| I. Background on Health and Social Issues |
A. Sourcebooks/Directories
1.
American
Homelessness. Ref. HV 4505 .H647 2001
2.
An
Atlas of Poverty in America: One Nation, Pulling Apart, 1960-2003.
Ref. HC 110 .P6 G543 2006
3.
DIRLINE:
Directory of Health Organizations <http://dirline.nlm.nih.gov/>
4.
Disabilities
Sourcebook. Ref. HV 1553 .D544 2000
5.
Domestic
Violence Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information... Ref.
HV 6626 .D685 2004
6.
Ethnic
Diseases Sourcebook. Ref. RA 563 .M56 E838 2001
7.
Handbook
of Death and Dying. Ref. HQ 1073 .H36 2003
8.
The
New Harvard Guide to Women's Health. Ref.
RA 778 .C2164 2004
9.
Sex
and Sexuality. Ref. HQ 21 .S4716 2006
B. Encyclopedias 
10.
Adolescence in America: an Encyclopedia . Ref. HQ 796 .A33247 2001
11.
Encyclopedia
of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior. Ref. HV
5804 .E53 2001
12.
Encyclopedia
of Environmental Issues. Ref. GE 10
.E52 2000
13.
Encyclopedia of Gerontology. Ref. RC 9525 .E58 2007
14.
Encyclopedia
of Health Care Management. Ref. RA 971 .E52 2004
15.
Encyclopedia
of Homelessness. Ref. HV 4493 .E53 2004
Includes an entry for Washington, D.C.
16.
Encyclopedia
of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America. Ref.
HQ 76.3 .U5 .E53 2004.
17.
Encyclopedia
of Mental Health. Ref. RC 437 .K34 2001
18.
Encyclopedia
of Public Health. Ref. RA .E53 2002
19.
Encyclopedia
of Social Work. Ref. HV 35 .S6 1995
20.
Gale Encyclopedia
of Multicultural America.
In Gale
Virtual Reference Library. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/.
21.
Health
Care Policy and Politics: A to Z. Ref.
RA 395 .A3 R685 2003
22.
International
Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family. Ref.
HQ 9 .E52 2003
C. Web Sites
23.
Center
for AIDS Prevention Studies <http://www.caps.ucsf.edu/>
Includes fact sheets, a bibliography, and research projects. Some materials
available in Spanish.
24.
The
Center for Health and Health Care in Schools <http://www.healthinschools.org/>
Site includes links to state resources for school health.
25.
Centers
for Disease Control <http://www.cdc.gov/>
26.
EnviRN <http://www.envirn.umaryland.edu>
Environmental health and nursing links.
27.
FEMA <http://www.fema.gov>
28.
Health
Resources and Services Administration: HIV/AIDS Bureau <http://hab.hrsa.gov/>
29.
Institute
of Medicine. <http://www.iom.edu/>
Part of the National Academies, a not-for-profit, non-governmental
organization, founded to provide national advice on issues related
to health, medicine, and biomedical science. Its research report
are available on the web site.
30.
National
Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Network <http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health>
Information about heart, vascular, lung, and blood diseases and sleep disorders.
31.
National
Institutes of Health: National Institute of Allergy and Infectious
Diseases <http://www.niaid.nih.gov/default.htm>
A number of publications, including health information fact sheets on such
topics as AIDS, sexually transmitted diseases, and women's health, are available
from <http://www3.niaid.nih.gov/PubsOrderForm/default.asp>.
32.
School
Health Resources. <http://www.schoolhealth.org>
Web site of the American Academy of Pediatrics Council on School
Health. Has links to other resources on school health.
33.
Statistical Resources on the Web:
Health <http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/sthealth.html>
Comprehensive and specific topics with links to orgainizations, electronic publications, research and educational resources containing to health statistics.
34.
Transcultural
and Multicultural Health Links <http://web.nmsu.edu/~ebosman/trannurs/>
Resources on health care and related issues for cultural, ethnic, religious,
and other groups.
35.
LexisNexis
Academic
Provides access to the full-text of newspapers, magazines, journals, and broadcast
transcripts, including the Washington Post and Washington Times. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
36.
Medline. 1966-
. 
MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature,
and International Nursing Index, and other sources, in the areas of allied
health, biological and physical sciences, communication disorders, population
biology, and reproductive biology. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ Free
access to Medline is provided through PubMed <http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/>.
37.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (EBSCO Host).
Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
38.
P.A.I.S
International.
One of the best sources for information on politics and public policy. Indexes
not only journals but books and government documents since 1915. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
39.
PolicyFile.
Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy
think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers.
Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text
of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
40.
Proquest
Research Library.
Provides indexing, abstracting, and some full-text entries for a number of
scholarly and general interest periodicals. Covers a very broad range of topics
and sources, including health and social issues. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
41.
Social
Sciences Index.
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, since 1983. For
earlier years, use Humanities
& Social Sciences Retrospective. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
42.
Sociological
Abstracts. 1963- .
The primary index to journals in sociology. Arranged by broad subject categories
with author and subject indexes. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| III. U.S. Government Information |
43.
GPOAccess <http://www.gpoaccess.gov/>
Through GPOAccess the U.S. Government Printing Office provides free electronic
access to Federal Government Information. It also provides links to many
government sources, including Firstgov, the U.S. Government's official
web portal for dissemination of information.
44.
LexisNexis
State Capital
"Issues" link allows for searching by topic and
by state of publications covering legislative activity and newspapers
of record.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
A. General

45.
Fedstats<http://www.fedstats.gov/>
More than 70 agencies in the U.S. Federal Government produce statistics
of interest to the public.
46.
LexisNexis
Statistical.
An index and abstract to U.S. economic, demographic, industrial, and social
statistics covering the years since 1990. Note: For earlier years use the printed
index American Statistics Index (ASI) in Government Documents.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B. Socio-economic
Statistics

47.
Census
2000 - American Fact Finder. <http://factfinder.census.gov/>
The Census presents
detailed statistics on age, sex, race, origin, marital status, household relationships,
units in structure, value and rent, number of rooms, tenure, and vacancy characteristics
at various levels (tract, block, county). For updated information, e.g., 2005,
use the
American Community Survey,
an annual survey of selected households. Use the link from American
Fact Finder or go to http://www.census.gov/acs/www/index.html.
For assistance with
using
Census
data,
please
ask the Government
Documents staff.
48. 
County
and City Data Book (2000). <http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.htm>
Ref HA 202 .A36 2000 or Gov. Docs. C3.134/2:C83/2/2000
Tables by state, county, city, and place (with population of 2500 or more)
include figures on government finance, services, hospitals, vital statistics,
health care, crime, housing, employment, and education. Note:
1944 through 2000 versions are available online at: <http://fisher.lib.Virginia.edu/ccdb/>
49.
Employment
and Earnings. Lau Periodical Stacks, Gov. Docs. L2.41/2: and Proquest
Research Library.
National, state, and local employment statistics. Monthly. Related information
from the Bureau of Labor Statistics: <http://www.bls.gov/sae/home.htm>.
50. 
State
and Metropolitan Area Data Book
<http://www.census.gov/compendia/smadb/>
Includes statistics for metropolitan areas and states on a range of social
and economic characteristics. Print version: Gov. Docs. C3.134/5:
51. 
Statistical
Abstract of the United States <http://www.census.gov/prod/www/statistical-abstract-1995_2000.html>
A convenient annual compilation of statistics on a wide range of topics. Includes
figures for population, birth rate, death rate, and infant mortality rate for
the U.S., states, and the District for various years. Begin by using the index
at the back; look for references to the source of the statistics. Print
version: Ref. Desk HA 202 & Gov. Docs. C3.134:
52.
U.S.A.
Counties <http://censtats.census.gov/usa/usa.shtml>
Gives U.S., state, and county totals for statistics on age, ancestry, education,
crime, government, housing, income, population, and
vital statistics.
C. Vital
and Health Statistics 
53.
District
of Columbia Department of Health <http://doh.dc.gov/doh/site/default.asp>
Selected
recent health statistics are available from the D.C. Department of Health Web
site.
54.
District
of Columbia Healthy People 2010 Plan <http://www.dchealth.dc.gov/doh/cwp/view,a,1370,q,574815,dohNav_GID,1787,dohNav,%7C33139%7C.asp>
The plan addresses promotion of healthy behaviors and healthy and
safe communities, access to health care, and prevention or reduction
of targeted diseases and
conditions. Includes tables for vital and health statistics.
55.
Medicare. <http://www.medicare.gov/>
Provides information on health plans, nursing homes, dialysis facilities, Medigap
policies, contacts, Medicare events, participating physicians, suppliers,
and prescription assistance programs.
56.
National
Vital Statistics Reports. <http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/pubs/pubd/nvsr/nvsr.htm>
Provisional statistics on births, marriages, divorces, death, and other characteristics
of the population. (Formerly Monthly
Vital Statistics Report http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/pubs/pubd/mvsr/mvsr.htm)
57. 
Morbidity
and Mortality Weekly Report <http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/>
Includes very current statistics on disease and death. Some statistics, including
AIDS and VD, are given by geographical area. Note: Print version ends November
2000 (Gov. Docs. HE20.7009:). Current issues online.
58.
Reports
on HIV/AIDS. Gov. Docs. HE20.7009/5:.
Compiles articles on HIV and AIDS which were published in the Morbidity and
Mortality Weekly Report (#47). More information on HIV/AIDS
is available from the Centers for Disease Control Divisions of HIV/AIDS Prevention <http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/dhap.htm>.
59. 
Vital
Statistics of the United States. Gov. Docs. HE20.6210:
Volume 1 includes detailed statistics on natality (birth) by state, county,
and city. Volume 2 covers statistics on mortality. Volume 3 covers marriage
and divorce. Note: The National Center
for Health Statistics Web site provides a wealth of useful vital statistics
information and data: <http://www.cdc.gov/
nchswww/>.
A.
General
60.
Almanac
of American Politics. Ref. Desk JK 271 .B343
This directory gives a brief description of the political and demographic character
of each Congressional district and state, including the District of Columbia.
61.
Cities
Ranked and
Rated. Ref. HN 60 .C58 2004
Rates and describes over 400 U.S. and Canadian metropolitan areas by categories
such as climate, health care, crime, transportation, education, arts, leisure,
quality
of life,
economy, and jobs.
62.
Municipal
Year Book. Ref. JS 344 .C5 A24
Brief information includes city and county revenues, expenditures, employment,
salaries, information sources, directories, officials, organizations, and agencies.
B. Local
Organizations and Institutions 
63.
District
of Columbia Government web site <http://www.dc.gov>
64.
Washington:
A Comprehensive Directory of the Key Institutions and Leaders of
the National Capital Area. Ref. Desk F 192.5 .W31
An annual directory of the significant public and private institutions of the
metropolitan area and the people who lead them. Includes approximately 4000
organizations.
65.
Washington
Information Directory. Ref. Desk F 192.3 .W33
An annual compilation of federal agencies and non-profit organizations in the
Washington metropolitan area that can provide information on a wide variety
of subjects. Includes a name and subject index. Online in CQ's Political
Reference Suite.
66.
Yahoo
Yellow Pages <http://dir.yahoo.com/Regional/U_S__States>
Dahlgren Memorial Library
(Medical Center) <http://www1.georgetown.edu/dml/>
Preclinical Science Building, ground level (202)687-1666
Hours: M-Th 8-11:30, F 8-8, Sat 9-6, Sun noon-11:30
Note: Dahlgren Library materials are included in GEORGE.
National Reference
Center for Bioethics Literature (Kennedy Institute of Ethics Library
- Georgetown University)
<http://bioethics.georgetown.edu>
102 Healy Building (202)687-3885
Hours: M-Th 9-5 During the academic year, also open Sat 12-5. Closed
Fridays, university holidays, and Saturdays before Monday holidays.
A collection of books, journals, and other materials on ethical issues in medicine
and biomedical research. Check GEORGE for
library holdings.
District of Columbia
Martin Luther King Library <http://dclibrary.org/>
901 G Street, N.W.
Washingtoniana Room, 3rd Floor (202)727-1213
Hours: Tu, 10-9; M,W,Th, 10-7; F-Sat, 10-5:30; Sun, 1-5
The best source for vital and socioeconomic statistics on D.C. This
exhaustive collection contains annual planning reports, health reports
by the D.C. Department of Human Services, population statistics by
ward, and 1990 Census data. Available data includes income, household
size, employment, the media, and education. Also available are subject
files on many topics, including individual neighborhoods, compiled
from Post clippings and other sources.
Metropolitan Area Council of Governments <http://www.mwcog.org/>
777 North Capitol Street N.E., Suite 300
Information Center, (202)962-3200
Hours: M-F, 1-5
The Center collects information on housing, transportation, and
government. Of primary interest is the COG Census Report Series,
documents based on extractions of socioeconomic data from the Census.
Virginia
Fairfax County Library <http://www.co.fairfax.va.us/library/>
3915 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA
Virginia
Room, (703)246-2123, <http://www.co.fairfax.va.us/library/branches/vr/default.htm>
Hours: M-Th, 10-9; F, 10-6; Sat, 10-5; Sun, 12-6
Comprehensive collection of statistics and reports, including Virginia
Department of Public Health's Vital Statistics, Fairfax County Profiles,
and Northern Virginia Health and Human Services Directory. Up to
date sources include: Standard Report of the County for sub-census
tract data on population, housing, density, land use; subject files;
index to local newspapers. Useful information can also be found in
the Northern Virginia Data Book and the Virginia Statistical Abstract.
Arlington
County Library <http://www.co.arlington.va.us/lib/index.htm>
Central Library
1015 North Quincy
Arlington, VA
Virginia
Room, (703)228-5966, <http://www.arlingtonva.us/Departments/Libraries/history/LibrariesHistoryLocalHistory.aspx>
Hours: M,T,Th,Sat, 10-5; W, 1-9; F, Sun, Closed
Maintains state annual reports, census materials, subject files,
and other sources which give demographic trends and health information.
Newspapers include "Virginia Weekly" section of Washington Post,
Northern Virginia Sun, Arlington Courier, and the Arlington Journal.
The index to these local newspapers uses the same index terms as
the subject files. Note: To use the Virginia Room, you must register
and leave an ID at the desk, deposit coats and personal items in
a locker, and not use pens.
Arlington County Library, Plaza Library
2100 Clarendon Boulevard, First Floor Lobby
(near Courthouse Metro)
Arlington, VA
Government
Reference Library,(703)228-3352, <http://www.arlingtonva.us/Departments/Libraries/about/LibrariesAboutGovref.aspx>
Hours: M-F, 8-5
The focus of the collection is local government; includes census
material for Arlington.
Maryland
Montgomery County
Dept. of Public Libraries <http://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/library>
Rockville
Regional Library <http://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/apps/libraries/BranchInfo/ro.asp>
99 Maryland Avenue
Rockville, MD
(240)777-0140
Hours: M-Th, 9:30-8:30; F, 10-5; Sat, 9-5; (Sept.-June) Sun hours, 1-5
Selected Montgomery County documents.
Prince George's County Library <http://www.prge.lib.md.us/>
6532 Adelphi Road
Hyattsville, MD
Adult Information Desk, (301)985-4690
Hours: M-Th, 10-9; Fri, 10-6 Sat, 10-5, (Sept.-mid-June) Sun, 1-5
County reports, data from 1990 Census, a pamphlet file, and selected
materials on Prince George's County.
Area University Libraries
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.
| VII. Professional Organizations |
American Public Health Association <http://www.apha.org/>
American
School Health Association <http://www.ashaweb.org>
Association of Nurses in AIDS
Care <http://www.anacnet.org/>
Founded in 1987 to address the specific needs of nurses working in HIV/AIDS.
Associations
Unlimited.
Information about thousands of local, national, and international organizations.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 5/08,mb
Links updated: 5/08,mb