| I. General Background Sources |
A.
General Reference Works
1.
Dictionary
of the Middle Ages. Ref. D 114 .D5 1982
An excellent place to begin research on any topic related to the Middle Ages.
This thirteen-volume encyclopedia is designed to be the basic reference work
for all fields of medieval studies. In brief and extended articles, it covers
the years 500 to 1500 CE, for all of Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
The bibliographies that accompany most articles stress English works but include
key foreign-language texts and studies.
2.
Encyclopedia
of the Middle Ages. Ref. D 114 .B86 1995
Consists of entries on the people, places, groups, ideas, laws, and institutions
of the medieval period (400-1500 CE), supplemented with many chronologies,
genealogies, a glossary, maps, and appendices of the rulers and dynasties of
medieval Europe and Islam.
3.
Encyclopedia
of the Middle Ages. Ref. D 114 .E537 2000
Over 3000 entries concentrating on the philosophy, theology, spirituality,
liturgy, and iconography of the medieval European world. Supplemental materials
include an index, bibliographies, a table of rulers, maps, and illustrations
(some color).
4.
The
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Medieval Civilization. Ref.
CB 353 .G7
Defines terms, people, places, and events in the Middle Ages. Includes excellent
illustrations, maps, a chronological table, and an index.
5.
Atlas
of Medieval Europe. Ref G 1791 .K6 2000
More than an atlas, this source is a pictorial history the Middle Ages with excellent
graphics and illustrations. Includes brief chronologies within sections, genealogical
tables, and an index.
6.
Lexikon
des Mittelalters Online and International
Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages
This pair of databases is made available together in one search interface.
Although the Lexikon articles are in German, articles in the International
Encyclopedia
are in English. Both are standard resources for medieval studies,
covering the European Middle Ages and the ancient roots of Western,
Byzantine,
Arab, Islamic, and Jewish culture. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/.
B. Country/Area Studies 
There
are a number of medieval cross-disciplinary country- or area-specific
dictionaries and encyclopedias available.
Each provides
a comprehensive introduction to the medieval society and culture(s)
of the region. All include thorough bibliographies for further research.
Titles and call numbers include:
7.
Medieval
England: An Encyclopedia. Ref. DA 129 .M43 1998
8.
Medieval
France: An Encyclopedia. Ref. DL 33.2 .M44 1995
9.
Medieval
Germany: An Encyclopedia. Ref. DD 157 .M43 2001
10.
Medieval
Iberia: An Encyclopedia. Ref. DP99.M33 2003
11.
Medieval
Ireland: An Encyclopedia. Ref. DA933.M43 2005
12.
Medieval
Italy: An Encyclopedia. Ref. DG443.M43 2004 (2 vols.)
13.
Medieval
Scandinavia: An Encyclopedia. Ref. DC 30 .M43 1993
14.
Oxford
Dictionary of Byzantium. Ref. DF 521 .O93 1991
C. Atlases & Chronologies
15.
Atlas
of Medieval Europe Ref. G1791.K6 2000
More than an atlas, this source is a pictorial history the Middle
Ages with excellent graphics and illustrations. Includes brief
chronologies within sections, genealogical tables, and an
index.
16.
The
Cassell Atlas of World History Ref. G1030.C48 2000 v.
2
Provides maps with narratives depicting and describing important developments
in Medieval Europe from the rise of the Carolingians to the early Renaissance.
Also covers the Middle East and Africa. Includes a glossary
of personal names, placenames, and concepts mentioned in the narratives.
17.
Chronology
of the Medieval World: 800 to 1491. Ref. D118.S855 1973b
This year-by-year chronology lists political events and cultural
achievements in Western Europe, the Arab world and several Asian
dynasties. Headings at the top of each page give highlights, and
there is an extensive, detailed index.
D. Biographies
18.
Great
Lives from History: Ancient and Medieval Series. Ref.
Biog. CT 113 .G74 1988
Essays on the early life, life's work, and place in history of non-British
persons from antiquity through the Middle Ages. Includes references for further
study.
19.
The
Rise of the Medieval World, 500-1300: A Biographical Dictionary. Ref.
Biog. CT114.R57 2002
Alphabetical entries provide highlights of lives of
famous medieval personages. Includes a chronology and an extensive
index.
20.
Who's
Who in the Middle Ages. Ref. Biog. CT 114 .S56 2001
Provides brief information primarily about European people places and events
from 390-1410 CE. Also included are a detailed chronology and bibliography,
an index, and helpful subject guides.
| II. Subject
Area Resources |
A. History
21.
Cambridge
Medieval History. D 117 .C3
Authoritative and comprehensive, this eight-volume history of the Middle Ages
includes essays and synopses of subjects normally found in book-length treatments.
Each volume is indexed separately (no master index). Use The Chronology of
the
Medieval World (see #17 above) to find the approximate
date
for an event. Updated by #22.
22.
The
New Cambridge Medieval History. Ref. D 117 .N48 1995
B. Literature & Drama
23.
Classical
and Medieval Literature Criticism. Ref. PN 610 .C53, v.
1-35; continued in Literature
Resource Center.
Offers an introduction to authors and an overview of their works (literary, philosophical,
religious, etc.), as well as criticism of those works. Includes a bibliography.
The library has volumes 1-35, and material published after volume 35 can be found
in part in the Literature
Resource Center database.
24.
A
Companion to the Medieval Theatre. Ref. PN152.C66 1989
Begins with an extensive chronology of medieval drama, followed by
alphabetical entries of drama topics. Also includes
indicies of persons, places, and plays.
25.
Encyclopedia
of Medieval Literature. Ref. PN669.E53 2000
"Describes topics related to medieval literature, including literary
works, authors, historical figures, events, themes, and genres."
Contains two lengths of entries based on breadth of topics. Selected
bibliography included.
26.
Medieval
Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and
Customs. Ref. GR35.M43 2000
Arranged alphabetically, this two-volume work defines common medieval
terms and motifs associated with myths, legends, tales, beliefs,
and customs. Short bibliographies for each topic are provided.
Includes an "index of tale types" as an appendix.
27.
The
New Arthurian Encyclopedia. Ref. DA 152.5 A7 N48 1996
An updated edition that covers Arthurian subjects, artists, and works from the
Middle Ages to the present in art, archeology, literature, film, and other media.
Includes bibliographies, a chronology, and maps.
C. Philosophy
28.
Medieval
Philosophers. Ref.
Biog. PS121.D48 v. 115
Part of the authoritative Dictionary of Literary Biography series,
this volume provides an alphabetically-arranged collection of essay-length
articles for 42 well-known medieval philosophers. Each essay contains
a
list of the philosopher's principal works, including modern critical
editions and English translations of the works, as well as a list of
references
for further research. Also includes several black and white images
of medieval manuscripts and works of medieval art depicting
the philosophers themselves.
29.
A
Companion to Philosophy in the Middle Ages. Ref. B721.C54
2003
Split into two parts, this work first provides the historical context
of medieval philosophy in Part I. Part II consists of an alphabetical
listing of medieval authors. Author articles are quite detailed,
and primary and secondary source bibliographies are provided at
the end of each.
D. Other Topics
30.
The
Early Middle Ages to 1300. Ref.
ML160 .N44 1990 v. 2
Volume 2 of The New Oxford History of Music. Follows the development
of medieval music, beginning with early Christian chant. Includes
many pages of musical notation of medieval works as well as
a lengthy bibliography.
31.
Medieval
Archaeology: An Encyclopedia. Ref. D125 .M42 2001
Provides entries on the major medieval archaeological sites
in Europe. It is especially useful for learning about everyday
life from 500-1500 CE. There are bibliographies for each entry
and helpful country and subject guides.
32.
Medieval
Art: A Topical Dictionary. Ref. N7850 .R67 1996
Provides "a quick reference source for identifying and comprehending
the subjects, stories, symbols, and themes" of medieval art.
Short entries are arranged alphabetically. Includes a short
but highly selective bibliography.
33.
Trade,
Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia. Ref.
HF 1001 .T7 2000
Compilation of information on business and travel from approximately 100 BCE
to 1500 CE in Europe, Africa, and Asia. Includes bibliographies, a chronology,
maps, and index.
A. GEORGE
Books on the Middle Ages are listed by subject, author, and title
in GEORGE, the online
catalog. You can identify the subject headings in three ways:
- Use the Library of Congress
Subject Headings (LCSH), the red volumes shelved in the dictionary
stand, near the Reference Desk.
- Find the subject headings
assigned to a book you know by looking at its record in GEORGE.
- Perform a keyword search
in GEORGE for the term(s) that best describe your search (e.g.,
ethics and Saint Thomas Aquinas). GEORGE will create a set
of records containing all of the words. If the set is too
large, click on "Limit/Sort" and then select from the limit options.
Here
are some examples of medieval studies subject headings.
-
For books on general medieval topics:
Middle Ages
Civilization, Medieval
Women -- Europe -- History -- Middle Ages, 500-1500
- For the medieval history of a country or region:
Germany -- History -- 843-1273
Europe -- History -- 476-1492
Europe -- Social Conditions -- To 1492
-
For a specific event, individual, work of art or literature,
or author:
Hundred Years' War, 1339-1453
Hildegard, Saint, 1098-1179
Gawain and the Grene Knight
Chaucer, Geoffrey, d. 1400
Tip: Remember that there are often variant spellings
of medieval personal names, place names, and terms. For example,
the word "medieval" itself can be spelled "mediaeval." Be
sure to try alternate spellings while searching;
one strategy is to use the Boolean "OR" to search for both terms,
for example:
medieval OR mediaeval
Isolde OR Iseult
There is rarely one perfect or correct subject heading that covers
your search in the catalog. If you need help, ask
a reference librarian.
B. Other
Library Catalogs
-
Library of Congress <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
-
WRLC Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George
Washington, American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount
Universities, the University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown
University. Georgetown students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries
or request items via the WRLC Catalog, or by visiting the libraries
in person.
-
WorldCat Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
A large union catalog representing the holdings of 13,000 libraries,
WorldCat is an excellent tool for identifying titles that are not owned
by Georgetown libraries. Off-campus
access instructions.

34.
Essay
and General Literature Index. 1900- . Ref. AI 3 .E75
Index to collections of essays with emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
The unique aspect of this index is that it cites chapters from books and anthologies.
A list of books cited is located at the end of each volume.
35.
Feminae:
Medieval Women and Gender Index. <http://www.haverford.edu/library/reference/mschaus/mfi/mfi.html>
A searchable index of feminist-oriented literary scholarship on the medieval
period (450-1500 CE) in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. Provides
citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality,
and gender during the Middle Ages.
36.
Humanities
Index. 1984- . (1974-1983 Ref. AI
3 .R471)
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the humanities since 1984, including
medieval studies. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
37.
Iter:
Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
A bibliography of articles and reviews drawn from over 300 medieval and renaissance
journal titles. Covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Indexes
publications from the mid-1800's to the present. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
38.
International
Medieval Bibliography. 1967- .
A bibliography
of the European Middle Ages that indexes periodical articles, conference
proceedings, and essay collections but not books. All subjects
relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range
400-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle
East and North Africa. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
39.
MLA
International Bibliography. 1963-
. (1921-1994 Ref. Z 7006 .M64)
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America and covers scholarship
in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal
articles (75% of the entries), books, and book chapters from multi-author works.
Does not include book reviews. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

A. General Sites
40.
The
Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies. <http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/>
An extensive directory of links in medieval studies, covering graphics, texts,
manuscripts, and other forms of media. Describes medieval culture in the British
Isles, France, Germany, Iberia, Italy, and Scandinavia. Addresses archaeology,
arts and architecture, general medieval history, Latin, manuscripts, music,
philosophy and theology, social and religious history, and the sciences.
41.
NetSERF. <http://www.netserf.org/>
Aiming to index rather than supply directly information about the medieval
period, this site organizes available Web resources into the following categories:
archaeology, architecture, art, culture, drama, history, law, literature,
music, people, philosophy, religion, and science and technology. Also
includes a "Research Center" with links to associations and societies, bibliographies,
conferences and seminars, discussion lists and newsgroups, and other Internet
indexes to medieval resources.
42.
ORB:
On-Line Reference Book for Medieval Studies. <http://the-orb.net/>
Written and maintained by medieval scholars, this comprehensive online textbook
is composed of the "ORB Encyclopedia," a title index of original essays on
medieval studies arranged by topic; a dictionary of medieval terms; online
bibliographies; useful tables, charts, and timelines; and links to medieval
Internet resources, including the full texts of primary sources, many in translation.
43.
WWW
Medieval Resources. <http://ebbs.english.vt.edu/medieval/medieval.ebbs.html>
A directory of medieval resources covering the literature and history of this
period, with links to databases of texts, images, discussion lists, libraries,
and manuscript facsimile archives.
B. Online Text Libraries
44.
The
Middle English Collection. <http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/mideng.browse.html>
Part of the University of Virginia's Electronic Text Center. Free
public access to a large number of Middle English texts, including
important anonymous works as well as those of Chaucer and Langland.
45.
Online
Medieval and Classical Library. <http://omacl.org/>
Provides online access to authoritative modern English translations of
some of the most famous and studied medieval texts.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 1/06,
nm
Links updated: 1/06,
nm