A. Current Awareness
1.
Economist. Current Issues on Reserve
This weekly British publication provides news and analysis of current political
and economic events from a European perspective. Online full text available
in Academic
Search Premier.
2. 
Economist
Intelligence Unit. Country
Report: [Name of Country] and Country
Profile: [Name of Country].
An annual analysis (Country Profiles) and quarterly updates (Country Reports)
of major trends in the economies of over 165 countries. Includes forecasts
for the upcoming year and evaluations of foreign trade data; supplements provide
background data on economic and political developments in each country. Check GEORGE for
call numbers of earlier years going back to 1982. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
3.
EUROPA <http://europa.eu/>
This is the server for the European Union; it includes press releases, statistics,
and institutional and policy information.
4.
Keesing's
Record of World Events. Ref. D 410 .K4
Monthly record of national and international current affairs based on information
from the press, broadcasting, official, and other sources.
5.
LexisNexis
Academic.
This service provides access to the full-text of thousands of magazines, newspapers,
wire services, and broadcast transcripts, including international publications,
not otherwise available in Lauinger. Click on the Sources link on the initial
screen to check a title. Includes such newspapers as The Times (London), Le
Monde, Frankfurter Allgemeine, and El Pais.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
B. Handbooks
6.
Annuaire
Européen/European Yearbook. Ref. JN 3 .A5
Overviews, facts and figures, history and recent events of the activities of
European multinational associations and organizations (including OECD, EFTA:
European Free Trade Association, Nordic Councils, CERN, Eurocontrol and many
others).
7.
CIA
World Factbook <https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook>
Brief, essential information about all the countries of the world.
8.
Country
Studies <http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html>
This authoritative series includes a few European countries, each with a different
call number. The social, political, and economic conditions of the country
are described. Also includes bibliographies. Call numbers for print versions
may be found in GEORGE by searching [Name of Country]: A Country Study.
9.
Economic
Survey of Europe. Ref. HC 240 .A1 U5
Issued annually this survey provides a narrative discussion, with numerous
charts and tables, of the current economic situation in Europe. Includes recent
developments and the outlook for the future.
10.
European
Political Facts 1918-90. Ref. JN 12 .C643 1992
Provides information on international organizations and on various aspects
of European countries, such as parliaments, elections, political parties, defense,
and treaties. Other volumes cover earlier periods.
11.
Political
Handbook of the World. Ref. JF 37 .P6
Annual publication which describes all the countries of the world and their
governments, political parties, and important political leaders, as well as
information on mass media and major intergovernmental organizations. Earlier
years available in stacks.
12.
Western
Europe. Ref. D 1050 .W47
Provides detailed introductory surveys of each country with detailed information
and statistics on political, social, and economic institutions. Includes statistical
tables and directories of government agencies, media, finance,
and transportation. For annual updates, see Europa
World Year Book online or at the Reference
Desk JN 1 .E85.
C. Dictionaries/Encyclopedias 
13.
Encyclopedia
of the European Union. Ref. JN 30 .E52 2000
Authoritative, in-depth discussions by U.S. and European scholars on key items,
and brief treatment of other concepts, issues, policies, events, and institutions.
14.
Europe
Since 1945: An Encyclopedia. Ref. JN 94 .A127 E8754 2001
Covers all of Europe including Russia and other countries of the former Soviet
Union. The focus is on political topics, but many essays discuss social, economic,
and cultural issues. Entries include bibliographies. The two-volume set features
a chronology and index.
15.
Historical
Dictionary of the European Union. Ref. JN 15 .R75
2006
Describes, analyzes, and explains the European Community's development, institutions,
organizations, conferences, and policies. Includes
maps and chronologies.
D. Statistics 
16.
Eurostatistics. Ref. HA 1107.5 .E895
This monthly publication provides current statistical data on the European
Union as a whole, individula members, the United states, and Japan. Includes
national accounts, employment, industry, energy, services, agriculture, trade,
consumer prices, financial statistics, and balance of payments.
17.
Europe
in Figures. Ref. HC 241.2 .E81297 2000
Detailed information, statistics, and tables on the European Union including
its institutions, environment, population, labor market, finance, living standards,
industry, services, energy, trade, and foreign and internal relations.
18.
International
Historical Statistics: Europe 1750-2000. Ref. HA 1107.M5 2003
Includes available statistics for European countries on population, labor,
agriculture, industry, external trade, transport, communications, finance,
prices, and national accounts.
19.
SourceOECD.
SourceOECD is the online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic
Co-operation and Development. Contains over 1,500 books, 20 journals and
newsletters, 10 statistical periodicals, reference works, and 600 interactive
statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998.
Text can be searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title
and theme. Statistical databases allow users to build their own tables from
the latest data, draw graphs and tables, and download to Excel or as .csv
files.
20.
Specific
country statistical handbooks. Ref. HA
Many countries publish their own statistical handbooks. They are available
in the reference stacks for a number of countries, primarily developed nations. To
determine if the library has one for a given country look in GEORGE under
[name of country] - Statistics or ask a Reference Librarian for help.

Books on Western European countries are listed by subject in GEORGE<http://library.georgetown.edu/>,
the online catalog. Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), the
red volumes located near GEORGE, to identify the precise terminology assigned
to your topic. Some examples of the types of subject headings you can find
are:
To find aspects of a particular country
e.g. France - Economic Conditions
Germany - Foreign Relations
To find other topics related to a country
e.g. Belgium - Political
Parties
Education - Finland
To find several countries, an area, or a region
e.g. Europe
Benelux Countries
e.g. European Economic Community
North Atlantic Treaty Organization There is rarely one correct or perfect subject heading that covers
a search in the catalog. You will probably want to search under several
headings. If you aren't finding what you want, try searching by keyword.
This technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings,
and in other fields within the record.

Bibliographies can be located in the catalogs by using the subheading - Bibliography
under headings for countries, organizations or topics, e.g. France - Bibliography;
European Economic Community - Bibliography; Terrorism - Bibliography.
21.
World
Bibliographical Series. Ref. Various Call Numbers
Annotated bibliographies on individual countries, covering a wide range of
topics, including population, history, religion, economy, and foreign relations.
Search in GEORGE by title of series, World Bibliographical Series, and
then limit (by title or by subject) to name of country.
22.
Academic
Search Premier, Proquest
Research Library
These two databases cover a wide range of scholarly journals and popular magazines
in all subjects. Many articles are full text. Particularly good for current
and interdisciplinary topics. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
23. 
Historical
Abstracts.
Indexes and abstracts non-U.S. history articles that appear in the major history
journals. Covers the world from 1450 to the present. The printed version of
this index is available at Ref. D 299 .H5. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
24. 
International
Political Science Abstracts.
An abstract of periodical articles on political science, government, international
relations, and area studies. Indexes more than 1,000 international journals.
The printed version (1951-1997) is at Ref. JA 36 .I5. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
25. 
PAIS
International.
A subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications
relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations since
1915. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
26. 
Social
Sciences Index.
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including several
of the West European studies journals. The printed
version goes back to 1974: available on Index Table I and at Ref. AI3. R471.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
27.
Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts.
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 1,400 political science, international
relations, public administration, and policy journals. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

28. 
Access
U.N. 1944- .
Indexes United Nations documents and publications, articles appearing in UN
periodicals, and treaties in the UN Treaty Series. Citations to resolutions
from the General Assembly, Security Council, and the Economic and Social Council
include the full text. Documents come from the six main bodies of the United
Nations: General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship
Council, Secretariat, and International Court of Justice. Masthead documents
(formerly referred to as mimeographed documents), Official Records, sales publications,
limited and restricted documents, and documents emanating from sessional and
standing committees, functional commissions, conferences, and regional bodies
are also included. The "Readex Year" field identifies documents included
in the Readex microfiche collection available in the Government Documents
and Microforms area on the first floor of Lauinger Library.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
29.
CIAO
(Columbia International Affairs Online).
Contains conference proceedings and working papers from 41 participating institutes
around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, hyperlinks
to more than 150 sites, journal abstracts and a calendar of conferences
and seminars. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
30.
European
Access. Ref. Z 7165 .E8 E87
The official classified listing of books, articles, and other sources on European
Community events, developments, and initiatives, including international marketing
topics. Includes non-European community publications.
31.
European
Commission Libraries Catalogue <http://europa.eu.int/eclas/>
32. 
LexisNexis
Statistical.
Includes the Index to International Statistics (IIS), which since 1990 covers
statistical publications of major intergovernmental organizations, including
the UN, OAS, and development banks. The focus is on coverage of basic
economic, demographic, industrial, and social statistics. A printed version,
which extends back to 1983, is also available in Government Documents.
Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
| VI. U.S. Government Documents |
Publications of the U.S. government departments
and agencies, as well as Congress,
are kept in Government
Documents and Microforms on the first floor. These materials are
listed in GEORGE. Indexes
by subject
and agency are available in Government Documents.
33. 
World
News Connection. July 1994- .
Provided by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Contains
translations of worldwide news and commentary from foreign television and radio
broadcasts, newspapers, and periodicals from July 1994 to the present. World
News Connection replaces Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Use
the FBIS
Index for 1975-1996. Documents from 1978-mid 1990s are on microfiche in Government Documents
and Microforms. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
34.
MarciveWeb
- U.S. Government Documents.
Indexes publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office since 1976.
Can be searched by author, title, subject, and
keyword. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/

35.
Library
of Congress Catalog <http://catalog.loc.gov/>
Lists over 9.5 million items.
36.
WorldCat.
WorldCat is a catalog consisting of 40 million records for books and
other materials in thousands of libraries. NOTE: Available only to Georgetown
University students and faculty. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
37.
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog.
38.
European
Union Internet Resources <http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/doemoff/gov_eu.html>
Links to European Union websites, including collections of documents, legislation,
treaties, and related pages.
39.
European Parliament <http://www.europarl.europa.eu/>
News and information from the European Parliament.
40.
Foreign
Governments <http://www.library.northwestern.edu/govpub/resource/internat/foreign.html#b>
Links to official government websites of many countries (compiled by Northwestern
University).
41.
West
European Studies Home Page <http://wess.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page>
Includes links to online publications, European Union and non-European Union
websites. Emphasizes post-1945 period.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 12/07
jc
Links updated: 12/07
jc