Tabs Home Catalogs Databases Journal Finder Research Help Services About Us
Ask a Librarian
• Phone (202) 687-7452
• Send an e-mail
• IM a librarian
• Live Help FAQ
Online Help

Live Help Hours
24 hours a day
7 days a week

Quick Links
Request Forms
Libraries
Departments
How to...


Internet Directories

Directories are collections of Internet sites organized by subject. Users click on a topic of interest, and then browse through the list of resources in that category.

Directories are constructed and maintained by human beings, rather than by the automated computer programs used to create search engines.

There are two basic types of directories: academic and professional directories usually created and maintained by subject experts to support the needs of researchers, and commercial directories that cater to the general public and are competing for traffic.

Academic and Professional Directories

  Academic Info: the Reference Desk   Includes: Academic Internet Guides; Academic Library Subject Guides; Information Gateways; Search Engines; Internet Academic Directories & Tools; Encyclopedias & Almanacs; Pathfinders in many broad subject areas; and a Main Subject Index for specific disciplines

  Britannica online   Selected, general interest to academic sites. Includes Annotations with evaluation. Quality varies depending on the subject area.

  BUBL Link   From Great Britain. Selected Internet resources covering all
academic subject areas.

Informine   Selected by Academic Librarians. Includes academic and
professional sites with annotations .

  Internet Scout Report   Selected by Librarians and subject- matter experts. Includes academic and professional sites with annotations; 1,795 cataloged summaries assigned LC Classifications. Full descriptions.

  Librarians Index to the Internet   Sites from general interest to academic. Includes annotations with evaluation. Excellent resource for almost any subject.

  Resource Discovery Network   Access to high quality, scholarly Internet resources. Rich entry points to a full range of Internet, bibliographic, documentary and data resources.

  WWW Virtual Library   Selected, academic and professional sites, but quality varies. Sites include a few short descriptions. Some annotations are available.

 



Commercial Directories and Portals

  About.com   Large, fairly comprehensive directory with mostly popular,
nonacademic sites. Includes short descriptions and no
ratings or rankings. Quality varies.

  Open Directory Project   Significant resource collection compiled by thousands of volunteer editors owned by America Online and promising extensive expansion.

  Galaxy

   
  Yahoo   Largest and most comprehensive Web directory. No formal
selection or quality control, user-submitted sites.

Search the Library Site

37th and N Streets, N.W., Washington, D.C., 20057 | (202) 687-7452

Copyright 2003 Georgetown University Libraries
Georgetown University Contact Us Staff Directory Library A-Z For Library Staff: MARTHA InfoX Contact Us Staff Directory Library A-Z