 |
Guide
to Research: Library
Terminology
#: a
symbol for the word "number."
ABSTRACT: 1) brief summary of a book or periodical
article. 2) an index by subject or author, which includes summaries
of periodical articles.
BIBLIOGRAPHY: a list of the books, articles, or
other sources by an author or on a subject.
BIOGRAPHY: a book or periodical article about
a person's life.
BOOLEAN LOGIC: allows you to combine terms with "and" or "or" in
computerized databases. For example, searching "personnel management
and Japan" retrieves citations which contain both terms. Searching "automobiles
or cars" retrieves citations which contain at least one of the
terms.
BROWSER: software, such as Netscape or Internet Explorer,
that displays Web files.
CALL NUMBER (CALL #): a combination of letters and numbers
which indicates the location of library materials. The call number appears
under "Call Number" in the online catalog and on the spine of the book. B
151 .S6 is an example of a call number. (see LIBRARY OF CONGRESS
CLASSIFICATION)
CD-ROM: Compact Disc Read-Only Memory.
CHECK OUT: to borrow library material for use outside the
library.
CIRCULATE: books that circulate may be borrowed for use
outside the library.
CIRCULATION DESK: the counter in the library where books
are borrowed for use outside the library.
CITATION: the information needed to identify and locate
a book or periodical article. This usually includes its author, title, and
date. This information is used to compile a bibliography.
CROSS REFERENCE: a direction from one subject heading to
use another subject heading instead; also called a "see reference."
DATABASE: an organized collection of related information
or data (usually computerized).
DUE DATE: the book should be returned to the library by
this date. The due date is on a slip of paper put into the back of the book
when you check it out. If you return it late, you will be charged a fee.
FOLIO: a very large book (over 35 cm. tall) kept on special
shelves for folios located on the lower level of Lauinger Library.
GELARDIN NEW MEDIA CENTER: films, videotapes, recordings,
and other non-print materials are kept here along with machines for viewing
these. This area, located on the first floor of Lauinger Library, also has
computers for e-mail, word processing, and multimedia, and scanners and other
equipment.
GEORGE: the name of Georgetown University Library's online
computer catalog. GEORGE lists books and periodicals available in Lauinger,
the Blommer Science Library, the Dahlgren Memorial (Medical) Library, and
the Woodstock Theological Center Library. Books can be searched by author,
title, subject, or keyword.
GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS AND MICROFORMS DEPARTMENT: the area
of the library where publications of the U.S. Government are kept, located
on the first floor of Lauinger Library. Microforms are also kept here. (see MICROFORM)
HOLD: a book may be held for you at the Circulation Desk
for 48 hours, usually because it was recalled or because the staff located
a missing book for you.
HTML: Hypertext Markup Language. The HTML coding in a Web
page tells the Web browser how to display the text and images.
HTTP: Hypertext Transfer Protocol. The instructions, or
language, required for transmission of HTML files across the Internet.
IN-LIBRARY USE ONLY: the book must be used within the library
and may not be checked out.
INDEX: 1) periodical index - allows you to find articles
by topic or author. Many periodical indexes are available online. (see RESEARCH
ADVISOR) 2) index of a book - an alphabetical list of names and subjects
(with page references) located at the end of a book.
INTERNET: a high-speed network linking computers and their
users with thousands of information resources.
ISP (INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDER): a company that provides
access to the Internet. Usually for a monthly fee, the ISP gives you software,
a username, password, and an access phone number. To connect to the Internet
with an ISP you will typically need a modem for your computer and a phone
line.
KEYWORD: searching by any word or phrase. For example, if
you want information on how personnel management works in Japan, keywords
would be "personnel," "management," and "Japan."
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION: a system of arranging
books so that they are shelved together by topic. Each book has a call number
(a combination of letters and numbers). For example, most books about Africa
will have call numbers which begin with the letters DT. (see CALL
NUMBER) Outline
of the Library of Congress Classification system
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH): a list of subject headings
used in GEORGE. (see SUBJECT HEADING)
LIMIT: a feature of GEORGE which allows you to reduce the
number of your search results. For example, if you retrieved a large number
of citations, you could select "limit" to ask the computer to find only those
published after a certain year.
LOCATION: in
GEORGE, the information given under "location" tells
which library has the book and in what general area it is kept. Click
on the location for a call
number chart and floor or campus maps.
MICROFORM: a book, magazine, or document which
has been photographed and reduced. Microfilm is a roll of film.
Microfiche are film cards. Microforms are kept in the Government
Documents and Microforms Department, first floor of Lauinger Library.
MULTIMEDIA: software that incorporates graphics, video,
text, and sound into an interactive computer presentation or database of
information.
OFF-CAMPUS
ACCESS: Georgetown faculty, students, and staff
who are currently registered borrowers of the Library have access to many
of the library's subscription databases from computers not on the Georgetown
campus. For more information, see the instructions for off-campus access
at http://www.library.georgetown.edu/indexes/instructions/offcampus.
ONLINE HELP: an online reference service that enables
patrons to ask questions about research, library resources, and library
policies through a realtime instant messenging service.
PDF: Portable Document Format. A file format that
displays images of the original printed document. PDF files are created
using software such as Adobe Acrobat. To view and use the files,
you will need the Acrobat Reader, which you can download for free.
Acrobat will then start automatically whenever you want to look at
a PDF file.
PERIODICAL: a publication that appears at regular
intervals. (see SERIAL)
1) magazine - a periodical for general reading.
2) journal - a specialized or research-oriented periodical.
3) current periodical - recent, paper issues.
4) bound periodical - one that is contained in a hard-backed volume.
PRIMARY SOURCE: a primary source gives first-hand
accounts of an event. Memoirs, diaries, letters, interviews, government
documents, photographs, manuscripts, radio or television broadcasts
are all primary sources. The Library's guide to Finding
Primary Sources http://www.library.georgetown.edu/guides/primary/ gives
more information.
PROXY SERVER: a server that sits between a client
application (your computer) and a real server. The library's proxy
server controls access to remote Web servers, providing access to
the library's subscription databases to valid patrons anywhere in
the world. (See OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS)
QUARTO: a book too large to be put on regular shelves
(over 31 cm. tall). Check the call number to determine which floor
it is shelved on. Each floor has Quarto (oversized) shelving on the
outer shelves of the floor.
RECALL: if a book is checked out, you can have
the Access Services Department recall it for you. The person who
has the book will be notified to return the book to the library.
When it is available, you will be notified that the book is being
held for you.
REFERENCE: the area of the library where encyclopedias,
dictionaries, atlases, indexes, and other information sources are kept. Reference
librarians are available to answer your questions about the library and doing
research.
RENEW: to extend the length of time you may keep a book
you have borrowed.
RESERVES: a collection of books and articles needed for
specific class assignments kept at the Circulation/Reserves Desk. These materials
have short check-out periods and some must be used in the library. Some articles
may be available electronically. To find out what is on Reserve, click on
Course Reserves in GEORGE; search
by professor or course number.
RESEARCH
ADVISOR: a subject listing of the
databases and periodical indexes provided by Georgetown University
Library. http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
SEARCH ENGINE: software which allows you to search
for sites on the Web using keywords.
SERIAL: general term for publications that are issued at
regular intervals. Periodicals, newspapers, and yearbooks are all types of
serials.
STACKS: the shelves where the books are kept. Lauinger Library
has open stacks, which means you must go directly to the shelves to get books.
STATUS: in GEORGE, the information listed under "Status" tells
whether the book is "in library" or whether it is "due" (someone has borrowed
the book) and when it is due back.
STORAGE/OFF CAMPUS STORAGE: some older or little-used books
and periodicals are kept in storage, away from the library. If the book or
periodical you want has the location Riggs Storage or Off Campus Storage,
you will need to ask for it. In the record for the item in GEORGE, click
on "Request Item" and fill out the information requested to have it retrieved
for you.
SUBJECT HEADING: a word or phrase describing what a book
or article is about. (See LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS)
SUDOC NUMBER: Superintendent of Documents numberrefers
to a U.S. Government Document.
TRUNCATION SYMBOL: many databases allow you to
search for different forms of a word by using a truncation symbol,
such as a *. For example: comput* will retrieve compute, computed,
computer, computers, computation, computing.
URL: Uniform Resource Locator. The address of
a file on the Web. URLs are case sensitive and spacing and punctuation
must be exact. The URL provides the exact location of a resource
on the Internet and describes the type of resource, for example:
http://www.library.georgetown.edu/tools asks your computer to use
the hypertext transfer protocol to connect to the computer at www.library.georgetown.edu
and retrieve the file /tools.
WRITING
CENTER: a service center of the
English Department, located on the second floor of Lauinger Library.
Tutors are available to help students organize and write papers. http://www.georgetown.edu/departments/english/writing/wcenter.htm
WRLC CATALOG: online
catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George
Washington, American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount
Universities, the University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown
University. Georgetown students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries
or request items via the WRLC Catalog http://catalog.wrlc.org/.
Please send
us your comments or suggestions
Content updated 12/07 jc |
 |