
1.
MBNA
Career Education Center <http://careerweb.georgetown.edu/>
Located on the second floor, Leavey Center (202-687-3493).
Georgetown University students and alumni may take advantage of the many career
services offered by this office, including individual counseling, workshops,
job fairs, and recruiting programs. The Center has titles in their library
that are not available
in the Lauinger Library. The Center Web site includes links to job and career
Web sites. The section on "Prepare to Job Hunt" has samples of cover
letters and resumes.
2.
Careers
in International Affairs. Ref. JX 1293 .U6 C28 2003
Gives detailed information about careers in the U.S. government and international
organizations but also covers opportunities in international business, consulting,
teaching, banking, and research.
3.
Encyclopedia
of Careers and Vocational Guidance. Ref. HF 5381 .E52
2005
Volume I gives a general overview of industries. Volume II lists "Professional,
Administrative, and Managerial Occupations." Volume III includes clerical,
sales, service, and machine trades. Volume IV describes technicians' careers
in such fields as science, broadcasting, and medicine.
4.
Insider's
Guide to Finding a Job in Washington. Ref. HG 5382.75 .U62 W356 2000
Describes jobs with Congress, federal agencies and departments, interest groups
and think tanks, trade associations and labor unions, and the news media. Also
gives advice about internships, job searching, resumes, and cover letters.
5.
Jobs
and Employment Sourcebook. Ref. HF 5382.7 .J635 1997
Basic information about employment trends, job search preparation, legal rights
of employees and job applicatnts, balancing work and household obligations,
vocational education and job training, and self-employment opportunities.
6.
Occupational
Outlook Handbook <http://www.bls.gov/oco/>
A nationally recognized source of career information, describes what workers
do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings,
and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations. Also available
in print at Ref. HF 5381 .U62.
7.
The
Riley Guide <http://www.rileyguide.com/>
One of the best overall guides to employment research on the Internet. Links
to researching employers and occupations; career / occupational
information guides; resources for education, training, and funding; current
compensation rates; how to find a counselor or career center in your area.
Two similar Web sites are Wetfeet.Com <http://www.wetfeet.com/asp/home.asp> and Vault:
The Insider Career Network <http://www.vault.com/index.html>,
but these require membership for some sections.
8.
What
Color is Your Parachute? A Practical Manual for Job Hunters and Career
Changers. Ref. HF 5382.7 .B65 2005
Helps job-seekers answer the questions, "What do you want to do?"
and "Where do you want to do it?"
| II. Resumes and Cover Letters |

Search GEORGE, the online catalog,
by subject under "Resumes" for more books on creating resumes.
9.
201
Killer Cover Letters [electronic
resource]
Search by title in the ebrary database.
Must use Internet Explorer.
10.
202
Great Resumes [electronic resource]
Search by title in the ebrary database.
Must use Internet Explorer.
11.
2500
Keywords to Get You Hired [electronic resource]
Search by title in the ebrary database.
Must use Internet Explorer.
12.
Best
Resumes for College Students and New Grads. Ref. College Coll. HF
5383 .K867 2003
Provides examples and tips on formatting and writing a resume.
13.
Electronic
Resumes & Online Networking [electronic resource].
Search by title in the ebrary database.
Must use Internet Explorer.
14 .
Gallery
of Best Cover Letters. Ref. College Coll. HF 5383 .N618
2004
More than 300 cover letter samples with comments on the strategies
behind them. Occupations index
to help find specific samples.
15.
The
Guide to Basic Cover Letter Writing [electronic
resource].
Search by title in the ebrary database.
Must use Internet Explorer.
16.
Resumes
for College Students and Recent Graduates [electronic resource].
Search by title in the ebrary database.
Must use Internet Explorer.
17.
Resumes
for First-Time Job Hunters : With Sample Covers Letters [electronic
resource].
Search by title in the ebrary database.
Must use Internet Explorer.
A. Directories
18.
Consultants
and Consulting Organizations Directory. Ref. HD 69 .C56 C65
Lists over 10,000 nationwide firms engaged in consultation for business and
industry. Indexed by geography, subject, personal name, and organization.
19.
The
Directory of Federal Jobs and Employers. Ref. JK 716
.K678 1996
Outlines the key skills and strategies for finding a federal government job. Includes
agency descriptions along with the names and addresses of agency offices and
employers to contact for information on employment opportunities. For current
information use USAJobs (#31).
20.
National
Trade and Professional Associations of the United States. Ref.
HD 2425 .D53
Alphabetical list of associations, many with offices in the D.C. area. Each
entry gives the address, chief officers, brief description, annual budget,
and publications. Subject, budget, geographic, and acronym indexes.
21.
Public
Interest Profiles. Ref. JK 1118 .P79
This directory provides a brief overview on national non-profit public interest
groups, with information on staff, budget, funding sources, current concerns,
publications, and political orientation.
22.
Reference
USA.
Directory data of over 10 million U.S. businesses and organizations. The information
is based on yellow and white page listings. The companies can be searched by
name, location, SIC code, or keyword. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
23.
Washington:
A Comprehensive Directory of the Key Institutions and Leaders of
the National Capital Area. Ref. Desk F 192.5 .W31
An annual directory of 4,000 public and private institutions of the metropolitan
area and the people who lead them.
24.
Washington
Information Directory. Ref. Desk F 192.3 .W33
An annual compilation of federal agencies and non-profit organizations in the
Washington metropolitan area. Includes a name and subject index.
25.
Washington
Post 200 <http://washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/business/longterm/company/company.htm>
List of the top 100 local companies, 40 largest financial institutions, 30
largest companies in Maryland, and 40 largest companies in Virginia. Each entry
gives a brief description of the company and discusses significant developments
in the last year. Also available in print at the Reference Desk.
26.
Washington
Representatives. Ref. Desk JK 1118 .D58
Lists individuals in Washington who lobby for American
trade organizations, labor unions, corporations, and public interest
groups. Also lists organizations represented and has an index arranged
by type of industry.
B. Job Listings on Web Databases

27.
Guide
to Internet Job Searching [electronic resource]
Search by title in the ebrary database. Chapter 3 lists and describes
web databases for job hunters.
28.
Job
Bank USA <http://www.jobbankusa.com>
29.
Jobs
at Georgetown <http://data.georgetown.edu/hr>
Click on "Candidates for Employment" for a listing of permanent and
temporary jobs at Georgetown University.
30.
Monster.com <http://www.monster.com/>
Perform a location, profession, industry or keyword search.
31.
USAJobs <http://www.usajobs.opm.gov/>
Maintained by the Office of Personnel Management, USAJobs is a central source
for federal job listings. Search by by agency, position title, series, or profession.
Includes online forms, links to agencies for online applications.
C. Job Listings in Newspapers and Magazines
The first two sites allow users to search many newspapers in or
around a geographical location. The other sites are for individual
newspaper classifieds.
32.
AdQuest
Classifieds <http://www.adquest.com>
Select "Employment" to be able to search over 370,000 National Classified
Ads collected from over 1,600 publications throughout the United States. Information
updated
daily. Enter
a zip
code or city and search for classifieds with your keywords within a specified
distance of that city or zip code.
33.
CareerBuilder.com <http://www.careerbuilder.com/>
Find a job by searching employment ads from over 80 newspapers nationwide or
by searching job postings on the Web.
34.
Newspaper
Links (Newspaper Association of America) <http://www.newspaperlinks.com>
35.
Washington
Post Job Classifieds <http://www.washingtonpost.com/wl/jobs/home>
| IV. Researching Potential Employers |
For more detailed information about companies, see the American
Corporations Guide to Research.
A. Internet Resources
Many companies will include useful information about themselves
over the Internet from the company's homepage.
HINT: Company sites are often listed as http://www.companyname.com.
Example:
http://www.mci.com
If you are not able to find your company by guessing the address,
try one of the following sites for a listing of companies on the
Web:
36.
Yahoo
Company Directory <http://dir.yahoo.com/Business_and_Economy/Directories/>
37.
Hoover's
Online <http://hoovweb.hoovers.com>
B. Periodical and Newspaper Articles
38.
ABI-INFORM
Global. 1970- .
Indexes major business and trade periodicals by subject and by company. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
39.
Business & Industry. 1980-
.
Indexes trade publications covering companies, products, markets and technology
for all manufacturing and service industries. Many articles are full-text.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
40.
Lexis/Nexis
Academic.
Click on "Business" on the menu on the left of the screen. Then search by company
name under "Company
Financial Reports" or "Company Profiles." In
addition, business reference sources and full-text articles from newspapers,
trade journals,
and transcripts are available. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 11/06,mb
Links updated: 11/06,mb