
A. Individual Authors
1.
Literature
Resource Center (LRC).
This resource provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical
analyses of greater than 120,000 authors, past and present. A useful
search option is "Authors by Type," where one can search by ethnicity,
nationality, genre, theme, and literary movement. LRC provides full
text to standard reference resources like Contemporary Authors (Ref. Biog.
CT 220 .C6) and Dictionary of Literary Biography (Ref. Biog. PS 121 .D48). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
2.
Diccionario
de Literatura Española e Hispanoamericana. Ref. PQ 6006 .D6
1993
Briefly discusses Spanish and Latin American authors, works, and literary terms.
Articles often include bibliographies.
3.
Encyclopedia
of Caribbean Literature. Ref. Biog. PN 849 .C3 E53
2006
Short articles profile authors from the Caribbean region writing
in Spanish, English, French, or Dutch. Topical entries cover genres,
cultural/national identity, movements, and themes.
4.
The
Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature. Ref.
PQ 6055 .F46 2002
Includes information on Spanish women writers and topics important to feminist
studies in Spain. Entries include bibliographies of titles by and about
a given article, or titles for further information on a topic.
5.
Latin
American Writers. Ref. Biog. PQ 7081 .A1 L37 1989
A three-volume set providing fairly long (5-15 pages) scholarly entries on
Latin American writers from the late fifteenth century to the present. Entries
include substantial bibliographies of work both by the authors and about them.
Arranged chronologically (by birthdate of author), but Vol. III includes an
alphabetical listing of "subjects" (i.e., authors). A supplement
including 36 additional essays was published in 2002: Latin American Writers:
Supplement I, Ref. Biog. PQ 7081 .A1 L37 1989 SUPPL.

B. Additional Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias
6.
Encyclopedia
of Latin American Literature. Ref. PQ 7081.A1
E53 1997
Provides thorough, authoritative coverage of genres, terminology, biographical
information, bibliographies, and literary topics pertinent to Latin American
literature.
7.
Encyclopedia
of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003. Ref.
PQ 7081 .A1 E558 2004
Following the introductory overview of Latin American
and Caribbean literature and a chronology are short biographies of writers and
brief articles on topics such as cultural theory, Brazilian modernism, and popular
culture and literature. Includes suggestions for further reading.
8.
Johns
Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory. Ref. PN 81 .J554 2005
Alphabetically arranged entries on literary critics and theorists,
critical and theoretical schools and movements, the contributions
of specific countries and historical periods, and nonliterary fields
of inquiry shaped by literary theory and criticism. Entries
consist of a critical essay addressing the subject's historical
and philosophical importance and a selective primary and secondary
bibliography.
9.
Latin
American Literature and Its Times. Ref. PQ 7081 .M625
1999
Examines approximately fifty literary works, focusing on historical events
that occurred at the time of a work's publication as well as providing information
on authors, plots, and characters. Sources and literary context are discussed
for each work as well as excerpts from contemporary reviews. Includes
chronologies for contextual comparison and bibliographical references for further
research.
10.
Oxford
Companion to Spanish Literature. Ref. PQ 6006 .O95 1978
Brief entries for authors, works, and concepts in Spanish-language literature.
Arranged alphabetically.
11.
A
Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language. Ref.
Z 2695 .A2 B55 1995
A selected, annotated guide to Spanish, Spanish-American, and U.S. Hispanic
bibliography, literature, linguistics, journals, and other source materials.
C. Culture
12.
Encyclopedia
of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures. Ref
F 1406 .E515 2000
Presents cultural interconnections between Latin America and the Caribbean. Entries
are alphabetically arranged; however, volume 1 includes a thematic listing
for the entries, capturing themes by country, architecture, politics, religion,
food, etc. Volume 1 also includes essays on decades from the 1920s
through the 1990s. Three volumes.
13.
Encyclopedia
of Contemporary Spanish Culture. Ref DP 233.5 .E63
1999
Similar in scope and presentation to #10 above. Spanish cultural themes
are alphabetically arranged, but a Thematic Entry List is included at the beginning. Contemporary
for this resource means from 1939 (end of the Civil War) onward; however, entries
are primarily from 1975 (post-Franco period) onward.
14.
Encyclopedia
of Latin American and Caribbean Art. Ref N 6502
.E53 1999
Alphabetically-arranged entries that cover "the arts and culture of every
country in the Western Hemisphere except Canada and the United States." Concentrates
chronologically on the time period from European conquest onward; however,
some country entries cover arts of indigenous peoples. See also Grove
Dictionary of Art Online.
15.
Encyclopedia
of Latin American History and Culture. Ref F
1406 .E53 1996
A 5-volume, aphabetically-arranged resource with more than 5000 entries on
the history and culture of countries that were "once been part of the
Spanish Empire;" also includes entries relating to Brazil.
16.
Literary
Cultures of Latin America: A Comparative History. Ref.
PQ 7081 .A1 L525 2004
Extensive essays, which include bibliographies, discuss the development
of Latin American literature. Three volumes. Link to the
table
of contents for more detail.
17.
Medieval
Iberia: An Encyclopedia. Ref DP 99 .M33 2003
Introduction to the culture of Spain and Portugal from approximately 470 to
1500, with entries covering history, art, music, literature, travel, and more. Entries
are alphabetically arranged with bibliographic citations at the end of each
article.
A. GEORGE <http://catalog.library.georgetown.edu>
To locate books in Lauinger
Library, use GEORGE, the online catalog.
1. Author searches: Type
in the name, last name first. Note: Names must be entered in the
proper form.
Examples:
Calderon
de la Barca, Pedro
Ortega
y Gasset, Jose
Cervantes
Saavedra, Miguel de
Ruiz
de Alarcon y Mendoza, Juan
Garcia
Lorca, Federico
Vargas
Llosa, Mario
Molina,
Tirso de
Vega,
Lope de
2. Subject searches: To find books of literary criticism about
authors and/or their work, type in the name (last name, first name)
as a subject. Many different subheadings can appear under
this subject heading, but note particularly
"Criticism
and interpretation" (e.g., Allende, Isabel--Criticism and Interpretation)
and
"Bibliography" (e.g.,
Garcia Marquez, Gabriel, 1928--Bibliography).
If a specific work has been widely studied, you may find a subheading
devoted just to it (e.g., Garcia Marquez, Gabriel, 1928--Cien Años
De Soledad).
Note: For a given book to appear under an author's name, the book
must be solely or primarily about the author. Therefore, you might
want also to expand the scope of your search to include topics
(e.g., Latin American fiction, Spanish American literature, Spanish
poetry--Women authors).
3. Keyword searches: When you can't determine a relevant
subject heading, try searching by keyword. This technique
locates words in a book's title, subject headings, and contents
notes. For example: surrealism and (latin or hispanic or
spanish) and literature. Use an astericsk (*) to truncate
words to retrieve word variants (e.g., latin* for latin or latino
or latina).
B. Other Library
Catalogs
Library of Congress <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
WorldCat
A large union catalog with approximately 50 million records from more than
19,000 libraries around the world. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/resource/libcats.htm
WRLC Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium: George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities,
and the University of the District of Columbia. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.

18. 
MLA
International Bibliography. 1961- . (1921-1994 Ref.
Z 7006 .M64)
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America and covers scholarship
in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal
articles (75% of the entries), books, and book chapters from multi-author works. Does
not include book reviews. Since 1980, indexes journal articles, books, and
book chapters (from multi-author works) on literature and language. While its
focus is on English-language literature, it also includes a significant number
of references to Spanish-language literature. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
19.
BiblioNoticias <http://www.lib.utexas.edu/benson/bibnot/bibnot.html>
A series of bibliographies (1990-present) published by the Benson Latin American
Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. To locate bibliographies
on literary topics, use the "Find in Page" function under Edit on the toolbar
and search for "literature."
20. 
Handbook
of Latin American Studies. 1992- . <http://lcweb2.loc.gov/hlas/ > (1935- .
Ref. Z 1605 .H2)
An annotated, scholarly bibliography of books, articles, and conference
papers in the humanities and social sciences. A project of
the Library of Congress, this site contains feature articles about
Latin American life and culture.
21. 
Hispanic
American Periodicals Index (HAPI). 1970- . (1975-1995 Ref.
Z 1605 .H49)
The premier periodical index in Latin American studies, this database provides
citations to scholarly journals addressing general information about and the
literature of Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics
in the United States. Keyword searches allow you to search for literary concepts,
authors, and titles. See also PRISMA (#25
below), which has full text of some titles. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
22.
Humanities
Index. 1984- . (1974-1983 Ref.
AI 3 .R471)
Indexes approximately 300 English-language journals in the humanities, many of
them focusing on literature. Includes the core journals in humanistic disciplines. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
23.
Inter-American
Review of Bibliography (Revista interamericana de bibliografía). Periodical
Stacks (Second Floor)
Organized by broad subjects, this quarterly publication provides references to
recent articles, book reviews, and dissertations on Latin America, including
(but not limited to) Latin American literature. Each issue also includes several
long bibliographic essays.
24.
JSTOR
Full-text of selected scholarly journals in a variety of fields,
including literature. Most recent 3-5 years are not included. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/.
25.
PRISMA
(Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanistica)
Mostly full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences
and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic
and Latin America,
and the Caribbean Basin. Offers key titles indexed in the Hispanic
American Periodicals Index (HAPI) (#21 above). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
26.
Project
Muse
Provides access to scholarly journals in literature and criticism as well as
other fields. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/.
| IV. Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature |

27.
Bibliografía
de la Literatura Hispánica. Ref. Z 2691 .S5
A comprehensive and thorough bibliography of all of the Hispanic literatures.
Includes books, periodical articles, and dissertations.
28.
Bibliographical
Guide to Spanish American Literature. Ref. Z 1609 .L7 R438 1988
An annotated bibliography arranged by type of work (e.g., bibliographies, dictionaries,
anthologies). Author index.
29.
Guide
to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and
Spanish American Literature. Ref. Z 2695 .A2 W66 1997
A comprehensive annotated listing of sources. The materials on literature are
divided into two sections, "Spanish Literature of Europe" and "Spanish Literature
of the Western Hemisphere." Includes an index of authors, editors, and compilers.
30.
Scholars'
Guide to Washington, D.C., for Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Ref.
Z 1601 .G867 1992
"A descriptive and evaluative survey of research resources" describing libraries,
archives, museums, special collections, and organizations.
31.
A
Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language. Ref. Z 2695
.A2 B55 1995
An annotated, classified bibliography of bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias,
and histories of Hispanic literature. Author and title indexes.
32.
Spanish
Literature, 1500-1700: A Bibliography of Golden Age Studies in Spanish and
English, 1925-1980. Ref. Z 2692 .M67 1984
Lists critical studies from periodicals and multi-author collections. The first
part cites references to materials on broad topics, while the second gives
citations to articles and essays on individual authors.
-

These sites provide links to
literary criticism; full-text access to historical, non-copyrighted literary
works; electronic reference guides (e.g. glossaries, collections of quotations,
style manuals, grammars); bibliographies; topics lists; listservs and newsgroups;
and electronic journals. Other literary sites may be found by searching Internet
Subject Guides
and Directories or Search
Engines.
33.
Cervantes
Virtual <http://www.cervantesvirtual.com/>
34.
WESS
Iberian Language and Literature Web <http://www.library.yale.edu/wess/iberianlanglit.html>
35.
UT-LANIC
(University of Texas Latin American Network Information Center) <http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/literature/>
36.
Literary
Resources on the Net <http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/>
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 07/06
- sh
Links updated: 12/07
jc