
1.
Catalog
of Nonprofit Literature. <http://lnps.fdncenter.org>
The Catalog covers information on domestic
and international philanthropy and the nonprofit sector by identifying,
indexing, and
abstracting relevant books, articles, and non-print resources. Includes
topics such as fundraising, proposal
development, and revenue-generating activities. Also includes works
related to charitable giving, including project reports, studies,
and statistical analyses. Literature on all aspects of company-sponsored
foundations and corporate giving is included, as are materials related
to the nonprofit sector, its composition, administration, management,
and voluntarism. Also covers publications that discuss the impact
of government policies and funding upon the sector and the legal
and tax implications of local, state, and federal regulation and
legislation. This is a not full-text database. DO NOT USE their
document delivery fee-based system. Use Journal
Finder to find full text of an article
or ask a reference librarian (202 687-7452) or use the Ask
a Reference Librarian service.
2.
Philanthropic
Studies Index (PSI). <http://cheever.ulib.iupui.edu/psipublicsearch/psisearchform.htm>
Index service from various journals maintained by Joseph and Matthew Payton Philanthropic Studies Library of Indiana University. The library will take questions
from researchers outside the University community.
3.
PNN
Online <http://www.pnnonline.org>
Formerly the Philanthropy News Network, PNN Online publishes nonprofit
news and information. Use the search box in the upper left corner
to search for news stories. The site also contains job sources and
opportunities to sign-up for free alerts and electronic newsletters.
4.
New
Nonprofit Almanac and Desk Reference. Ref HD2769.2.U6 N47 2002
This Almanac provides data and analysis from the Independent Sector and Urban
Institute
provides key data and trend analysis about
the nonprofit sector as a whole
5.
PAIS
International
Indexes journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications,
including social and public policy issues.
6.
PolicyFile.
Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public
policy think tanks, research organizations,
and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available,
access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic
mail addresses of the authoring institution.
7.
The
Chronicle of Philanthropy.
The newspaper of the nonprofit world for charity leaders, fund raisers,
grant makers, and other people involved in the philanthropic enterprise,
which contains such articles on donations given.
Access through Academic Search Premier Database, one month embargo.
8. 
Nonprofit
and Voluntary Sector Quarterly.
Public policy research, discussion, and analysis of the nonprofit sector. The official journal of the Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action (ARNOVA).
Available in print in the library and through EBSCOhost.
9.
Stanford
Social Innovation Review.
Articles, ideas, and resources for socially responsible nonprofits, foundations,
and businesses. Access through ABI/Inform Database.
10.
Journal
of Corporate Citizenship.
This international journal covers topics related to corporate citizenship: corporate
responsibility, stakeholder relationships, public policy, sustainability and
environment, human and labor rights/issues, governance, accountability and
transparency, globalization, and small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs)
as well as multinational firms.
Available through ABI/Infom Database.
11.
Voluntas:
International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations.
Voluntas is a journal covering the Third Sector (voluntary and nonprofit organizations). It aims to present leading-edge academic argument around civil society issues. Available from ABI/Inform Database.
12.
Nonprofit
Online News. <http://news.gilbert.org>
A blog for the online and nonprofit worlds.
13.
The
Nonprofit Times. <http://www.nptimes.com>
This website give limited access to some of their articles and research, such as Salary Survey, Top NP, and Job advertising.
14.
National
Center for Charitable Statistics. <http://nccsdataweb.urban.org>
A program of the Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy at the Urban Institute
providing charts from state by state giving to other financial information.
Includes trends, finances, giving, and other subjects of the nonprofit sector.
15.
Establishments
Exempt from Federal Income Tax. <http://factfinder.census.gov>
American FactFinder's data sets from the 2002 Economic Census for all the industries listed under "Exempt from Federal Income Tax". These include industries in the Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services; Educational Services; Arts, Entertainment, & Recreation; and Other Services (Except Public Administration) Sectors.
16.
SOI Tax Stats - Charitable & Exempt Organizations Statistics. <http://www.irs.gov/taxstats/charitablestats>
Here you will find links to the Statistics of Income studies relating to the tax-exempt sector. For each of these areas, there are statistical tables and text articles that include both recent and historical data:
Charities & Other Tax-Exempt Organizations [501(c)(3)-(9)]; Exempt Organizations' Unrelated Business Income Tax [Form 990-T]; Exempt Organizations IRS Master File Data; Private Foundations & Charitable Trusts [Form 990-PF, Section 4947(a)(1)];
Split-Interest Trusts [Form 5227]; Tax-Exempt Bonds [Forms 8038-G and 8038]; and SOI Bulletin Articles & Data Releases.
17.
Lexis/Nexis
Statistical.
Includes the American Statistics Index (ASI), Index
to International Statistics (IIS), and Statistical Reference
Index (SRI). The focus
is on coverage of basic economic, demographic, and social statistics.
For information published by associations or states search in the
SRI only.
18.
Giving
USA. Ref.
HV 89.G5
Annual report on philanthropy issued by the American Association
of Fund-Raising Council. Historical statistics and analysis viewed
by different criteria.
19.
National
Center for Education Statistics. <http://nces.ed.gov/datatools>
Data access tools to compare different educational area: public school
districts, public libraries, academic libraries, and higher education using
Integrated Post secondary Education Data System (IPEDS).
20.
Corporate Contributions.
Conference Board provides survey information from U.S. companies involved in corporate
giving activities going back to 1989. Includes amounts given, interests, and types of
corporate assistance. Also examines the future of corporate philanthropy.
21.
U.S.
Overseas Loans and Grants:Greenbook <http://qesdb.cdie.org/gbk/about.html>
For each country which has received loans
or grants from the U.S. since July 1945, provides statistics on dollar
amounts of various types of assistance. An appendix in the back lists
dollar amounts of assistance from international organizations.
22.
Foundation
Center. <http://fdncenter.org/washington/>
The mission of the Foundation Center is to strengthen the nonprofit
sector by advancing knowledge about U.S. philanthropy. Fosters public
understanding of the foundation field by collecting, organizing,
analyzing, and disseminating information about foundations, corporate
giving and related subjects. Visit the Foundation Center at 1627
K Street, N.W., 3rd Fl, for free classes and assistance.
23.
Independent
Sector. <http://independentsector.org>
Information on what is happening on Capital Hill that affects nonprofits. Up-to-date information about legal and ethical developments impacting the nonprofit sector.
24.
National
Council of Nonprofit Associations. <http://www.ncna.org/>
A network of nonprofit associations that represent more than 20,000 community nonprofit organizations by distributing information and providing training.
Free reports include: Nonprofits & Elections, The United States Nonprofit Sector Report, Rating the Raters and Accountability & Compliance.
25.
Internet
Nonprofit Center. <http://www.nonprofits.org/
The Internet Nonprofit Center was a project of The Evergreen State
Society of Seattle, Washington and is now maintained by Idealist. It offers information for and about
nonprofit organizations in the United States. The Nonprofit FAQ
("Frequently Asked Questions") presents information on
a wide range of topics from Board of Directors to Liability and
Lobbying.
26.
Georgetown
University's Center for Democracy and Civil Society (CDACS). <http://www8.georgetown.edu/centers/cdacs>
CDACS was established to expand and deepen theory, research, and teaching on civil society, that are neither government
nor business, including associations, non-governmental organizations, non-profit organizations, advocacy groups, and
citizen groups. They conduct the Citizenship,Involvement, Democracy (CID) Survey,
about civic engagement and social networks within the context of the United States. The Center also offer extensive links to other resources covering Civil Societies.
27.
Georgetown
University's Center for Public and NonProfit Leadership <http://cpnl.georgetown.edu/pages/cpnl_published_research.cfm>.
As part of Georgetown University’s Public Policy Institute (GPPI) the Center
is a leading education, research and training center dedicated to the development
of public, nonprofit and philanthropic leadership. Their research since 2004
is available online.
28.
Johns
Hopkins Center for Civil Society Studies. <http://www.jhu.edu/ccss/index.html>
The Center seeks to improve understanding and the effective functioning of not-for-profit, philanthropic, or “civil society” organizations in order to
enhance the contribution these organizations can make to democracy and the quality of human life. The Center is part of the Johns Hopkins Institute
for Policy Studies and carries out its work through a combination of research on International Comparative Nonprofit Sector Project, U.S. Nonprofit Employment Data Project,
Listening Post Project, and UN Nonprofit Handbook Project.
29.
Nancy
Bell Evans Center on Nonprofits & Philanthropy.
<http://tools.evans.washington.edu/research/nbec/resources.php>
The Nancy Bell Evans Center on Nonprofits & Philanthropy is part of University of Washington's Daniel J. Evans School of Public Affairs and has links to many resources which enhance the understanding and vitality of the nonprofit sector.
30.
Nonprofit
Sector Research Fund. <http://www.nonprofitresearch.org/>
Established
by the Aspen Institute to provide grants for research on nonprofits.
The website will also give access information concerning more than 400 research projects on a broad range
of nonprofit topics.
31.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. <http://www.icpsr.umich.edu>
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University
Consortium for Political and Social Research. ICPSR is an international archive
of quantitative data, and is located at the Institute for Social Research at
the University of Michigan. Once you have searched and selected data sources, contact Ru Sen Chen (chenrs@georgetown.edu) to retrieve
the
data
sets and code books.
32.
Follow the Money- From Surpluses to School Buses. <http://www.ala.org/ala/rusa/rusaourassoc/rusasections/brass/brassprotools/brasspres/publicfinance/ftmbibappa.htm>
Presentations and Bibliographies on Public Finance at the local, state, federal and international government levels. Event sponsored by American
Libraries Association Business Section.
33.
Higher
Education Resource Hub. <http://www.higher-ed.org/research_centers.htm>
Created by the Eric Lovik, Penn State, this website contains links to higher education research centers around the world. It's a great place to get started to find information about colleges and universities.
34.
Museum
Trustee Association Links. <http://www.mta-hq.org/links.html>
This list provided by the association of museums trustees, gives links to more places to research the museum world.
35.
The
New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. <http://www.nypl.org/research/lpa/internet/lpa.cfm>
This extensive website gives links to websites of interest to those in the performing
arts,
such as Arts Administration, Awards, Dance, Film, General Resources, Music,
Recorded Sound, Television and Radio, and Theatre.
36.
Agency
for Healthcare Research and Quality. <http://www.ahcpr.gov>
This federal government website helps hospitals, consumer plans, and other healthcare issues. Their mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans.

37.
Foundation
Directory.
Ref Desk AS 911 .A2 F65
Information on finances, governance, and giving interests of US grant making foundations with assets greater than two million dollars. Arranged by state.
38.
National
Directory of Nonprofit Organizations. . Ref AS 29.5 .N38
Contains 250,000 listings of nonprofit organizations, indexed by 260 areas of
activity. Indicates income range and IRS tax filing status for each organization.
39.
GuideStar. <http://www.guidestar.org/search>
GuideStar is a searchable database of more than 620,000 nonprofit organizations
in the United States. User will have to registrar to get the free
Basic Service, that verify a nonprofit's legitimacy, learn whether
a contribution will be tax deductible, or view a nonprofit's recent
Forms 990.
40.
Cumulative
List of Organizations Described in Section 170(c) of the Internal
Revenue Code. <http://apps.irs.gov/app/pub78>
Directory, arranged alphabetically, of more than 300,000 organizations eligible for contributions deducible for federal income tax purposes.
41.
Associations
Unlimited .
Lists national, international, and regional associations by broad subject with
a keyword subject index. Each entry gives address, Web site, and brief statement
of purpose.
42.
Washington
Information Directory. Ref. Desk F 192.3 .W33
An annual compilation of federal agencies and non-profit organizations on a wide variety of issues.
43.
Yearbook
of International Organizations. Ref. Desk JX 1904 .A42
International directory of Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO). Arranged
alphabetically with contact information and brief descriptions. Indexed for
geography and fields of interest.
44.
Europa
World of Learning .
International directory of over 30,000 colleges, universities, libraries, research institutes, learned societies, museums and art galleries. Also includes basic contact information on over 200,000 staff and officials at these organizations.
45.
Research
Centers Directory. Ref. Desk AS 25 .D5
Two-volume set listing 14,400 university-related and other nonprofit research organizations established on a permanent basis and carrying
on continuing research programs on a variety of subjects.
46.
NIRA'S
World Directory of Think Tanks. <http://niradb.jp/search/nwdtt/>
International directory from Japan's National Institute for Research Advancement
(NIRA). Each entry lists the think tank's contact information; founding
date; description: purpose, policy areas, and research priorities; budget, staff
size; and officers and directors.
47.
Public
Interest Group Profiles. Ref. JK 1118 .P79
This directory provides a brief overview on national non-profit public interest groups, with information on staff, budget, funding sources,
current concerns, publications, and political orientation.
48.
Washington
Representatives. Ref. Desk JK 1118 .D58
Lists lobbyists in Washington who lobby for American trade
organizations, labor unions, corporations, and public interest groups.
Also lists organizations represented and has an index arranged by
type of industry.
49.
Corporate
Giving Directory. Ref HV 97 .A3 T29 2006
Profiles America's major corporate foundations and corporate charitable giving programs. Includes an index of
50.
Google
Directory - Reference Museums. <http://www.google.com/Top/Reference/Museums>
Website with links to all kinds of museums.
51.
Circulating books in the Library. Current Books
Lauinger Library has many books about how to seek assest nonprofits, some online.
52.
Planning
and Evaluation Resource Center. <http://www.evaluationtools.org>
Step by step guide for devising self evaluations written by the Innovation Center
for Community and Youth Development and the Institute for Applied Research
in Youth Development at Tufts University. Even though this was written for
youth programs, information and tools will help determine resources, identify
evaluation committee, establish goals and purposes for evaluation, etc.
53.
United
Way's Outcome Measurement Resource Network. <http://national.unitedway.org/outcomes>
Designed for health and human service programs, this evaluation resource site offers information, downloadable documents, and links to resources
related to the identification and measurement of program- and community-level outcomes.
54.
List
of Evaluation Glossary Terms. <http://ec.wmich.edu/glossary/glossaryList.htm>
Western Michigan University's The Evaluation Center defines 571 terms potentially used in program evaluations. Great tool for identifying the most appropriate verbiage. Especially useful to individuals new to the process of program evaluation and establishing credibility for the collection of data.
| VIII. Additional Information |
55.
Georgetown
University's Office of Sponsored Program. <http://www9.georgetown.edu/grad/osp/osp_www>.
The Office of Sponsored Programs assist faculty members in identifying funding
sources and supply links to electronic application forms and guidelines;
assist in budget and proposal preparation; review and approve all grant and
contract
proposals to outside agencies; negotiate awards on behalf of the University;
establish University cost centers for sponsored activities; and other activities. officers and directors by Alma Mater.
56.
SOCRATES
SOCRATES has in-depth profiles of over 650 US and international major corporations. Corporate
social responsibilities issues covered relate to community, diversity, employee
relations, environment, non-US operations, products, alcohol, tobacco, gambling,
nuclear power, and military contracting.
57.
Dictionary
of Civil Society, Philanthropy, and the Non-Profit Sector. Ref. HV
12 .A64 2005
The dictionary contains some 600 definitions, including 348 concepts, 160 organizations (e.g., Amnesty International, Oxfam), and 100 persons
of importance (e.g., Andrew Carnegie, Karl Marx). It will benefit anyone who has ever been confused about the differences (and similarities) between nonprofit organizations, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), charities, and related entities.
58.
FirstGov.gov
for Nonprofits <http://www.firstgov.gov/Business/Nonprofit.shtml>
This is a starting point to help nonprofit organizations access online Federal information about grants from government agencies, regulations,
taxes, and other services as well as information on a wide range of other topics and programs.
59.
Internet
Resources for Nonprofits. <http://www.uticapubliclibrary.org/non-profit/directory.html>
Comprehensive list of free websources collected by Utica Public Library. Note red links are good starting points, the librarians also marked "best bets."
60.
Yahoo
Nonprofit Resources. <http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Issues_and_Causes/Philanthropy/Nonprofit_Resources/>
Links to information, tools, consultants, and data concerning not-for-profits.
61.
Nonprofit
Expert. <http://www.nonprofitexpert.com>
Published by Minges & Associates, LLC, a consulting company, this website
provides information and assistance for nonprofit organizations on a diverse
range of topics. They also provide more than 6,000 links to additional resources for nonprofit leaders, board members, and staff.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 09/07
jb
Links updated: 09/07
jb