
A.
General Social Science and Sociology Encyclopedias
1.
Encyclopedia
of Sociology. Ref. HM 425. E5 2000
This five-volume set contains signed articles on concepts, subfields, techniques,
methodologies, and national sociologies. Alphabetically arranged, entries range
from two pages to eighteen pages, are cross-referenced, and include bibliographies.
2.
Encyclopedia
of Social Theory. Ref. HM 425 .E47 2005
Offers summaries and analysis of many of the ideas that underlie the
field of sociology. Includes ideas from many related disciplines, as
many of the ideas and theorists originate in other disciplines or are
having a major impact on them. Articles are a page or two in length,
clearly written, and provide a list of further readings.
3.
International
Encyclopedia of Sociology. Ref. HM 425 .I58 2000
Readable articles in a standard format cover social institutions,
key issues such as culture, deviance, and aging; sociological research;
and the origins and definitions of sociology. A thematic
index organizes related articles by category. Two volumes.
4.
International
Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. Ref.
H 41 .I58 2001
Extensive articles on the concepts, theories, and methods of all
the social sciences, including sociology. Articles include
bibliographies. Read abstracts (summaries) of the articles on the publisher's
website: http://0-www.sciencedirect.com.library.lausys.georgetown.edu:80/science/referenceworks/0080430767
5.
Sage
Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods. Ref. H 62 .S34 2004
Addresses the purposes, principles, developments, and applications of research
methods. For many topics, extended essays include recent developments,
graphics, and suggested readings.
6.
Social
Science Encyclopedia. Ref. H 41 .S63 2004
Brief, but substantive articles on theories, concepts, and historical figures
from all the social sciences. A thematic index lists the entries for sociology
and anthropology.
7.
Survey
of Social Science. Sociology Series. Ref. HM 17 .S86
1994
Essays describe a sociological concept or term within the framework
of an Overview summarizing
the main ideas, Applications offering
relevant real-life situations and sociological thought on the issue,
and Context relating it to sociology as
a whole and to historical and cultural events. Includes suggested
readings and related
articles within this
source. 5 vols.
8.
World
of Sociology
An online guide to the concepts, theories, developments, and pioneers
of sociology. Over 1,200 alphabetically arranged essays, definitions
and biographies. Includes a subject index, nationality/ethnic origin
index, and gender index, and 350 photos and illustrations. 
B.
Handbooks
9.
Handbook
of Qualitative Research. Ref. H 62 .H2455 2000
Articles addressing the "qualitative revolution" in research
in the social sciences. Discussions include the development of this
trend, strategies of inquiry, methods of collecting empirical data,
interpretation, evaluation, and representation, as well as the future
of qualitative research.
10.
Handbook
of Social Psychology. Ref. HM 1033 .H36 2003
Current topics of significance in social psychology presented are
wide ranging and include discussions of important theories. Useful
overviews by specialists in the field list current readings as
well.
11.
Sage
Handbook of Sociology. Ref. HM 586.S24 2005
Essays on developments
and trends in the field. Organized into three sections: theory and
method, processes, and primary debates.
C. Dictionaries
12.
Blackwell
Dictionary of Sociology. Ref. HM 17 .J64 1995
The first part of this work provides brief definitions of terms in the social
sciences. The second part contains brief biographical sketches of sociologists
who have contributed to the field over the past two centuries.
13.
Dictionary
of Sociology. Ref. HM 425 .D5735 2005
Substantive definitions by a team of distinguished sociologists
from Oxford University. Provides useful context for many of the ideas discussed.
Biographical entries are limited to sociologists who have influenced the history
of the discipline.
14.
Dictionary
of the Social Sciences. Ref. H 41 .D53 2002
Clear coverage of terms from all the social sciences, including explanations
of different usage across disciplines. An engaging introduction discusses the
organization of the social sciences and areas of emphasis in this dictionary.
| II. Specialized Encyclopedias |

Specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks can save
time. Use them to:
- PICK a topic - by offering an overview of many topics.
- see how the information on a topic is ORGANIZED within the field -
identify the KEY ISSUES.
-
put key ideas in CONTEXT
-
IDENTIFY sources for further research
- familiarize yourself with the CONCEPTS and CONTRIBUTORS of
a discipline.
To find specialized encyclopedias in GEORGE, combine a keyword with the
type of format, i.e.,
family
and encyclopedia*
anthropology and dictionar*
handbook and sociology
(truncation symbol * finds singular and plural forms)
A. Cultures and Ethnic Groups
15.
Encyclopedia
of World Cultures. Ref. GN 307 .E53 1991
This ten volume set was prepared under the auspices of the Human Relations
Area Files. Each volume focuses on a different region of the world highlighting
its major ethnic groups. Each volume also contains a glossary and filmography.
16.
Encyclopedia
of Multicultural America. Ref. E 184 .A1 G14 1995
Essays cover distinct ethnic, ethnoreligious, and Native American groups in
the United States. Primary focus of essays are each group's experiences in
the U.S. Entries also include references to major organizations, associations,
publications, and radio and television stations.
17.
American
Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation. Ref. E 184
.A1 A63448 1997
Contains descriptive profiles of 161 ethnic groups in the U.S. Each entry
includes a group's defining features, immigration and settlement history, demographic
facts, cultural characteristics, patterns of cultural vatiation and the
extent of assimilation or cultural persistence within the group.
18.
Encyclopedia
of Race and Ethnic Studies. Ref. GN 495.6 .C37 2004
Brief articles about a range of racial and ethnic situations and related topics.
International in scope. Entries include suggested readings.
19.
Encyclopedia
of Urban Cultures. Ref. HT 108.5 .E53 2002
Contains thematic essays, such as the origin of cities or urbanization in major
regions of the world. A second section has details on 240 major cities,
including background, history, infrastructure, and cultural and social life.
B. Marriage,
Family, Community
20.
Encyclopedia
of Community: from the Village to the Virtual World. Ref.
HM756 .E53 2003
Covers traditional communities, including geographical,
historical, religious, cultural, and the less traditional internet,
activist, urban/suburban, and human development communities. Includes
biographies, articles on community design, social life, and economics.
Sidebars enliven articles with personal narratives; each entry suggests
further reading.
21.
International
Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family. Ref. HQ
9 .E52 2003
This two-volume set contains articles which discuss significant issues and
various interpretations of marriage and family. Includes bibliographies.
22.
Marriage,
Family, and Relationships. Ref. GN 480 .B76 1994
The focus of this work is in comparing various types of relationships across
cultures. Contains an extensive bibliography. 
C.
Sexuality
23.
Continuum
Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality. Ref.
HQ 21 .I68 2004
Describes the findings of one of the most ambitious cross-cultural sex surveys
ever undertaken in 32 different countries. Each country entry discusses
heterosexual relationships, children, adolescents, adults, gender-conflicted
persons, unconventional sexual patterns, contraception, STDs, therapies, and
more.
24.
Encyclopedia
of Sex and Gender. Ref. HQ 16 .E53 2003
Themes include gender differences and roles, cultural considerations, institutions,
and over 80 country-specific articles exploring these topics in less familiar
cultures.
E. Social Psychology, Social Work
25.
Blackwell
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology. Ref. HM 251 .B476 1995
Brief essays describe the major thinkers, theories, and terms used in the social
psychology field. Includes cross-references to related topics.
26.
Encyclopedia
of Social Work. Ref. HV 35 .S6 1995
Almost 300 in-depth essays on all aspects of social work with increased attention
to diversity issues. Includes comprehensive indexes to people, organizations,
federal legislation, and places. The biographical section profiles individuals
who made significant contributions to the field of social services.

To locate books in Lauinger Library, use GEORGE,
the online catalog
A. Subject Searching
Use Library of Congress Subject Headings to search for books on
Sociology. (These headings are terms that have been established by
the Library of Congress to represent subjects; listed in the Library
of Congress Subject Headings, a set of red books located near the
Reference Desk, these are used in most American library catalogs.)
Some typical headings include:
Concept
e.g.,
Homelessness
Race
relations
Subdisciplines:
e.g.,
Rural sociology
Sociolinguistics
Sociologists:
e.g.,
Durkheim, Emile
B. Keyword Searching
When you can't determine a relevant Library of Congress Subject
Heading or when you want to combine headings, search by "keyword." This
technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings, and
in other fields within the record. For example, to find books on
changes in the family or marriage, you might try:
change* and (family or marriage)
NOTE: Such a search will locate records that include the words "change" or "changes," etc.
(i.e., any word beginning with "change") as well as either "family" or "marriage" (or
both).
If you need help with GEORGE or searching by
topic, speak to a Reference Librarian.
| IV. Bibliographies and Literature Reviews |
Bibliographies can be located in GEORGE by using the subheading
- Bibliography, under the subject heading, e.g., Juvenile
delinquency - Bibliography or Weber, Max - Bibliography. 
27.
Bibliographic
Index. Ref. Z 1002 .B594
Besides separately published bibliographies, this index identifies significant
bibliographies published in recent books and journal articles. It also lists
recurring literature surveys published as regular features of journals.
28.
Annual
Review of Sociology. HM 1 .A763
Each volume is organized by broad subject areas within sociology. Within these
are essays that summarize past and current literature on certain topics and
provide extensive bibliographies on them. Essay topics vary from
year to year.
29.
Reader's
Guide to the Social Sciences. Ref. H 41 .R417 2001
Guides the reader to key texts on specific topics in sociology and other social
sciences. Entries provide critical reviews of the literature, referring readers
to in-depth treatments. The thematic list of entries, general
index, and alphabetical list of
entries
offer several points of access.

A. Social Science
30.
Social
Sciences Index. 1983- .
Since 1983 indexes the major scholarly journals in all the social sciences,
including sociology. For 1907-1984, see Humanities
& Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
31. 
Sociological
Abstracts. 1963- .
The primary index in the discipline, it summarizes articles on all aspects
of sociology. Arranged by broad subject categories with author and subject
indexes. For prior years, see its print equivalent (Ref. Index Table).
32. 
Web
of Science. 1980- .
A cumulation of two databases, Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences
Citation Index, that index and abstract journals in the sciences and social
sciences. In addition to traditional author, title, and keyword searches,
the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references - the footnotes
from authors' bibliographies. You may take a known, relevant paper and find
other, more recent papers that cite it. For prior years, see the print version
of Social Sciences Citation Index (Ref. Z 7171 .S65).

B. General
33,
Academic
Search Premier.
Provides full text for 3,467 publications covering academic areas
of study including social sciences.
Over half of the titles abstracted and indexed are peer-reviewed.
34.
LexisNexis
Academic.
This service provides access to full text of thousands of magazines, newspapers,
wire services, and broadcast transcripts, including foreign newspapers that
are not otherwise available.
35.
Proquest
Research Library.
Indexes 1,800 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general sciences,
business, and general interest. About half of the articles are available in
full text.

A. General
For additional sources of statistics see Population
Studies, Economies
of Countries, and U.S.
Economic Indicators.
36.
Social
Sciences Data on the Net. <http://3stages.org/idata/>
Search or browse over 800 sites of social science statistical data on the Internet.
37.
LexisNexis
Statistical
An index to sources of statistics, it includes the American Statistics Index
(ASI) (1973- ), Index to International Statistics (IIS) (1983- ), and Statistical
Reference Index (SRI) (1980- ). The focus is on coverage of basic economic,
demographic, industrial, and social statistics. Many of the documents are available
on microfiche in the Government Documents/Microforms Department. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B. United States
38. 
Statistical
Abstract of the United States. <http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/> Annual.
1879- . Ref. Desk HA 202
A well indexed, comprehensive collection of statistics in tabular format. Includes
basic statistics for a wide range of economic indicators. The index leads to
specific table numbers. Each table lists the source of the statistics for further
reference. Note: Earlier
years in Ref. HA 202.
39.
FEDSTATS. <http://www.fedstats.gov/>
A gateway to statistics from over 100 federal agencies.
40.
Historical
Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present. Ref.
HA 202 .H57 2006
Statistics from colonial times on social, political, economic and geographical
topics. Each section includes an introductory essay and an annotated
list of sources which offer more detail.

C. World
41. 
Demographic
Yearbook (United Nations). 1948- . Ref. HA 17
.D45 and CD-ROM
Network.
Provides worldwide statistics on population, birth, mortality, marriage, and
divorce. The web version has the latest edition and recent years. The print
version goes back to 1948 with the latest copy in Reference. Each edition
contains a special topic, which varies from year to year. The CD-ROM covers
1948-1997.
42.
International
Historical Statistics . . .
Provides comparative data for the countries in each region. Covers population,
vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport
and communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts.
. . . The Americas, 1750-2000. Ref.
HA 175 .M55 2003
. . . Europe, 1750-2000. Ref. HA 1107
.M5 2003
. . . Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000. Ref. HA
4675 .M552 2003
43.
World
Development Report. 1978- . <http://econ.worldbank.org/wdr/>
Also Ref. Desk HC 59 .W6 and CD-ROM
The text of this annual report analyzes world economic development. Statistical
tables provide a range of economic data for individual countries. Online access
back to 1992. On CD-ROM 1978-2003 available in the Gelardin
Center (MMCD 576).
44.
Global
Education Digest (UNESCO) <http://www.uis.unesco.org/ev.php?ID=6513_201&ID2=DO_TOPIC>
Compares education statistics across the world. An earlier publication, UNESCO's
Statistical Yearbook
at
HA 42 .U5, is available in print from 1963-1999.
45.
Gallup
Brain.
Gallup public opinion polls and articles about the polls since 1936. Covers
over 136,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed
by Gallup since 1936. Also provides access to articles in the Gallup Poll News
Service, Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing, and Gallup Management Journal.
46.
LexisNexis
Statistical.
This resource indexes statistics including opinion polls from government and
private sources. Select the “Abstracts” category. In the search
form enter “public opinion” in one box and your topic in a second box. Change
dates and sources if necessary. Some government polls include links to
the full text of polls. For journal articles, check Journal
Finder to see if those
journals are available at Georgetown.
47.
Polling
the Nations.
Compilation of questions and responses from more than 12,000 national,
state, local and special surveys. Conducted by 700 polling organizations
in the United States and 70 other countries. Each record in the database
consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Records
are indexed by subject matter, publication year, location and survey
method. Other information includes source name and contact information,
sample size and notes on the sample population.
48.
Periodical
Indexes
Many journal articles discuss opinion polls. Three good indexes to journal
articles are: Proquest
Research Library, Social
Sciences Index, and PAIS
International. Search
for “public opinion” and [topic]. For journal articles, check Journal
Finder to see if those journals are available at Georgetown. Proquest
Research Library includes full text of many articles.
49.
Guide
to Public Opinion Poll Websites: Polling Data from Around the World. <http://www.ala.org/ala/acrl/acrlpubs/crlnews/backissues2006/october06/opinionpoll.htm>
Significant websites of general public opinion polls, especially those in usable
format. Excludes sites focusing on market research, political campaigns and
elections, census and government, Web and blog polls, and polling methodology.
(select Oct. 2006 issue)
50.
Public
Opinion Surveys <http://www.ciser.cornell.edu/info/polls.shtml>
Links to national, state, and regional surveys and other public opinion meta
sites.
51.
Gallup
Poll Public Opinion. 1935 - . Ref. HM 261 .A1 G3
International Gallup Polls. 1979 - . Ref. HM 261 .A1 I61
Full text of polls in printed editions.
52.
Dictionary
of Polling. Ref. HM 261 .Y684
Defines over 400 terms commonly used to describe public opinion
research. Useful for for creators and users of polls.
53.
Polling
America: an Encyclopedia of Public Opinion. Ref. HN 90 .P8
P645
In-depth articles relating to the study of public opinion,
its terms and concepts and the ways in which it is surveyed, measured,
studied, and interpreted. Most articles are followed by lists for further
reading and relevant websites.
54.
American
Attitudes: What Americans Think about the Issues that Shape Their
Lives. Ref. HN 90 .P8 A527
A user-friendly version of public opinion gathered from the
General Social Survey. Includes most questions asked repeatedly over
the past 30 years organized in historical and topical sections.
55.
Library
of Congress <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
56.
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.
Publications of the United States government can be of great use
in sociology research, particularly in providing statistics and reports
issued by Congress or governmental agencies. Government documents
are housed in Government
Documents and Microforms on the first floor. 
57.
MarciveWeb
- U.S. Government Documents.
Indexes publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office since 1976.
Can be searched by author, title, subject, and keyword.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
58.
GPOAccess <http://www.gpoaccess.gov/>
Through GPOAccess the U.S. Government Printing Office provides free electronic
access to Federal Government Information. It also provides links to many government
sources, including Firstgov, the U.S.
Government's official web portal for dissemination of information.
59.
Sociology:
A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. Ref.
Z 7164 .S68 A24 2005
A guide to more than 600 sources in sociology and the related social sciences.
60.
SocioSite <http://www.sociosite.net>
"SocioSite is a project from the Department of Sociology at the University of
Amsterdam. It has become a very popular 'yellow guide' for sociologists
from all over the world. It contains high quality resources and texts that
can be used as wheels for the sociological mind."
61.
SocioWeb <http://www.socioweb.com/~markbl/socioweb/>
"The SocioWeb is an independent guide to the Sociological resources available
on the Internet." Browse by category or search SocioWeb's many high-quality
links.
62.
WWW
Virtual Library: Sociology <http://socserv2.mcmaster.ca/w3virtsoclib/>
More comprehensive that other internet sources in Sociology, this site offers
content in the form of journal articles (many accessible full-text via this
guide or the Library web page) and data sets, also links to chat rooms, newsgroups,
listservs, and other resources in the field.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 11/06
jm
Links updated: 12/07
jc