| I. Market Reports and Brands |
1.
Mintel.
These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as
travel, finance, food, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Data sources
used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research.
Acceptance of "Academic Conditions of Use" and registration are required to use
this database. Also
available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
2.
MarketResearch.Com
Academic.
This database provides full-text market research reports on industries
as diverse
as debit cards, cookies, and the consumer Internet market. Subject covered include Business Services,
Consumer Goods, Demographics, Food & Beverage, Hospitality, Heavy Industry, Life Sciences, Public Sector, and
Technology & Media. Some of the
reports are massive, over 200 pages; however, most of them are at least over
a year old. The more current results will be a brief Executive Summary. Also
available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
3.
Global
Market Information Database: GMID.
Global in scope, GMID provides lifestyle statistics and reports; market data
and analysis; company profiles, market share, and performance indicators; and
market forecasts. Additional information at #40
4.
Business
Insights
Contains over 200 market research reports in five broad categories: Consumer
Markets, Financial Services, Technology, Energy, and Healthcare. Reports are
dominated by a European focus, with additional reports for Asia and the Americas.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
5.
Standard
and Poor's NetAdvantage.
Narrative analyses of over 40 major industries including market developments,
industry statistics, and publicly-traded company financial information. Standard
and Poor's NetAdvantage also provides additional company and industry information.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
6.
Choices
3. CD-ROM Network Instructions.
This annual CD-ROM from Simmons contains data on United States
buying habits
of people based on their media habits. It measures usage of products and
services by brand name, demographic characteristics, exposure to differing media,
and other criteria. The marketing data was collected from more than 22,000
households, then projected to reflect the general population. Updates are
three years old. Purdue
University Tutorial.
7.
Mediamark
Reporter. CD-ROM in Gelardin New Media Center.
This annual statistical source provides data regarding products and magazine
audiences. Market research at the national and top 10 MSA levels lets
users look at tables crossed-tabulated by products, brands, demographics, and
media habits. Defaults to national data. To see Teen Market, B-to-B, Upper Deck
(Affluent), and top 10 local markets, change Show to "Annual" report. This source
is easier to read and use than Choices 3.
8.
Seasons
of Business: The Marketer's Guide to Consumer Behavior. Ref.
HF 415.33 .U6 W35 1992
This sources explains consumer trends for every month of the year. Trends
such as business travel in August, credit cards in November, Super Bowl in January,
spring break in March, and marriage in June are all explained.
9.
North
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) <http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html> ;
Ref. Desk HF 1042 .S73 1997
Describes the United States government's industry classification system and descriptions
for each NAICS code. Many government and business publications use NAICS
or SIC codes to index companies and economic data. Older system used Standard
Industrial Classification Manual: 1987. <http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html> 
10.
Merchandise
Line Sales <http://www.census.gov/prod/ec02/ec0244sxsb.pdf>
Merchandise Line Sales is a part of the Economic Census, retail sector. There
two types of information: by store and by product. For example, in online stores
what is the percentage of different products sold, i.e., 19% computer equipment
and 9.1% prepackaged software. Or who sells more computer equipment and software,
i.e., computer stores 39.1% and online establishments 40.6%.
11.
Encyclopedia
of Marketing Campaigns. Ref. HF 5837 .E53 2000
Arranged by companies, this source describes major ad campaigns of the twentieth
century: Burma-Shave Road Signs, Bud Bowl, Always Coca-Cola, Crying Indian, Bazooka
Joe, Virginia is for Lovers, etc. Each entry includes an overview, historical
context, target market, competition, marketing strategy, outcome, and a further
reading list. The Encyclopedia is updated with the Major Marketing
Campaigns
Annual (Ref. HF 587 .M34).
12.
Brands
and Their Companies. Ref. T 223 .V4 A25 1997
This source lists consumer products (brands) and their manufacturers with addresses
and phone numbers. Companies and Their Brands (Ref. T 223.V4 A253 1997)
is its companion title.
13.
The
World's Greatest Brands. Ref. HD 69 .B7 W67 1996b
This book give brief descriptions of international brands’ history and logos. For
more images of logos use Logos of America’s Largest Corporations (Ref. T 325
.L63 1988) and Living Logos (Ref. T 325 .L58 1993). Living Logos also
shows older logos for the brands.
14.
Market
Share Reporter. Ref. HF 5410 .M35
Contains market share statistics drawn from periodical articles and brokerage
reports. Arranged by SIC code. Indexed by products as well as by
company. International market share is in the Global
Market Information Database
15.
Ad
$ Summary. Ref. Desk HF 5801 .A18
Volume one ranks spending of companies in ten media avenues: magazine,
Sunday magazine, newspaper, outdoor, network television, spot television, syndicated
television, cable TV network, network radio, and national spot radio. It
also includes media spending in 58 industries.
16.
Ad
Age Dataplace. <http://www.adage.com/dataplace/index.html>
This Web site provides advertising industry data such as top 200 brands, interactive
marketplace, circulation rankings, Ad Age best, and 100 leading national advertisers.
Free registration is required.
| III. Markets, Demographics, and
Geographic Information System (GIS) |
17.
American
FactFinder. <http://factfinder.census.gov>
This free web site has Census data from the Decennial Census Summary Files,
American Community Survey Summary Tables, and Economic Census Summary Files. American
FactFinder can create custom tabulations from microdata files; compute simple
statistics; and create a thematic map for a specific geographic place.
18.
Global
Market Information Database: GMID.
Global in scope, GMID includes expenditures patterns, brand
ranking, viewing time per medium, demographics, and much more. Additional
information
at #40
19.
Population
and Household Economic Topics. http://www.census.gov/population/www
Updates population and housing estimates and projections in both PDF and Excel
formats. Data includes reports and summary statistics on population growth
and distribution, age, sex, race, living arrangements, income, as well as computer
use, foreign born, and journey to work.
20.
Lifestyle
Market Analyst. Ref. HF 5415.3 .U6 L54
This annual provides demographic and geographic data for the American population
as well as extensive lifestyle information on the interests, hobbies, and activities
of demographic and geographic markets.
21.
Household
Spending : Who Spends How Much On What. Ref. HC 110 .C6
H68 2003
This guide arranges statistics for spending by age, income, household type, household
size, and other factors for a wide range of products and services. It is
based on the Bureau of Labor Statistics' annual Consumer
Expenditure Survey <http://www.bls.gov/cex/>,
which has a two-year lag time.
22.
MarketResearch.Com
Academic.
Contains reports on demographic groups such as college students, Hispanics, and
affluent markets. See #2 for more
detail.
23.
Market
Guide. Ref. HF 5905 .E38
Contains demographic profile, community resources, retail outlets,
and other
information about selected cities. Published by Editor and Publisher.
24.
Demographics
USA: County Edition. Ref. HF 5415.1
.D46 or CD-ROM. CD-ROM
Network Instructions.
This annual contains demographic, household, consumer expenditures, employment
by occupations, and retail sales for national, state, county, and M.S.A. It
is the expanded version of Survey of Buying Power. Data are also available
for searching and downloading using Demographics USA CD-ROM.
25.
County
Business Patterns. <http://www.census.gov/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html>
County Business Patterns is an annual series that provides county-level economic
data by industry. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring
the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and
analyzing competition. Among items available are total establishments,
employment, annual payroll, first quarter payroll, and number of establishments
by employment size.
26.
Statistics
and Social Science Data. <http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/>
The Statistics and Social Science Data from the University of Virginia provides
local area economic data for states, counties, and metropolitan areas. Statistics
in the database include: personal income and earning variables, full- and part-time
employment variables, transfer payments variables, and much more.
27.
Commercial
Atlas and Marketing Guide. Ref. Atlas Case HG 1019
.R22
Annual atlas with detailed maps and statistics that identifies population
size, population trends, hospitals, schools, prisons, post offices,
wholesale trade,
manufacturing, and basic business data for counties. Published by Rand
McNally and Company.
28.
Geographic Information System (GIS).
Marketing uses of the Geographic Information System (GIS) work for most business environments. GIS lets the user visualize and
analyze geographic data in maps. It can show relationships and patterns in data better than tables, graphs, or charts. The
user can take any geographic-based database and layer the different attributes on an area to do retail trade area analysis, site selection,
media targeting, and much more.
- For simple GIS maps using government data see American Factfinder(http://factfinder.census.gov).
- For historic Population and Housing Censuses use GeoLytics
- Business
Analyst by ArcView is designed for marketing needs.
- Lauinger uses ArcView software. To learn how to use ArcView, make arrangements with the Government Documents
and Microforms Department (202-687-7467).

29.
Ad
$ Summary. Ref. Desk HF 5801 .A18
Use Ad $ Summary to find which media are used in advertising a brand. It
also ranks the major companies by each media. Sometimes the Advertising
Red Book (Ref. HF 5805 .S7) lists the media budget for the company.
30.
Simmons
Choices III.
See description for #6.
31.
Exhibitor
Online <http://www.exhibitornet.com/shows>
Trade shows are another way to market your product directly to wholesalers, retailers,
or consumer.
32.
Interactive Advertising Source.
Directory which lists online advertising opportunities. Listings
include advertising rates, production specifications, audience profiles, site
content descriptions, and other information for advertising on the Internet. It
also includes general articles such as case studies and helpful suggestions,
a glossary of terms, and banner advertising standards. Published by SRDS.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ within
SRDS Media Solutions database.
33.
Business
Publication Advertising Source.
Directory which lists advertising rates and circulations of trade publications
by topical headings: General, Health care, and International. Published
by SRDS (Standard Rate and Data Service). Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ within SRDS
Media Solutions database.
34.
Consumer
Magazine Advertising Source.
Directory which lists advertising rates and circulation for publications
of consumer and farm publications by topical headings. Published by SRDS.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ within SRDS
Media Solutions database.
35.
Direct
Marketing List Source.
This is a directory of mailing list providers, compilers,
and brokers. Select class from Business and International or
Consumer
and
Canadian. Published by SRDS. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ within SRDS
Media Solutions database.
36.
Broadcasting
and Cable Yearbook. Ref. HE 8689 .B77
Focusing on just the broadcast and cable industry, this source provides
an industry overview for the previous year. The bulk of the yearbook lists
television and radio stations by various categories; satellites’ carriers,
programming, brokers; technological services; awards; associations; and
government agencies. Updated annually.
37.
IEG
Sponsorship Sourcebook. Ref.
GT3930 .O38 2005 and Gelardin Media Center MMCD 620 2005
Another way to target your service or product is through sponsorship. This directory
lists opportunities for corporate sponsorship in sports, arts, festivals, causes,
and events. It also provides competitive information on over 4,000 sponsors'
activities and issues.
Published by International Events Group.
38.
Radio
Advertising Source. and T.V.
and Cable Source.
Directories which list commercial stations, sales representatives,
networks, syndicates, and group owners of broadcasting. It
also includes market share and ratings. Indexed by call letters,
state, and format. Since
rates are based on contract negotiations, no advertising rates are given. Published
by SRDS. The T.V. and Cable Source includes international and out-of-home
(hotel, in-flight, movies, etc.) media sources. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ within SRDS
Media Solutions database.
39.
Exporter's
Encyclopedia. Ref. HF 3011 .E9
This annual world marketing guide covers every aspect of soliciting and filling
an export order. The section on export markets provides a country profile,
key contacts, trade regulations, documentation, and marketing data.
40.
Global
Market Information Database: GMID.
Global in scope, GMID provides lifestyle statistics and reports; market
data and analysis; company profiles, market share, and performance indicators;
and market forecasts. Details include expenditures patterns, brand ranking, viewing
time per medium, demographics, and much more. To find your industry use the search
box in the upper left corner. Older data also in European Marketing Data and
Statistics (Ref. Desk HA 1107 .E87) and International Marketing Data and
Statistics
(Ref. Desk HA 42 .I56).
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor
41.
International
Advertising Resource Center <http://www.bgsu.edu/departments/tcom/faculty/ha/intlad1.html>
Created by Louisa Ha, the Research Director of the Gallup Organization,
this site collects literature and information sources useful to international
advertising researchers and practitioners.
42.
ABI/Inform
Complete.
Provides abstracts and many full-text articles from over 1,000 scholarly and
professional journals, covering industries, companies, finance, management,
marketing, accounting, business conditions, and other business topics. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
43.
Business
and Industry.
Indexes trade publications covering products, companies, markets, and technology
for all manufacturing and service industries. Starting in 1993, many
articles are full-text. For older articles (1993-1995) use F&S indexes,
available in the Gelardin New Media Center. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
44.
Factiva
.
Factiva, formerly Dow Jones Interactive, provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers,
trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites,
investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical
market data from nearly 8,000 sources in 22 languages from 118 countries. It also includes links to 9,000 key Web sites,
company reports, and daily pictures from Reuters and Knight Ridder. MUST USE Internet Explorer to view.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
45.
Lexis/Nexis
Academic.
Provides access to full-text publications. Search by industry under "Industry & Market
News." In addition, business reference sources and articles from newspapers,
trade journals, and transcripts are available. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
46.
PR
Newswire. <http://www.prnewswire.com/>
Web site with full-text press releases from companies and wire services.
Examples of subject headings to use in GEORGE,
the library's catalog:
- To find background material on marketing concepts use the following
subject headings:
Export marketing
Consumer - [country]
Market segmentation
Corporations, nonprofit -- marketing
- To find historical information on an industry or company use
the following subject headings:
For other directory information, go to Section
IV. Advertising Media. Marketing
associations can be found at ALA's
BRASS website.
47.
Greenbook: The
International Directory of Marketing Research Companies and Services. <http://www.greenbook.org/INDEX.CFM>
This Web-based directory contains international companies indexed
by the following criteria: company name, research services offered,
market specialties, industry
specialties, computer programs, trademarked products and services, geographic
location, and key personnel listings.
48.
Advertising
Red Book: Agencies. Ref. HF 5805 .S785
Directory of advertising agencies with branches, personnel, accounts, annual
billing, and other information. Commonly known as "Agency Red Book."
49.
Advertising
Red Book: Advertiser. Ref. HF 5805 .S7
Volume one lists companies, including which advertising agency used and advertising
expenditures totals. Volume two provides product categories by state, brand
name, SIC, and personnel indexes. Commonly known as "Agency Red Book."
50.
Gale
Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media. Ref.
Z 6951 .A97
Volumes one and two contain print and broadcast media arranged
by state and city. Volume three provides industry statistics; lists of networks, syndicates,
and publishers; and indexes of the publications by subjects, ethnicity, and
formats. Volume four lists the sources by regional markets. Formerly
the Ayer Directory of Publications. Updated annually.
51. 
World
Chamber of Commerce Directory. Ref. HF 294 .W75
This annual lists US and foreign chambers of commences, tourism
bureaus, embassies, and economic development organizations. Similar
information is also at http://www.chamberofcommerce.com.
| IX. General Sources and Dictionaries |
52.
Advertising
World. <http://advertising.utexas.edu/world/>
Created by University of Texas Advertising Resource Center, this is an extensive
collection of advertising-related links arranged alphabetically.
53.
International
Encyclopedia of Marketing. Ref. HF 5415 .I574 1997
Chapters cover such topics as "Buyer Behavior," "Price Policy," "Business-to-Business
Marketing," and other broad marketing concepts. Each chapter lists the
concept overview and then gives the concept descriptions.
54.
KnowThis . <http://www.knowthis.com>
KnowThis.com is a leading resource and reference site for those involved in marketing,
market research, advertising, selling, promotion, and other marketing-related
areas. KnowThis.com is edited and managed by Paul Christ, Ph.D.
55.
Marketing.gov:
Tools for Success. <http://www.ala.org/ala/rusa/rusaourassoc/rusasections/brass/brassprotools/brasspres/marketing/marketinggovboettcherbibliography.htm>
Bibliography created by Jennifer Boettcher for a conference on the facets of
a business plan and where to get information. See links at the bottom of the
page for more.
56.
Dictionary
of Marketing and Advertising. Ref. HF 5415 .R577 1995
Provides definitions of approximately 5,000 marketing and advertising terms,
acronyms, and abbreviations.
57.
Advertising/Marketing via BII (Business Internet Index) <http://www.library.cornell.edu/johnson/library/BII/lists/marketing.html>
Created by Cornell University's Johnson Graduate School of Management Library,
this page links to the many academic, commercial, and government Web sites
not included in this guide.
58.
Career
Opportunities in Advertising and Public Relations. Ref.
HF 5828.4 .F54 1996
This guide offers information on more than 80 specific jobs, including media
buyer, account executive, hotel publicist, sports information director, and freelance
speech writer. Each entry includes the career ladder, position description,
salary range, employment prospects, training, skills traits, best geographic
location, unions, and tips for entry.
59.
Business
Plans Handbook. Ref. HD 62.7 .B865
This six-volume set contains model business plans, including marketing plans,
for a variety of businesses.
60.
Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising. Ref. HF 5803 .A38
2003
This three volume set contains histories of about major corporations
(advertisers) and marketers (ad agencies) and entries on theoretical,
methodological,and practical aspect of advertising.
61.
Dictionary
of Social and Market Research. Ref. HF 5415.2 .K627
1996
A dictionary of more than 2,500 marketing terms, including definitions for,
and explanations of terms, techniques, and concepts from all areas of social
and market research.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07,
jc
Links updated: 12/07,
jc