1.
Encyclopedia of International Terrorism. Ref. HV
6431 .E52 2002
3 volume collection of essays on terrorism. V. 1 covers the definition, history,
and development of terrorism. V. 2 deals with specific events and countries.
V. 3 contains documents and studies on terrorism and an extensive bibliography.
2.
Encyclopedia
of Modern Separatist Movements. Ref. HM 716 .H48 2000
Profiles of ethnic separatist groups and related topics. Gives history of the
group/country or biography if individual.
3.
Encyclopedia of Modern Worldwide Extremists and Extremist
Groups. Ref. HN 49 .R33 A85 2004
Contains around 290 alphabetically arranged entries. Provides in-depth
historical background of religious, political and social extremist
groups
and individuals, most since 1980. Focuses on the groups rather
than specific terrorist acts. Includes many little-known groups.
4.
Encyclopedia
of Terrorism. Ref. HV 6431 .K883 2003
Over 300 entries cover terrorist groups, methods, key events, activities
and responses, people, terms, and statistics. Emphasis on terrorism
in the United States and related to its interests abroad. Appendices
include maps and chronology.
5.
Encyclopedia
of World Terrorism. Ref. HV 6431 .E53 2003
Discusses ideas, theories, and terms used in the study of terrorism and political
violence. 2 v.
6.
Historical
Dictionary of Terrorism. Ref. HV 6431 .A537 2002
Brief entries on groups, events, people, and concepts. Includes a chronology,
an introductory essay on terrorism, and an extensive bibliography.
7.
Global
Terrorism. Ref. HV 6431.H43 2004
In addition to an historical overview, a chronological survey of
terrorist attacks, and biographies of both leaders of terrorist
groups and counter-terrorism experts, includes terrorism-related
laws, legal issues, and court cases.
8
MIPT
Terrorism Knowledge Base <http://www.tkb.org/>
Comprehensive source of information on global terrorist incidents, terrorism-related
court cases, terrorist groups, and leaders. Includes history, affiliates, locations,
and tactics of terrorism entities. See also #36.
9.
Revolutionary
and Dissident Movements of the World. Ref. JC 328.3
.R48 2004
Dissident, extra-parliamentary, guerilla, and illegal political movements are
listed with descriptions of the leadership, history, objectives, and activities
of the movement.
10.
Talking
Terrorism: a Dictionary of the Loaded Language of Political Violence. Ref.
HV 6431 .H455 2003
In an A-Z dictionary format, defines and explains terms
related to terrorism. Gives examples of usage by terrorist groups,
exposes the biases of media and government in response to terrorist
activity, and discusses how meanings can change over time.
11.
Terrorist
Group Profiles <http://www.nps.edu/Library/Research/SubjectGuides/SpecialTopics/TerroristProfile/TerroristGroupProfiles.html>
Profiles of selected individual terrorist groups
taken from Patterns
of Global Terrorism (#13). Lists alternate
names, activities, strength, area of operation, and external aid.
Books dealing with terrorism and insurgency are listed by subject
(as well as title and author) in GEORGE,
the online catalog. To search by subject in GEORGE, use the Library
of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), the red volumes shelved in the
dictionary stand near the Reference Desk of Lauinger Library, to
find correct terms. Or look up a title you know and click on the
subject headings listed in the entry. Examples of subject headings
for:
e.g.
Terrorism - Europe
Insurgency
- El Salvador
-
Organizations or terrorist incidents
e.g. Irish
Republican Army
September
11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001
World
Trade Center bombing, New York, N.Y., 1993
Hijacking
of aircraft
e.g.
Counterinsurgency
Government,
Resistance to
Hostages
Sabotage
You will probably want to search under several headings. If you
aren't finding what you want, try searching by keywords. Keywords
allow you to search words that appear in titles or subject headings
and are especially helpful for finding new terms or concepts. If
you need help with GEORGE or searching by topic, speak to a Reference
Librarian.
| III. Chronologies and Records of Terrorist Acts |
12. 
Amnesty
International Report. Ref. JC 571 .A44a
An annual record of Amnesty International's concerns. Reports incidents of
state terrorism: political killings, imprisonment, and torture. Latest year
in Reference, earlier years in stacks. Further information about Amnesty
International is available on the Web: <http://www.amnesty.org/>.
13. 
Patterns
of Global Terrorism <http://www.state.gov/s/ct/rls/pgtrpt/> or
Gov. Docs. Desk S1.138:
Annual review of terrorist activities and incidents by the U.S. State Department,
including a chronology of events and a list of hostages.
14.
Terrorism
1996-2001. Ref. HV 6431 .M4992 2002
A two-volume chronological record of transnational and international terrorist
incidents. Significant details about the event are included in the entry. Includes
a bibliography.
Note: Updates
Transnational Terrorism: Chronology of Events, 1968-1979 (HV 6431
.M5), International
Terrorism in the 1980's (Ref. HV 6431 .M494 1989), Terrorism 1988-1991 (Ref.
HV 6431 .M498 1993), and Terrorism
1992-1995 (Ref. HV 6431 .M499
1997). Bibliography updates Literature of Terrorism (Z 7164 .T3 M53)
and Terrorism,
1980-1987 (Ref. Z 7164 .T3 M54 1988).
The literature of terrorism is extensive. Search GEORGE by subject
Terrorism--Bibliography to find more.

15.
Terrorism
1996-2001. Ref. HV 6431 .M4992 2002
Described above (#14), this chronology and others by the same authors
includes a useful bibliography.
16.
Terrorism
: A Bibliography with Indexes. Ref
Z 7164 .T3 B33 2001
Coverage up to 2001. Catagories covered include international terrorism,
prevention, international security, government policy, state-sponsored
terrorism, counterterrorism, media impact, and terrorists.
17.
LexisNexis
Academic.
The service provides access to full text of thousands of magazines, newspapers,
wire services, and broadcast transcripts, including foreign newspapers that
are not otherwise available. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
18.
CIAO
(Columbia International Affairs Online).
Contains conference proceedings and working papers from 41 participating institutes
around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, hyperlinks
to more than 150 sites, journal abstracts, and a calendar of conferences
and seminars. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
19.
Index
to Military Periodicals.
Subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials appearing
in 75 English-language military and aeronautical periodicals. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
20.
International
Political Science Abstracts.
Indexes and abstracts articles from major political science journals since
1989. Covers theory, government, political process, international relations,
and national and area studies. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
21.
P.A.I.S.
Lists journal articles, books, pamphlets, and government publications on policy
issues related to economics, social conditions and international affairs since
1915. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
22.
Social
Sciences Index.
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
23.
World
News Connection.
Provided by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), it contains
translations of worldwide news and commentary from foreign television and radio
broadcasts, newspapers, and periodicals. World News Connection replaces the
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). FBIS Daily Reports are available
in the Government Documents collection from the late 1970s-1996 for most
regions of the world and are indexed for 1991-1996
on CD-ROM and for 1982-1992 in a printed index. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| VI. U.S. Government Documents |
Publications of U.S. government
departments and agencies, as well as Congress, are kept in Government
Documents and Microforms on the first floor. These
materials are listed in GEORGE. Indexes by subject and agency are
available in
Government Documents.
24.
MarciveWEB
- U.S. Government Documents.
A cumulated index to publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing
Office since 1976. Organized by author, title, subject, and keyword. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
25.
LexisNexis
Congressional.
Full text of the complete range of legislative and public policy resources.
Includes Congressional hearings and reports, bills, public laws, the Congressional
Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, floor votes,
Congressional member financial information, the U.S. Code, and legislative
histories for any law enacted since 1970. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
26.
Federal
Web Locator <http://www.lib.auburn.edu/madd/docs/fedloc.html>
The Federal Web Locator is a service provided by the Center for Information
Law and Policy and is a central starting point for finding federal government
information on the World Wide Web, including agencies which deal with terrorism.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
27.
Terrorism:
Special Studies, 1975-1985. Gov. Docs. Mfilm 701
Federally commissioned study that focuses on attempts by the U.S. and other
countries to deal with terrorist threats. Experts seek to understand the psychology
of terrorism, the origin of terrorist movements, the difference between state-sponsored
and independent terrorist activities, and how to develop counter-terrorist
policies. Includes several Rand Foundation studies that contain statistical
data.

28.
Declassified
Documents.
Collection of previously classified and top secret U.S. government documents
from the presidential libraries, the C.I.A., the F.B.I., and a host of other
agencies. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
29.
Homeland
Security: A Documentary History. Ref. UA 927 .H657 2004
Excerpts from more than 140 documents in chronological order trace the history
of homeland security in the United States since 1798.
30.
International
Terrorism. Gov. Docs. Y4.IN8/16:T27/3
Compiles the texts of major laws, regulations, agreements, and executive documents
dealing with U.S. and international efforts to combat terrorism through 1999.
31.
Terrorism:
a Documentary History. Ref. HV 6431 .T4594 2003
Includes 100 entries from 1972 through 2002. Each document is preceded by description
of the event that includes an analysis of the document.
32.
Terrorism:
Documents of International and Local Control. LAU Stacks
HV 6431 .T464 1979
An on-going multi-volume set that reprints major treaties, laws, and reports
on terrorism from individual governments and international organizations.
33.
International
Policy Institute for Counter-Terrorism <http://www.ict.org.il/>
A comprehensive resource on international terrorism and counter-terrorism which
features news updates, an interactive forum, and links to other Web resources.
34.
Memorial
Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism. <http://www.mipt.org/>
The Oklahoma City National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism
(MIPT) provides a number of resources on its Web site, including: sections
for first responders and victims, terrorism incidents, lessons learned, resources
from the MIPT library, and links to related sites. See also #8.
35.
South
Asia Terrorism Portal (Institute for Conflict Management) <http://www.satp.org>
The institute's publication, Faultlines, focuses on terrorism in South Asia (Bangladesh,
Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka). Includes background information,
timelines, and chronologies regarding terrorism and low-intensity warfare.
36.
Terrorism
Research Center <http://www.terrorism.com/>
This site features essays and thought pieces on current issues, as well as
links to other terrorism documents, research, and resources.
To find other terrorism or related sites, search Yahoo or
any of the other Internet
searching tools.
| IX. September 11, 2001 Resources |

37.
America's
War Against Terrorism <http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/usterror.html>
Extensive links to sites dealing with the September 11th attacks and aftermath.
Includes mainly U.S. and world news sites and government sites.
38.
Librarian's
Index to the Internet - September 11 & Beyond <http://lii.org/911>
This site contains links to hundreds of resources related to the September
11 attacks, the rebuilding in New York and at the Pentagon, and related
topics such as national security, post-9/11 censorship, and histories
of the World Trade Center.
39.
September
11 Archive <http://september11.archive.org/>
Commissioned by the Library of Congress, this site allows users to search for
topics dealing with September 11 and its aftermath. Sites are categorized as
follows: the press, government, corporate/business, charity, religious, and
others.
40.
September
11 Digital Archive <http://www.911digitalarchive.org/>
A collection of first-hand accounts of the 9/11 attacks and aftermath as well
as images, video, audio, other multimedia, and an annotated listing of Web
sites, organized by the American Social History Project at the City University
of New York (CUNY) Graduate Center and the Center for History and New Media
at George Mason University with collaboration from the Smithsonian and other
museums.
41.
The
9/11 Commission Report: Final Report of the National Commission on
Terrorist
Attacks Upon the United States <http://www.gpoaccess.gov/911/index.html>
The Commission's Final Report provides a complete account
of the circumstances surrounding the September 11th, 2001, terrorist
attacks, including preparedness for and the immediate response to the
attacks. It also includes recommendations designed to guard against
future attacks.
42.
Center
for Middle Eastern Studies <http://menic.utexas.edu/>
Consists mainly of links to international news sites regarding the September
11th attacks and aftermath.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 11/07
- JC
Links updated: 11/07
- JC