Key Resources in Psychology

Need more? Check the Psychology Guide. Questions? Consult a Reference Librarian.


Definitions

Finding Articles

Dictionary of Psychology.  Ref. Bf 31 .C65 2006
Informative definitions of terms basic to psychology and psychiatry with emphasis on the technical terminology of neuroanatomy, neurophysiology, psychopharmacology, statistics, and psychoanalysis.
PsycInfo
The primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters.

Oxford Companion to the Mind. Ref. B31. O94 2004
Covers the concept of mind in its broadest sense, including philosophical and physiological as well as psychological aspects. Has short essays on many topics, brief definitions for others.  Includes related fields such as art, language, and mythology.

Preparing Your Paper

APA Guide to Electronic References.
Up-to date information on how to cite electronic resources; over 40 examples. Open in Mozilla.
Overviews and Summaries Psychology Web Sites
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology.
This is a single volume work of 650 articles including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.

American Psychological Association  <http://www.apa.org/>
Official homepage of the APA. Includes newsletters, conferences, links to psychology-related resources, and APA services and information.

Encyclopedia of Psychology.  <http://www.psychology.org/>
Links to sites in eight topic areas connect users to over 2,000 topic areas. Offers links to psychology journal home pages (for full-text access, check Journal Finder on the Library homepage) and documents.

Classics in the History of Psychology <http://psychclassics.yorku.ca/>
Texts on selected topics in psychology, such as ancient psychology or behaviorism.

21st Century Psychology
Covers a variety of psychology topics in an encylopedic format. Search by theme, subject, or index term.

2/08 - JM

PsychScholar. <http://psych.hanover.edu/krantz/>
This is a web gateway for "psychological scholars" and "budding psychological scholars."