Women's & Gender Studies
Articles
- Contemporary Women's Issues
- Indexes more than 2200 publications
(books, journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government
and international agencies, and fact sheets). Full-text sources on women's issues
in over 190 nations. Includes book reviews. - GenderWatch
- Focus on the impact of gender across
a broad spectrum of subject areas and include academic and scholarly journals, magazines,
newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference
proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization and special reports.
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - ON ORDER
- 4 volumes. Covers topics that are
specific to gender and sexuality, and also those that are more general in nature
but have relevance to this area of focus. The signed entries are arranged alphabetically;
additional entry points include a thematic outline and an extensive index. - Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide - ON ORDER
- 6 volumes. Divided into geographic
areas: Asia and Oceania; Central and South America; the Middle East and North Africa;
North American and the Caribbean; Sub-Saharan Africa. Each volume is further divided
into countries and then the following subtopics: education, employment and economics,
family and sexuality, health, politics and law, religion and spirituality, violence,
and an outlook for the 21st century. - Encyclopedia of sex and gender : men and women in the world's cultures - ON ORDER
- 2 volumes. Four introductory chapters
provide overviews of several broad topics related to sex and gender studies. These
chapters are followed by individual articles that focus on sex and gender issues
in specific cultures. Extensive bibliographies are provided at the end of each article.
Bibliographies
- Database on Gender and the Empowerment of Women in the Arab Region
- Bibliographic database by UN-ESCWA's
Centre for Women reflects research in the field, and will be expanded to include
information on civil society organizations working on gender and women's empowerment
as well as experts on gender and women's issues in the Arab world.

