Georgetown University Library's Guide to Citing Sources
Turabian Bibliographic Form: Parenthetical Reference

The examples in this guide are meant to introduce you to the basics of citing sources using Kate Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (sixth edition).  Kate Turabian created her first "manual" in 1937 as a means of simplifying for students The Chicago Manual of Style; this current edition of Turabian is based on the fourteenth edition of the Chicago Manual.  For types of resources not covered in this guide (e.g., government documents, manuscript collections, video recordings) and for further information about the examples included below, please consult the handbook itself (Ref Desk LB 2369 .T8 1996) and/or a Reference Librarian.  This guide can be found on line at http://www.library.georgetown.edu/guides/turabianparen/

The fourteenth edition of the Chicago Manual of Style recommends that researchers in the natural and social sciences adopt a parenthetical reference (or "author-date") style in combination with an alphabetically arranged reference list for documenting sources.  For footnote or endnote style, please refer to the separate guide Turabian Bibliographic Form: Footnote/Endnote Style.  *It is best to consult with your professor to determine the preferred citation style.

I. PARENTHETICAL REFERENCES & REFERENCE LIST

Parenthetical references should include the author's name, the date of publication, and the page number/s to which you refer.  You will need to include full bibliographic details in your reference list.

Note: Turabian's Manual provides limited examples for electronic publications.  Therefore, many of the examples for citing electronic documents provided below are staff interpretations and adaptations based on the available information.

A. Books

Include some or all of the following elements for each complete bibliographic citation in your reference list; note the order of the elements:

1. Author or editor
2. Year of publication
3. Title  (Capitalize titles and subtitles using sentence style; for example:  
Social theory as science.)
4. Compiler, translator, or editor (if an editor is listed in addition to an author)
5. Edition
6. Name of series, including volume or number used
7.
Place of publication and publisher

Examples:

1. ONE AUTHOR OR EDITOR OR CORPORATE AUTHOR

Parenthetical Reference

Text

Author

Charles Hullmandel experimented with lithographic techniques throughout the early nineteenth century, patenting the "lithotint" process in 1840 (Twyman 1970, 145-146).

Editor

Human beings are the sources of "all international politics;" even though the holders of political power may change, this remains the same (Hudson 1997, 5).

Corporate Author

Children of Central and Eastern Europe have not escaped the nutritional ramifications of iron deficiency, a worldwide problem (UNICEF 1999, 44).

Reference List

Hudson, Valerie, N., ed. 1997.  Culture and Foreign Policy. Boulder: L. Rienner Publishers.

Twyman, Michael.  1970.  Lithography 1800-1850.  London:  Oxford University Press.

UNICEF.  1999.  Generation in jeopardy: Children in Central and Eastern Europe and the
           former Soviet Union.  Edited by Alexander Zouev.  Armonk:  M. E. Sharpe.

2. TWO OR MORE AUTHORS OR EDITORS

Parenthetical Reference

(Keat and Urry 1982, 196)

For references with more than three authors, cite in the parenthetical reference the first named author followed by "et al."  Cite all authors in the reference list.

(Meyer et al. 1979, 56)

Reference List

Keat, Russell, and John Urry.  1982.  Social theory as science.  2d. ed.  London:
        Routledge and K. Paul.

Meyer, Leonard B., Kendall Walton, Albert Hofstadter, Svetlana Alpers, George Kubler,
          Richard Wolheim, Monroe Beardsley, Seymour Chatman, Ann Banfield, and Hayden
          White. 1979.  The concept of style. Edited by Berel Lang. Philadelphia: University of
           Pennsylvania Press. 

3. ELECTRONIC BOOK

Parenthetical Reference

(Rae 1834)

(Cather 1925)

Reference List

Include the access date and URL.

Rae, John.  1834.  Statement of some new principles on the subject of political economy.
        Boston: Hillard, Gray and Company.  Book on-line.  Available from
        http://socserv2.socsci.mcmaster.ca/~econ/ugcm/3ll3/rae/newprin.html. Accessed
        22 April 2002.

Electronic Book from a Scholarly Project - Include the name of the project.

Cather, Willa.  1925.  The professor's house.  New York:  A. A. Knopf.  Book on-line.
       Available from Humanities Text Initiative, http://www.hti.umich.edu/cgi/p/pd-modeng/
       pd-modeng-idx?type=header&idno=CatheProfH. Accessed 22 April 2002.

4. ANTHOLOGY

Parenthetical Reference

(Barrick 1993, 256)

(Knight 1999, 461)

Reference List

Barrick, Richard, John Sullivan, and Alexander White.  1993.  The American bloody register.  In
       Pillars of salt:  An anthology of early American criminal narratives, comp. Daniel E. Williams,
       233-258.  Madison, Wi.:  Madison House.

Knight, Stephen.  1999.  Robin Hood: Men in tights:  Fitting the tradition snugly.  In Robin Hood:
        An anthology of scholarship and criticism, ed. Stephen Knight, 461-467.  Woodbridge:  
        D. S. Brewer.

5. MULTIVOLUME WORK

Parenthetical Reference

(Tomkins 1962, 22)

Reference List

Tomkins, Silvan S.  1962.  Affect, imagery, and consciousness.  Vol. 1, The positive affects.
         New York:  Springer. 

6. EDITION

Parenthetical Reference

(Anthony and Reese 1995, 534)

Reprint edition

(Hawkins 1963, 20)

Reference List

Anthony, Robert N., and James S. Reese. 1995.  Accounting Principles. 7th ed. Chicago: Irwin.

Hawkins, John, Sir.  1963.  General history of the science and practice of music.  2 vols.  New
         York:  Dover Publications.  Original edition, London:  J. Alfred Novello, 1853.

7. TRANSLATION

Parenthetical Reference

(Erasmus 1979, 115)

Reference List

Erasmus, Desiderius. 1979.  The praise of Folly. Translated by Clarence H. Miller. New Haven: Yale
        University Press.

8. ARTICLE IN A REFERENCE BOOK

If you use an article from a well-known reference book (such as The Encyclopaedia Britannica), you would usually not list it in your bibliography. In the note, you may omit the publication information but you must include the edition.

Parenthetical Reference

(The New Encyclopaedia Britannica: Micropaedia, 15th ed., s. v. "Audubon, John James")

Note: There are no parenthetical reference examples for citing articles from online encyclopedias in Turabian's Manual.  The examples below are staff interpretations based on Turabian style.

("Audubon, John James," in Encyclopaedia Britannica Online 2002)

(Roger Crisp, "Ethics," in Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy 1998 [CD-ROM])

B. Articles in Periodicals

Include some or all of the following elements in your reference list citations; note the order of elements:

1. Author
2. Year of publication
3. Article title  
(Capitalize titles and subtitles using sentence style; for example:  Aristotle on metaphor.)
4. Periodical title
5. Volume number or Issue number (or both)
6. Page numbers

For online periodicals, add:
7. Date of access and URL, or
8. Database name, date of access, and URL (if available, include database publisher and city of publication)

Examples:

1. SCHOLARLY JOURNAL

Parenthetical Reference

(Freedman 1998, 52)

(Kirby 1997, 520)

Reference List

Freedman, Lawrence.  1998.  The changing roles of military conflict.  Survival 40, no. 4: 39-56.

Kirby, John T.  1997.  Aristotle on metaphor.  American Journal of Philology 118: 517-554.

Electronic Periodicals

Parenthetical Reference

If page numbers are not available, just cite the author and date.  For example:  (Rushdie 1999)

(Freedman 1998, 52)

(Kirby 1997, 520)

Reference List

Include the date of access and the URL of the article.

Freedman, Lawrence.  1998.  The changing roles of military conflict.  Survival 40,
        no. 4: 39-56.  Journal on-line.  Available from http://www3.oup.co.uk/surviv/
        hdb/Volume_40/Issue_04/pdf/400039.pdf.  Accessed 24 April 2002.

Kirby, John T.  1997.  Aristotle on metaphor.  American Journal of Philology 118: 517-554.
        Journal on-line.  Available from http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/american_journal_of_philology/
        v118/118.4kirby.pdf.  Accessed 24 April 2002.

Fulltext of an article from a Database

Include the database name, data of access, and URL of the article.  Include also the database publisher and city of publication if they are available.

Freedman, Lawrence.  1998.  The changing roles of military conflict.  Survival 40,
        no. 4: 39-56.  Database on-line.  Available from PA Research II, Ann Arbor, Mi.:  
        ProQuest Information and Learning Company, http://proquest.umi.com.  Accessed
        24 April 2002.

2. MAGAZINE

Parenthetical Reference

(Goldberger 1996, 82)

(Levy 2002, 45)

Reference List

Goldberger, Paul.  1996.  Machines for living:  The architectonic allure of the automobile.
        Architectural Digest (October): 82.

Levy, Steven, and Brad Stone.  2002.  Silicon Valley reboots.  Newsweek, 25 March, 42-50.

or

Levy, Steven, and Brad Stone.  2002.  Silicon Valley reboots.  Newsweek, 25 March, 42-50.
        Journal on-line.  Available from http://www.msnbc.com/news/724796.asp?cp1=1.  Accessed
        27 March 2002.

3. ANONYMOUS ARTICLE

Parenthetical Reference

(Information to die for 2002, 41)

Reference List

Information to die for.  2002.  Marketing Health Services 22, no. 1: 40-42.

or

Information to die for.  2002.  Marketing Health Services 22, no. 1.  Database on-line.
      Available from ABI/Inform, Ann Arbor, Mi: ProQuest Information and Learning Company,
      http://proquest.umi.com.  Accessed 24 April 2002.

4. NEWSPAPER

Parenthetical Reference

(Pianin 2002, sec. A, p. 2)

If you are citing an electronic version of a newspaper that is not paginated, cite the author and the date.  For example: (Pianin 2002)

Reference List

Note: when using Turabian, newspaper articles are rarely cited in a reference list.

Pianin, Eric.  2002.  Use of arsenic in wood products to end.  Washington Post, 13 February, sec. A,
       p. 2.

Pianin, Eric.  2002.  Use of arsenic in wood products to end.  Washington Post, 13 February.
       Newspaper on-line.  Available from http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/
       A1149-2002Feb12.html.  Accessed 13 February 2002.

Pianin, Eric.  2002.  Use of arsenic in wood products to end.  Washington Post, 13 February, sec. A,
       p. 2.  Database on-line.  Available from LEXIS-NEXIS®Academic Universe,
       http://www.lexis-nexis.com/universe.  Accessed 3 March 2002.

5. REVIEW

Parenthetical Reference

(Nash 2002, sec. 7, p. 24)

Reference List

Nash, Alanna.  2002.  Hit 'em with a lizard!  Review of Basket Case, by Carl Hiassen.  New York
        Times, 3 February, sec. 7, p. 24.

or

Nash, Alanna.  2002.  Hit 'em with a lizard!  Review of Basket Case, by Carl Hiassen.  New York
        Times, 3 February, sec. 7, p. 24.  Database on-line.  Available from LEXIS-NEXIS®
        Academic Universe, http://www.lexis-nexis.com/universe. Accessed 20 February 2002.

C. Web Sites

Note: There are no examples for citing entire Web sites in Turabian's Manual. The examples below are staff interpretations based on Turabian style. If you need to cite an entire Web site, remember to check with your professor to determine what is acceptable.

Include some or all of the following elements in your reference list:

1. Author or editor of the Web site (if known)
2. Title of the Web site
3. URL
4. Date of access

Examples:

Reference List

Crane, Gregory, ed. The Perseus Digital Library. Available from http://www.perseus.tufts.edu.
        Accessed 29 April 2002.

Financial Accounting Standards Board. Available from http://www.fasb.org. Accessed 29 April 2002.

Lewis, Paul. Wilkie Collins. Available from http://www.deadline.demon.co.uk/wilkie/wilkie.htm.
        Accessed 29 April 2002.

See also Electronic Book and Periodicals above.

II. WEB LINKS

Following are links to sites that have either additional information or alternative examples:

1. Web Citing Sources <http://www.lib.duke.edu/libguide/citing.htm>
Duke University's guide to citing sources.  The site offers comparison citation tables with examples from APA, Chicago, MLA and Turabian for both print and electronic works.

2. WebCiting Internet Sources <http://www.eeicommunications.com/eye/utw/96aug.html>
In addition to additional Turabian examples, you will find examples for the Chicago Manual of Style and APA.

3. WebUncle Sam: Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications <http://exlibris.memphis.edu/govpubs/citeweb.htm>
The examples in this excellent guide are based on the Chicago Manual of Style and Kate Turabian's Manual.


Please send us your comments or suggestions

 Content developed 6/02 -ko'c