A.
Dictionaries
1.
Facts
on File Dictionary of Mathematics. Sci Ref. QA5 .F35 2005
Contains 3,000 brief definitions. Appendixes include Imperial units, symbols
and notations, conversion factors, expansions, integrals, derivatives, powers
and roots, fundamental constants, and the Greek alphabet.
2.
Concise
Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics.
The dictionary covers both pure and applied mathematics as well as
statistics, and there are entries on major mathematicians
and mathematics of more general interest, such as fractals, game
theory, and chaos.
3.
International
Dictionary of Applied Mathematics. SCI Ref. QA5 .I5
1960
Defines the terms and describes the methods in the application of mathematics
to 31 fields of physical science and engineering.
4.
Mathematics
Dictionary. SCI Ref. QA5 .J32 1992
Gives definitions of terms and phrases in various
fields of pure and applied mathematics. Offers general coverage
of arithmetic through calculus plus the fields of probability and
statistics. Includes tables, formulas, and mathematical symbols.
B.
Encyclopedias
5. 
CRC
Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics. SCI Ref QA5 .W45 2003
Entries range in length from one-sixteenth of a page to six pages. Arrangement
is alphabetical without an index, although entries include numerous cross-references.
Bibliographies include Web sites and references. For some images, Mathematica
commands used to create them are included. Also available online under the
name Woldfram MathWorld <http://mathworld.wolfram.com/>
6. 
Encyclopaedia
of Mathematics. SCI Ref QA5 M3713 1995 
A translation, with updates and editorial comments, of the Soviet Mathematical
Encyclopedia. Also available in electronic format in the Science Library .
7.
Encyclopedic
Dictionary of Mathematics. SCI Ref. QA5 .I8313 1993
A scholarly, comprehensive encyclopedia of over 400 medium-length articles
arranged alphabetically. Includes biographical sketches of famous mathematicians
and numerous tables, indexes and appendixes.
8. 
Encyclopedia
of Statistical Sciences. SCI Ref. QA276.14 .E5
Covers quality control, economics, probability,
and statistics. Includes entries on emerging topics in computer-intensive
statistical methodology, genetics, medicine, the environment, and
other applications.
Newer edition available online.
C.
Directories and Biographies
9.
Biographies
of Women Mathematicians. <http://www.agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/women.html> 
Using either a chronological or an alphabetical index, one can explore the
biographies of women mathematicians, which include an explanation of their
mathematical accomplishments, photographs, selected references, and links to
other Web sites related either to a particular woman mathematician or her area
of study in mathematics.
10.
Combined
Membership List. <http://e-math.ams.org/cml/>
The Combined Membership List (CML) includes the names and addresses of all
persons who were members of the American Mathematical Society (AMS), Mathematical
Association of America (MAA), Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
(SIAM), or American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges (AMATYC)
as of the last update. The CML is updated weekly.
11.
The
MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive. <http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history/>
The Mathematical MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive at the School of Mathematical
and Computational Sciences of the University of St. Andrews includes more than
1000 biographies with major mathematicians listed alphabetically and chronologically,
an index of topics, and a birthplace map.
12.
Women
of Mathematics: a Biobibliographic Sourcebook. SCI
Ref. QA 28 .W66 1987
Contains biographies and bibliographies for more than forty women mathematicians.
Entries are arranged alphabetically by name with each entry following the the
given format: biography, work, and bibliography. The bibliography section is
divided into listings of "works by" and "works about" the subject. Appendices
include: a table arranged alphabetically by name giving country of origin,
education, place of work, and field of study; and a list of references in biographical
dictionaries for each subject. Name and subject indexes are provided.
13.
World
Directory of Mathematicians. SCI Ref. QA 30 .W6 1998
The main section consists of an alphabetical
list of mathematicians, giving the addresses of their institutions.
A geographical list, organized alphabetically by country, lists
the names of the mathematicians found in the main section.
D.
Reviews of the Literature
14.
Lecture
Notes in Mathematics. 1964- . SCI QA 3
.L28 
Reports new developments in mathematical research and teaching in a quick and
informal manner. Types of material considered for publication include research
monographs, lectures on a new field, seminars, and reports of meetings.
15.
Pure
and Applied Mathematics. 1952- . SCI QA
3 .P8
Each volume of this monographic series provides an authoritative, in-depth
treatment of a particular topic in the field of mathematics. Examples of subjects
include differential equations, topology, ring theory, set theory, large deviations,
and lie groups. A noted series intended for the researcher and advanced student.
A. Handbooks
16.
Mathematics
Handbook for Science and Engineering. SCI Ref. QA41
.R34 2004
Previously called the Beta Mathematics Handbook, which had a more
descriptive subtitle: concepts, theorems, methods, algorithms, formulas, graphs,
tables.
A good place to check for a wide variety of information, from the volume of
an icosahedron to random number generators.
17.
Handbook
of Mathematics. SCI Ref. QA 40 .B713 1985
Chapters cover the following basic areas of mathematics: tables of constants
and graphs of functions; elementary mathematics; differential and integral
calculus, differential equations and complex numbers; set theory, vector analysis,
differential geometry, Fourier series and integrals, and the Laplace transformation;
probability theory and mathematical statistics; linear optimization; numerical
mathematics and computation techniques; functional analysis; graph theory and
theory of games; and mathematical information processing.
18.
Handbook
of Mathematics and Computational Science. SCI Ref.QA40 .S76
1998
Cover undergraduate engineering mathematics. Topics include analytic geometry,
derivatives, integrals, vector analysis, differential equations, transforms,
boolean algebra, fuzzy logic, neural nets, programming languages, etc.
19.
Mathematical
Atlas. <http://www.math-atlas.org/welcome.html>
This is a collection of short articles designed
to provide an introduction to the areas of modern mathematics and
pointers to further information, as well as answers to some common
(or not!) questions. The material is arranged in a hierarchy of
disciplines, each with its own index page.
20.
NIST
Digital Library of Mathematical Functions. <http://dlmf.nist.gov/>
Online resource of special functions and their applications, intended to serve
as a 21st-century successor or replacement to Handbook of Mathematical Functions
with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables (Sci Ref. QA47 .A34 1970). Still
under development.
B.
Tables
21.
CRC
Handbook of Tables for Probability and Statistics. SCI
Ref. QA 276.25 .B48 1968 
Collection of standard statistical tables. The first section contains tables
of probability and statistics. Twelve shorter sections cover normal distribution;
binomial, Poisson, hypergeometric, and negative binomial distribution; student's
t-distribution; chi-square distribution; F-distribution; order statistics;
range and studentized range; correlation coefficient; nonparametric statistics;
quality control; miscellaneous statistical tables; and miscellaneous mathematical
tables.
22.
CRC
Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae. SCI Ref.
QA 47 .M315 2003
This guide offers easy navigation through a browseable table of contents and
an extensive index. Chapters covered: Analysis, Algebra, Discrete Mathematics,
Geometry, Continuous Mathematics, Special Functions, Probability and Statistics,
Scientific Computing, and Financial Analysis. The last chapter contains useful
information, including electronic mathematical resources.
23.
Dave's
Math Tables. <http://www.geometry.net/math_tables/tables.htm>
Collection of math tables on formulas, theorems, and proofs. Covers algebra,
geometry, trigonometry, and calculus.
24.
MathSciNet.
1940- . 
Searchable Web database providing access to over 55 years of Mathematical Reviews
and Current Mathematical Publications. Sponsored by the American Mathematical
Society in cooperation with mathematical societies and institutes throughout
the world. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
25.
Compendex.
1976- . Blommer Library
Joint COMPuterized ENgineering InDEX and EI Engineering Meetings database.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
26.
Directory
of Mathematics Preprint and e-Print Servers. <http://www.ams.org/global-preprints/>
Provides mathematicians with a tool to find any of these servers in order to
browse the articles posted on them and, in many cases, to post an article to
the server itself. There is an additional link to retired preprint services.
27.
The
Jahrbuch Database: Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics. <http://www.emis.de/MATH/JFM/JFM.html>
This Web site offers information on mathematics from 1868 to 1942, based largely
on reviews from Jahrbuch uber die Fortschritte der Mathematik (JFM).
28.
INSPEC.
1967- . Blommer Library
The database for physics, electrical engineering and electronics, control theory
and technology, and computers and computing. Corresponds to the three publications:
Physics Abstracts, Electrical and Electronics Abstracts, and Computer and Control
Abstracts. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
29.
Science
Citation Index Expanded.
see Web of Science.
30.
Web
of Science, 1980- .
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database that indexes
and abstracts journals in the sciences and social sciences. Distributed by the
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), Web of Science at Georgetown University
is a cumulation of two databases: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social
Sciences Citation Index. In addition to traditional author, title and keyword
searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references -
the footnotes from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant paper
and find other, more recent papers that cite it. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
A. Subject
Search
GEORGE, the online
catalog, uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. These headings
are terms that have been
established
by the Library of Congress to represent subjects. Some examples of
the types of subject headings (SUBJECT searches):
- To find specific concepts or theories:
e.g.
Graph Theory; Fourier Analysis; Functions, Continuous
- To find books on a particular field of mathematics:
e.g.
Calculus; Algebra, Abstract; Geometry, Algebraic
e.g.
Functions; Differential Equations; Probabilities
B. Keyword
Search
When you cannot determine a relevant Library of Congress Subject
Heading or when you want to combine headings, search
by KEYWORD.
This technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings,
and in other fields within the record. If more than one keyword is
used, the search results contain items that include all the keywords.
C. Combined
Search
Perform a KEYWORD search
on GEORGE for one or more of the terms which best describe your search.
For example, calculus and functions. GEORGE will create a set of
records containing both words. If the set is too large, select LIMIT,
then select one of the ways of limiting. From this set, view the
items which seem most relevant. The Library of Congress Subject Headings
assigned to the book will appear in the part of the record labeled "subject." If
the subjects are not visible on the first screen,scroll down further
in the record. If a subject heading looks promising, use it for further
searches. By trying a variety of subject headings for your topic,
you will find the best books for your research.
If you need help with the computer catalog, ask for assistance at
the Science Library Reference
Desk.
| V. Guides to Research in Mathematics |
31.
Using
the Mathematics Literature. QA41.7 .F69 2004
List a wide range of standard texts, important journals, review articles, newsgroups,
and valuable Internet and database tools for every major subfield in mathematics.
32.
The
Math Forum. <http://mathforum.org/>
The National Science Foundation sponsors this academic community-driven virtual
hub for the study of mathematics. All branches of mathematics are covered.
33.
Math
Review 1991 Mathematics Subject Classification. <http://www.ams.org/msc/>
Hypertext version of the Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC).
34.
Mathematical
Journals: An Annotated Guide. SCI Ref Z6653 .L5 1992
Describes 350 mathematics and statistics journals with a few in computer science.
Full bibliographical information is given plus a brief annotation and publication
history.
| VI. Associations and Organizations |
35.
American
Mathematical Society. <http://www.ams.org/> 
The American Mathematical Society was founded in 1888 to further mathematical
research and scholarship. The Society currently has approximately 30,000 members
throughout the United States and around the world. It fulfills its mission
through programs that promote mathematical research, increase the awareness
of the value of mathematics to society, and foster excellence in mathematics
education.
36.
SIAM. <http://www.siam.org/>
Home page of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. Contains SIAM
News and information on upcoming conferences, careers, and professional opportunities.
37.
GAMS:
Guide to Available Mathematical Software. <http://gams.nist.gov/>
A cross-index and virtual repository of mathematical and statistical software
related to computational science and engineering. Maintained by the National
Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
38.
Spanky
Fractal Database. <http://spanky.triumf.ca/>
The largest fractal related WWW page. Includes links to many other fractal
databases and interactive explorers.
39.
Mathematics
Archives. <http://archives.math.utk.edu/> 
Contains course materials, mathematics related software and other information
of interest to mathematicians.
340.
Mathematics
by AMS Classification. <http://www.ams.org/mathweb/mi-mathbyclass.html>
Lists main sections of the 1991 Mathematics Subject Classification with links
to electronic journals, preprints, web sites and pages, databases and other
pertinent material.
41.
Mathematics
WWW Virtual Library. <http://www.math.fsu.edu/Virtual/>
Maintained by the Florida State University Department of Mathematics. Provides
hundreds of links to general math resources on the Web, mathematical software,
electronic journals, and more.
42.
Penn
State Mathematics Information Server. <http://www.math.psu.edu/MathLists/Contents.html>
Provides an extensive list of mathematics servers around the world, electronic
journals, and sources for preprints and software information. Includes
over 1500 entries.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 8/06,
nz
Links updated: 12/07
jc