A. Encyclopedias
- General 
1. 
Encyclopedia
of Philosophy. Ref. B 51 .E53 2006
Extensive articles by distinguished international scholars on important philosophers,
philosophical theories, and concepts. Includes Eastern, Western, ancient,
medieval, and modern philosophy, as well as theories from other fields which
have had an impact on philosophy. Signed articles include bibliographies. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
2.
Routledge
Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Ref.
B 51 .R68 1998
Recent scholarship by world renowned scholars on new concepts, traditional
themes, and emerging schools. Comprehensive coverage of Anglo-American
philosophy and extensive coverage of the philosophy of other cultures. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
3.
Blackwell
Companion to Philosophy. Ref. B 21 .E56 2003
Detailed overviews of
recent work in all areas of philosophy. Each section includes boxed
discussions on key points, cross-references, discussion questions, suggestions
for further
reading, and a glossary.
4.
Concise
Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy and Philosophers. Ref.
B 41 .U7 2005
Brief, readable articles on important ideas and influential philosophers. Includes
photographs and portraits of many philosophers.
5.
Encyclopedia
of Classical Philosophy. Ref. B 163 .E53 1997
Recent scholarship on twelve centuries of Greek and Roman thought is included
in thematic articles and in discussions of individual philosophers.
6.
New
Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Ref. CB 9 .N49 2005
Extensive, authoritative, articles on the history of important ideas in an encyclopedic
format;
includes
key philosophic concepts.
7.
World
Philosophers and Their Works. Ref. B 104. W67 2000
Introductory articles include an abstract on the philosopher's significance,
a list of his/her works, a brief biography and an analysis of one or more major
works. This new, three-volume edition includes non-western thinkers and
women philosophers.
8.
Internet
Encyclopedia of Philosophy. <http://www.utm.edu/research/iep/>
Detailed, scholarly information on key philosophical topics written by professional
philosophers. The information is freely available but navigation
is via alphabetical index and there are few links between entries. Aimed at
lower and upper-level undergraduates.
9.
Stanford
Encyclopedia of Philosophy. <http://plato.stanford.edu>
This scholarly, full-text encyclopedia is being developed by Stanford
University. High standards of quality and authority: sophisticated, easy-to-use
interface. Brief definitions are followed by deep analysis. Aimed at undergraduates
through professionals.
B.
Encyclopedias - Special Topics
10.
Companion
Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy. Ref. B 121 .C66 1997
Essays on the philosophical, ethical, and theological traditions in Asian
thought. Scholarly
examination of origins, important figures, and issues within Persian, Indian,
Buddhist, Chinese,
Japanese, and Islamic philosophy.
11.
Companion
to Philosophy in the Middle Ages. Ref. B 721 .C54 2003
Background articles on the history of the Middle Ages. Another section covers
important authors; major figures such
as Augustine
and Aquinas receive in-depth coverage. Entries include bibliographies.
12.
Edinburgh
Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy. Ref. B 803. E35 1999
Covers the central movements, authors and themes of continental, as opposed
to analytical philosophy.
13.
Encyclopedia
of Aesthetics. Ref. BH 56 .E53 1998
Surveys over 600 articles on the major concepts and thinkers related to art,
culture, and society,
including many philosophical topics.
14.
Encyclopedia
of Applied Ethics. Ref. BJ 63 .E44 1998
Examines ethical theories and concepts, and applies philosophical thinking
to a broad range of practical problems. Articles are clearly organized
and presented with an outline, glossary, cross-references, and a bibliography. Four
volumes.
15.
Encyclopedia
of Asian Philosophy. Ref. B 121.E53 2001
Important thinkers and ideas in Asian philosophy are examined in short and longer
entries which are cross-referenced and include lists of further reading.
16.
Encyclopedia
of Bioethics. Ref. QH 332 .E52 2004
Contains detailed articles on ethical issues affecting the life sciences. Includes
a bibliography at the end of each article and an extensive index.
17.
Encyclopedia
of Chinese Philosophy. Ref. B 126. E496 2003
Covers major periods and thinkers in the history of Chinese philosophy. Articles
are written from a broadly philosophical standpoint and from both Chinese and
Western perspectives.
18.
Encyclopedia
of Empiricism. Ref. B 816 .E53 1997
Information on individuals, topics, or doctrines which relate to empiricism
either as a historical movement or as a broader tendency of thought. Each
entry contains a brief bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
19.
Encyclopedia
of Ethics. Ref. BJ 63 .E45 1992
Current coverage of over 400 topics on philosophical ethics. Each entry
includes a bibliography.
20.
Encyclopedia
of Modern French Thought. Ref. DC 33.7 .E55 2004
Lengthy, signed articles on individuals, influential theories, and
key themes across a variety of disciplines (anthropology, classics,
linguistics...); Includes a thematic list of topics, chronologies
of events, biographies, lists of selected writings, and
further
readings.
21`.
Encyclopedia
of Phenomenology. Ref. B 829.5 .E53 1997
Scholarly essays on phenomenological thought both within philosophy and on
a variety of topics linked to it. A useful introduction defines phenomenology
and contrasts it with other philosophical movements. Includes bibliographies.
22.
Encyclopedia
of Postmodernism. Ref. B 831.2. E63 2001
Comprehensive coverage of academic disciplines, critical terms, and central
figures in the field of postmodern studies. Entries are listed alphabetically
and cross-referenced.
23.
Encyclopedia
of the Enlightenment. Ref. B 802 .E53 2003
This highly regarded work covers the developments of European culture from
the 1670's to the early 19th century. Includes over 700 entries (many
biographical) of varying length. See also the encylopedia of the same title
at Ref. B 802 .D491613, translated from the French, which emphasizes France
and
omits
biographical
articles.
24.
Ethics. Ref.
BJ 63 .E54 2005
Accessible articles outline the parameters of debate on a wide range
of ethical topics. Includes illustrations, cross-references, and
lists of further readings.
25
Fifty
Key Contemporary Thinkers: From Stuctrualism to Postmodernity. Ref.
B 804 .L37 1994
Offers an overview of each thinker's work and biographical information. Lists
the subjects major writings and suggestions for further reading.
26.
MIT
Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences. Ref. BF 311 .M556 1999
The Massachusetts Institute of Technology source emphasizes the role of philosophy
in the cognitive sciences. Some topics are philosophy of mind, science,
and language; formal and philosophical logic; and traditional metaphysics and
epistemology. Covers other disciplines of the cognitives sciences, especially
psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, evolutionary biology, anthropology,
computer science, and ethology.
27.
Routledge
Companion to Aesthetics. Ref. BH 21 .R68 2001
Longer essays on the history, theories, major figures, individual arts (painting,
literature,...) and issues of aesthetics.
C. Dictionaries
28.
Blackwell
Philosopher Dictionaries. Various Call Numbers
Dictionaries of words central to the works of individual philosophers. Current
holdings include dictionaries for Descartes, Hegel, Hobbes, Locke, Rousseau,
and Wittgenstein. For call numbers, check GEORGE under
the title "Blackwell Philosopher Dictionaries."
29.
Cambridge
Dictionary of Philosophy. Ref. B 41 .C35 1995
An authoritative philosophical dictionary with signed entries by distinguished
international scholars. Contains clear, substantive definitions of philosophical
terms, and everyday terms which have a special philosophical usage. Includes
entries on individuals, but not living philosophers. Emphasis is on the
Anglo-American analytical tradition. Online version is the second edition.
30.
Dictionary
of Continental Philosophy. Ref. B 41 .D46 2006
Designed to complement the Edinburgh Encylopedia of Continental
Philosophy (#12), this work offers relatively brief, but substantive entries
on a wide range of subjects, including major thinkers, technical terms,
and special topics.
31.
Penguin
Dictionary of Philosophy. Ref. B 41 .M38 2005
Extensive coverage of the Western tradition in logic, metaphysics,
ethics, and epistemology from c. 600 BC to the present day. Many
contributors worldwide.
32.
Dictionary
of World Philosophy. Ref. B 41 .I 26 2001
Definitions of terms from a variety of philosophical traditions worldwide. Entries
may point out the contributions of differing traditions on a topic, and include
extensive social, cultural and historical background. Biographical information
is included only as it relates to the term being defined.
33.
Oxford
Companion to Philosophy. Ref. B 51 .O94 2005
This highly regarded dictionary is the work of many eminent philosophers. Coverage
emphasizes contemporary Anglo-American philosophy, but includes all major philosophical
systems and philosophers.
34.
Oxford Dictionary
of Philosophy. Ref. B 41 .B53 2005
Covers Eastern and Western philosophy, major figures, terms from other
disciplines embedded in philosophy, and many phrases particular to
philosophy. Authoritative, single-author work; includes a
10,000 yr. chronology and an explanation of logical symbols.

A. Books can provide useful information on a topic. Use GEORGE,<http://catalog.library.georgetown.edu/>,
the online catalog of Lauinger Library, to find books by subject, title, or
author.
To search by SUBJECT:
GEORGE uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. These are
the topics assigned the book by the Library of Congress. Some
are obvious and can be guessed, i.e., Kant, Immanuel or existentialism. Many
are not obvious and may be composed of several words, i.e., Ethics,
Modern--20th century.
Two ways of finding the Library of Congress Subject Headings for
a topic are:
Consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings, the large red
volumes shelved in the dictionary stand, near the Reference Desk.
Perform a KEYWORD search on GEORGE for one or more of the terms
which best describe your search. For example, Kant and reason. GEORGE
will create a set of records containing both words. If the
set is too large, select LIMIT, then select one of the ways of limiting.
From this set, view the items which seem most relevant. The
Library of Congress Subject Headings assigned to the book will appear
in the part of the record labeled "subject." If the subjects
are not visible on the first screen, scroll down further in the record. If
a subject heading looks promising, use it for further searches. By
trying a variety of subject headings for your topic, you will find
the best books for your research.
For works about a philosopher, perform a subject search using the
philosopher's name. You can then scroll down to see the subdivisions
the Library of Congress has created for that philosopher, for example:
Schopenhauer, Arthur 1788-1860
Schopenhauer, Arthur 1788-1860
Schopenhauer, Arthur 1788-1860
|
-Criticism and interpretation
-Influence
|
53
5
4 |
The number to the right is the number of records in GEORGE on that
topic. Since there will not be a subdivision for all possible
topics, also check the set of items under the name (without qualifiers)
at the top of the list. If the set is large, you may want to
use the LIMIT command.
B. Other Library Catalogs 
Library of Congress <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
While GEORGE lists over 1.7 million items, the LC catalog lists over 29 million
books. As with WorldCat, it is useful for identifying items which exist,
but which Lauinger does not own.
WRLC Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities,
the University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the
WRLC Catalog.
WorldCat is
a catalog consisting of over 56 million records representing the
holdings of 9,000 U.S.libraries and some worldwide. The interface
is user-friendly and gives locations (often local) of materials.
Items may be listed multiple times, with different locations for
each listing. Request books or articles through Interlibrary
Loan. Available via the Library
Homepage, under "Catalogs."
| III. Guides to the Literature / Bibliographies |
Guides to the Literature
35.
Philosophy:
A Guide to the Reference Literature. Ref. Z 7125
.B97 1996.
This is a guide to reference books in philosophy. Sources are arranged
by type (dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.) and the emphasis is on reasonably
current, English-language works. The introduction discusses major traditions
in world philosophy.
36.
Reader's
Advisor. Vol. 4: The Best in the Literature of Philosophy and
World Religions. Ref. Z 1035 .R4
Focuses on widely available, English-language books for the general reader. Includes
brief introductory essays about the development and influence of each philosopher
and evaluative annotations of the recommended books.
37.
Ethics: an
Annotated Bibliography. Ref. BJ 21 .R62 1991
Lists key books on moral philosophy, major primary
sources, and sources on the history of ethical theory, theoretical problems
and applying ethics. Annotations
clearly explain the work and its significance.
38.
Women
Philosophers: a Bibliography of Books Through 1990. Ref. Z 7125
.B34 1992.
Lists women's philosophical writings into their appropriate academic
fields and sub-disciplines. International coverage, with emphasis on
European and North American women.
Bibliography
39.
Bibliography
of Philosophy. Ref. Z 7127 .I5
This quarterly index published with the aid of UNESCO, provides substantial descriptive
abstracts for approximately 1,000 new philosophy books originating worldwide
each year. The
abstracts are in
the language of origin for
books
in
major
modern
languages and in French or English for other languages. A CD-ROM (covering
1998 to the present) now
accompanies
the print edition.
40.
Contemporary
Philosophy of Mind: an Annotated Bibliography . http://consc.net/biblio.html
Identifies articles and books,
some of which are available full-text; for some items, a link indicates
the number of times the article was cited. Covers: Consciousness
and Qualia, Mental Content, Metaphysics of Mind, Artificial Intelligence,
Philosophy of Psychology, and Consciousness in the Sciences.

41.
Philosopher's
Index.
The primary source for finding journal
articles and books in philosophy. Provides
abstracts of
journal articles, books and dissertations; links to full-text when available. Journal
artlicles may be in English or other modern languages, but book coverage
is English only. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
42..
International
Philosophical Bibliography. Ref. Z 7127 .R42
Citations to recent books and articles appearing in English,
French, German, Italian, Spanish, Latin, Portuguese, Dutch and Catalan.
Search by
topic
or
use
the Browse function to see a
detailed arrangement of subjects. Includes
some non-English journals not included in the Philosopher's Index as
well as non-English books (which are excluded from Philosopher's Index).
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
43.
Poiesis.
Searchable access to 53 philosophy journals; emphasizes
recent years. Full-text is available for issues of journals to which
Lauinger
has a print subscription. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
44
Humanities
Index.
Citations to the major scholarly journals in the humanities, including philosophy,
since 1984. Includes book reviews. Links to full-text when available.
For earlier years (1974 - ), use the print version at
Ref. AI 3 .R472. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
45.
Aristotle
Bibliography
Comprehensive coverage of citations to research conducted in the past century
on Aristotle. Includes citations for over 45,000 articles, books,
reviews and doctoral dissertations. Lists about four times as many Aristotle
resources as standard databases and includes sources from book reviews and
foreign dissertations. Search by title, author,keyword or dates. Dates:
1900 - present. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
46. 
Arts
and Humanities Citation Index (AH Search). 1980-
.
Indexes journals in the arts and humanities. In addition
to traditional author, title, and keyword searches, this
offers access to articles' cited references - the footnotes from authors' bibliographies.
Users may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that
cite it. Print version for 1975-9 (Ref. AI3.A63). Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
47.
ETHX
on the Web, and Genetics and Ethics databases. <http://bioethics.georgetown.edu/databases/>
Produced at GU's Kennedy Institute of Ethics, these databases cite books, articles,
and other materials on ethical and public policy issues in health care and
biomedical research. Materials cited are in the non-circulating
collections of National
Reference Center for Bioethics Literature, Healy 102.
| VI. Other Electronic Reference Sources |

48.
Episteme
Links: Philosophy Resources on the Internet. <http://epistemelinks.com/>
One of the best starting points for philososphy research on the internet, this
site offers quick access to links of online encyclopedia entries,
biographical information, major websites, and online texts.
49.
Ethics
Updates. <http://ethics.sandiego.edu/>
Current articles on professional and popular ethics. Organizes
material on ethical theory and applied ethics in a variety of formats. Aimed
at undergraduates, teachers of ethics, and those new to the field.
50.
Past
Masters.
Searchable, full-text, scholarly editions of classics in philosophy. Includes
the works of Plato, Aristotle, Aquinas, Hegel, Kant, Hume, Wittgenstein, and
others. Definitive editions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ .
51.
PhilSci
Archive. <http://philsci-archive.pitt.edu>
High quality preprints and postprints of articles in the philosophy of science;
this site is sponsored by the Philosophy of Science Association and the University
of Pittsburgh. Browse by topic or search for names or terms. Updated
daily.
52. .
PhilWeb:
Philosophy Resources On- & Off-Line. <http://www.phillwebb.net/>
Covers the major areas of philosophy with emphasis on feminism, literary
criticism, and post-colonial works.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/06,
jm
Links updated: 12/07
jc