company Institute, this informative site enhances
public understanding of the investment company industry and the policy issues
that affect it, particularly those involving legislation and regulation, the
U.S. economy, and retirement security.
49.
Mutual
Fund Investor's Center <http://www.mfea.com>
Published by the Mutual Fund Education Alliance, the not-for-profit trade association of the no-load mutual fund industry, this resource is designed to serve as an important resource
for investors who want to use mutual funds to reach their financial goals. Here, you'll find a large collection of mutual fund companies, website links, fund listings and exclusive planning, tracking and monitoring tools.
50.
Morningstar.com
Library Edition: Mutual funds, stocks, and ETFs.
Covers stocks, mutual funds (open-end), and exchange traded funds (closed-end). One can search by name, security or can use a screener. Additional features of the database include analyst reports for stocks & funds
and Portfolio X-Ray, to review the allocations across many different funds
Principia Plus CD-ROM contains more data points with advanced screening capabilities
and is easier to search and rank. Archives of the CD-ROM are kept in Gelardin
(MMCD 133).
51. 
Mutual
Fund Fact Book <http://www.ici.org/pdf/factbooks2.html> or
Ref. HG 4530 .I518
Contains an overview of what a mutual fund is, the trends, and the various
mutual fund investment objectives. The statistics section includes fund assets,
sales, and portfolio purchases. 1968-present in the stacks.
52.
Value
Line Research Center.
Value Line also has mutual funds.
| V. Commodities and Derivatives |

53.
Commodity
Futures Trading Commission <http://www.cftc.gov/cftc/cftchome.htm>
Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) is an independent government agency
with the mandate to regulate commodity, futures and option markets in the United
States. Their
web site has links to all domestic exchanges, market analysis, market surveillance,
and market research.
54.
Commodity
Market Review. <http://www.fao.org/waicent>
Indicates outlook of commodities that figure importantly in international trade.
Charts give price, production, and import/export information. Formerly
called Commodity Review and Outlook.
55.
CRB
Commodity Yearbook. Ref. HF 1041 .C56
Provides background summary of major trends and developments for the previous
year. Statistics include supply and distribution, price, and export and import
information.
56.
Professional
Guide to Derivatives.
<http://www.derivativesportal.org/>
Contains short descriptions and links to the most frequently read articles,
books, journals, papers, newspapers, and websites covering all types of derivatives
and their applications.
57.
FAOSTAT
Agriculture Data. 1961- . <http://faostat.fao.org/>
Made available by the Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations,
FAOSTAT provides statistical compilation on agricultural production and trade
on both a world wide and country by country basis for all types of crops, livestock,
and agricultural commodities.
| VI. Directory of Financial Firms |
58.
Directory of Alternative Investment Programs: A Guide to Institutions, Family Offices, and Their Advisors. CD-ROM
This source profiles over 500 active US and international public and corporate
pension funds, endowments and foundations, finance and insurance companies, and
other key players in the alternative investment market. It also includes articles
on institutional investors participation as well as analysis and rankings in
the alternative investment market. Print Versions: Directory of Alternative
Investment Programs (Ref. HG 4509 .D56). NOTE: Results may be printed but not
downloaded.
59.
Directory
of Futures and Options Exchanges
<http://www.numa.com/ref/exchange.htm>
Created by Numa, this site lists over 100 international exchanges.
60.
Hedgeworld:
Annual Compendium of Hedge Funds Information. Ref. HG 4530
.H434
Provides one-page summaries of the performance of various hedge funds and funds of hedge funds. Sections at the beginning include an
overview and data on the performance of the sector, as well as commentary on issues affecting this sector, such as new regulatory
requirements and the increasing participation of plan sponsors as investors.
61.
Nelson's
Directory of Investment Research. Ref. HG 4907 .N43
Contains a list of research firms and their key personnel. Each company profile
includes the names of security analysts who track that company. Organized and
indexed by industry, company, geographic region, and security analyst.
62.
Plunkett’s
Financial Services Industry Almanac. Ref. HG 65
P.58 2001
This is a directory of firms in investing, banking, insurance, and financial
information. Statistics and trends are also available on advances in
technology, online banking, electronic funds transfer, and more.
63.
Standard
and Poor's NetAdvantage: Directories/ Security
Dealers of North America.
Arranged by state and geographic region and includes name of firm, key personnel,
address, and branches for U.S. and Canada. Business services guide acts as
a yellow pages, organized by broad classifications. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| VII. Going Public and Venture Capital |
A. Going Public
64.
Galante's Venture Capital and Private Equity Directory. CD-ROM
This directory contains 1,750 profiles of US and international venture capital, buyout, mezzanine, and other private equity firms. Can be searched by name of fund, location, key executives, investment criteria, preferences, and size of investment pools each private investment manager has raised during the past 10 years.
Print Versions: Galante's Venture Capital and Private Equity Directory (REF. HG 4961 .V36 2006). NOTE: Results may be printed but not downloaded.
65.
Getting
Listed on Wall Street. Ref. HG 4910 .B72
This resource describes how U.S. and foreign companies can become listed on
U.S. exchanges. Part one describes the general investment climate and the guidelines
for the U.S. securities markets. Part two outlines the filing procedures for
entry into U.S. securities markets. Part three provides information on corporate
governance.
66.
Pratt’s
Guide to Venture Capital Sources. Ref. HG
65 .G83 2002
The best book for new businesses looking for financing. The beginning
of the book has essays on such varied topics as “Meeting with Venture Capitalist,” “Managing
Deals,” and “Corporate Strategic Partnerships.” The bulk of the book
is a directory of venture capital firms listed by state. Items in the
listing include contact information, management and staff, type of firm, project
preferences, and industry preferences.
67.
Securities
Regulatory Handbook. Ref. KF 975 .S427
This book is a summary of the major federal laws, regulations, and
interpretations applicable to the securities activities of financial
institutions. Dealing
more with compliance than with going public, it covers concepts and regulatory
risk management advice.
68.
Venture
Capital Associations
| IVIII. Financial Statements |
Financial statements: balance sheets, income statements, and cash flows
of individual companies traded in the US stock market use "American
Corporations Research Guide"
69.
How
to Read an Annual Report <http://www.moneychimp.com/articles/financials/fundamentals.htm>
Created by MoneyChimp, this webpage is great introduction to understanding financial
statements. Look or the "Next Page" link at the bottom of the page.
70.
How
to Read a Financial Report. Ref. HF 5681 .B2 .T733 2004
Starting with understanding cash flow and moving through balance sheet and
income statement, this book gives the reader a basic knowledge about interpreting
financial statements. Other chapters go into management ratios and accounting.
71.
Cabell’s
Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Economics and
Finance.
Over 500 journals that accept unsolicited articles. Each
entry includes an address for submission, publication guidelines, circulation
data, review information, manuscript topics, publication guidelines, and manuscript
guidelines. To start the search, you much choose in which broad business category you wish to publish: Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, or Marketing. There is considerable duplication of journal titles across the categories.
72.
C.F.A.
Digest
Provides background information on the processes of investment management for
institutional investors using securities, fixed-income, and derivatives.
For GU Faculty, Students and Staff Only. Ask at the reference desk for user
name and password
73.
Financial Markets and Investments.
Includes information about equities, futures, options, derivatives, mutual funds,
international finance, bonds, and ratios. Presentations and bibliographies
based on programs sponsored by the American Libraries Association's Reference
and User Services Association of Business Reference and Services Section.
74.
Investopedia.com
<http://www.investopedia.com>
Investopedia provides a lot of information on investing and allows users to look at it based on where they are in their investing life: as a beginner, experienced investor, active trader or preparing for retirement. There are tutorials, an investment game, a dictionary, research material and more.
75.
Irwin
Guide to Using the Wall Street Journal. Ref. HB 3743
.L44
This book reveals the potential of the Wall Street Journal. It
explains the organization, charts, tables, and statistics displayed in the
Journal.
76.
U.S.
Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) <http://www.sec.gov/>
The SEC is the investor's advocate. They educate investors, oversee the
financial markets and traders, and regulate publicly traded companies financial
disclosure. This site is great to retrieve company financial data through
EDGAR; print out "how to invest" materials; review the records of firms, funds,
brokers, and investment advisors; and much more.
77.
McGraw-Hill
Dictionary of Wall Street Acronyms, Initials, and Abbreviations. Ref.
HG 4513 .R68
Alphabetical listing of common financial abbreviations and corresponding full
company name or business term.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
jc
Links updated: 12/07
jc