![]() |
![]() |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Guides Home » Reference ResourcesGuide to Research: Turabian Bibliographic Form: Parenthetical Reference
Parenthetical references should include the author's name, the date of publication, and the page number/s to which you refer. You will need to include full bibliographic details in your reference list. Note: Turabian's Manual provides limited examples for electronic publications. Therefore, many of the examples for citing electronic documents provided below are staff interpretations and adaptations based on the available information. Include some or all of the following elements for each complete bibliographic citation in your reference list; note the order of the elements: 1. Author or editor Examples: 1. ONE AUTHOR OR EDITOR OR CORPORATE AUTHOR Parenthetical Reference Text Author Charles Hullmandel experimented with lithographic techniques throughout the early nineteenth century, patenting the "lithotint" process in 1840 (Twyman 1970, 145-146). Editor Human beings are the sources of "all international politics;" even though the holders of political power may change, this remains the same (Hudson 1997, 5). Corporate Author Children of Central and Eastern Europe have not escaped the nutritional ramifications of iron deficiency, a worldwide problem (UNICEF 1999, 44). Reference List Hudson, Valerie, N., ed. 1997. Culture and Foreign Policy. Boulder: L. Rienner Publishers. Twyman, Michael. 1970. Lithography 1800-1850. London: Oxford University Press. UNICEF. 1999. Generation in jeopardy: Children
in Central and Eastern Europe and the 2. TWO OR MORE AUTHORS OR EDITORS Parenthetical Reference (Keat and Urry 1982, 196) For references with more than three authors, cite in the parenthetical reference the first named author followed by "et al." Cite all authors in the reference list. (Meyer et al. 1979, 56) Reference List Keat, Russell, and John Urry. 1982. Social
theory as science. 2d. ed. London: Meyer, Leonard B., Kendall Walton, Albert Hofstadter, Svetlana Alpers,
George Kubler, 3. ELECTRONIC BOOK Parenthetical Reference (Rae 1834) (Cather 1925) Reference List Include the access date and URL. Rae, John. 1834. Statement of some new
principles on the subject of political economy. Electronic Book from a Scholarly Project - Include the name of the project. Cather, Willa. 1925. The professor's house. New
York: A. A. Knopf. Book on-line. 4. ANTHOLOGY Parenthetical Reference (Barrick 1993, 256) (Knight 1999, 461) Reference List Barrick, Richard, John Sullivan, and Alexander White. 1993. The
American bloody register. In Knight, Stephen. 1999. Robin Hood: Men
in tights: Fitting the tradition snugly. In Robin Hood: 5. MULTIVOLUME WORK Parenthetical Reference (Tomkins 1962, 22) Reference List Tomkins, Silvan S. 1962. Affect, imagery,
and consciousness. Vol. 1, The positive affects. 6. EDITION Parenthetical Reference (Anthony and Reese 1995, 534) Reprint edition (Hawkins 1963, 20) Reference List Anthony, Robert N., and James S. Reese. 1995. Accounting Principles. 7th ed. Chicago: Irwin. Hawkins, John, Sir. 1963. General history of
the science and practice of music. 2 vols. New 7. TRANSLATION Parenthetical Reference (Erasmus 1979, 115) Reference List Erasmus, Desiderius. 1979. The praise of Folly. Translated
by Clarence H. Miller. New Haven: Yale 8. ARTICLE IN A REFERENCE BOOK If you use an article from a well-known reference book (such as The Encyclopaedia Britannica), you would usually not list it in your bibliography. In the note, you may omit the publication information but you must include the edition. Parenthetical Reference (The New Encyclopaedia Britannica: Micropaedia, 15th ed., s. v. "Audubon, John James") Note: There are no parenthetical reference examples for citing articles from online encyclopedias in Turabian's Manual. The examples below are staff interpretations based on Turabian style. ("Audubon, John James," in Encyclopaedia Britannica Online 2002) (Roger Crisp, "Ethics," in Routledge Encyclopedia
of Philosophy 1998 [CD-ROM]) Include some or all of the following elements in your reference list citations; note the order of elements: 1. Author For online periodicals, add: Examples: 1. SCHOLARLY JOURNAL Parenthetical Reference (Freedman 1998, 52) (Kirby 1997, 520) Reference List Freedman, Lawrence. 1998. The changing roles of military conflict. Survival 40, no. 4: 39-56. Kirby, John T. 1997. Aristotle on metaphor. American Journal of Philology 118: 517-554. Electronic Periodicals Parenthetical Reference If page numbers are not available, just cite the author and date. For example: (Rushdie 1999) (Freedman 1998, 52) (Kirby 1997, 520) Reference List Include the date of access and the URL of the article. Freedman, Lawrence. 1998. The changing roles of
military conflict. Survival 40, Kirby, John T. 1997. Aristotle on metaphor. American
Journal of Philology 118: 517-554. Fulltext of an article from a Database Include the database name, data of access, and URL of the article. Include also the database publisher and city of publication if they are available. Freedman, Lawrence. 1998. The changing roles of
military conflict. Survival 40, 2. MAGAZINE Parenthetical Reference (Goldberger 1996, 82) (Levy 2002, 45) Reference List Goldberger, Paul. 1996. Machines for living: The
architectonic allure of the automobile. Levy, Steven, and Brad Stone. 2002. Silicon Valley reboots. Newsweek, 25 March, 42-50.
Levy, Steven, and Brad Stone. 2002. Silicon
Valley reboots. Newsweek, 25 March, 42-50. 3. ANONYMOUS ARTICLE Parenthetical Reference (Information to die for 2002, 41) Reference List Information to die for. 2002. Marketing Health Services 22, no. 1: 40-42.
Information to die for. 2002. Marketing
Health Services 22, no. 1. Database on-line. 4. NEWSPAPER Parenthetical Reference (Pianin 2002, sec. A, p. 2) If you are citing an electronic version
of a newspaper that is not paginated, cite the author and the
date. For example:
Reference List Note: when using Turabian, newspaper articles are rarely cited in a reference list. Pianin, Eric. 2002. Use of arsenic in wood
products to end. The Washington Post, 13 February, sec.
A, Pianin, Eric. 2002. Use of arsenic in wood
products to end. The Washington Post, 13 February. Pianin, Eric. 2002. Use of arsenic in wood
products to end. The Washington Post, 13 February, sec.
A, 5. REVIEW Parenthetical Reference (Nash 2002, sec. 7, p. 24) Reference List Nash, Alanna. 2002. Hit 'em with a lizard! Review
of Basket Case, by Carl Hiassen. The New York
Nash, Alanna. 2002. Hit 'em with a lizard! Review
of Basket Case, by Carl Hiassen. The New York Note: There are no examples for citing entire Web sites in Turabian's Manual. The examples below are staff interpretations based on Turabian style. If you need to cite an entire Web site, remember to check with your professor to determine what is acceptable. Include some or all of the following elements in your reference list: 1. Author or editor of the Web site (if known) Examples: Reference List Crane, Gregory, ed. The Perseus Digital Library. Available from
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu. Financial Accounting Standards Board. Available from http://www.fasb.org. Accessed 29 April 2002. Lewis, Paul. Wilkie Collins. Available from http://www.deadline.demon.co.uk/wilkie/wilkie.htm. See also Electronic Book and Periodicals above.
1. 2. 3. 4.
Please send us your comments or suggestions Content updated: 6/02,ko'c
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||