A.
Encyclopedias
1.
Encyclopedia
of Physics. Sci Ref. QC5 .E545 2004
A two-volume encyclopedia that covers a broad range of concepts of modern physics.
Articles are written by experts in the various fields covered. Articles range
from one paragraph to several pages in length and include a brief bibliography.
2.
Macmillan
Encyclopedia of Physics. Sci Ref. QC5 .M15 1996
In 4 volumes. Provides excellent treatment of historical topics, biography,
and everyday phenomena and is written in language accessible to most readers.
Articles are written by experts. Cross references at the end of each article
as well as a bibliography. Each volume contains a list of abbreviations and
symbols.
3.
McGraw-Hill
Multimedia Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. CD-ROM
Network Instructions.
Over 122,000 complete definitions, many
with multiple color images. Filtering allows to browse the articles
by 21 major subject areas and nearly 100 subtopics. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B. Dictionaries
4.
Dictionary
of Effects and Phenomena in Physics. Sci Ref. QC5 .S3913 1987
An alphabetical arrangement of over 400 physical effects and phenomena, the
names associated with the effects and their relationships to other effects.
Entries include literature references. Supplementing the main section of entries
are fifty-five tables. Also included are a chronology of the effects and a
bibliography of related references.
5. 
Dictionary
of Physics. Sci Ref. QC5 .C56 2005
Definitions are clear and vary in length as needed. A few articles on important
topics run one to two pages, and there are some biographical entries for important
physicists. Line drawings help when needed. This small volume contains a great
deal of excellent information.
Also available online from Oxford Reference Online.
6.
Dictionary
of Physics: in Four Languages Russian, English, German, French. Sci
Ref. QC 5 .R93 1989
Contains about 6,000 terms arranged according to the Russian alphabet. English,
German and French translations are given under the Russian term. English, German
and French word lists are located at the back of the book with reference numbers
to the main section.
7.
Eric's
Weisstein's World of Physics. <http://scienceworld.wolfram.com/physics/>
Extensive tabulation of physics definitions, derivations, equations, formulas,
and figures.
8.
Facts
on File Dictionary of Physics. Sci Ref. QC5 .F34 2005
Contains brief definitions of about 2,000 terms. Arrangement is alphabetical
with cross references provided. Line drawings are found throughout the work.
Appendices provide data on the chemical elements, symbols for physical quantities,
and conversion factors.
C. Handbooks
and Manuals
9.
American
Institute of Physics Handbook. Sci Ref. QC61 .A5 1972
An internationally accepted physics handbook including tables of data, graphs
and bibliographies. Arranged in chapters by subjects: mechanics, acoustics,
heat, electricity and magnetism, optics, atomic and molecular physics, nuclear
physics, and solid state physics.
10.
CRC
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Sci Ref. QD65 .H3
A large volume containing chemical and physical data. Consists mostly of tables
with some references. Arrangement is in general sections and a detailed index
is included. Also available on CD, check the circulation desk at Blommer for
details.
11.
CODATA.<http://physics.nist.gov/cuu/Constants/index.html?/codata86.html>
The NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty. CODATA Internationally
recommended values of the Fundamental Physical Constants.
12.
Handbook
of Physical Calculations. Sci Ref. QC61 .T85 1983
A summary of definitions, formulas, tables and examples. Arrangement is in
four parts: applications of technical physics, physical tables, systems of
units and their relationship, and an index. Includes a bibliography.
13.
Handbook
of Physics. Sci Ref. QC21 .C7 1967
A standard handbook with chapters by specialists. Arranged by subject and consisting
mainly of discussion and formulas. Bibliographies are included.
14.
PACS
(Physics and Astronomy Classification Scheme). <http://www.aip.org/PACs/>
The Physics and Astronomy Classification Scheme (PACs) is prepared by the American
Institute of Physics (AIP) in collaboration with certain other members of the International
Council on Scientific and Technical Information (ICSTI) having an interest
in physics and astronomy classification. PACs is designed to classify and categorize
the literature of physics and astronomy for such products as journal subject
indexes, catalogs, computerized databases, online journals, CD-ROM versions
of journals, and any other collection of physics and astronomy material.
15.
AIP
Physics Desk Reference. Sci Ref. QC61 .P49 2003
A classified arrangement of formulas, constants, numerical data, definitions,
and references considered to be the most useful information for the majority
of physicists. Arrangement is for quick and easy reference and is by broad
subject categories such as acoustics, astronomy, crystallography, and optics.
Includes a subject index.
16.
Quantities
and Units of Measurement. Sci Ref. QC39 .D73 1983
Divided into three parts, Part I is an alphabetical listing of the names, symbols
and abbreviations of units of measurement giving their usage and conversion
factors. Part II, also alphabetically arranged, lists the names of quantities
and constants used in science and technology and gives their symbols, French
and German names, dimensions, and SI units. The symbols denoting quantities
and constants are listed in Part III.
17.
Tables
of Physical and Chemical Constants. Sci Ref. QC61 .K3 1995
Provides tables of physical and chemical constants. Includes references to
the literature and serves as a bibliography of tables
of contents. Includes sections of tables for general physics, chemistry, atomic
physics, and mathematical tables.
D. Associations,
Organizations
18.
American
Institute of Physics. <http://www.aip.org/>
The American Institute of Physics (AIP) is a not-for-profit membership corporation
chartered in New York State in 1931 for the purpose of promoting the advancement
and diffusion of the knowledge of physics and its application to human welfare.
It is the mission of the Institute to serve the sciences of physics and astronomy
by serving the Societies, by serving individual scientists, and by serving
students and the general public.
19.
Institute
of Physics. <http://www.iop.org/>
The Institute of Physics is a learned society and a professional body for physicists.
It is charged by Royal Charter to "promote the advancement and dissemination
of a knowledge of and education in the science of physics, pure and applied".
20.
Particle
Data Group. <http://www.lbl.gov/>
The Particle Data Group (PDG) page, at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory,
presents information on particle physics research, experiments, publications
and software. Includes links to listings of all currently known particles.
21.
Scholarly
Societies Projects: Physics. <http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/society/physics_soc.html>
Provides access to information about scholarly societies across the world.
Maintained by the University of Waterloo Library in Canada.
E. Reviews
of the Literature
22.
Advances
in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics. 1989- . Sci
QC173 .A2543
(Previous Title: Advances in Atomic and Molecular Physics. 1965-1988)
Contains authoritative up-to-date surveys of recent progress in atomic and
molecular physics providing extensive bibliographies. One of several physics
titles in the "Advances in ..." series.
23.
Reports
on Progress in Physics. 1991- .
Each issue consists of long review articles with extensive bibliographies. Covers
all areas of physics. Published by the Institute of Physics in association
with the American Institute of Physics. Earlier volumes, 1934- : available
in print. Shelved in Science Periodicals.
24.
Reviews
of Modern Physics. 1929- .
Published by the American Institute of Physics
in association with the American Physical Society. Contains long
articles with extensive lists of references. Also lists review
articles in other current physics review journals. Available also
in print, check GEORGE for
location.
To locate books in Georgetown University Library, use GEORGE,
the computer catalog.
A. Subject
Searching. 
GEORGE uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. These headings are terms
that have been established by the Library of Congress to represent subjects.
Some examples of the types of subject headings (SUBJECT search)
you can find are:
- To find specific concepts or theories: e.g. Gravitation, Electricity,
Magnetism
- To find books on a particular physicist or his/her theories:
e.g. Einstein, Albert, 1879-1955, Relativity (Physics)
- To find broad concepts: e.g. Mathematical
Physics, Solid State Physics, Astrophysics
B. Keyword
Searching.
When you can't determine a relevant Library of Congress Subject Heading or
when you want to combine headings, search by KEYWORD.
This technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings, and in other
fields within the record.
C.
Combined Search. 
Perform a KEYWORD search
on GEORGE for one or more of the terms which best describe your search. For
example, Einstein and Relativity. GEORGE will create a set of records containing
both words. If the set is too large, select LIMIT, then select one of the ways
of limiting. From this set, view the items which seem most relevant. The Library
of Congress Subject Headings assigned to the book will appear in the part of
the record labeled "subject." If the subject are not visible
on the first screen, scroll down further in the record. If a subject heading
looks promising, use it for further searches. By trying a variety of subject
headings for your topic, you will find the best books for your
research.
25.
ArXiv.org. <http://arxiv.org/>
Started in Aug. 1991, the e-Print Archive is a fully automated electronic archive
and distribution server for research papers. Covered areas include physics
and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics,
and neuroscience.
26.
CERN
Document Server. <http://cds.cern.ch/> 
More than 430,000 bibliographic records and 170,000 full text documents about
CERN and high-energy physics. Covers preprints, books, periodicals, reports,
photographs, and more. Topics include high energy physics, general relativity,
computational and experimental physics.
27.
Chemical
Physics Preprint Database. <http://www.chem.brown.edu/chem-ph.html>
The Chemical Physics Preprint Database is an electronic archive and distribution
server for the international theoretical chemistry community.
28.
Elemental
Data Index. <http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData/Elements/>
The site is maintained by the NIST. Clicking on an element brings up a menu
for choosing which database is desired for that element. Data includes atomic
spectra, ionization data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, radiation dosimetry data,
nuclear physics data, and much more.
29.
INSPEC, 1969
- . Reiss Science Building Only
The database for physics, electrical engineering and electronics, control
theory and technology, and computers and computing. Corresponds to the three
publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical and Electronics Abstracts, and Computer
and Control Abstracts. 1969 -. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
30.
Physics
Abstracts. 1941-1994. Lauinger Periodicals
The only abstracting service that systematically covers the complete domain
of modern physics. Provides international coverage of journals, reports, books,
dissertations, patents and conference papers in the entire field of physics.
Arranged in broad subject areas. Each item has complete bibliographic information
and a brief descriptive abstract. Indexing is by subject and author. Also available
online as INSPEC, 1969
to present.
31.
Science
Citation Index Expanded.
See Web of Science.
32.
SLAC
SPIRES Library Databases and Documents. <http://www.slac.stanford.edu/spires/>
Currently there are several databases available: HEP Preprints, e-Prints, Articles;
HEP Names; Conferences; Institutions, etc. Covers more than 374,000 high-energy
physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical
reports, conference papers and theses, received by the SLAC and/or DESY Libraries
since 1974. Also available, citation search.
33.
Web
of Science 1980- .
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database that indexes
and abstracts journals in the sciences and social sciences. Distributed by
the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), Web of Science at Georgetown
University is a cumulation of two databases: Science Citation Index Expanded
and Social Sciences Citation Index. In addition to traditional author, title
and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited
references - the
footnotes from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant paper
and find other, more recent papers that cite it. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
34.
Nobel
e-Museum. <http://www.nobel.se/index.html> 
The Official web site of the Nobel Foundation. Presents information about
all Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature,
and Peace since 1901 and the Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory
of Alfred Nobel since 1969. The information consists mainly of articles previously
published in the book series Les Prix Nobel. Searchable by name, country, year,
field, etc.
35.
Nobel
Laureates in Physics. <http://www.slac.stanford.edu/library/nobel/>
From the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center Library, a list in reverse chronological
order of the physics Nobel Prize award winners with brief biographical information
and a description of the discovery.
36.
Nobel
Prize In Physics Winners. 1901 to present <http://nobelprizes.com/Nobel/physics/physics.html>
37.
Pioneers
of Science: Nobel Prize Winners in Physics. Sci Ref. QC 15
.W4 1988
Contains short biographies of the Nobel Prize
winners in physics from 1901 through 1987. Arrangement is chronological,
although there is an index by name at the back of the book. Biographies
describe the work of the physicist and are approximately two pages
in length.
| V. Guides to Research in Physics |
38.
Information
Sources in Physics. Sci Ref. Z 7141 .I54 1994
Covers the literature in all the major branches
of physics. Also includes chapters devoted to science libraries
and reference materials, and abstracting, indexing and online services.
39.
Guide
to Information Sources in the Physical Sciences. Sci Ref
Z7141 .S74 2000
Guide to current
physics resources, both electronic and in print
| VII. Internet Physics Titles (Free) |
40.
Advances
in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics. <http://www.intlpress.com/ATMP/> 
The electronic version of the Advances in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics
is an overlay of the well known LANL archives.
All papers are archived at LANL and its mirror sites. There is a charge for
a print version but not for online access.
41.
International
Journal of Fluid Dynamics. <http://elecpress.monash.edu.au/ijfd/>
Refereed journal for scientific papers dealing with fundamental research in
any area of fluid dynamics. Due to its accessibility through the Internet,
it offers authors and subscribers distinct advantages over existing paper journals.
Subscription is free; multi-media, including graphics, animation, and other
hypertext features are available.
42.
MRS
Internet Journal of Nitride Semiconductor Research. <http://nsr.mij.mrs.org/>
A peer-reviewed journal published by the The
Materials Research Society.
43.
New
Journal of Physics. <http://www.njp.org/>
Peer-reviewed, all-electronic journal publishing original research in all areas
of physics. Available without charge to readers around the world via the Internet.
The journal is funded by article charges from authors of published papers.
44.
Optics
Express. <http://www.opticsexpress.org/>
All-electronic journal for optics published by the Optical
Society of America, a not-for-profit society founded in 1916 to increase
and diffuse the knowledge of optics. Publishes original, peer-reviewed articles
that report new developments of interest to the optics community in all fields
of optical science and technology. Provides authors the opportunity to present
data and results in ways not possible in print, with the potential for greatly
reduced time to publication.
45.
Physical
Review Special Topics. <http://prst-ab.aps.org>
A fully peer-reviewed electronic journal, distributed without charge. Covers
the full range of accelerator science and technology: subsystem and component
technologies; beam dynamics; applications of accelerators; and design, operation
and improvement of accelerators used in science and industry. It includes high
energy and nuclear physics, synchrotron radiation production, spallation neutron
sources, medical therapy, and intense beam applications, among others.
46.
Einet
Galaxy: Physics. <http://www.galaxy.com/galaxy/Science/Physics/>
Galaxy is the original searchable Internet directory. The Galaxy hierarchy
is built utilizing a vertical structure: the information on particular topics
is very deep in content.
47.
Google
Web Directory: Physics. <http://directory.google.com/Top/Science/Physics/>
Part of the Google Web Directory. The physics subside is part of Science and
covers many different areas, like Acoustics, Biophysics, Education, Metrology,
Optics, Quantum Mechanics, Relativity, etc.
48.
NIST
(National Institute of Standards and Technology) Physical Reference
Data. <http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData/contents.html>
Information on physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopic data,
ionization data, x-ray and gamma-ray data, radiation dosimetry data, etc. The
page is constantly updated.
49.
PhysNet:
The Physics Departments and Documents Network. <http://www.phys.vt.edu/PhysNet/>
The worldwide Network of Physics Departments and Documents - provides a set
of information services for physicists: links to nearly all physics Institutions
worldwide; links to document sources of the distributed physics institutions;
lists physics-related journals, which are available with free full text on
the web; list of servers with conference lists in different fields of physic,
etc.
50.
Physics
Internet Resources. <http://www.aps.org/>
Maintained by the American Physics Society (APS), this is the site for anyone
interested in physics. The site consists mostly of textual information with
little graphical content, so it loads very quickly and is kept current. For
users frequently trying to answer questions about physics.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 8/06,
nz
Links updated: 12/07
jc