The United States and Slavery
Primary Documents - Books in the Qatar Library
- Sons of the fathers : the Virginia slavery debates of 1831-1832 / edited by Erik S. Root
- Qatar RESERVE - E445.V8 S66 2010
- A house divided : the antebellum slavery debates in America, 1776-1865 / edited by Mason I. Lowance, Jr
- Qatar RESERVE - E441 .H86 2003
- Defending slavery : proslavery thought in the Old South : a brief history with documents / Paul Finkelman
- Qatar RESERVE - E449 .F496 2003
- The road from Monticello : a study of the Virginia slavery debate of 1832 / by Joseph Clarke Robert
- Qatar RESERVE - E445.V8 R62 1941
- Slavery and sectional strife in the early American republic, 1776-1821 / Gary J. Kornblith
- Qatar RESERVE - E446 .K76 2010
Primary Documents – Websites
- Library of Virginia : Primary Source Documents
- Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance and Abolition
To Locate Secondary Resourcesin the SFSQ Library Catalog
Try these as Keywords
- Slavery
- Justification
- Pro-slavery or proslavery
- Sources
- Controversial literature
- Anti-slavery electronic resource
- Slavery justification electronic resource
Try these as Subjects
- Antislavery movements
- Abolitionists
- Slaveholders
- Slavery -- United States -- Controversial literature
- Slavery -- Law and legislation -- South Carolina -- History -- 18th century
- Slavery -- Southern States -- Justification
- Slavery -- North Carolina
- Slavery -- Ohio -- Anti-slavery movements
- Slavery -- Pennsylvania -- Anti-slavery movements
- Slavery -- Justification
Select These Databases
- Slavery & anti-slavery a transnational archive (Gale)
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.
- JSTOR
- - Try limiting your search to Include only content I can access & pamphlets
- Search - Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection - ProQuest American Periodical also called APS Online
- Digital images of historically significant American periodicals from 1740 to 1900, including literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and popular magazines. All typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts appear exactly as originally published. Allows searching by article type (e.g., letter, obituary, poetry, recipe, ad, editorial cartoon, review).
- ProQuest Civil War Era
- Contains nearly 2,000 slavery, anti-slavery, and Civil War pamphlets and the complete runs of eight regional newspapers covering 1840-1865. Cross-searchable with other historical newspapers and the American Periodicals Series.
- Historical Manuscripts Relating to Slavery in U.S.
- Contains nearly 12,000 pages of source materials documenting the history of slavery in the United States, the Atlantic slave trade and the abolitionist movement

