Islamic History
Articles
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
- Contains more than 3,000 reference
articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists. Qur'anic studies resources,
including two Oxford World's Classics translations of the Qur'an, linked to the
online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis. Primary source documents
with editorial introductions. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world
and corresponding events in general world history for context. Images provide visual
perspectives on Islam. - Academic Search Premier
- Provides full text for 4,486 publications
(3,718 peer-reviewed) covering academic areas of study including social sciences,
humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. A total of 8,224 titles
are abstracted and indexed, of which 7,132 are peer-reviewed. - JSTOR
- Full text (in PDF format) of selected,
important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually
do not include the most recent three to five years. For more recent articles, use
one of the other indexes listed in this section. - Proquest Research Library
- Provides indexing, abstracting, and
many full-text entries for over 2,800 scholarly and general interest periodicals.
Covers a very broad range of topics and sources, including most public policy issues. - Index Islamicus
- Major index to articles on Islamic history and the languages, literatures, and ethnography of the Islamic world.
Atlases & Maps
- Historical Atlas of Islam
- Maps illustrate key points in Islamic
history from its beginnings to the present. Chronology, bibliography, map list,
and index.
MAP ROOM G1786.S1 R9 2004 - Historical Atlas of the Middle East
- Useful for historical maps of the
entire Middle East region in the Islamic period.
MAP ROOM G2206.S1 F7 1993
Chronologies
- New Islamic Dynasties
- Reference guide for Islamic history.
Indexed by personal name, dynasty, and tribe.
REF DS35.627 .B67 2004
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopaedia of Islam (EI)
- The major scholarly encyclopedia
in Islamic & Middle Eastern studies containing signed articles on all aspects of
the Islamic world: religious, biographical, historical, and social. Short bibliographies
of classical works accompany signed articles. WORKS BEST IN MOZILLA FIREFOX
Online & REF DS37 .E523 - Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (EQ)
- 6 volumes covering the concepts,
personalities, place names, and cultural history of the Qur'an. Includes extended
essays on the most important themes of Qur'anic studies. WORKS BEST IN MOZILLA FIREFOX
Online & REF BP 133 .E53 2001 - Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
- 6 volumes. Examines in-depth the
role and conditions of Islamic women in history, law, family, politics, sexuality,
among other topics, by subject and by geographic region.
Online & REF BP40 .E525 2004 - Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
- The major scholarly encyclopedia
in Islamic & Middle Eastern studies containing signed articles on all aspects of
the Islamic world: religious, biographical, historical, and social. Short bibliographies
of classical works accompany signed articles. WORKS BEST IN MOZILLA FIREFOX
REF HQ 1170 .E53 2003 - Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
- 4 volumes. Late eighteenth century
to the present covering all aspects of Islam. The articles take a comparative approach
to topics on the sociology, economics, and politics as well as the religion, history,
and literature of the Islamic world. Each essay includes a short bibliography.
EF DS35.53 .O96 2009
Websites

