
1.
AAAS
Atlas of Population and Environment. Ref. HB 849.415 .H374 2000
Maps and essays discuss the interrelationship between population and environmental
issues. Topics covered include natural resources, land use, pollution, ecosystems,
and biodiversity.
2.
Dictionary
of Demography. Ref. HB 849.2 .P47 1986
An alphabetical listing of demographic terms, concepts, institutions, and countries.
3.
Encyclopedia
of Population. Ref. HB 871 .E538 2003
Lengthy articles on countries and topics related to population studies, such
as migration, family planning, population policy, and mathematical demography.
Articles include bibliographies. Off-campus
access instructions.
4.
International
Glossary on Poverty. Ref. HC 79 .P6 I52 1999
Substantive definitions of terms which include short bibliographies. Defines
country and regional standards of poverty.
5.
Population
Reference Bureau's Population Handbook. (Ref. HB 871 .H357)
Brief explanations of major concepts.
6.
World
Population: A Reference Handbook. HB 871 .G47 2001
An introduction to the topic, this handbook includes a chronology, legislation,
statistics and graphs, organizations, and selected print and nonprint resources.
7.
WWW
Virtual Library: Demography and Population Studies. <http://demography.anu.edu.au/VirtualLibrary/>
Comprehensive listing of demography websites.
8.
WWW
Virtual Library: Migration and Ethnic Relations. <http://www.ercomer.org/wwwvl/>
Links to a wide variety of websites on migration and ethnic relations from
the Ethnic Information selection under "Other Sources."

9.
CIAO
Contains conference proceedings and working papers from 66 participating institutes
around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, hyperlinks
to more than 150 sites, journal abstracts, and a calendar of conferences and
seminars. Off-campus
access instructions. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
10.
P.A.I.S.
Lists journal articles, books, pamphlets, and government publications on policy
issues related to economics, social conditions, and international affairs
since 1915. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
11.
POPLINE <http://db.jhuccp.org/popinform/basic.html>
Publications from 1970 to the present with selected citations dating back to
1886. Provides worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and
related health issues, including family planning technology and programs,
fertility, and population law and policy. In addition, POPLINE focuses
on particular developing-country issues including demography, AIDS and other
sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health
care communication, and population and environment. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
12.
Population
Index <http://opr.princeton.edu/popindex/> 1986-2000.
Lists and abstracts books, articles, and other publications in population studies
and demography. Includes titles such as American
Demographics. Emphasis is on citing primary sources and substantive,
analytical studies of primary data. Also available in print at Ref. Z 7164
.D3 P83.
13.
Social
Sciences Index.
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including demography,
since 1983. Humanities
and Social Sciences Index Retrospective covers 1907-1984. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
14.
Sociological
Abstracts.
The major index to journal articles in sociology, since 1963. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
15.
USAID
Development Experience Clearinghouse. <http://www.dec.gov>
Searchable collection of USAID documents.
Also has pull-down subject menu with "Population" listed.
16.
Web
of Science. 1989- .
A cumulation of two databases, Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences
Citation Index, that index and abstract journals in the sciences and social
sciences. In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the
citation databases offer access to articles' cited references - the footnotes
from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant paper and find
other, more recent papers that cite it. For prior years, see the print version
of Social Sciences Citation Index (Ref. Index Table). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| III. International Statistics |
A.
Current - General
17.
Demographic
Yearbook (United Nations). Ref. HA 17 .D45
Provides worldwide statistics on population, birth, mortality, marriage, and
divorce. Each edition includes a section on a special topic, which varies from
year to year.
18.
SourceOECD.
SourceOECD is the online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic
Co-operation and Development (OECD
member countries). Contains over 1,500 books, 20 journals and newsletters,
10 statistical periodicals, reference works, and 600 interactive statistical
data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998. Text can be
searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title and theme.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
19.
Specific
country statistical handbooks. Ref. HA
Many countries publish their own statistical handbooks, which are kept in the
Reference stacks. You can find them in the catalog by subject under
[NAME OF COUNTRY] - STATISTICS or ask a Reference Librarian for help.
20.
State
of World Population. <http://www.unfpa.org/swp/swpmain.htm>
United Nations Population Fund publishes annual reports on various themes.
21.
Trends
in International Migration. Ref. JV 6001 .A1 T74 or within SourceOECD(#18 above)
Describes overall trends and population flows, including labor market, regional
distribution of migrants, mobility of students and skilled professionals, and
policies, using charts, graphs, tables, and narrative.
22.
UN
Common Database.
Over 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment
of UN agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available
in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items
lag by several years.) Includes publications from the World Health Organisation,
UNICEF, UNAIDS, and the Population Division among other sources. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
23.
WDI
Online.
Comparable data collected by the World Bank to measure development outcomes. Includes
over 500 indicators, including population, mortality, poverty, education, health,
environment, and economy, and covers 152 countries. Print version: World
Development Indicators at Ref. HC 59 .W62. Also available from <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/>
24. 
World
Population Policies. <http://www.un.org/esa/population/publications/wpp2003/wpp2003.htm> or
Ref. HB 883.5 .W67 2003
Published by the United Nations about its member countries. Includes countries'
policies on population priorities. Also includes statistics on population,
mortality, and fertility, and draws a conclusion about future trends based
on these facts.
25.
World
Population Profile. <http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/wp98.html>
Contains summary demographic information for all of the countries and regions
of the world with populations of at least 5,000. Includes statistics on birth
and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, and population growth rates.
Print version: Gov. Docs. Ref. C3.205/ 3:WP
26.
World
Population Prospects. <http://esa.un.org/unpp/> or
Ref. HB 885 .U52 no. 145
Data for population size and growth, fertility, mortality, and international
migration presented for five year periods 1950-2050 with three fertility variants
and one constant fertility scenario for 1990-2050. Featured topics include
fertility declines in Africa and Asia, demography of countries with economies
in transition, and the demographic impact of HIV/AIDS.
B.
Migration, Immigration, Refugees
27.
Forced
Migration Online. <http://www.forcedmigration.org/>
The Refugee Study Centre at Oxford University has created a site which includes
research guides, journals, working papers, and searchable databases for images
and for documents.
28.
International
Labour Migration Database. <http://www.ilo.org/public/english/protection/migrant/ilmdb/index.htm>
Produced by the International Labour Organization (ILO), the website includes
labor migration statistics, ILO labor standards, national legislation, and
the ILO Library catalog.
29.
State
of the World's Refugees. <http://www.unhcr.org/cgi-bin/texis/vtx/publ?id=3f098b4d4>
Published bienially, though reports lag a few years behind. Each volume explores
a theme. Call numbers for print versions vary--check GEORGE,
the online catalog.
30.
World
Disasters Report. <http://www.ifrc.org/publicat/wdr/index.asp> or
Ref. HV 568 .W6742
Annual report on humanitarian aid provided during war, famine, flood, or other
disasters, compiled by the Red Cross/Red Crescent. Includes key trends and
statistics.
.31.
World
Refugee Survey. <http://www.refugees.org/article.aspx?id=1941> or
Ref. HV 640 .W63
Data and analysis compiled annually by the U.S. Committee for Refugees. The
survey documents refugee protection, human rights, return migration, international
law, and other topics.
C.
Census Data
32.
International
Population Census. Gov. Docs.
Population censuses from 1945 to the present for countries throughout the world
are available on microfilm. Search GEORGE,
the online catalog, by subject to identify which countries are available: [name
of country] - Census. A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of International Population
Census Publications, 1945-1967 (Gov. Docs. Ref. and Ref. Z 7164 .D3 R47 1979)
gives a general outline of what is on each reel. International Population Census
Publications, Post 1967: Guide to the Microfilm Edition (Gov. Docs. Ref. Z
7164 .D3 R47 1981) is a reel index to the post-1967 censuses and is arranged
by continent and then alphabetically by country. The years for which we have
censuses are also indicated in the guide. To retrieve a census on microfilm
from the Government Documents and Microforms Department, one needs the
name of the country and the year of the census. It is also helpful to have
the reel number and frame numbers listed in the guides (e.g. Syria, 1960, Reel
2, 1960.9). For assistance in location of international censuses, please ask
at the Government
Documents Desk.
33.
African
Population Census Reports: A Bibliography and Checklist. Ref. Z 7164
.D3 P56 1985
For each African country, lists national population censuses and national demographic
surveys by date.
34.
Handbook
of National Population Censuses . . .
Lists and describes the census publications of each country in these areas.
Africa and Asia. Ref.
HA 37 .A33 D65 1986
Europe. Ref. HA 37 .E93 G69 1992
Latin America and the Caribbean, North America and Oceania. Ref.
HA 36 .G67 1983
35.
A
Guide to Latin American and Caribbean Census Material. Ref. Z
7553 .C3 G85 1990
Compiled in Britain, this bibliography covers population, housing, agricultural,
and special censuses from all over Latin America, from earliest times to 1979.
36.
International
Population Census Bibliography: Revision and Update, 1945-1977. Ref. Z 7164
.D3 G69 1979
Lists "all known, bona fide, national population censuses," arranged alphabetically
by country. Its supplement, International Population Census, 1945-1967: Cross-Reference
Guide (Ref. Z 7164 .D3 G69 1980 Suppl.), refers to entry numbers in Bibliography
and Reel Index (see #52 in this guide)
D. Historical

37.
Atlas
of International Migration. Ref. G 1046 .E27 S4 1993
Maps depict migrations from the origins of man through 1991. Includes a glossary
and bibliography.
38.
Atlas
of World Population History. Ref. HB 851 .M32
Provides historical figures for the population of each country in the world,
at regular intervals, to 1975. Statistics are presented in graph form with
accompanying commentary. Primary and secondary sources are listed for each
country.
39.
International
Handbook on Internal Migration. Ref. HB 1952 .I55 1990
For each country describes the existing data on internal migration, principal
population movements, characteristics of movers, motivations for migration,
and the consequences of migration. Includes tables and bibliographies.
40.
International
Historical Statistics.
Provides comparative data for the countries in each region. Covers population,
vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport
and communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts.
. . . The Americas, 1750-2000 Ref.
HA175 .M55 2003
. . . Europe, 1750-2000 Ref.
HA1107 .M5 2003
. . . Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000. Ref.
HA4675 .M552 2003
41.
International
Mortality Statistics. Ref. HB 1321 .A45
Gives mortality statistics for most European nations. Contains detailed list
of causes of death. Information from 1900-1975.
42. 
Societies
of Europe: The European Population 1850-1945. Ref. HB 3581 .A3 R68
2002
Various demographic data, arranged by country. The CD-ROM supplement includes
additional data (available in the Gelardin
New Media Center MMCD 619).
43.
World
Population Growth and Aging: Demographic Trends in the Late Twentieth Century. Ref.
HA 155 .K49 1990
For the world, regions, and individual countries, provides observed and projected
population data in five year intervals from 1950 through 2020. Also provides
population ratios and mortality, fertility and aging measures. Graphs show
age distribution, age structure, mortality and fertility trends, and population
aging trends.
E. Bibliography/Directory
44.
Bibliography
of Official Statistical Yearbooks and Bulletins. Ref. Z 7551
.W47 1986
This detailed listing by country of offical statistical yearbooks and bulletins
describes the type of data included, notes the date of first publication, and
indicates its availability. It also notes if no bulletin or yearbook exists.
45.
Directory
of Surveys in Developing Countries: Data on Families and Households, 1975-92. Ref.
HB 849.49 .L56 1992
Lists surveys by country which have simultaneously collected demographic and
socioeconomic data in at least three of these areas: fertility, parents, children,
or households. It includes individual surveys as well as continuing survey
programs. A contact person or organization is listed for each survey; some
are located in the U.S.
| IV. United States Statistics |
A. General and Vital
Statistics
46. 
Statistical
Abstract of the U.S. <http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/> or
Ref. Desk HA 202 & Gov. Docs. Ref.
A convenient annual compilation of statistics on a wide range of topics. Includes
figures for population, birth rate, death rate, and infant mortality rate for
the U.S. and the states for various years. Begin by using the index at the
back. The source of the data is given for each table.
47.
Vital
Statistics of the U.S. <http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/pubs/pubd/vsus/vsus.htm>
Volume I includes detailed statistics on natality (birth). Volume II covers
statistics on mortality by disease, geographic region, and age and Volume III
covers statistics on marriages and divorces. Published annually and is available
on the Web back to 1890. Print version: Gov. Docs. HE 20.6210: . Updated
information is provided by the Monthly
Vital Statistics Reports <http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/pubs/pubd/mvsr/mvsr.htm> (Gov.
Docs. HE20. 6217:), which provides provisional statistics on births, marriages,
divorces, deaths, and other characteristics of the population; and by the Morbidity
and Mortality Weekly Report <http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/> (Gov.
Docs. HE 20. 7009:), which includes very current statistics on disease and
death.
B. Census Data
48.
American
Factfinder. <http://factfinder.census.gov/>
Includes data sets for the Decennial Censuses for 1990 and 2000, the Decennial
Supplementary Survey, the American Community Survey (1996-), the Economic Census
for 1997 (2002 Economic Census Advance Reports are scheduled to be released
Jan. 2004) and 2002 Population Estimates.
49.
Encyclopedia
of the U.S. Census. Ref. HA 37 .U55 C66 2000 and Gov. Docs.
Ref.
This source provides an excellent overview of the U.S. census, addressing,
for example, methods, data gathering, products and reports, political issues,
individual censuses, and history of the census.
50.
Geolytics
Census CD-Roms. Government
Documents/Microforms Dept.
A commercial publisher has provided the U.S. Census, back to 1970, packaged
with software for searching and extracting the data. A useful feature is being
able to track neighborhood change data. The product is compatible with Geographic
Information Systems (GIS) (see #63 ).
51.
Population
of the United States. Ref. HB 3505 .B63 1997
Chapters cover the size and growth of the U.S. population; spatial movement
and regional geographies; race, ethnicity, and ancestry; aging and gender;
education; labor force; income, wealth, and poverty; and many other issues.
C. Pre-2000 Censuses
52.
Historical
Census Browser. <http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/histcensus/>
Data from the U.S. census, 1790-1960.
53.
Bibliography
and Reel Index: A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of United States Decennial
Census Publication, 1790-1970. Gov. Docs. Ref. Z 7554
.U5 R47 1975
Serves as a bibliography of U.S. Decennial Census Publications for 1790-1970
and as a reel index for the microform collection. Includes statistics on race,
nationality, sex, occupations, and education. Library only holds the microfilm
for the Census of Population.
54.
Population
Information in the Nineteenth Century Census Volumes. Ref. Z
7164 .D3 S44 1983 & Gov. Docs. Ref.
Identifies the population information in the U.S. Census decennial reports
from 1790 to 1890. Describes the contents and unique aspects of each census.
55.
Population
Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes: 1900 -1940. Ref.
Z 7164 .D3 S45 1985 & Gov. Docs. Ref.
Supplements #53 above, covering the decennial censuses from
1900 to 1940.
56.
Population
Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes: 1950-1980. Ref.
Z 7164 .D3 S45 1988 & Gov. Docs. Ref.
Supplements #53 and #54 above, covering
the decennial censuses from 1950 to 1980.
D. Migration, Immigration, and Ethnic Groups
For additional information about ethnic groups in the United States,
see resources listed on the Library's Sociology
guide <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/guides/sociology/>.
Sources for doing research on U.S. Immigration Law are listed on the
Georgetown University Law Library's guide <http://www.ll.georgetown.edu/guides/ImmigrationLaw.cfm>.
57.
Atlas
of American Migration. Ref. G1201 .E27 F5 1998
The maps, accompanied by essays, depict population movements in the United
States throughout history.
58.
Center
for Immigration Studies. <http://www.cis.org/>
The Center for Immigration Studies focuses on "research and policy analysis
of the economic, social, demographic, fiscal, and other impacts of immigration
on the United States." Their publications, back to 1986, are available
on this site.
59.
Encyclopedia
of American Immigration. Ref. JV 6465 .E53 2001
Each of the four volumes covers a theme: Immigration History, Immigration Issues,
Immigrant Groups in America, and Immigration Documents. The in-depth articles
include bibliographies and refer to related articles in the set.
60.
Dictionary
of American Immigration History. Ref. JV 6450 .D53 1990
Brief entries on immigrant groups, organizations, individuals, laws, and concepts.
61.
Facts
about American Immigration. Ref. JV 6465 .B73 2000
Detailed information about each immigrant group arranged by country of origin.
Includes a bibliography and a summary of key immigration and naturalization
laws, 1790 - 1999.
E. Historical
62. 
Historical
Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 2000. Ref.
HA 202 .H57 2006 & Gov. Docs.
Statistics from colonial times on social, political, economic and geographical
topics, from the U.S. Census Bureau and other sources. Each section includes
an introductory essay and an annotated list of sources which offer more detail.
Download data, customize tables, and search across content
63.
The
Population of the United States. Ref. HB 3505 .B63 1997
Tables and analyses are provided for various demographic and socioeconomic
statistics, covering 1790 to the present.
| V. Index to Statistics Sources/GIS Mapping |
64.
Geographic
Information Systems (GIS)
A Geographic Information System (GIS) is computer software, hardware, and data
that are designed to manipulate, analyze, and present information that is related
to a spatial location. A GIS combines layers of information that can be displayed
using maps, tables, images or any information with a geographic component.
The Government Documents/Microforms Department at Lauinger Library has two
work stations with ArcView GIS software installed and a color printer for
creating maps. A variety of data sets are available from the Census Bureau
and other sources. Additional information, contacts, and training at <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/dept/govdocs/gdgis.htm>.
65.
LexisNexis
Statistical.
Index to sources of statistics indexed in: the American Statistics Index (ASI)
(1973- ), Index to International Statistics (IIS) (1983- ), and Statistical
Reference Index (SRI) (1980- ). The focus is on coverage of basic economic,
demographic, industrial, and social statistics. Many of the documents are available
on microfiche in the Government
Documents/Microforms Department. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

A. GEORGE
To locate books in Lauinger Library, use GEORGE,
the online catalog.
1. Subject Searching
Use Library of Congress Subject Headings to search for books on population studies.
(These headings are terms that have been established by the Library of Congress
to represent subjects and are listed in the Library of Congress Subject Headings,
a set of red books located near the Reference Desk, these are used in most American
library catalogs.) Some typical headings include:
To find topics or theories
e.g. Fertility, Human
Mortality
Political
refugees
Population
transfers
Population
policy
To find demographic statistics on a particular place or group
e.g. India - Census
India - Emigration
and immigration - Statistics
India - Statistics
India - Statistics,
Vital
2. Keyword Searching
When you can't determine a relevant Library of Congress Subject Heading or when
you want to combine headings, search by keyword.
This technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings, and in other
fields within the record. For example:
women and poverty and statistics
B. Other Libraries
66.
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.
67. Census Bureau - Library
Federal Building 3, Room 2455
Suitland and Silver Hill Roads
Suitland, Maryland
301-763-2509
68.
Library
of Congress Catalog <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
69.
Population
Action International Library <http://www.populationaction.org/>
1120 19th Street, NW, Suite 550
Washington, DC 20036
202-659-1833
Fax: 202-293-1795
Email: pai@popact.org
70.
Population
Reference Bureau <http://www.prb.org/>
1875 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 520
Washington, DC
202-328-3937
The collection includes U.S. Census and United Nations statistical materials,
as well as books and periodicals on population. Open to the public: 8:30 a.m.
- 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Many of their reports and statistics are
available from their Web site.
71.
WorldCat is
a catalog consisting of over 56 million records representing the holdings
of nine thousand U.S.libraries and some worldwide. The interface is
user-friendly and gives locations (often local) of materials. Items
may be listed multiple times, with different locations for each listing. Request books or articles through Interlibrary
Loan.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/04,sh
Links updated: 05/05,sh