A. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
1.
Dictionary
of American Diplomatic History. Ref. E 183.7 .F5 1989
Includes short biographies of ambassadors, secretaries of state, and other
key figures in U.S. foreign policy, along with brief definitions of terms.
2.
Dictionary
of American Foreign Affairs. Ref. E 183.7 .F58 1993
Covers space, technological, and environmental matters as well as the traditional
issues of diplomatic history, military intelligence, and economic affairs.
3.
Dictionary
of International Relations Terms. (Department of State Library). Ref.
Desk JX 1226 .D49 1987
Definitions are given for phrases, words, and acronyms used in the conduct
of foreign affairs. Sources are cited where concepts are discussed in more
detail. Also in the Government Documents and Microforms Department.
4.
Encyclopedia
of American Foreign Policy. Ref. E 183.7 .E52 2002
This three volume work contains in-depth, interpretive essays by scholars on
broad topics related to US foreign policy. Each essay ends with a bibliography.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
5.
Encyclopedia
of U.S. Foreign Relations. Ref. E 183.7 .E53 1997
Authoritative articles cover topics, persons, countries, and events related
to U.S. foreign relations. Bibliographies follow each article. Appendices
in volume four provide a chronology, table of national data, and a classified
bibliography of reference works.
6.
International
Relations: A Political Dictionary. Ref. JX 1226 .P55 1995
Brief definitions of terms and explanation of their significance. Includes
cross references.
B. Chronologies
7.
Chronological
History of U. S. Foreign Relations. Ref. E 183.7 .B745 2003
Descriptions and definitions of events, people, and subjects in U.S. foreign
policy are presented chronologically, 1607-2000.
8.
Encyclopedia
of U.S. Foreign Relations. Ref. E 183.7 .E53 1997
Includes a chronology of major foreign affairs
events, 1754 - 1996 is appended. See also #5 above.

Books dealing with American foreign policy are listed by subject (as well as
title and author) in GEORGE<http://catalog.library.georgetown.edu/>,
the library's catalog. To search by subject in GEORGE, use the Library of
Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), the red volumes shelved in the dictionary
stand near the Reference Desk of Lauinger Library, to find correct terms.
Or look up a title you know and click on the subject headings listed in the
record. Examples of subject headings are:
-
To find specific topics or issues
e.g. Persian
Gulf War, 1991
Strategic
Arms Limitations Talks
-
To find U.S. relations with a specific country or region
e.g. United
States - Foreign relations - China
United
States - Foreign relations - Arab countries
-
To find general books on American foreign policy
e.g. United
States - Foreign relations
United
States - Foreign relations 1945-1953
-
To find the names of organizations
e.g. North
Atlantic Treaty Organization
Conference
on Security and Cooperation in Europe
You will probably want to search under several subject headings.
If you aren't finding what you want, try searching by keywords. Keywords
allow you to search words that appear in titles or subject headings
and are especially helpful for finding new terms or concepts. If
you need help with GEORGE or searching by topic, speak to a Reference
Librarian.

Bibliographies can be located in GEORGE, by using the subheading - Bibliography
under headings for topics, organizations, or the foreign relations of a country,
e.g. Terrorism - Bibliography; North Atlantic Treaty Organization - Bibliography;
United States - Foreign Relations - Bibliography.
9.
American
Foreign Relations Since 1600: A Guide to the Literature. Ref.
Z 6465 .U5 G84 2003
The definitive bibliography on U.S. foreign policy. Has short essays beginning
each chapter as well as annotations for all items listed. Two volumes.
10.
International
Negotiations: A Bibliography. Ref. Z 6464 .Z9 L32 1989
Focusing on the process of diplomatic negotiation, this bibliography is arranged
in twelve subject chapters such as "Multilateral Negotiations" and "American
Diplomacy". It includes books, journal and newspaper articles, and government
documents pertaining to 20th century diplomacy, especially post World War II.

11. 
America,
History and Life.
Primary index to research on U.S. and Canadian history. Includes abstracts
of articles, reviews, and dissertations. The electronic version covers 1982
to the present; the print version covers 1954 through 1994 and is shelved on
the 2nd floor lobby at Ref. Z1236 .A48. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
12.
CIAO
(Columbia International Affairs Online).
Contains conference proceedings and working papers from over 90 participating
institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries,
hyperlinks to websites, journal abstracts and a calendar of conferences and
seminars. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
13. 
International
Political Science Abstracts.
An index to periodical articles on political science, government, international
relations, and area studies. Most useful for articles in languages other than
English. Abstracts are published in English for English language articles,
but foreign language articles are abstracted in French only. The electronic
version covers 1989 to the present; the print version covers 1951-1997 and
is shelved at Ref. JA36 .I5. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
14.
Jane's
Defence Magazine Library.
The Defence Magazine Library contains the fulltext of 11 Jane's magazines,
including: Defence Industry, Defence Upgrades (Merged with International Defense
Review April 2003.), Defence Weekly, Foreign Report, Intelligence Digest, Intelligence
Review, International Defense Review, Islamic Affairs Analyst, Missiles and
Rockets, Navy International, Terrorism and Security Monitor. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
15. 
PAIS
International.
An index to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating
to economics, social conditions, and international relations. The electronic
version covers 1915 to the present. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
16. 
Social
Sciences Index.
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including several
international affairs journals. The electronic version covers 1983 to the present.
The print version covers 1974-1988 and is shelved at Ref. AI3 .R471. Also
available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

17.
LexisNexis
Academic.
This service provides access to full text of thousands of magazines, newspapers,
wire services, and broadcast transcripts, including foreign newspapers that
are not otherwise available. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
18.
National
Newspapers
Index and fulltext of articles from national newspapers, including the Atlanta
Journal Constitution, Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times,
USA Today, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| V. U.S. Government Documents |
Publications of U.S. government departments and agencies, as well
as Congress, are kept in Government
Documents and Microforms on the first floor. These
materials are listed in GEORGE.
A. General
19.
USA.gov <http://www.usa.gov>
The official gateway to US government information. Includes links to agencies,
services, laws, regulations, news, and other information.
20.
Lexis
Nexis Congressional.
Provides full-text of the complete range of legislative and public policy resources.
Includes Congressional hearings and reports, bills, public laws, the Congressional
Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, floor votes,
Congressional member financial information, the U.S. code, and legislative
histories for any law enacted since 1789. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
21.
MarciveWeb
- U.S. Government Documents.
Indexes publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office since 1976.
Can be searched by author, title, subject, and keyword. Also available
from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B. Foreign
Policy
22.
Country
Reports on Human Rights Practices. <http://www.state.gov/g/drl/hr/c1470.htm> and
Gov. Docs. Desk
The status of human rights throughout the world reported by country. The report
is made by the Department of State but issued through Congress each year.
23.
Foreign
Policy Bulletin. Second Floor
Contains major speeches by administration officials, congressional testimony,
treaty summaries and other material related to U.S. foreign policy. Includes
the same material as the discontinued Department of State Bulletin (#31) and
Department of State Dispatch (#32), and adds speeches by foreign officials
and reports from international organizations concerning U.S. policy. Began
publication July 1990.
24.
Legislation
on Foreign Relations. Gov. Docs. Y4.F 76/2-10
Annual review of current legislation and executive orders related to US foreign
relations. Includes foreign assistance appropriations. Covers 1977 through
the present.
25.
U.S.
Department of State. <http://www.state.gov/>
Contains speeches/testimony by the Secretary of State, daily press briefings,
Dispatch Magazine (#32), Background Notes on foreign countries and selected
international organizations, Country Reports on Human Rights Practices (#22),
the International Narcotics Control Strategy Report, the Patterns of Global
Terrorism report, travel information, contacts and phone numbers, and the Key
Officers Guide.
26. 
United
States Participation in the U.N. <http://www.state.gov/p/io/conrpt/> and
Gov. Docs. S1.70/ 8:
Annual summary of issues before the U.N. and the U.S. stance. Lists membership
in principal U.N. organs, describes the U.S. mission, and lists U.S. representatives
to committees and agencies of the U.N. Since 1968, in Government Documents.
Earlier years in stacks (JX 1977.2 .U5 A32).
27.
World
News Connection.
Provided by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), it contains
translations of worldwide news and commentary from foreign television and radio
broadcasts, newspapers, and periodicals. World News Connection replaces
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), FBIS Daily Reports are available
in Government Documents from the late 1970s-1996 for most regions of
the world and are indexed for 1991-1996 on CD-ROM and for 1982-1992 in a printed
index.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| VI. Collections of Primary Source Material |

28.
American
Foreign Policy:
A reprinting by the U.S. Department of State of messages, addresses, and statements
from the White House, State Department, and other Federal agencies that express
the goals and objectives of U.S. foreign policy. It is produced in two series.
Publishing was interrupted during the mid 1960's.
A. Basic Documents
1941-1949 (JX 1416 .A47) and 1950-1955 (JX 1417 .A55 and Gov.
Docs. S1.69:)
1977-1980 (Gov. Docs. S1.69:)
B. Current Documents
1956-1967 (annual) (JX 1417
.A33)
1981- 1990 (annual) (Gov. Docs. S1.71/2:)
29.
American
Foreign Relations: A Documentary Record (1971-1978) and Documents
on American Foreign Relations (1938-1970). JX 231 .D6
An annual compilation of major public documents on American foreign policy
that includes speeches by government officials, protocols, etc. The 1971-78
volumes also include a lengthy opening chapter that summarizes foreign policy
events for the year.
30.
The
Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History
and Government. <http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/avalon.htm>
Full text of a wide range of documents from the 18th through 20th centuries.
31.
Department
of State Bulletin. Second Floor
This official monthly record of U.S. foreign policy was published from 1939-1989.
It includes major speeches by the President, Secretary of State, and other
senior State Department officials. Also has a chronology and record of treaties.
Continued by Dispatch, #32 and Foreign Policy Bulletin, #23.
32. 
U.S.
Department of State Dispatch. <http://www.state.gov/www/publications/dispatch/index.html> and
Gov. Docs. S1.3/5:
A monthly publication of the State Department providing a diverse compilation
of major speeches, congressional testimony, policy statements, fact sheets,
and other foreign policy information. Published September 3, 1990 through December
1999. See Foreign Policy Bulletin, #23, for current, similar information.
33. 
Foreign
Relations of the U.S. (FRUS) (1861- currently released up to the
early 1970's). JX 233 .A3
The official printing of selected material from the State Department's archival
files. It includes correspondence, notes, telegrams and documents. Also available
in Government Documents from 1946 to present. For the years 1832-1861, use
the appropriate volumes of American State Papers (quarto J 33). For the years
1789-1859 (1st through 35th Congresses), use the appropriate volumes of American
State Papers (quarto J33 class 1 v.1-6). Some
material from the Truman through Ford administrations is available in full
text online.
34.
Frontline
Diplomacy. CD-ROM
Network Instructions
Collection of 900 interviews with former U.S. foreign affairs officials about
their experiences during the second half of the twentieth century. Includes
diplomats, personnel of the departments of State, Commerce, USIA, Treasury
and other agencies, and some military officers. Also available in print in
Special Collections. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/ and from
the
Library
of Congress American Memory Project: Frontline
Diplomacy <http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/diplomacy/>
Published collections of U.S. treaties and indexes to those collections are
listed below. For assistance in locating treaties to which the U.S. is not
party, or U.S. treaties not listed in these sources, please speak to a Reference
Librarian. The U.S. State Department
Office of the Legal Advisor <http://www.state.gov/s/l/> provides
information on current treaty actions.
A. Indexes
35.
Researching
U.S. Treaties and Agreements. <http://www.llrx.com/features/ustreaty.htm>
Provides background information on US treaties and advice on how to locate
them. Includes list of paper and online treaty resources.
36. 
Treaties
in Force. <http://www.state.gov/s/l/treaty/treaties/2007/index..htm>,
Ref. JX 236 and Gov. Docs.
Start with this source to locate references to the texts of treaties which
are currently in force and to which the U.S. is party. Bilateral and multilateral
treaties are listed separately.
37.
United
States Treaties and Other International Agreements Cumulative Index
1776-1949. Ref. JX 231 .K4
For historical treaties, use this index to identify the sources of texts of
treaties. Indexes U.S. treaties by subject, country, date, and number. Often
referred to as "Kavass". Index to #40 below.
38.
United
States Treaties and Other International Agreements Cumulative Index
1950-1970 and 1971-1975. Ref. JX 231 .A34Index
Index to #43 below.
B. Collections of Treaties
39.
Multilaterals
Project <http://fletcher.tufts.edu/multilaterals.html>
A project of the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University,
this site makes available the texts of international multilateral treaties. Most
of these are from the second half of the twentieth century, but some are much
older. The site also links to other collections of treaties.
40.
Treaties
and Other International Agreements of the United States of America,
1776-1949. Ref. JX 236 1968 .A5
This thirteen volume set contains all U.S. treaties from 1776-1949. Volumes
1-4 are multilateral treaties; Volumes 5-12 bilateral treaties by country;
Volume 13 is a general index. Known as "Bevans".
41.
United
Nations Treaty Collection.
Contains full-text of the United Nations Treaty Series, the current status
of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, and texts
of recently deposited multilateral treaties. Languages are English and French,
and the original language of the treaty. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
42.
United
States Treaties. <http://thomas.loc.gov/home/treaties/treaties.htm>
Provides the full text of treaties approved by the U.S. Senate from the 104th
(1995) Congress through the present.
43.
United
States Treaties and Other International Agreements. (UST) JX 231.
A34
U.S. treaties from 1950-1986 on are included in this official compilation.

44.
Foreign
Affairs Online. <http://www.people.virginia.edu/~rjb3v/rjb.html>
An organized collection of several thousand links to important sites for the
study of international relations.
45.
MIT
Center for International Studies. <http://web.mit.edu/cis//>
Full text of papers and other relevant materials under the "Publications"
heading.
46.
U.S.
Diplomatic History Resources Index. <http://sarantakes.com/stuff.html>
Collection of links to sites relevant to the study of American diplomatic history.
Edited and maintain by history professor Dr. Nicholas Evan Sarantakes of Texas
A&M University - Commerce.
47.
Vinnie's
Home Page: Vincent Ferraro, Resources for the Study of International
Relations and Foreign Policy. <http://www.mtholyoke.edu/acad/intrel/feros-pg.htm>
Website created by professor of international politics at
Mount Holyoke College. Contains full text of his articles and papers
as well as
thousands of direct links to materials pertinent to all aspects
of international
relations.
48.
WWW
Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources . <http://www.etown.edu/vl/>
Meta-index organized by Type: area studies,
country information, news, statistical information; Source:
international organizations, primary sources, schools, think
tanks; and Topic: conflict resolution, development, foreign
policy, human rights, and peacekeeping. Edited and maintained,
by Wayne A.Selcher, Professor of International Studies, Department
of Political Science, Elizabethtown College, Elizabethtown,
PA.

49.
The
Electronic Embassy. <http://www.embassy.org/>
Information on the embassies in Washington, D.C., with links to other sites.
50.
Government
Documents Web Pages. <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/dept/govdocs/>
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 1/04,ms
Links updated: 11/07,jc,mb