A. General and Historical
1.
Country
Studies (Area Handbooks) <http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html>
Prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress and sponsored
by the U.S. Department of Army, the studies analyze a country or region's political,
economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, examining
the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural
factors. Includes bibliographies.
2.
Department
of Defense Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms. <http://www.dtic.mil/doctrine/jel/doddict/index.html>
Approved terminology for general use by all components of the Department of
Defense.
3.
Encyclopedia
of Arms Control and Disarmament. Ref. JX 1974 .E57 1993
Three volumes of essays on broad topics and useful bibliographies on existing
agreements and their negotiating history through 1992.
4.
Encyclopedia
of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security. Ref. JF
1525 .I6 E63 2004
Entries describe weapons, organizations, strategies, events, and
concepts with an emphasis on science and technology issues.
5.
Encyclopedia
of the American Military. Ref. UA 23 .E56 1994
Long essays, often by authors directly involved in formulating policy, on historical
events and their effects on current policies (e.g., reserve forces, tooth-to-tail
ratios, women in the military). 3 volumes.
6.
Homeland
Security: A Documentary History. Ref. UA 927 .H657 2004
Compilation of documents beginning with 1798 illustrating the historical
development of responses and approaches to homeland security.
7.
International
Military and Defense Encyclopedia. Ref. U 24 .I58 1993
Shorter entries on specific topics with occasional
longer survey articles. Reports on individual national forces are superseded
by Military Balance (#30) and Strategic Survey (#26).
6 volumes.
8.
Political
Role of the Military: An International Handbook. Ref.
JF 195 .C5 P67 1996
For each country, analyzes the current and past role of the military
within its society. Includes notes and references.
B. Current Updates
9.
Arms
Control Reporter: a Chronicle of Treaties, Negotiations, Proposals,
Weapons, and Policy. (1987-2001 Ref. JX 1974.7
.A8)
An arms control and nonproliferation journal that tracks the status of ongoing
arms control treaties and negotiations. Provides a chronology of negotiating
positions, expert opinion pieces, official documents, and technical analysis.
10.
World
News Connection. 1994-
Provided by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Contains
translations of worldwide news and commentary from foreign television and radio
broadcasts, newspapers, and periodicals from July 1994 to the present. World
News Connection replaces Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Use
the FBIS
Index for 1975-1996. Documents from 1978-mid 1990s are on microfiche in Government
Documents and Microforms on the first floor of Lauinger. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
C.
Periodicals
Consult GEORGE for
holdings and locations of specific journal titles. To find articles
on a particular subject in these and many other periodicals, search
the indexes listed in Part IV.
Air Force Magazine, Army, Marine Corps Gazette, and U.S. Naval Institute
Proceedings are published by professional associations whose members
are largely serving members of the respective services. The information
presented is authoritative although generally unofficial. RUSI Journal
serves a similar purpose for British forces.
Armed Forces Journal International (AFJI), Aviation Week & Space
Technology, Defense News, Jane's Defence Weekly,
and Signal deal with research and development, procurement, and deployment
of military technology. AFJI features interviews with senior military
and civilian officials and representatives of defense contractors.
Armor, Field Artillery (F A Journal), Infantry, Special Warfare,
and Military Intelligence, each sponsored by the branch school for
the field, provide official doctrine and professional debate. Joint
Force Quarterly, Military Review, Parameters, and Naval War College
Review do the same at a more theoretical level.
International Security, Journal of Strategic Studies, and Strategic
Review focus on geopolitical and economic elements of conflict situations
in addition to their strategic themes.
DOD and
Military E-Journals <http://www.au.af.mil/au/aul/periodicals/dodelecj.htm>
Links to many full-text journals, compiled by the Air University Library and
Press, Maxwell Air Force Base, Alabama.
A. Lauinger
Library - Search GEORGE,
the online catalog, by:
--Subject: Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH),
the red volumes located near the Reference Desk, to identify the
precise terminology assigned to your topic. Or look up a title you
know and click on one of the subject headings listed in the entry.
You will probably want to search under several headings. Examples:
Broad topical headings:
e.g.,
Armaments
National
security
Security,
International
Strategy
Military
art and science
Armed
forces
Subheadings applied to political or geographical entities:
e.g.,
Russia (Federation) - Military policy
United
Nations - Armed Forces
Scandinavia
- Defenses
Indian
Ocean Region - Strategic aspects
Specific subjects of interest:
e.g.,
Arms transfers
Economic
conversion
Export
controls
Information
warfare
Intervention
(International law)
Operation
Restore Hope
Yugoslav
War, 1991-
--Keyword: When you can't determine a relevant Library of Congress
Subject Heading or when you want to combine headings, search by "keyword." This
technique locates words in books' titles, subject headings, and other
fields within the record and is especially helpful for finding new
terms or concepts. If you need help with GEORGE or searching by topic,
please ask
a Reference Librarian.
B. Other Libraries
11.
Library
of Congress. <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
12.
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.

Bibliographies can be located in GEORGE by using the subheading Bibliography
under organizations, government agencies, or topics (e.g. North Atlantic
Treaty Organization - Bibliography; United States Navy - Bibliography; or
Security, International - Bibliography).
13.
Air
University Library Bibliographies. <http://www.au.af.mil/au/aul/bibs/bib97.htm>
Bibliographies compiled by AUL librarians to support the curricula of Air University
schools and associated educational initiatives. Examples include Homeland Security & Defense;
Israeli-Palestinian Conflict; and Weapons of Mass Destruction.
14.
U.S.
Military and Defense Studies: Online Resources. <http://www.ala.org/ala/acrl/acrlpubs/crlnews/backissues2004/december04/militarystudies.htm>
Listing of websites useful for researching military and defense-related
topics.

15.
Academic
Search Premier. 1965- (varies).
Indexes over 3200 scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities,
education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts,
literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Significant percentage available
in full text. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
16. 
Index
to Military Periodicals. 1990-
. <http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/aulimp/search.html>
(1977- 1997 Ref. Z 5063 .A2 U78)
Index to significant articles, news items, and editorials appearing in English-language
military and aeronautical periodicals. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
17.
CIAO. (Columbia
International Affairs Online). 1991- .
Columbia University-published source for theory and research in international
affairs. Offers full text and abstracts of working papers from university research
institutes; occasional papers series from NGOs; think tank- and foundation-funded
research projects; policy briefs; books; journal articles; and papers from
over 60 participating institutes around the world. Subject coverage includes
global issues, world politics and political science, religions, nationalism,
terrorism, diplomacy, security, and the world economy.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
18.
Janes
Defence Magazine Library 1990s- .(varies)
Contains the fulltext 11 Jane's magazines, including Defence Industry, Defence
Weekly, Foreign Report, Intelligence Digest, Intelligence Review, International
Defense Review, Defence Upgrades (merged with International Defense Review
April 2003), Islamic Affairs Analyst, Missiles and Rockets, Navy International,
Terrorism and Security Monitor. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
19. 
P.A.I.S. 1915
- .
One of the best indexes to topics in politics and international affairs. Indexes
journal articles, books, pamphlets, and government publications on international
affairs policy issues. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
20.
Proquest
Research Library. 1986 - .
Indexes over 1,800 periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, general sciences,
business and general interest. About half of the articles are available in full
text. Divided into distinct time periods (current vs. backfiles) that must be
searched separately. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
21. 
Selected
RAND Abstracts. <http://www.rand.org/Abstracts/abstracts.html> (1963-
present. Ref. Z 7916 .R3)
Index to RAND's publicly available documents. Indexes books, reports, notes, and
papers concerning problems of policy and planning in domestic and foreign affairs.
These materials are listed in GEORGE under author and title.
22.
Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts. 1975-
.
Indexes a large number of journals that analyze international relations and conflicts
as well as internal political conditions worldwide. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

23.
Brassey's
Defence Yearbook. Ref. V 10 .N3
Includes essays on weapons developments and future trends in global defense policy.
Also has strategic reviews of various regions.
24.
Brassey's
International Intelligence Yearbook. Ref. JF 1525 .I6 B7
Country studies and briefings provide overviews
of the country's government, national intelligence community, national
security legislation,
intelligence
oversight, international intelligence relationships, and recent activities
followed by a list of readings.
25. 
SIPRI
Yearbook: Armaments, Disarmament and International Security. 1972-
. <http://books.sipri.org/index_html?c_category_id=1>
Ref. UA 10 .I55
Essays and statistics that review political and military topics of the past
year. Includes detailed information on weapons technology, arms trade and expenditures,
conflicts, and arms control. Stockholm International
Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)'s task is to conduct "scientific
research on questions of conflict and cooperation of importance for international
peace and security with the aim of contributing to an understanding
of the conditions for peaceful solution of international conflicts and for
a stable peace."
26.
Strategic
Survey. Ref. Desk U 162 .S77
Annual summary of events and trends in world security and arms limitations.
Includes a chronological breakdown of events by country.

27.
Facts
on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST). <http://first.sipri.org/>
Integrated collection of data on armed conflicts, peacekeeping, arms production
and trade, armed forces, and conventional and nuclear weapons. Includes security
and diplomatic activity chronologies. Also provides some limited non-security
data such as population, development, and voter turnout statistics. FIRST is
a joint project of the International Relations and Security Network (ISN) and
the Stockholm
International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI).
28.
Foreign
Military Sales, Foreign Military Construction Sales, and Military Assistance
Facts. Gov. Docs. D1.66: (1976-1980 shelved at D1.2:F76/)
An annual publication containing statistical tables covering all aspects of
military and construction sales from the U.S. to foreign countries.
29.
LexisNexis
Statistical. 1973- .
An index and abstract to U.S. economic, demographic, industrial, and social
statistics. Some documents are available in full text. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
30.
The
Military Balance. Ref. Desk UA 15 .L65
An international quantitative assessment of military and defense expenditures.
Bilateral and multilateral agreements are also described.
31. 
World
Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers <http://www.state.gov/t/vci/rls/rpt/wmeat/>
Print Version: Gov. Docs. Ref. AC 1.16 and S 22.116: 998 http://www.state.gov/www/global/arms/bureau_ac/reports_ac.html (1996-1998)
Provides data on military expenditures and arms
transfers for 172 countries, including country rankings.
| VII. U.S. Government Documents |

Publications of U.S. executive branch departments and agencies, as well as
Congress, are housed in Government
Documents and Microforms on the first floor and listed in GEORGE.
The following titles may be useful for strategic affairs research.
32. 
Declassified
Documents Reference System--U.S. 1945-1970's.
Print version: Gov. Docs. Z 1223 .Z9 D4; Mfiche 96 LAU Microforms
Collection of previously classified and top-secret U.S. government documents.
Provides access to post- World War II papers from the CIA, the FBI, and many
other agencies, gathered from presidential libraries. Documents display in
a digital facsimile format or in ASCII text.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
33.
Defense Almanac. <http://www.defenselink.mil/pubs/almanac/>
Provides Department of Defense statistics on personnel, budgets, weapon systems,
and force locations. Note: Link from the categories on the left side of the
Almanac's homepage to find many subcategories. Gov.
Docs. D2.15/3 (1984-1997).
34.
Digital
National Security Archive. 20th century.
Comprehensive collection of more than 35,000 full-text declassified documents
that led to policy decisions by the United States. Contains twelve complete
collections: Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis 1958-1962, Cuban Missile Crisis, El
Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Intelligence Community, Iran Revolution, Military
Uses of Space, Nicaragua, Nuclear Nonproliferation, Philippines, and South
Africa. New collections added yearly. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
35.
Federal
Web Locator <http://www.lib.auburn.edu/madd/docs/fedloc.html>
Starting point for finding federal government information
on the World Wide Web, provided by the Center for Information Law and Policy.
36.
LexisNexis
Congressional.
Full text of legislative and public policy resources, including congressional
hearings and reports, bills, public laws, the Congressional Record, the Federal
Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, floor votes, congressional member
financial information, the U.S. Code, and legislative histories for any law
enacted since 1970. A separate file within LexisNexis Congressional covers
1789-1969. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
37.
MarciveWeb
- U.S. Government Documents. 1976-
.
Indexes publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Can be
searched by author, title, subject, and keyword. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

The security/military affairs sector of the Internet varies as widely in source
and quality as any other. It is also one of the most densely cross-linked. The
sites sponsored by the U.S. military organizations are also among the most
turbulent in content as reawakened security concerns contend with the open-information
orientation of the Web.
38.
Afghanistan
Conflict Monitor. <
http://www.afghanconflictmonitor.org/data.html#data1>
An initiative of the Human Security Report
Project at the School for International Studies at Simon Fraser University,
the Monitor highlights new research and analysis on the conflict in
Afghanistan and related issue-areas, including
health, development, displacement, governance, gender, small arms, landmines,
human rights and transitional justice.
39.
CSCW
Centre
for the Study of Civil War UCDP/PRIO Armed Conflict Dataset.
<http://new.prio.no/CSCW-Datasets/Data-on-Armed-Conflict/UppsalaPRIO-Armed-Conflicts-Dataset/>
International Peace Research Institute, Oslo (PRIO) and Uppsala Conflict
Data Program (UCDP) at the Department of Peace and Conflict Research,
Uppsala University provide access to the 1946–2006
Armed Conflict Dataset.
40.
DefenseLINK
DoD Sites. <http://www.defenselink.mil/sites/>
DefenseLINK's portal to
the Department of Defense on the World Wide Web.
41.
INCORE:
Conflict Data Service. <http://www.incore.ulst.ac.uk/services/cds/>
INCORE (International Conflict Research) is located within the Faculty
of Social Sciences at the University of Ulster and co-ordinates the varied
peace and conflict-related activity across the University. Its Conflict
Data Service includes guides by country, which provide
information about internet resources on conflict and ethnicity specific
to particular
countries
and regions and guides by theme such as UN peacekeeping, landmines, mediation
and conflict, and refugees. It also contains an online database of peace
agreeents from around the world.
42.
International
Relations and Security Network (ISN). <http://www.isn.ethz.ch/>
A superb portal for resources in security and defense studies, peace and conflict
research, and international relations, maintained by the Center for Security
Studies and Conflict Research in Zurich. Includes a Limited Area Search (ISN
LASE), which allows users to perform full-text searches across hundreds of
security-related Internet sites, and Facts
on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST), a joint project
of ISN and SIPRI that integrates and organizes
data from many international relations and security databases, allowing a search
from one entry point. Quickest way to survey all sides of problem
areas, such as Kosovo or Armenia/Azerbaijan.
43.
Stockholm
International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI). <http://www.sipri.org/>
Excellent source of information on a variety of peace and security-related
areas, including arms transfers,
nuclear weapons, and chemical weapons. Includes statistical data, publications,
and results of research projects. Links to Conflict Data Sets (the
world's primary English-language data-collection projects studying violent
conflicts) can be found at http://www.sipri.org/contents/conflict/conflictdatasets.html
44.
Strategic
Intelligence <http://www.loyola.edu/dept/politics/intel.html>
Loyola University's homepage on strategic, military, and economic intelligence.
Also provides links into topical and historical issues. Well-grouped
for convenient access (e.g., international links, organizations, documents,
laws and reports, testimony, debates and controversy, conferences).
45.
The
World's Armed Forces Links. <http://www.armedforces.co.uk/linksworldarmies.htm>
Compilation of links to official Internet sites for armed forces around the
world.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
jc
Links updated: 12/07
jc